DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 22 October 2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 October 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 March 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Load Balancing In Terrestrial and Non-Terrestrial Networks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 10, 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7 recites the pronoun “that”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend and remove the pronoun “that”. Please apply to claims 2-3, 10, 13 and 19 as well.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 4, 5-12, 14-18 and 20 are also objected to since they are dependent upon the objected claims set forth above.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Providing Additional Cellular Coverage Capacity Using Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivanco et al (US 2025/0097801 A1), hereinafter Vivanco, in view of Hassan et al (US 2025/0088929 A1), hereinafter Hassan.
Regarding Claim 2, Vivanco discloses a method for regulating access to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network (see paragraph 21; a method/method for regulating access/(available for use) to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/wireless non-terrestrial network), the method comprising:
determining a terrestrial demand level of a terrestrial wireless telecommunications network in a geographic area (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 4, 22, 30 and 62; determining a terrestrial demand level/(collect information comprising: (b) terrestrial RAN utilization and (d) terrestrial RAN coverage) of a terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(system 100 can facilitate in whole or in part traffic management techniques for heterogeneous terrestrial and satellite networks. In particular, a communications network 125) in a geographic area/RAN areas);
determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area (see Figures 1 and 2A-2B and paragraph 5, 32; determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area/Figure 2A, at the moment in time, shows there is no satellite overhead and thus each of User Equipment A (element 202), User Equipment B (element 204), and User Equipment N (element 206) is in bi-directional wireless communications with Terrestrial Base Station 20. Figure 2B, at the moment in time, shows there is now Satellite 214 overhead); and
when a plurality of conditions comprising at least that the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area (see Figure 2B and paragraphs 4, 35 and 62; when a plurality of conditions comprising at least that the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(satellite 214) is available in the geographic area/overhead) and that the terrestrial demand level exceeds a first threshold terrestrial demand level is satisfied (see Figure 2B and paragraphs 61-62; and that the terrestrial demand level/(loses capacity due to storm, hurricane or disaster) exceeds a first threshold/congestion terrestrial demand level/(capacity overload condition) is satisfied):
causing at least a portion of the plurality of user equipment in the geographic area to utilize the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network (see Figures 2A-2B and paragraphs 31 and 33; causing at least a portion/(user equipment N element 206) of the plurality of user equipment/(user equipments A 202, B 204 and N 206) in the geographic area/(communication system of Figure 2B) to utilize/(start communicating with) the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/satellite 214).
Although Vivanco discloses a method for regulating access to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network as set forth above,
Vivanco does not explicitly disclose “transmitting a notification to a plurality of user equipment in the geographic area indicating that communications over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area”.
However, Hassan discloses a method for regulating access to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising:
transmitting a notification to a plurality of user equipment in the geographic area indicating that communications over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area (see Figure 5, step 520 and paragraphs 40 and 161-163; transmitting/(UE 115-c receives) a notification/(information element (IE)) to a plurality of user equipment/(UE 115-c) in the geographic area/(cell e.g., coverage)) indicating that communications/communicate over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area/indicates the NTN entity 585 is available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmitting a notification to a plurality of user equipment in the geographic area indicating that communications over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area” as taught by Hassan in the system of Vivanco to provide network energy savings in terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coexistence deployment (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Hassan).
Regarding Claim 5, Vivanco discloses the method, wherein the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network comprises a cellular network (see Figure 2C and paragraphs 2 and 377; wherein the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(terrestrial network) comprises a cellular network/cell network).
Regarding Claim 6, Vivanco discloses the method, wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network comprises a satellite network (see Figure 2A and paragraphs 2 and 32; wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(non-terrestrial network (NTN)) comprises a satellite network/ terrestrial network).
Regarding Claim 7, Vivanco discloses the method, wherein the first threshold terrestrial demand level is based at least in part on a capacity of the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network in the geographic area (see paragraphs 35 and 61-62; wherein the first threshold/(above 85%) terrestrial demand level is based at least in part on a capacity of the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(current frequency band capability and/or capacity of each base station) in the geographic area/area that loses capacity).
Regarding Claim 8, Vivanco discloses the method, wherein determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area comprises determining an available capacity of the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network (see paragraph 62; wherein determining/determine if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(satellite network) is available in the geographic area comprises determining an available capacity/(Estimate/determine how much traffic should be offloaded to alleviate congestion on the terrestrial network (without overloading the satellite network)) of the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/satellite network).
Regarding Claim 11, Although Vivanco discloses the method as set forth above,
Vivanco does not explicitly disclose “when the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area and the terrestrial demand level is below a second threshold terrestrial demand level” or “transmitting a notification to a plurality of user equipment in the geographic area indicating the communications over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area” or “disabling one or more infrastructure components of the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network, wherein the one or more infrastructure components provide coverage within the geographic area”.
However, Hassan discloses the method, further comprising:
when the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area and the terrestrial demand level is below a second threshold terrestrial demand level (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 69 and 144-145; when the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(NTN) is available/(service availability) in the geographic area/(a TN and an NTN serving a same geographical area) and the terrestrial demand level/(traffic load threshold) is below/(less than) a second threshold terrestrial demand level/traffic load threshold):
transmitting a notification to a plurality of user equipment in the geographic area indicating the communications over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area (see paragraphs 73, 146, 148 and 163; transmitting/transmit a notification/indications to a plurality of user equipment/UEs in the geographic area/(geographic area as shown in Figure 4) indicating/indicates the communications/transmission over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/NTN are permitted/(NTN entity 585 is available) within the geographic area/within a cell as shown in Figure 4);
disabling one or more infrastructure components of the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 69, 115 and 150; disabling/(the network entity may refrain from transmitting one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) or may limit transmission periodicity of SSB transmission) one or more infrastructure components/(network entity 105) of the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/NTN), wherein the one or more infrastructure components provide coverage within the geographic area (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 69, 115 and 150; wherein the one or more infrastructure components/(network entity 105) provide/provide coverage/coverage within the geographic area/coverage area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “when the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area and the terrestrial demand level is below a second threshold terrestrial demand level” or “disabling one or more infrastructure components of the terrestrial wireless telecommunications network, wherein the one or more infrastructure components provide coverage within the geographic area” as taught by Hassan in the system of Vivanco to provide network energy savings in terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coexistence deployment (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Hassan).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivanco in view of Hassan, and further in view of Karapantelakis et al (US 2023/0276298 A1), hereinafter Karapantelakis.
Regarding Claim 3, Although the combination of Vivanco and Hassan discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Vivanco and Hassan does not explicitly disclose “predicting, using a machine learning model, a time that the terrestrial demand level will remain above the first threshold terrestrial demand level, wherein the plurality of conditions further comprises that the time exceeds a minimum threshold, and wherein the machine learning model is trained using historical demand data to predict demand levels”.
However, Karapantelakis the method, further comprising:
predicting (see paragraphs 39, 51 and 88; predicting/predicted), using a machine learning model (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 87-88; using a machine learning model/In step S105, OSS 20 applies machine learning (ML)), a time that the terrestrial demand level will remain above the first threshold terrestrial demand level (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 39 and 49-51; a time/time that the terrestrial demand level/satellite will remain/(estimated severity and duration) above the first threshold terrestrial demand level/subjected to overload),
wherein the plurality of conditions further comprises that the time exceeds a minimum threshold (see paragraphs 51 and 56-57; wherein the plurality of conditions/(satellite covering the terrestrial area and in a overload condition) further comprises that the time exceeds/(longer duration) a minimum threshold/between the short duration and longer duration), and
wherein the machine learning model is trained using historical demand data to predict demand levels (see paragraphs 55 and 87; wherein the machine learning model/(machine learning model) is trained/trained using historical/historical demand data/(data of strategy creation from the particular RBS) to predict/predict demand levels/whether or not a traffic overload event will occur).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “predicting, using a machine learning model, a time that the terrestrial demand level will remain above the first threshold terrestrial demand level, wherein the plurality of conditions further comprises that the time exceeds a minimum threshold, and wherein the machine learning model is trained using historical demand data to predict demand levels” as taught by Karapantelakis in the combined system of Vivanco and Hassan for enabling mitigation of radio traffic overload in at least one radio cell among a group of radio cells (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Karapantelakis).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivanco in view of Hassan, and further in view of Karapantelakis, and further in view of Veggalam et al (US 2020/0344641 A1), hereinafter Veggalam.
Regarding Claim 4, Although the combination of Vivanco, Hassan and Karapantelakis discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Vivanco, Hassan and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose “wherein the machine learning model is configured to be applied to input data comprising at least one of weather data, and wherein the historical demand data comprises at least one of event data”.
However, Veggalam discloses the method, wherein the machine learning model is configured to be applied to input data comprising at least one of weather data/weather data (see paragraphs 13-14; wherein the machine learning model/(machine learning) is configured to be applied to input data comprising at least one of weather data/weather data), and wherein the historical demand data comprises at least one of location data, weather data, event data, or holiday data (see Figure 6, step 602 and paragraphs 35 and 74; and wherein the historical demand data/(historical data) comprises at least one of event data/a week, two weeks, and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the machine learning model is configured to be applied to input data comprising at least one of weather data, and wherein the historical demand data comprises at least one of event data” as taught by Veggalam in the combined system of Vivanco, Hassan and Karapantelakis Vivanco, Hassan and Karapantelakis configuring networks using cell congestion predictions (see page 1, paragraph 10 of Karapantelakis).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivanco in view of Hassan, and further in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0167221 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim 9, Vivanco discloses the method, wherein determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available comprises determining a length of time the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area (see paragraphs 4-5; wherein determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(satellite network) is available/(time and duration that the satellite will cover the congested area) comprises determining a length of time/(time and duration) the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(satellite network) is available in the geographic area/congested area).
Although the combination of Vivanco and Hassan discloses determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available comprises determining a length of time the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area as set forth above,
The combination of Vivanco and Hassan does not explicitly disclose “wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is determined not to be available if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available for less than a minimum amount of time”.
However, Lee discloses the method,
wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is determined not to be available if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available for less than a minimum amount of time (see Figure 15, step 1502 and paragraphs 34, 320-321 and 324-332; wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is determined not to be available/(does not meet the handover condition) if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is available for less than a minimum/minimum amount of time/time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is determined not to be available if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available for less than a minimum amount of time” as taught by Lee in the combined system of Vivanco and Hassan to provide conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system. (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Lee).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivanco in view of Hassan, and further in view of Lohman et al (US 2015/0124616 A1), hereinafter Lohman.
Regarding Claim 10, Vivanco discloses the method, wherein determining that the terrestrial demand level in the geographic area exceeds the first threshold terrestrial demand level (see paragraphs 61-62; wherein determining/(estimate or determine) that the terrestrial demand level/(Is extra capacity needed (yes or no)? ) in the geographic area/(coverage in an area) exceeds the first threshold terrestrial demand level/Is extra capacity needed (yes or no)? ).
Although the combination of Vivanco and Hassan discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Vivanco and Hassan does not explicitly disclose “comprises determining that the terrestrial demand level in the geographic area exceeds the first threshold terrestrial demand level for at least a minimum length of time”.
However, Lohman discloses the method, comprises determining that the terrestrial demand level in the geographic area exceeds the first threshold terrestrial demand level for at least a minimum length of time (see paragraph 31; determining/(sending pings and measuring round trip delay) that the terrestrial demand level/(congestion condition) in the geographic area exceeds/exceeds the first threshold/(configured threshold) terrestrial demand level/(congestion condition) for at least a minimum length of time/a certain period of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises determining that the terrestrial demand level in the geographic area exceeds the first threshold terrestrial demand level for at least a minimum length of time” as taught by Lohman in the combined system of Vivanco and Hassan to provide decision processing to determine to send all backhaul data over satellite links during peak congestion (e.g., when the terrestrial link to a particular tower is overloaded), and/or may also send only data that belongs to applications that can tolerate the additional delay during such times of peak congestion (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Lohman).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivanco in view of Hassan, and further in view of Brooks et al (US 2022/0070608 A1), hereinafter Brooks.
Regarding Claim 12, Although Vivanco discloses the method as set forth above,
Vivanco does not explicitly disclose “wherein transmitting the notification to the plurality of user equipment in the geographic area further comprises transmitting the notification to a plurality of devices within a threshold distance of the geographic area”.
However, Hassan discloses the method,
wherein transmitting the notification to the plurality of user equipment in the geographic area further comprises (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 40 and 161-163; wherein transmitting/receive the notification/(information element) to the plurality of user equipment/UEs in the geographic area/(cell e.g., coverage) further comprises).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein transmitting the notification to the plurality of user equipment in the geographic area further comprises transmitting the notification to a plurality of devices within a threshold distance of the geographic area” as taught by Hassan in the system of Vivanco to provide network energy savings in terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coexistence deployment (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Hassan).
Although the combination of Vivanco and Hassan discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Vivanco and Hassan does not explicitly disclose “wherein transmitting the notification to the plurality of user equipment in the geographic area further comprises transmitting the notification to a plurality of devices within a threshold distance of the geographic area”.
However, Brooks discloses the method, transmitting the notification to a plurality of devices within a threshold distance of the geographic area (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 25; transmitting/receive the notification/(WEA broadcast) to a plurality of devices/(mobile devices 34) within/within a threshold distance/(a predetermined distance of the alert areas 20 as shown in Figure 1) of the geographic area/.1 mile of an outer boundary of the alert area(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmitting the notification to a plurality of devices within a threshold distance of the geographic area” as taught by Brooks in the combined system of Vivanco and Hassan to provide improved processing and presentation of wireless emergency alerts at mobile devices (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Brooks).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 13-20 are allowed.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
(i) Claims 1 and 13-20 are allowable over prior art since the prior art taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious the following italicized limitations.
In Claims 1 and 13-20 …disabling access to the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network in the geographic area when at least one condition is satisfied, wherein the at least one condition comprises the total demand level being less than the threshold terrestrial demand level… in combination with other limitations recited as specified in Claims 1 and 13-20.
Note that the first closest prior art Vivanco discloses a method for regulating access to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network (see paragraph 21; a method/method for regulating access/(available for use) to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/wireless non-terrestrial network), the method comprising:
determining a terrestrial demand level of a terrestrial wireless telecommunications network in a geographic area (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 4, 22, 30 and 62; determining a terrestrial demand level/(collect information comprising: (b) terrestrial RAN utilization and (d) terrestrial RAN coverage) of a terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(system 100 can facilitate in whole or in part traffic management techniques for heterogeneous terrestrial and satellite networks. In particular, a communications network 125) in a geographic area/RAN areas);
determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area (see Figures 1 and 2A-2B and paragraph 5, 32; determining if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area/Figure 2A, at the moment in time, shows there is no satellite overhead and thus each of User Equipment A (element 202), User Equipment B (element 204), and User Equipment N (element 206) is in bi-directional wireless communications with Terrestrial Base Station 20. Figure 2B, at the moment in time, shows there is now Satellite 214 overhead); and
when a plurality of conditions comprising at least that the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available in the geographic area (see Figure 2B and paragraphs 4, 35 and 62; when a plurality of conditions comprising at least that the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(satellite 214) is available in the geographic area/overhead) and that the terrestrial demand level exceeds a first threshold terrestrial demand level is satisfied (see Figure 2B and paragraphs 61-62; and that the terrestrial demand level/(loses capacity due to storm, hurricane or disaster) exceeds a first threshold/congestion terrestrial demand level/(capacity overload condition) is satisfied):
causing at least a portion of the plurality of user equipment in the geographic area to utilize the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network (see Figures 2A-2B and paragraphs 31 and 33; causing at least a portion/(user equipment N element 206) of the plurality of user equipment/(user equipments A 202, B 204 and N 206) in the geographic area/(communication system of Figure 2B) to utilize/(start communicating with) the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/satellite 214).
Thus Vivanco taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious the above italicized limitations as claimed.
Note that the second closest prior art Hassan discloses a method for regulating access to a non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising:
transmitting a notification to a plurality of user equipment in the geographic area indicating that communications over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area (see Figure 5, step 520 and paragraphs 40 and 161-163; transmitting/(UE 115-c receives) a notification/(information element (IE)) to a plurality of user equipment/(UE 115-c) in the geographic area/(cell e.g., coverage)) indicating that communications/communicate over the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network are permitted within the geographic area/indicates the NTN entity 585 is available).
Thus Hassan taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious the above italicized limitations as claimed.
Note that the third closest prior art Lee discloses the method,
wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is determined not to be available if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network is available for less than a minimum amount of time (see Figure 15, step 1502 and paragraphs 34, 320-321 and 324-332; wherein the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is determined not to be available/(does not meet the handover condition) if the non-terrestrial wireless telecommunications network/(non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is available for less than a minimum/minimum amount of time/time).
Thus Lee taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious the above italicized limitations as claimed.
Thus Vivanco, Hassan and Lee taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious the above italicized limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiao et al (US 2013/0294272 A1) discloses Deactivation of micro cells in cellular wireless networks. Specifically, see Figure 4 and paragraphs 75-76.
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469