DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers filed on 11/21/2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 1 line 2, claim 1 line 3, claim 1 line 5, claim 1 line 12, claim 5 line 2, and claim 5 lines 7-8 “braking-force generating control” should read --braking-force-generating control--.
At claim 1 line 3, claim 1 line 4, claim 1 line 6, claim 2 line 7, claim 5 line 3, and claim 5 line 6 “braking-force release control” should read --braking-force-release control--.
At claim 1 line 7, claim 1 line 13, claim 2 line 2, claim 2 line 4, and claim 5 line 5 “unstable-behavior” should read --unstable behavior--.
At claim 1 lines 8-9, claim 2 line 3, claim 3 line 6, and claim 3 line 8 “determination-value” should read --determination value--.
At claim 3 line 2, claim 3 line 6, and claim 4 line 2“state-quantity” should read --state quantity--.
At claim 3 line 4, claim 3 line 6, and claim 4 line 4 “physical-quantity” should read --physical quantity--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “determine that the unstable-behavior occurs in a case where (i) a first situation…and (ii) a second situation…occur” in lines 4-8. It is unclear whether the claim requires the unstable behavior to be determined when both the first and second situations occur simultaneously or when either of the first or second situations occur. For examination purposes the limitation in lines 4-8 has been considered as
2. (Currently Amended) The vehicle braking control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the determiner is configured to determine that the unstable[[-]] behavior occurs in a case where the determination[[-]] value is equal to or greater than a predetermined value, and
wherein the determiner is configured to further determine that the unstable[[-]] behavior occurs in -release control is being executed in the braking device in accordance with the wheel speed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIZOGUCHI (JP 2010-018250).
Regarding claim 1, MIZOGUCHI teaches a vehicle braking control apparatus, comprising:
a controller (41) configured to switch between a braking-force generating control and a braking-force release control so as to execute the braking-force generating control and the braking-force release control (implied/inherent), the controller causing a braking device mounted on a vehicle to generate a braking force in the braking-force generating control and causing the braking device to release the generated braking force in the braking-force release control (implied/inherent); and
a determiner configured to determine whether an unstable-behavior with rotation around a rotation axis along a vertical direction occurs or not in the vehicle (reverse steer state, 0029 lines 3-end, ST16, Fig. 2) based on a determination-value (implied, 0032 lines 1-2) determined by a state occurred in the vehicle (lateral acceleration G, 0032 line 3) and a state of a road surface with which wheels of the vehicle are in contact (μ, 0032 line 3),
wherein the controller causes the braking device to generate the braking force by executing the braking-force generating control when the determiner determines that the unstable-behavior occurs (implied, 0006 lines 4-5, 0023 lines 5-6, 0042 lines 3-end, ST18, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZOGUCHI (JP 2010-018250) in view of YONEDA (US 10,358,128).
Regarding claim 3, MIZOGUCHI discloses the vehicle braking control apparatus according to claim 1.
, further comprising:
a state quantity detector (46) configured to detect a state quantity having a component in a right and left direction of the vehicle and indicating the state occurring in the vehicle (0032 line 8); and
wherein the determination value is a ratio of the state quantity to a physical quantity (0032 line 3) and the determiner is configured to determine whether the unstable behavior occurs based on the determination-value (0032 lines 3-4).
MIZOGUCHI is silent regarding how the physical quantity (i.e., surface friction) is obtained.
YONEDA teaches a physical-quantity detector (road-surface μ sensor 205, col. 4 line 1) configured to detect a physical quantity indicating a state between the wheels and the road surface (col. 4 lines 1-3) to detect distribution of a friction coefficient of a road surface frontward of the vehicle and output a detection result (col. 4 lines 1-3).
Absent guidance from MIZOGUCHI as to how the physical quantity is obtained, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the physical quantity from a sensor as taught by YONEDA to detect distribution of a friction coefficient of a road surface frontward of the vehicle and output a detection result.
Regarding claim 4, MIZOGUCHI discloses the vehicle braking control apparatus according to claim 3.
MIZOGUCHI further discloses wherein the state-quantity is lateral acceleration occurred in the vehicle (0032 line 3), and
wherein the physical-quantity is a friction coefficient indicating a magnitude of friction of the road surface with which the wheels of the vehicle are in contact (0032 lines 3-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IZUMI (US 6,053,583) prioritizes ABS over ESC (col. 4 line 66 - col. 5 line 2).
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747