DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Priority documents, EP0 233830884, retrieved successfully on 11/24/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira (EP 4180263) English translation attached by examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Ferreira discloses a method for interfacing an auxiliary electrical system (external range extension subsystem 1 including subsystem 6) with an electrical power network (onboard range extension subsystem 2 including subsystem 7) of a vehicle (electric or hybrid vehicle) (see para. 0001, fig. 6), the method comprising:
i) the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) transmitting an engagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle; (see para. 0028, 0038; contactor connections trigger digital communication between the auxiliary electrical system subsystem 6 and the electrical power network subsystem 7 over comms buses 14/15, microcontroller 45 executes “link control program”)
ii) the electrical power network of the vehicle (second control subsystem 7 of the subsystem 2) , responsive to the engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary electrical system (6, see digital communication transmission), electrically coupling a battery (101) of the electrical power network of the vehicle (of the power distribution module 100 of the subsystem 2) to an electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle and providing an indication to the auxiliary electrical system that electrical power take-off is engaged (when negative contactor 22 and positive contactor 21 activate to complete coupling it is communicated back over the digital bus, see para. 0027-0028, disclosing bidirectional communication to coordinate the two systems so that the auxiliary side knows when the connection is safe to complete, see para. 0028, 0040, fig. 6);
iii) the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6), responsive to the indication that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged (communication of readiness from the digital bus): pre-charging a DC bus of the auxiliary electrical system (power contactor for precharge 16, first precharge resistor 19 in series with each other and parallel to positive HV contactor 17, thereby precharge connection between battery 5 and connection element 3, see para. 0022, 0026-0027); and closing a contactor (17) of the auxiliary electrical system to electrically couple the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) to the electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle (electric/hybrid vehicle) (see para. 0027).
Examiner notes while Ferreira does not use the specific label “request”, Ferreira discloses communication is initiated as part of the connection process between the auxiliary (external) subsystem and the network (onboard) subsystem. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the disclosed communication as including a discrete engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary side since the two systems are already configured to communicate for the express purpose of establishing the connection and structuring the communication as a request initiated by the requesting party is one of a finite number of predictable conventional ways to implement the protocol between two communicating microcontroller based systems where bidirectional communication is already present.
In regard to claim 3, Ferreira discloses the electrical power network (subsystem 2, 7) pre-charging the electrical power take-off (4) before providing the indication to the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged (see para. 0027, a second power contactor for precharge and a second precharge resistor on the power network, precharge in coordination with the negative contactors before the positive contactors are activated to complete and signal full engagement, thereby discloses pre-charging preceding completion of the connection and any resulting indication).
In regard to claim 4, Ferreira discloses wherein providing the indication that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged comprises one or more of: setting an internal status of the electrical power network (subsystem 2,7) to engaged; and transmitting an engagement response indicating that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged to the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6). Ferreira discloses that its control subsystems set connection states and communicate with those states over the discloses digital communications buses to coordinate connection (see para. 0027-0038). Examiner notes although Ferreira fails to use the specific labels “internal status” or “engagement response” representing Ferreiras’s state coordination function as either internally set status flag or an actively transmitted response message is one of a finite, well known set of conventional signaling implementations for communicating system state between two networked controllers.
Regarding claim 7, Ferreira in combination teaches wherein pre-charging the DC bus (31) is performed by the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) by at least one of: using a pre-charging circuit (resistor and contactor 19, 16) of the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6), wherein the pre-charging circuit draws power from a battery (5) (see para. 0022); and the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6) drawing a current from the electrical power take-off point (4) through a resistor (19) (see para. 0026-007).
Regarding claim 14, Ferreira discloses an auxiliary electrical system (external range extension subsystem 1 including subsystem 6) configured to interface with an electrical power network (onboard range extension subsystem 2 including subsystem 7) of a vehicle (electric or hybrid vehicle) (fig. 1, 6), the auxiliary electrical system comprising:
a connector (3) configured to couple with the electrical power network (2,7) of the vehicle;
a power distribution unit (100);
a contactor (17), and
a DC bus (14, 15),
wherein the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6) is configured to:
transmit an engagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle (see para. 0028, 0038; contactor connections trigger digital communication between the auxiliary electrical system subsystem 6 and the electrical power network subsystem 7 over comms buses 14/15, microcontroller 45 executes “link control program”) responsive to the indication that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged (communication of readiness from the digital bus):
pre-charge a DC bus of the auxiliary electrical system (power contactor for precharge 16, first precharge resistor 19 in series with each other and parallel to positive HV contactor 17, thereby precharge connection between battery 5 and connection element 3, see para. 0022, 0026-0028); and
close a contactor (17) of the auxiliary electrical system to electrically couple the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) to the electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle (electric/hybrid vehicle) (see para. 0027). Examiner notes while Ferreira does not use the specific label “request”, Ferreira discloses communication is initiated as part of the connection process between the auxiliary (external) subsystem and the network (onboard) subsystem. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the disclosed communication as including a discrete engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary side since the two systems are already configured to communicate for the express purpose of establishing the connection and structuring the communication as a request initiated by the requesting party is one of a finite number of predictable conventional ways to implement the protocol between two communicating microcontroller based systems where bidirectional communication is already present.
Regarding claim 15, Ferreira discloses a vehicle electrical power network (2 with subsystem 7, and power distribution 100) configured to interface with an auxiliary electrical system (1,6), the vehicle electrical power network (2, 7, 100) comprising:
a battery (see fig. 6, showing high voltage batteries 101);
an electrical power take-off point (4) configured to be electrically coupled to the auxiliary electrical system (see fig. 1 showing power takeoff point 4 coupled to system 1, and 6); and
a contactor for selectively coupling the battery to the electrical power take-off point (see fig. 1, showing contactors 20, 21, and 22),
wherein the vehicle electrical power network (2, 7) is configured to, responsive to the engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6, see digital communication transmission), electrically coupling a battery (101) of the electrical power network of the vehicle (of the power distribution module 100 of the subsystem 2) to an electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle and providing an indication to the auxiliary electrical system that electrical power take-off is engaged (when negative contactor 22 and positive contactor 21 activate to complete coupling it is communicated back over the digital bus, see para. 0027-0028, disclosing bidirectional communication to coordinate the two systems so that the auxiliary side knows when the connection is safe to complete, see para. 0028, 0040, fig. 6). Examiner notes while Ferreira does not use the specific label “request”, Ferreira discloses communication is initiated as part of the connection process between the auxiliary (external) subsystem and the network (onboard) subsystem. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the disclosed communication as including a discrete engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary side since the two systems are already configured to communicate for the express purpose of establishing the connection and structuring the communication as a request initiated by the requesting party is one of a finite number of predictable conventional ways to implement the protocol between two communicating microcontroller based systems where bidirectional communication is already present.
Regarding claim 16, Ferreira discloses a method, performed by an auxiliary electrical system, for interfacing the auxiliary electrical system with an electrical power network of a vehicle, the method comprising: transmitting an engagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle; (see para. 0028, 0038; contactor connections trigger digital communication between the auxiliary electrical system subsystem 6 and the electrical power network subsystem 7 over comms buses 14/15, microcontroller 45 executes “link control program”) responsive to the indication provided by the electrical power network (2, 7) of the vehicle that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged (communication of readiness from the digital bus): pre-charging a DC bus of the auxiliary electrical system (power contactor for precharge 16, first precharge resistor 19 in series with each other and parallel to positive HV contactor 17, thereby precharge connection between battery 5 and connection element 3, see para. 0022, 0026-0028); and closing a contactor (17) of the auxiliary electrical system to electrically couple the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) to the electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle (electric/hybrid vehicle) (see para. 0027). Examiner notes while Ferreira does not use the specific label “request”, Ferreira discloses communication is initiated as part of the connection process between the auxiliary (external) subsystem and the network (onboard) subsystem. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the disclosed communication as including a discrete engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary side since the two systems are already configured to communicate for the express purpose of establishing the connection and structuring the communication as a request initiated by the requesting party is one of a finite number of predictable conventional ways to implement the protocol between two communicating microcontroller based systems where bidirectional communication is already present.
In regard to claim 17, Ferreira disclose a method, performed by an electrical power network of a vehicle (subsystem 2, and 7, and power distribution 100), for interfacing an auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) with the electrical power network of the vehicle (2, 7, 100), the method comprising: wherein the vehicle electrical power network (2, 7) is configured to, responsive to the engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6, see digital communication transmission), electrically coupling a battery (101) of the electrical power network of the vehicle (of the power distribution module 100 of the subsystem 2) to an electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle and providing an indication to the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6) that electrical power take-off is engaged (when negative contactor 22 and positive contactor 21 activate to complete coupling it is communicated back over the digital bus, see para. 0024-0028, disclosing bidirectional communication to coordinate the two systems so that the auxiliary side knows when the connection is safe to complete, see para. 0028, 0040, and 0043, fig. 6).
Ferreira does not expressly characterize a particular communication transmitted by external control subsystem 6 to onboard control subsystems 7 as an “engagement request”, nor does Ferreira expressly state that onboard control subsystem 7 thereafter transmits and “indication” that electrical power take off is engaged. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement Ferreira’s disclosed digital communication used to coordinate establishment of electrical connection as including a request from external control subsystem 6 to onboard control subsystem 7 to establish the electrical connection and, responsive thereto, to operate vehicle side contactors 21 and 22 to electrically couple vehicle battery 101 to electrical connection element 4. Ferreira provides controllers on both sides of the interface, detects connection of the two subsystems, provides a digital communication link between the controllers for control of the electrical connection, and provides electronically controlled vehicle side contactors for selectively establishing that connection. Accordingly, using a communication that is from the external subsystem as a request instructing the vehicle side controller to establish the already disclosed electrical connection would have been a predictable implementation of Ferreiras disclosed link control arrangement permitting the external subsystem seeking electrical connection to initiate the connection sequence using the communication channel expressly provided for coordination of that connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, once system 7 has actuated the vehicle contactors and established the requested electrical connection transmitting Ferreiras existing digital communication link an indication to external control systems 6 identifying that the electrical connection had been established. Ferreira expressly uses bidirectional controller to control digital communication to coordinate control of the connections between the system 1 and 6. Providing the requested controller with the resulting connection status would permit the two controllers to coordinate their respective switching operations and would avoid proceeding on the assumption that the vehicle side high voltage connection had been completed.
In regards to claim 18, Ferreira disclose a computer program comprising instructions to cause an auxiliary electrical system configured to interface with an electrical power network of a vehicle (micro controller 45 executes a code including instruction for the execution of the link control program between subsystems 1 and 2), the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6) comprising: a connector (3) configured to couple with the electrical power network (2, 7, 100) of the vehicle; a power distribution unit (100); a contactor (20, 21, 22), and a DC bus (14, 15), wherein the auxiliary electrical system (1, 6) is configured to: transmit an engagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle; (see para. 0028, 0038; contact check connections trigger digital communication between the auxiliary electrical system subsystem 6 and the electrical power network subsystem 7 over comms buses 14/15, microcontroller 45 executes “link control program”); and responsive to the indication that the electrical power take-off (4) is engaged (communication of readiness from the digital bus): pre-charging a DC bus of the auxiliary electrical system (power contactor for precharge 16, first precharge resistor 19 in series with each other and parallel to positive HV contactor 17, thereby precharge connection between battery 5 and connection element 3, see para. 0022, 0026-0027); and closing a contactor (17) of the auxiliary electrical system to electrically couple the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6) to the electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle (electric/hybrid vehicle) (see para. 0027) to perform the method of claim 16. Examiner notes while Ferreira does not use the specific label “request”, Ferreira discloses communication is initiated as part of the connection process between the auxiliary (external) subsystem and the network (onboard) subsystem. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the disclosed communication as including a discrete engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary side since the two systems are already configured to communicate for the express purpose of establishing the connection and structuring the communication as a request initiated by the requesting party is one of a finite number of predictable conventional ways to implement the protocol between two communicating microcontroller based systems where bidirectional communication is already present.
Regarding claim 19, Ferreira discloses a computer program comprising instructions (micro controller 45 includes executable code with instructions) to cause a vehicle electrical power network configured to interface with an auxiliary electrical system (executable code for execution of a link control program between subsystem 1 and 2, see para. 0038), the vehicle electrical power network (subsystem 2, 7) comprising: a battery (101 in the power distribution module 100); an electrical power take-off point (4) configured to be electrically coupled to the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1, 6); and a contactor (20, 21, 22) for selectively coupling the battery (101 in the power distribution module 100) to the electrical power take-off point (4, see para. 0024-0028), wherein the vehicle electrical power network ( subsystem 2, 7) is configured to, responsive to the engagement request transmitted by the auxiliary electrical system (6, see digital communication transmission), electrically coupling a battery (101) of the electrical power network of the vehicle (of the power distribution module 100 of the subsystem 2) to an electrical power take-off point (4) of the vehicle and providing an indication to the auxiliary electrical system that electrical power take-off is engaged (when negative contactor 22 and positive contactor 21 activate to complete coupling it is communicated back over the digital bus, see para. 0027-0028, disclosing bidirectional communication to coordinate the two systems so that the auxiliary side knows when the connection is safe to complete, see para. 0028, 0040, fig. 6) to perform the method of claim 17.
Claims 2, 5-6, and 8-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira (EP 4180263) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Turner (US 20230117427).
Regarding claim 2, Ferreira discloses that battery depletion creates a need for supplemental power (see para. 002-005) but fails to explicitly disclose the auxiliary electrical system (subsystem 1,6) determining that a need exists for power from the electrical power network (subsystem 2, 7) of the vehicle prior to transmitting the engagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle. However, Turner teaches a controller may automatically determine an operational need for auxiliary power take off engagement before that engagement occurs “the controller 106 may activate the E-PTO system 100 based on an anticipated lifting event that typically occurs during a given route… the controller 106 may automatically cause the E-PTO system 100 to enter idle mode or work mode in response to a change in the location identified by the GPS” para. 0007 and further discloses determining the need prior to engagement “the controller 106 can first calculate the amount or potential need for an extender based on route characteristics” (see para. 116). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Turner’s automatic need determining step into the engagement request of Ferreira since doing so predictably avoids unnecessary engagement cycles and associated contactor wear, thereby applying Turners known technique to a known system to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Ferreira discloses voltage balancing in the course of its connection sequence (see para. 0027), thereby detecting a voltage but fails to explicitly teach further comprising: the auxiliary electrical system detecting a voltage at the electrical power take-off point prior to pre-charging the DC bus. However, Turner teaches the controller 316 monitors a voltage of the inverter 318, when the inverter 318 reaches a target voltage…. The precharge process is complete, and the EPTO System 100 is ready to join the battery 23” (para. 0070). Because the inverter is in the auxiliary side of the connection this discloses the auxiliary electrical system detecting a voltage at the electrical power take off point prior to precharge. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ferreira, in view of Turner’s technique, to incorporate the voltage detection step into the precharge initiation of Ferreira’s auxiliary electrical system (1,6) as this is a straight forward application of a known monitoring technique to a known precharge circuit to achieve the results of verifying safe voltage conditions before completing a high voltage connection with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Ferreira discloses wherein the detecting the voltage at the electrical power take-off point (4) but fails to disclose detecting the voltage comprises one or more of: receiving an indication of the voltage at the electrical power take-off point from the vehicle electrical power network; and the auxiliary electrical system monitoring the voltage at the electrical power take-off point.
However, Turner teaches controller 316 communicates a detected voltage at the inverter 318, which can indicate whether the disconnect 200 is open or closed and wherein the controller 316 monitors voltage of the inverter 318 (para. 0063-0065). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement either receiving or monitoring the voltage at the power take off point using Ferreiras digital communications bus 31, see para. 0028, as the channel for the transmitted variant, or conventional local sensing hardware, a substitution of Turners technique would have been obvious since both art implementations of the same underlying function for detecting voltage.
Regarding claim 8, Ferreira discloses wherein the contactor of the auxiliary electrical system (contactor 16) is closed when a voltage of the DC bus (31) is near a target voltage at the electrical power take-off point (4). Ferreira teaches the high voltage will tend towards near values, para. 0027, a qualitative rather than quantitative threshold criteria. However, Turner teaches when the inverter 318 reaches a target voltage (550) and when it’s held for a time the ePTO system 100 is ready to join the battery 23, thereby teaching a voltage threshold. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ferreira further in view of Turner with the predetermined threshold value for closing the contactor as this is the application of a known more precise control technique to Ferreiras system so as to prevent damage and have increased control with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 9, Ferreira discloses only generally that the auxiliary connection is maintained as needed (see Background and Technical problem) and does not explicitly teach the auxiliary electrical system: determining that a need no longer exists for power from the electrical power network of the vehicle; transmitting a disengagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle; and the electrical power network of the vehicle, responsive to the disengagement request: electrically decoupling the vehicle battery from the electrical power take-off point.
However Turner teaches the auxiliary electrical system: determining that a need no longer exists for power from the electrical power network of the vehicle (the geo-fence might limit or discontinue power transmission to the EPTO 100 if it’s no longer needed, for example when the vehicle 10 transitions onto a highway); and transmitting a disengagement request to the electrical power network of the vehicle; and the electrical power network of the vehicle, responsive to the disengagement request: electrically decoupling the vehicle battery from the electrical power take-off point. Turner teaches if the controller 316 determines that the disconnect 200 is open the controller 316 issues a command to open the contactor within the negative high voltage contactor 308… the controller 316 also communicates with the battery 23 and associated circuit to open contactors associated with the battery and isolate it from the ePTO system 100. (See para. 0063-0065). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to have modified Ferreira in view of Turner applying Ferreiras existing bidirectional communication to carry a disengagement request analogous to its disclosed engagement request, consistent with Turner’s teaching of communicated instruction from the auxiliary/controller driving battery side contactor opening following what Ferreira discloses generally. Such a modification would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success for improved precise decoupling.
Regarding claim 10, Ferreira, as combined, teaches performing a discharging procedure to discharge the DC bus (31) (see para. 0027-28 teaching disabling/decoupling through the discharge bus).
Regarding claim 11, Ferreira, as combined, teaches further comprising performing a discharging procedure to discharge the electrical power take off point (4). Ferreira teaches contactors and resistors, 19, 20, 21 between the power distribution module 100 and the power take off point 4, these are used to limit current bidirectionally between the takeoff point and the network during connection. It is understood then that a discharge procedure is performed on this path in order to protect the components and contacts from voltage differential during connection and/or disconnection.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira (EP 4180263) and Turner (US 20230117427) as applied above, and further in view of Weiss (US 2013/0121051).
Regarding claim 12, Ferreira as combined teaches the method as discussed above, including an auxiliary electrical system having controller-operated contactors for selectively establishing the electrical connection with the vehicle electrical power network. However, Ferreira fails to explicitly teach the auxiliary electrical system, responsive to detection of a drop in a voltage of the electrical power take-off point, opening its contactor. Weiss teaches monitoring voltage in a power system during operation (see para. 0006) and responsive to detecting that the DC bus voltage has dropped below a minimum threshold, opening a controller operated switch/contactor to isolate the associated circuitry (see para. 0023). Weiss explains that such voltage drops may constitute fault conditions capable of damaging high power DC equipment and therefore teaches opening the switching device in response thereto. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the controller of Ferreira’s auxiliary electrical subsystem to monitor voltage suppled through the vehicle connection and to open the auxiliary side contactor upon detecting a significant drop in that voltage, as taught by Weiss, in order to isolate the circuitry when the supply voltage is lost or falls below acceptable operating levels and thereby protecting the high voltage electrical components from operation under and abnormal voltage condition.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira (EP 4180263), Turner (US 20230117427), and Weiss (US 2013/0121051), as applied above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20210097785).
Regarding claim 13, Ferreira as combined teaches the method as discussed above but fails to teach further comprising performing a discharging procedure to discharge the DC bus. However, Zhang teaches a high voltage bus (152) selectively coupled to a traction battery (124) through a main contactor (206) (see para. 0016, 0023, and fig. 2). Zhang teaches an active discharge system coupled to bus 152 (see para. 0024, 0031, 0032, fig. 3), therefore teaching performing a discharging procedure to discharge the DC bus. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ferreira, Turner, and Weiss further in view of Zhang providing the auxiliary electrical system with a discharging procedure following opening the contactor in order to dissipate electrical energy and reduce the bus voltage to a safe level after disconnection. Such a modification would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for a list of relevant prior art that teach various systems and methods similar to that claimed.
/C.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614