DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is in response to amendments/arguments filed on December 15, 2025. Applicant has amended Claims 1, 5, and 7, and cancelled Claims 6 and 8. Claims 1 – 5 7, and 9 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
Previous double patenting rejections are withdrawn due to submission and approval of a terminal disclaimer.
With regards to previous prior art rejections, applicant argues that the features of Claim 8, previously objected to as being allowable, were incorporated into the independent claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 8 previously required replacing at least one airfoil of a stator of the compressor with a strut. Claims 1 and 5 now recite removing at least one airfoil of a stator of the compressor. These are not the same features. In fact, Nakhamkin was/is relied on to teach complete removal of stator airfoils. Previous prior art rejections stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites further comprising removing at least one airfoil of a stator of the compressor. This exact step is already present in Claim 5, upon which claim 7 exists. Thus, Claim 7 is not further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakhamkin (US 4872307).
With regards to Claim 1:
Nakhamkin (Figure 1) discloses a method of modifying an existing gas turbine to create a storage engine (Col. 2, Lines 56+: “retrofit of existing simple cycle gas turbine engines (SCGTs) to provide peaking energy for CAES application”), the gas turbine having a combustor (combustor 120), a compressor section (compressor 140), and a turbine section (turbine 115), the method comprising: modifying the compressor section of the gas turbine to form the storage engine (Col. 5, Lines 1+: “In accordance with the invention, compressor 140 is initially debladed since such compressor is not to be utilized for the compression of air”) such that air supplied to the combustor of the storage engine is heated by exhaust of the storage engine (Col. 5, Lines 18+: “compressed air from air storage device 200 is pretreated in a recuperator (not shown) before the air is provided to combustor 120. Exhaust gas from turbine 100 is supplied to the recuperator as its source of heat”) and is supplied from a remote source of air (underground storage 200, compressors 40, 60), wherein modifying the compressor section includes removing a rotatable airfoil of a compressor and removing at least one airfoil of a stator of the compressor (Col. 5, Lines 1+: “In accordance with the invention, compressor 140 is initially debladed since such compressor is not to be utilized for the compression of air”, given that the compressor “is not to be utilized for the compression of air”, one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret “deblading” as removing all rotating blades and stator blades from the compressor).
With regards to Claim 2:
Nakhamkin discloses the remote source of air is a compressed air storage tank (underground storage 200).
With regards to Claim 3:
Nakhamkin discloses the remote source of air is a combination of a compressed air storage tank (underground storage 200) and a plurality of low-pressure compressors (compressors 40, 60).
With regards to Claim 4:
Nakhamkin discloses the remote source of air includes a plurality of low pressure compressors (compressors 40, 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakhamkin (US 4872307) in view of Larson et al. (hereafter “Larson” – US 2019/0063222).
With regards to Claim 5:
Nakhamkin (Figure 1) discloses a method of modifying an existing gas turbine having a combustor (combustor 120), a compressor section (compressor 140), and a turbine section (turbine 115), the method comprising: modifying the compressor section of the existing gas turbine to form a storage engine (Col. 2, Lines 56+ of Nakhamkin: “retrofit of existing simple cycle gas turbine engines (SCGTs) to provide peaking energy for CAES application”) by:
removing at least one of a plurality of rotatable airfoils of a compressor of the compressor section (Col. 5, Lines 1+: “In accordance with the invention, compressor 140 is initially debladed since such compressor is not to be utilized for the compression of air”);
removing at least one airfoil of a stator of the compressor (Col. 5, Lines 1+: “In accordance with the invention, compressor 140 is initially debladed since such compressor is not to be utilized for the compression of air”, given that the compressor “is not to be utilized for the compression of air”, one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret “deblading” as removing all rotating blades and stator blades from the compressor).
Nakhamkin does not disclose introducing a thrust piston on a shaft line. Larson (Figure 1) teaches a gas turbine (1) including a thrust piston (10) on a shaft line (2). Larson teaches that “to maintain good control over the axial thrust and its direction … gas turbines sometimes have an axial thrust piston upon which acts compressor air and on account of the force direction predetermined by the compressor air can act upon the rotor with an axial compensating force” (Paragraph 4), thereby allowing for adjustment of an axial compensation thrust (Paragraph 8). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, the addition of thrust pistons is known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Nakhamkin by adding a thrust piston the shaft in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
With regards to Claim 7:
The Nakhamkin modification of Claim 5 teaches removing at least one airfoil of a stator of the compressor (Col. 5, Lines 1+ of Nakhamkin: “In accordance with the invention, compressor 140 is initially debladed since such compressor is not to be utilized for the compression of air”, given that the compressor “is not to be utilized for the compression of air”, one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret “deblading” as removing all rotating blades and stator blades from the compressor.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakhamkin (US 4872307) in view of Larson et al. (hereafter “Larson” – US 2019/0063222), further in view of Kraft et al. (hereafter “Kraft” – US 2015/0233296).
With regards to Claim 9:
The Nakhamkin modification of Claim 5 does not explicitly teach associating an auxiliary fueled engine with the gas turbine. Kraft (Figures 4 and 10) teaches a gas turbine system comprising a compressor (10) combustor (14), and turbine (16), as well as a fueled engine driven compressor (compressor 116, driven by fueled engine 151). Kraft teaches that “using a supplemental compressor driven by a fueled engine,… [allows for] operation … which is independent of the electric grid” (Paragraph 47). Given the teachings of Kraft, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Nakhamkin by associating the gas turbine with an auxiliary fueled engine, as taught by Kraft, to yield the predictable benefits of independence from the electric grid, thereby improving operational availability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Saturday, January 17, 2026