DETAILED ACTION
This office action has been issued in response to arguments/amendments filed on 06/11/2026. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant argues regarding the rejection of independent claims 1, 11, and 20, as recited in page 6, “Applicant submits that the claims are patent eligible because under MPEP 2106.06(b), improvements to technology or computer functionality are not merely abstract when appropriately claimed. The independent claim language is clearly and articulately directed toward improvements to technology, such as, for example, improved performance for a fleet of storage systems. The independent claim language sets forth receiving data describing states of a plurality of storage systems in a fleet of storage systems and requesting, by the fleet management service and from a large language model, a fleet management recommendation based on the data. As stated in the Application as Filed, paragraph 39, the LLM may provide a "fleet management recommendation [that] may include a performance recommendation to improve performance of the fleet of storage systems." These limitations set forth in Applicant's claims are directed toward technological improvements and therefore are far more than mere abstract ideas”.
Examiner has considered the applicants' argument, but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully points out that the features upon which applicant argue (i.e., Application as Filed, paragraph 39, the LLM may provide a "fleet management recommendation may include a performance recommendation to improve performance of the fleet of storage systems.”) are not recited in claim 1 as filed.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations (i.e., “fleet management recommendation may include a performance recommendation to improve performance of the fleet of storage systems”) from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed below with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic computer component to perform the requesting ‘a recommendation based on data’ and receiving ‘a recommendation’ functions amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, examiner respectfully points out that generating recommendations based on data is not an improvement to the technology. Further, any known search tool or AI model can generate recommendations based on user input. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2. Further, applicant argues, in pages 6-7, “Applicant submits that if claim language does not recite what can be practically performed in the human mind, the claim language should not be considered a mental process. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). The independent claim language sets forth significantly more than a mental process, as none of the amended independent claims can be practically performed in the human mind. It would be highly improbable for an individual to mentally receive, from an LLM, a fleet management recommendation for a fleet of storage systems. Quite simply, any fleet management recommendation generated by an LLM would comprise data on a scale so vast that the human mind would struggle to grapple with such information. Accordingly, the independent claim language includes significantly more than merely generic computer elements.”
Examiner respectfully points out that the limitation “receiving, by a fleet management service, data describing states of a plurality of storage systems in a fleet of storage systems’ is mere data gathering. Further, the limitation, “requesting, by the fleet management service and from a large language model (‘LLM’), a fleet management recommendation based on the data” is mere data gathering; and the limitation, “receiving, by the fleet management service and from the LLM, a fleet management recommendation for the fleet of storage systems" is mere data gathering. Further, requesting ‘a recommendation based on data’ and receiving ‘a recommendation’ are fundamentally a process of gathering information, evaluating options, and reaching a conclusion—which is a core mental process, that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e. fleet management service and from a large language model). That is, other than reciting “by the fleet management service and from a large language model (‘LLM’)” nothing in the independent claims (1, 11, and 20) element precludes these steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “(at a non-personal information handling device,) using processor, (memory device, and storage device)” these steps encompass a user manually “receiving data”, and “requesting and receiving recommendations”, the information collected and determining based on the collected information. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Furter, examiner respectfully points out that this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements recited in the independent claims—i.e. “requesting by the fleet management service and from a large language model (‘LLM’)” are nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activities (i.e. a pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, and a post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions. See MPEP 2106.05 (g)). Further, the Information Processing Apparatus is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a personal computer (PC) or the like may be applied to the information processing apparatus. Moreover, adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (e.g., processor, memory, computer, CRSM having program code) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 4 (2019-01-07); MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic computer component to perform the requesting ‘a recommendation based on data’ and receiving ‘a recommendation’ functions amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Moreover, the functions of collecting information and outputting data are a mere steps to gather data and output a result on to a display based on the analysis, are insignificant pre and post-solution activities See MPEP 2106.05 (g). As noted above, the combination of these elements merely defines performing these functions by a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(a)).
Therefore, the abstract idea rejection is correct and maintained.
3. Applicant argues regarding the rejection of independent claims 1, 11, and 20, as recited in page 9, “Crawford teaches internally determining modifications to an existing storage system via a planning module 402 and a management module 402. Crawford does not disclose requesting a recommendation from a large language model or receiving a recommendation generated by a large language model, as the architecture of Crawford would render a request to an external language learning model as moot”.
Examiner has considered the applicant’s argument, but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully points out that the primary reference Crawford teaches in (para. [0050]) that one output from the planning module 402 that is available after the computations is referred to as a “purchase file” 422, which may be sent to the user(s) 416 (i.e. user receives an update recommendation in a purchase file). The purchase file 422 includes details about all components of an original storage system after planning for the original storage system has concluded. Moreover, in other approaches, the purchase file 422 may include future/anticipated system components and/or upgrades (i.e. recommendation) that will be required to be purchased and installed in the storage system over the forward-looking time period to satisfy the existing and anticipated workload. Further, Examiner respectfully points out that the secondary reference Sheikh is from the same field of endeavor as references Crawford, and further Sheikh was used to find the teaching for the missing limitation of “from a large language model (‘LLM’)” in (para. [0063, 0066, 0068]) that the service request can be received from the artificial intelligence model (AI-model) based on the Large Language Model (LLM) to generate natural language responses or carry out tasks.
Further, Examiner respectfully points out that the features upon which applicant argue (i.e., a recommendation generated by a large language model”) is not recited in claim 1 as filed.
Further, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). The examiner respectfully points out to the applicant that both references are from the same field of endeavors.
Further, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that the argument is irrelevant since the features, “internally determining modifications” and “external language learning model” are not recited in the rejected independent claims.
Therefore, the rejection is correct and maintained.
4. Applicant argues regarding the rejection of independent claims 1, 11, and 20, as recited in page 9, “while Sheikh does disclose a large language model for processing service requests and coordinating autonomous agents, Sheikh does not disclose generating fleet- management recommendations based on data describing states of a plurality of storage systems. Moreover, even if Crawford's internal modification determinations were considered recommendations, the proposed combination of references fails to teach or suggest the claimed interaction in which a fleet management service requests and receives a fleet management recommendation from an LLM based on data regarding a plurality of storage systems.”
Examiner has considered the applicant’s argument, but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully points out that the secondary reference Sheikh is from the same field of endeavor as references Crawford, and further Sheikh was used to find the teaching for the missing limitation of “from a large language model (‘LLM’)” in (para. [0063, 0066, 0068]) that the service request can be received from the artificial intelligence model (AI-model) based on the Large Language Model (LLM) to generate natural language responses or carry out tasks. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The limitations “receiving, by a fleet management service, data describing states of a plurality of storage systems in a fleet of storage systems; requesting, by the fleet management service and from a large language model (‘LLM’), a fleet management recommendation based on the data; and receiving, by the fleet management service and from the LLM, a fleet management recommendation for the fleet of storage systems", as drafted in claim 1, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Similar rational applies to other independent claims 11 (system claim) and 20 (medium claim). That is, other than reciting “by the fleet management service and from a large language model (‘LLM’)” nothing in the claims (1, 11, and 20) element precludes these steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “(at a non-personal information handling device,) using processor, (memory device, and storage device)” these steps encompasses a user manually “receiving”, and “requesting” the information collected and determining based on the collected information. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements recited in the independent claims—i.e. “requesting by the fleet management service and from a large language model (‘LLM’)” are nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activities (i.e. a pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, and a post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions. See MPEP 2106.05 (g)). Further, the Information Processing Apparatus is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a personal computer (PC) or the like may be applied to the information processing apparatus. Moreover, adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (e.g., processor, memory, computer, CRSM having program code) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 4 (2019-01-07); MPEP 2106.05(f).
Also, the combination of these additional elements merely defines performing these functions on a generic computer component and do not constitute an improvement in technology. Further, the claimed invention merely outputting the similarity (recited at a high level of generality) for a user to decide the next steps. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic computer component to perform the “receiving” and “requesting” functions amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Moreover, the functions of collecting information and outputting data are a mere steps to gather data and output a result on to a display based on the analysis, are insignificant pre and post-solution activities See MPEP 2106.05 (g). As noted above, the combination of these elements merely defines performing these functions by a generic computer component.
Therefore, claims 1, 11 and 20 are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The dependent claims fail to obviate such rejections and are themselves rejected under this title for they are also abstract ideas and fall outside the plainly expressed scope of this title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (US Pub No. 2019/0235765, hereinafter “Crawford”) in view of Sheikh et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0368284, hereinafter “Sheikh”).
Regarding claim 1, Crawford does disclose, a method comprising: receiving, by a fleet management service, data describing states of a plurality of storage systems in a fleet of storage systems (Crawford, (para. [0119]), the planning module 402 generates projected workload (i.e. data) behavior, which is one or more files, possibly included in the configuration file 412, that describe the expected behavior of the known and anticipated workloads over a near term view and a long term view, the long term view being greater in duration than the near term view; (para. [0026]), one or more networks 104, 106, 108, may represent a cluster of systems commonly referred to as a “cloud.”); requesting, by the fleet management service and [from a large language model (‘LLM’)], a fleet management recommendation based on the data (Crawford, (para. [0125]), in response to a determination that the existing storage system is not configured to handle the unanticipated workload, modifications that will put the storage system in condition to handle the unanticipated workload are determined by the management module 404 and/or the planning module 402, which will specify particular components/upgrades to the existing storage system); and receiving, by the fleet management service and [from the LLM], a fleet management recommendation for the fleet of storage systems (Crawford, (para. [0050]), one output from the planning module 402 that is available after the computations is referred to as a “purchase file” 422, which may be sent to the user(s) 416. The purchase file 422 includes details about all components of an original storage system after planning for the original storage system has concluded. Moreover, in other approaches, the purchase file 422 may include future/anticipated system components and/or upgrades (i.e. recommendation) that will be required to be purchased and installed in the storage system over the forward-looking time period to satisfy the existing and anticipated workload).
Crawford does not explicitly disclose but the analogous art Sheikh does disclose, from a large language model (‘LLM’) (Sheikh, (para. [0063, 0066, 0068]), the service request can be received from the artificial intelligence model (AI-model) based on the Large Language Model (LLM) to generate natural language responses or carry out tasks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sheikh by including from a large language model (‘LLM’) taught by Sheikh for the advantage of improving personalization, efficiency, and relevance in fulfilling the service requests (Sheikh, (para. [0071])).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 further comprising applying the fleet management recommendation to the fleet of storage systems (Crawford, (para. [0125]), … the planning module 402, which will specify particular components/upgrades to the existing storage system).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 further comprising providing the fleet management recommendation to a user (Crawford, (para. [0050]), one output from the planning module 402 that is available after the computations is referred to as a “purchase file” 422, which may be sent to the user(s) 416. ... …, the purchase file 422 may include future/anticipated system components and/or upgrades that will be required to be purchased and installed in the storage system over the forward-looking time period to satisfy the existing and anticipated workloads).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein the information is received from the fleet of storage systems (Crawford, (para. [0156]), where a configuration file of a storage system is received at a management module).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein receiving the fleet management recommendation comprises receiving, as the fleet management recommendation, a performance recommendation (Crawford, (para. [0005]), determining, by the management module, whether a first performance metric for a first workload operating on the storage system deviates from a projected workload behavior for the first workload by more than a threshold amount).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 5 wherein the performance recommendation comprises a workload migration recommendation (Crawford, (para. [0037]), the end user may be notified of the deviation, and possibly the storage system provider in order to design a suitable modification to the storage system to handle the unexpected workload).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein receiving the fleet management recommendation comprises receiving, as the fleet management recommendation, a security recommendation (Crawford, (para. [0130]), additions/modifications may be suggested to one or more storage systems to account for the unanticipated workload(s). In another approach, an alert and/or notification may be sent to the user(s) 418 indicating the under-capacity issue).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 7 wherein the fleet of storage systems is associated with a particular entity and requesting the fleet management recommendation further comprises requesting the fleet management recommendation based on one or more cohorts of the particular entity (Crawford, (para. [0118]), such workload definitions and expected workload behavior may be included in a similar fashion to the other information included in the exemplary configuration file 412, with indicators for the parameters being reported and the actual parameters, which may include numbers, descriptions, sizes, requirements, anticipated growth/decline, etc.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein the data comprises performance information for the fleet of storage systems (Crawford, (para. [0132]), the management module 404 may monitor the various performance metrics routinely, on a periodic basis, continuously, or however frequently such a performance metric is most useful to be monitored without impeding operation of the storage system or utilizing more resources than the monitoring process is worth).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Crawford-Sheikh does disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein the data comprises configuration information for the fleet of storage systems (Crawford, (para. [0124]), the management module 404 and/or the user(s) 418 may determine whether the existing storage system is configured to handle the unanticipated workload with its current configuration, or whether more capacity is needed to handle the unanticipated demand).
Regarding claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 9. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 10. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MORSHED MEHEDI whose telephone number is (571) 270-7640. The examiner can normally be reached on M - F, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reach on (571) 270-5440. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from their Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (In USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/MORSHED MEHEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408