DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 on page 3 line 34 the word “ant”. For compact prosecution, the examiner interprets “ant” to mean “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 山本 et al (JP 6698965 B1) in view of Wang (CN 114068450 A)
Re Claim 1 山本 teaches a semiconductor module (50, page 6 par 2, FIG. 1) comprising:
a cooling unit (4, page 3 last par); and
a semiconductor device (1, page 2 par 5, “power module”) attached to the cooling unit (4),
wherein the cooling unit (4) includes: a housing (4 as shown in FIG. 9) including a recess (40, page 5 par 3) that is open on a first side (top) in a first direction (vertical) and a bottom portion (4 under 5 in FIG. 1) that is located on a second side (bottom) in the first direction (vertical) and defines a portion (bottom) of the recess (40); and a heat dissipating member (5, page 5 par 3) attached to the bottom portion (4 under 5), at least a portion of the heat dissipating member (5) being accommodated in the recess (40),
the semiconductor device (1) includes a substrate (3, page 4 par 2), a conductive layer (12, page 4 last par, “lead frame”) supported on the substrate (3), and a semiconductor element (10, page 4 last par) disposed opposite to the substrate (3) with respect to the conductive layer (12) and bonded (soldered, 13, page 4 last par) to the conductive layer (12),
the substrate (3) includes a heat dissipating layer (32, page 3 last par) covering the recess (40),
the heat dissipating layer (32) includes a base surface (bottom) facing the recess (40) and a depression recessed (regions between 32f, page 3 last par, 32f is “radiation fin”) from the base (bottom) surface, and
the depression (regions between 32f) overlaps with the recess (40) as viewed in the first direction (vertical, FIG. 1).
山本 does not teach the recess includes an inlet and an outlet opposite to each other with respect to the recess in a direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Wang teaches the cooling unit includes an inlet (2T on left in FIG. 1C, page 6 par 3) and an outlet (2T on right in FIG. 1C) opposite to each other with respect to the heat dissipating member in a direction (horizontal) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical, FIG. 1C). Integrating Wang’s teaching into the structure of 山本 leads to the inlet/outlet (Wang, left/right 2T) being in the recess (山本, 40) and on opposite ends (left and right sides) of the recess.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Wang into the structure of 山本 since Wang teaches a semiconductor module including a cooling unit.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang in combination with 山本 in the above manner for the motivation of forming an inlet and outlet to realize good heat dissipation to the chip. Page 2 par 2 states, “An object of the present invention is to provide a novel cooling component for printed circuit board component, which can realize good heat dissipation to the chip of the printed circuit board component.”
Re Claim 2 山本 in view of Wang teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, wherein the base surface (山本, 32) overlaps with the heat dissipating member (5) as viewed in the first direction (vertical, FIG. 1).
Re Claim 3 山本 in view of Wang teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 2, wherein the heat dissipating member (山本, 5) is in contact with the base surface (32, FIG. 1).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 山本 et al (JP 6698965 B1) in view of Hayakawa et al. (JP 2013012520 A) and Wang (CN 114068450 A)
Re Claim 18 山本 teaches a semiconductor module (50, page 6 par 2, FIG. 1) comprising:
a cooling unit (4, page 5 par 3);
a semiconductor device (1, page 5 par 2 “power module”) attached to the cooling unit,
wherein the cooling unit (4) includes: a housing (4, FIG. 3) including a recess (40, page 5 par 3) that is open on a first side (top) in a first direction (vertical) and a bottom portion (4 under 5 in FIG. 1) that is located on a second side (bottom) in the first direction (vertical) and defines a portion of the recess (40); and a heat dissipating member (5, page 5 par 3) attached to the bottom portion (4 under 5 in FIG. 1), at least a portion of the heat dissipating member (5) being accommodated in the recess (40),
the semiconductor device (1) includes: a heat dissipating layer (32, page 3 last par) covering the recess (40) of the cooling unit (4);
the heat dissipating layer (32) includes a base surface (bottom) facing the recess (40) of the cooling unit (4) and a depression recessed (regions between 32f, page 3 last par, 32f is “radiation fin”) from the base surface (bottom of 32), and
the depression (regions between 32f, page 3 last par, 32f is “radiation fin”) overlaps with the recess (40) of the cooling unit (4) as viewed in the first direction (vertical, FIG. 1).
山本 does not teach a second cooling unit spaced apart from the first cooling unit in a first direction; and
the semiconductor device attached to the second cooling unit,
the semiconductor device includes: a second heat dissipating layer, and a semiconductor element located between the first heat dissipating layer and the second heat dissipating layer.
Hayakawa teaches a second cooling (2a, page 12 par 5, FIG. 5) unit spaced apart from the first cooling unit (2b) in a first direction (vertical); and
the semiconductor device (1) attached to the second cooling unit (2a),
the semiconductor device (1) includes: a second heat dissipating layer (151, page 7 last par), a semiconductor element (11, page 2 last par) located between a first heat dissipating layer (141, page 7 last par “…the first connecting portion 141that becomes the heat radiating surface of the semiconductor module 1…”) and the second heat dissipating layer (page 7 last par “…the second connection portion 151 that becomes the heat radiating surface of the semiconductor module 1…”, FIG. 4 & 5).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Hayakawa into the structure of 山本 since Hayakawa teaches a semiconductor module including a cooling unit.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hayakawa in combination with 山本 in the above manner for the motivation of forming a second cooling unit over the semiconductor device to allow one to build a semiconductor module that functions at a peak level by maintaining its cooling performance. Page 1 par 1 states, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To provide a semiconductor device which maintains the cooling performance.” Integrating Hayakawa into the structure of 山本 leads to all the features of the cooling unit in to be doubled from Hayakawa teaching the second cooling unit and second heat dissipating layer.
山本 in view of Hayakawa does not teach the recess of each of the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit includes an inlet and an outlet opposite to each other with respect to the recess in a direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Wang teaches each of the first cooling unit (1, page 5 par 3) and the second cooling unit (2) includes an inlet (1T and 2T on left, page 5 par 3) and an outlet (1T and 2T on right) opposite to each other with respect to the heat dissipating members (13 and 23, page 6 par 2 and 4) in a direction (horizontal) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical, FIG. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Wang into the structure of 山本 in view of Hayakawa since Wang teaches a semiconductor module including a cooling unit.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang in combination with 山本 in view of Kayakawa in the above manner for the motivation of forming an inlet and outlet of both cooling units to realize good heat dissipation to the chip. Page 2 par 2 states, “An object of the present invention is to provide a novel cooling component for printed circuit board component, which can realize good heat dissipation to the chip of the printed circuit board component.” Integrating Wang’s teaching to 山本 in view of Kayakawa teaches each of the inlets and outlets will be positioned at opposite ends of the recess (40) of 山本 since the inlets and outlets (Wang, 1T and 2T) are positions at the edges of the heat dissipating members (13 and 23) from Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adachi et al. (US 20220122902 A1) teaches integrating a semiconductor device over a cooling unit.
/KENNETH MARK SIPLING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 10/15/26