DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 10/22/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the priority documents received on 11/08/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2,
The recitation “a concave interior” in line 3 is considered vague because it’s confused with “a concave interior” in line 2 of claim 1. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 5,
The recitation “equi-phased” in line 2 is considered vague because it’s not clear regarding the transmission surface has the same phase or equivalent phase with what structure. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 12,
The recitation “configured for Ku, K and Ka bands frequency communication” in lines 1-2 is confusing. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunn et al (US 5691736), hereinafter Hunn.
Regarding claim 1,
Hunn discloses an antenna system (an antenna system AS, Fig 1), comprising:
one (an antenna 18, Fig 1) or more antennas disposed beneath a concave interior of a transmission surface (a forward portion 25 of a secondary heat shield 21, Fig 1); and
the transmission surface (the forward portion 25).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (AS)][AltContent: textbox (Hunn (US 5691736))]
Regarding claim 6,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn teaches the transmission surface is mountable to an inner surface of a radome top (a radome 11, Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 13, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunn et al (US 5691736), hereinafter Hunn, in view of Rebeiz et al (US 20070195004), hereinafter Rebeiz.
Regarding claim 2,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not teach the one or more antennas comprise one or more feedhorn antennas, and wherein the one or more feedhorn antennas comprise substantially conical surfaces open toward a concave interior of the transmission surface.
However, Rebeiz teaches an antenna system (a multi-beam antenna 10VI, Fig 39a) comprises one or more feedhorn antennas (horn-like elements 14, Fig 39a; paragraph [0122]), and wherein the one or more feedhorn antennas comprise substantially conical surfaces open toward a concave interior (a concave edge of profile 202, Fig 39a) of a transmission surface (a dielectric substrate 16, Fig 39a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more feedhorn antennas, and wherein the one or more feedhorn antennas comprising substantially conical surfaces opening toward a concave interior of a transmission surface in Hunn, as taught by Rebeiz, in order to provide a multi-beam antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Rebeiz (US 20070195004))]
Regarding claim 3,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not teach one or more mechanical components configured to adjust the one or more antennas.
However, Rebeiz teaches an antenna system (a multi-beam antenna 10VI, Fig 39a) comprises one or more feedhorn antennas (horn-like elements 14, Fig 39a; paragraph [0122]), and one or more mechanical components (a conformal cylindrical dielectric lens 234, Fig 39a) configured to adjust the one or more antennas
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more mechanical components configured to adjust one or more antennas in Hunn, as taught by Rebeiz, in order to provide a multi-beam antenna.
Regarding claim 4,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not teach one or more electrically operated switches configured to control actuation of the one or more antennas.
However, Rebeiz teaches an antenna system (a multi-beam antenna 10, Fig 1) comprises one or more feedhorn antennas (horn-like elements 14, Fig 1; paragraph [0122]), and one or more electrically operated switches (a switch network 48, Fig 1) configured to control actuation of the one or more antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more electrically operated switches configured to control actuation of one or more antennas in Hunn, as taught by Rebeiz, in order to provide a multi-beam antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Rebeiz (US 20070195004))]
Regarding claim 13,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not teach one or more antennas comprise one or more feed antennas.
However, Rebeiz teaches an antenna system (a multi-beam antenna 10, Fig 1) comprises one or more feed antennas (horn-like elements 14, Fig 1; paragraph [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more antennas comprising one or more feed antennas in Hunn, as taught by Rebeiz, in order to provide a multi-beam antenna.
Claims 5, 7-12, 14 and 20, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunn et al (US 5691736), hereinafter Hunn.
Regarding claim 5,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the transmission surface is an equi-phased transmission surface.
However, Hunn teaches the heat shield 21 can be formed of any suitable ceramic material which provides the desired characteristics of transparency to the radiation emitted from or received by the antenna 18, a low dielectric constant, and a low density (col 4, lines 3-7). This teaching is result effect in order to provide characteristics of transparency to the radiation (col 4, lines 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transmission surface being an equi-phased transmission surface in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 7,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the transmission surface is a phase compensated structure configured to convert spherical waves of the one or more antennas into plane waves.
However, Hunn teaches the heat shield 21 can be formed of any suitable ceramic material which provides the desired characteristics of transparency to the radiation emitted from or received by the antenna 18, a low dielectric constant, and a low density (col 4, lines 3-7). This teaching is result effect in order to provide characteristics of transparency to the radiation (col 4, lines 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transmission surface being a phase compensated structure configured to convert spherical waves of one or more antennas into plane waves in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 8,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the transmission surface comprises multiple layers of one or more dual-band dual-polarized cells or quad-band dual-polarized cells.
However, Hunn teaches the secondary heat shield 21 can be a single, unitary component of fibrous silica refractory material (col 3, lines 57-58), and a ceramic material having the preferred characteristics can be formed of a refractory composite insulating material prepared from silica fibers and aluminosilicate fibers (col 4, lines 36-38). This teaching is result effect in order to provides the desired characteristics of transparency to the radiation emitted from or received by the antenna (col 4, lines 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transmission surface comprising multiple layers of one or more dual-band dual-polarized cells or quad-band dual-polarized cells in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 9,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the one or more antennas are tiltable.
However, it’s well known in the art that one or more antennas are tiltable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more antennas being tiltable in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 10,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the one or more antennas are rotatable.
However, Hunn teaches mounting plate 40 can be secured to the front of the bulkhead 32 to serve as a base for a gimbal structure (not shown) to permit rotation of the antenna 18 about one or more axes perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the radome 11 (col 5, lines 24-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more antennas being rotatable in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 11,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the one or more antennas are laterally movable.
However, it’s well known in the art that one or more antennas are laterally movable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more antennas being laterally movable in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 12,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach configured for Ku, K and Ka bands frequency communication.
However, Hunn teaches the antenna 18 can radiate or receive electromagnetic energy in the desired frequency range, e.g. from DC to 1000 GHz, preferably in the range of about 5 to about 100 GHz (col 2, lines 58-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use configured for Ku, K and Ka bands frequency communication in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 14,
Hunn discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Hunn does not explicitly teach the transmission surface comprises an array of one or more dual-band dual-polarized cells or quad-band dual-polarized cells.
However, Hunn teaches the secondary heat shield 21 can be a single, unitary component of fibrous silica refractory material (col 3, lines 57-58), and a ceramic material having the preferred characteristics can be formed of a refractory composite insulating material prepared from silica fibers and aluminosilicate fibers (col 4, lines 36-38). This teaching is result effect in order to provides the desired characteristics of transparency to the radiation emitted from or received by the antenna (col 4, lines 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transmission surface comprising an array of one or more dual-band dual-polarized cells or quad-band dual-polarized cells in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 20,
Hunn discloses a transmission surface (a forward portion 25 of a secondary heat shield 21, Fig 1)
Hunn does not explicitly teach the transmission surface comprising an array of one or more of dual-band dual-polarized cells or quad-band dual-polarized cells.
However, Hunn teaches the secondary heat shield 21 can be a single, unitary component of fibrous silica refractory material (col 3, lines 57-58), and a ceramic material having the preferred characteristics can be formed of a refractory composite insulating material prepared from silica fibers and aluminosilicate fibers (col 4, lines 36-38). This teaching is result effect in order to provides the desired characteristics of transparency to the radiation emitted from or received by the antenna (col 4, lines 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transmission surface comprising an array of one or more dual-band dual-polarized cells or quad-band dual-polarized cells in Hunn, in order to improve the electromagnetic characteristics of the antenna system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Regarding claim 15, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “when coupled to a radome base, one or more antennas disposed beneath a concave interior of the protective layer and a concave interior of the transmission surface.”. These features reflect the application’s invention and are not taught by the pertinent prior arts. There is no reason or suggestion in the prior art for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hunn (US 5691736) and Rebeiz (US 20070195004) to include features of claim 15.
Dependent claims 16-19 are considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 15.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845