DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 12/7/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 2, 9 and 16 canceled on 12/7/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1, 8, 15, 17, amended on 12/7/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 15, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the Double Patenting rejections, the Applicant defers submitting a terminal disclaimer until the present application is in condition of allowance. As a result, the Double Patenting rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over related claims of the U.S. Patent 12160578 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin (US Patent 11,032,553 B2), (“Yin”), in view of ITU-T (H.265), (ITU-T), in view of Xiu (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0337202 A1), (“Xiu”).
Regarding claim 1, Yin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A method (i.e. methods) [Yin: col. 18, line 41] performed by a decoder (i.e. a video decoder) [Yin: col. 20, line 19], the method comprising (i.e. methods) [Yin: col. 18, line 41]:
receiving a bitstream (i.e. A video signal (e.g., coded bitstream, etc.) comprising video content can be received by a downstream device such as a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.) [Yin: col. 7, line 15-17];
parsing the bitstream to obtain both a luminance quantization parameter (QP) (i.e. parsing and decoding independently in different regions of luminance levels, one or more syntax elements that can (explicitly or implicitly) differentiate different sets of context in the different regions of luminance levels may be signaled at one of various levels such as CU, LCU, slice, and other levels) [Yin: col. 22, line 1-6] and information on at least one chroma QP mapping table which associates a QP index (QPi) to a chrominance QP (QPc) (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is generated by applying chroma QP offsets to another of the multiple QP mapping tables. For example, multiple chroma QP offsets can be signaled with a slice header shown in the following table: TABLE 7 …. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables, as illustrated in the following table: TABLE 8) [Yin: col. 21, line 1-32; TABLES 7-8], wherein the information on the at least one chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is generated by applying chroma QP offsets to another of the multiple QP mapping tables. For example, multiple chroma QP offsets can be signaled with a slice header shown in the following table: TABLE 7 …. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables, as illustrated in the following table: TABLE 8) [Yin: col. 21, line 1-32; TABLES 7-8] comprises pivot points of a piecewise mapping function (i.e. In some embodiments, to reduce complexity, residue reshaping functions and their underlying luminance levels can be computed ( e.g., by a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc.) at a level of CU, LCU, slice, picture, scene, video coding sequence, etc. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 23-30], and wherein values of the at least one chroma QP mapping table satisfy the piecewise mapping function (i.e. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 27-30];
obtaining a QPi (i.e. In an example, a quantization matrix index can be signaled by an upstream device such as a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc., as a syntax element to a downstream device such as a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.) [Yin: col. 20, line 16-19] based at least in a part on the luminance QP (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37];
obtaining one of the at least one chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables) [Yin: col. 21, line 20-27] based on the pivot points of the piecewise mapping function (i.e. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 27-30]; and
obtaining a first QPc based on the chroma QP mapping table and the QPi (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37; Table 5, 6, and 8], wherein the first QPc corresponds to a Cb component and a Cr component (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37; Table 5, 6, and 8]; whereinthe obtained chroma QP mapping table (i.e. QP mapping table) [Yin: col. 20, line 46] associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X (i.e. Please see QPi elements in Tables 5 and 6) [Yin: Tables 5 and 6], to one element y of a set Y ((i.e. Please see Qpc elements in Tables 5 and 6) [Yin: Tables 5 and 6]; (i.e. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 33-37]); the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder (i.e. Please see QPi in Tables 5 and 6) [Yin: Tables 5 and 6]; the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder (i.e. Please see Qpc in Tables 5 and 6) [Yin: Tables 5 and 6].
In the same field of endeavor, ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
obtaining one of the at least one chroma QP mapping table ((i.e. If ChromaArrayType is equal to 1, the variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of QpC as specified in Table 8-10 based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb and qPiCr, respectively. – Otherwise, the variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to Min( qPi, 51 ), based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb and qPiCr, respectively.) [ITU-T: Page 174] – Note: Since qPCb and qPCr are set equal either to the value of QpC or Min( qPi, 51 ), hence qPiCb and qPiCr can be obtained from each other); (i.e. Depending on the value of separate_colour_plane_flag, the decoding process is structured as follows:
– If separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 0, the decoding process is invoked a single time with the current picture being the output. – Otherwise (separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 1), the decoding process is invoked three times. Inputs to the decoding process are all NAL units of the coded picture with identical value of colour_plane_id. The decoding process of NAL units with a particular value of colour_plane_id is specified as if only a CVS with monochrome colour format with that particular value of colour_plane_id would be present in the bitstream. The output of each of the three decoding processes is assigned to one of the 3 sample arrays of the current picture, with the NAL units with colour_plane_id equal to 0, 1 and 2 being assigned to SL, SCb and SCr, respectively) [ITU-T: Page 117] – Note: The ITU specifies that when separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 0, the decoding process is invoked a single time for all three color planes. In other words, a same QP mapping table is used for the Cb component and the Cr component)) based on the pivot points of the piecewise mapping function (i.e. A tone_map_model_id of 0 corresponds to a linear mapping with clipping; a tone_map_model_id of 1 corresponds to a sigmoidal mapping; a tone_map_model_id of 2 corresponds to a user-defined table mapping, and a tone_map_model_id of 3 corresponds to a piece-wise linear mapping, tone_map_model_id of 4 corresponds to luminance dynamic range information) [ITU-T: Page 326].
the obtained chroma QP mapping table associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X, to one element y of a set Y;
(Table 8-10 – Specification of Qpc as a function of qPi for ChromaArrayType equal to 1) [ITU-T: Page xii]; (Note: Table 8-10 is a QP mapping table between a chroma quantized parameter QPc (i.e. x) and an associated luma quantized parameter QPi (i.e. y)) [ITU-T: Page 174].
the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder; and
(Note: The value of QPis is set between 0 and 53) [ITU-T: Page 193-194]
(Note: Formulas 8-284-8-286 further defines value of QPis in certain ranges) [ITU-T: Page 174]
the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder.
(Note: From equations 8-287 to 8-290, the value of QPc is set between -QpBdOffsetC to 57) [ITU-T: Page 193-194]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin with ITU-T to implement the method of ITU-T.
Therefore, the combination of Yin with ITU-T will enable the coding system to be compliance with the H.265 video coding standard [ITU-T: Page ii].
In the same field of endeavor, ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the obtained chroma QP mapping table associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X, to one element y of a set Y (The derivation of the chroma QP may be dependent on the luma QP via a look-up table (LUT). For example, the LUT as specified in Table 2 may be used to map the QP value of luma component (e.g., QPL) into the corresponding QP value that may be applied to chroma components (e.g., QPc)) [Xiu: Para. 0042; Table 2; Figs. 6A-B].
the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder (The
calculated QP value may be clipped to an integer and/or may be limited to the range [0, 51]) [Xiu: Para. 0055].
the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder (When applying adaptive QPs, the adjustment of the chroma QP may be dependent on that of the luma QP. When applying adaptive quantization, the luma QP and/or the chroma QP may be manipulated (e.g., independently manipulated) for a (e.g., each) coding block. For example, the luma QP and/or the chroma QP may be manipulated ( e.g., independently manipulated) for a ( e.g., each) coding block depending on the coding block's sampling density on the sphere. Based on chroma samples having a smaller dynamic range than luma samples (e.g., being smoother), unequal QP offsets may be applied for the luma and chroma components when adjusting the QP values of a coding block) [Xiu: Para. 0060].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin and ITU-T with Xiu to implement the method of Xiu.
Therefore, the combination of Yin and ITU-T with Xiu will enable for the quality and/or experience of one or more aspects in the VR processing chain is improved [Xiu: Para 0028].
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 8, and 15. Yin further meets the claim limitations as follows:
wherein values of the obtained chroma QP mapping table satisfy a mapping function f ((i.e. f(d)) [Yin: col. 18, line 33]; (i.e. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.)) [Yin: col. 20, line 33-36]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 3, 10, and 17. Yin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the mapping function ((i.e. The LUT can be constructed by polynomials, surfaces, other methods, other functions, etc.) [Yin: col. 18, line 40-41]; [i.e. f(d)) [Yin: col. 18, line 33]) is a monotonically increasing (i.e. Please see the values of Qpc in Tables 5 and 6 are monotonically increasing) [Yin: Tables 5 & 6].
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 3, 10, and 17. Yin further meets the claim limitations as follows:
wherein a set X (i.e. a set of qPi values) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-30] includes at least one of the following: a subset A on which the mapping function f (i.e. The LUT can be constructed by polynomials, surfaces, other methods, other functions, etc.) [Yin: col. 18, line 40-41] is a non-increasing sub-function satisfying: f(x) - f(x-1) = 0 for any x of the subset A (Note: For qPi indices x for several subsets in Table 5 such as in {29, 30}, (31, 32}, {33, 34}, {35, 36}, {37, 38}, the qPc values increases by f(x) - f(x-1) = 0) [Yin: Table 5]; or a subset B on which the mapping function f (i.e. The LUT can be constructed by polynomials, surfaces, other methods, other functions, etc.) [Yin: col. 18, line 40-41] is an increasing sub-function satisfying: f(x) - f(x-1) = c for any x of the subset B, wherein c is a natural number not less than 1 (Note: For qPi index in the subset B includes {30, 31, 32, 33, 34}, the qPc values increases by c = 1) [Yin: Table 6].
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5, 12, and 19.
Yin further meets the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the information of the mapping function f comprises at least one of the following (i.e. The LUT can be constructed by polynomials, surfaces, other methods, other functions, etc.) [Yin: col. 18, line 40-41]:
information of a size of the subset A (sizeA) ((i.e. luminance_idc == BRIGHT_RANGE) [Yin: col. 21, line 12]; (i.e. the video codec determines, based at least in part on the luminance range supported by the video signal, thresholds and values of operational parameters used in one or more signal processing operations. Internal precisions of one or more of the thresholds and the values of operational parameters depend on the luminance range supported by the video signal) [Yin: col. 26, line 53-59]); or a size of the subset A ((i.e. luminance_idc == BRIGHT_RANGE) [Yin: col. 21, line 12]; (i.e. the video codec determines, based at least in part on the luminance range supported by the video signal, thresholds and values of operational parameters used in one or more signal processing operations. Internal precisions of one or more of the thresholds and the values of operational parameters depend on the luminance range supported by the video signal) [Yin: col. 26, line 53-59]).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 8.Yin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the bitstream comprises (i.e. A video signal (e.g., coded bitstream, etc.) comprising) [Yin: col. 7, line 15] an indicator indicating whether (i.e. as a syntax element) [Yin: col. 20, line 16], to use a predefined chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, none of the multiple QP mapping tables is signaled but rather is preconfigured or stored.) [Yin: col. 20, line 38-39; Tables 5 and 6] or use the chroma QP mapping table signaled in the bitstream (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is signaled from an upstream device ( e.g., a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc.) to a downstream device (e.g., a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.). In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is preconfigured or stored) [Yin: col. 20, line 39-45].
Regarding claim 8, Yin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A decoder (i.e. a video decoder) [Yin: col. 20, line 19], comprising:
one or more processors (i.e. one or more general purpose hardware processors) [Yin: col. 28, line 66-77]; and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processors and
storing programming for execution by the processors, wherein the programming, when
executed by the processors (i.e. According to one embodiment, the techniques
herein are performed by computer system 500 in response to processor 504 executing one or more sequences of one or more instructions contained in main memory 506. Such instructions may be read into main memory 506 from another storage medium, such as storage device 510. Execution of the sequences of instructions contained in main memory 506 causes processor 504 to perform the process steps described herein) [Yin: col. 29, line 53-61], configures the decoder (i.e. a video decoder) [Yin: col. 20, line 19] to:
receive a bitstream (i.e. A video signal (e.g., coded bitstream, etc.) comprising video content can be received by a downstream device such as a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.) [Yin: col. 7, line 15-17];
parse the bitstream to obtain both a luminance quantization parameter (QP) (i.e. parsing and decoding independently in different regions of luminance levels, one or more syntax elements that can (explicitly or implicitly) differentiate different sets of context in the different regions of luminance levels may be signaled at one of various levels such as CU, LCU, slice, and other levels) [Yin: col. 22, line 1-6] and information on at least one chroma QP mapping table which associates a QP index (QPi) to a chrominance QP (QPc) (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is generated by applying chroma QP offsets to another of the multiple QP mapping tables. For example, multiple chroma QP offsets can be signaled with a slice header shown in the following table: TABLE 7 …. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables, as illustrated in the following table: TABLE 8) [Yin: col. 21, line 1-32; TABLES 7-8], wherein the information on the at least one chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is generated by applying chroma QP offsets to another of the multiple QP mapping tables. For example, multiple chroma QP offsets can be signaled with a slice header shown in the following table: TABLE 7 …. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables, as illustrated in the following table: TABLE 8) [Yin: col. 21, line 1-32; TABLES 7-8] comprises pivot points of a piecewise mapping function (i.e. In some embodiments, to reduce complexity, residue reshaping functions and their underlying luminance levels can be computed ( e.g., by a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc.) at a level of CU, LCU, slice, picture, scene, video coding sequence, etc. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 23-30], and wherein values of the at least one chroma QP mapping table satisfy the piecewise mapping function (i.e. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 27-30];
obtain a QPi (i.e. In an example, a quantization matrix index can be signaled by an upstream device such as a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc., as a syntax element to a downstream device such as a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.) [Yin: col. 20, line 16-19] based at least in a part on the luminance QP (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37];
obtain one of the at least one chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables) [Yin: col. 21, line 20-27] based on the pivot points of the piecewise mapping function (i.e. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 27-30]; and
obtain a first QPc based on the chroma QP mapping table and the QPi (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37; Table 5, 6, and 8], wherein the first QPc corresponds to a Cb component and a Cr component (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37; Table 5, 6, and 8].
In the same field of endeavor, ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
obtaining one of the at least one chroma QP mapping table ((i.e. If ChromaArrayType is equal to 1, the variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of QpC as specified in Table 8-10 based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb and qPiCr, respectively. – Otherwise, the variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to Min( qPi, 51 ), based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb and qPiCr, respectively.) [ITU-T: Page 174] – Note: Since qPCb and qPCr are set equal either to the value of QpC or Min( qPi, 51 ), hence qPiCb and qPiCr can be obtained from each other); (i.e. Depending on the value of separate_colour_plane_flag, the decoding process is structured as follows:
– If separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 0, the decoding process is invoked a single time with the current picture being the output. – Otherwise (separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 1), the decoding process is invoked three times. Inputs to the decoding process are all NAL units of the coded picture with identical value of colour_plane_id. The decoding process of NAL units with a particular value of colour_plane_id is specified as if only a CVS with monochrome colour format with that particular value of colour_plane_id would be present in the bitstream. The output of each of the three decoding processes is assigned to one of the 3 sample arrays of the current picture, with the NAL units with colour_plane_id equal to 0, 1 and 2 being assigned to SL, SCb and SCr, respectively) [ITU-T: Page 117] – Note: The ITU specifies that when separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 0, the decoding process is invoked a single time for all three color planes. In other words, a same QP mapping table is used for the Cb component and the Cr component)) based on the pivot points of the piecewise mapping function (i.e. A tone_map_model_id of 0 corresponds to a linear mapping with clipping; a tone_map_model_id of 1 corresponds to a sigmoidal mapping; a tone_map_model_id of 2 corresponds to a user-defined table mapping, and a tone_map_model_id of 3 corresponds to a piece-wise linear mapping, tone_map_model_id of 4 corresponds to luminance dynamic range information) [ITU-T: Page 326].
the obtained chroma QP mapping table associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X, to one element y of a set Y;
(Table 8-10 – Specification of Qpc as a function of qPi for ChromaArrayType equal to 1) [ITU-T: Page xii]; (Note: Table 8-10 is a QP mapping table between a chroma quantized parameter QPc (i.e. x) and an associated luma quantized parameter QPi (i.e. y)) [ITU-T: Page 174].
the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder; and
(Note: The value of QPis is set between 0 and 53) [ITU-T: Page 193-194]
(Note: Formulas 8-284-8-286 further defines value of QPis in certain ranges) [ITU-T: Page 174]
the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder.
(Note: From equations 8-287 to 8-290, the value of QPc is set between -QpBdOffsetC to 57) [ITU-T: Page 193-194]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin with ITU-T to implement the method of ITU-T.
Therefore, the combination of Yin with ITU-T will enable the coding system to be compliance with the H.265 video coding standard [ITU-T: Page ii].
In the same field of endeavor, ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the obtained chroma QP mapping table associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X, to one element y of a set Y (The derivation of the chroma QP may be dependent on the luma QP via a look-up table (LUT). For example, the LUT as specified in Table 2 may be used to map the QP value of luma component (e.g., QPL) into the corresponding QP value that may be applied to chroma components (e.g., QPc)) [Xiu: Para. 0042; Table 2; Figs. 6A-B].
the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder (The
calculated QP value may be clipped to an integer and/or may be limited to the range [0, 51]) [Xiu: Para. 0055].
the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder (When applying adaptive QPs, the adjustment of the chroma QP may be dependent on that of the luma QP. When applying adaptive quantization, the luma QP and/or the chroma QP may be manipulated (e.g., independently manipulated) for a (e.g., each) coding block. For example, the luma QP and/or the chroma QP may be manipulated ( e.g., independently manipulated) for a ( e.g., each) coding block depending on the coding block's sampling density on the sphere. Based on chroma samples having a smaller dynamic range than luma samples (e.g., being smoother), unequal QP offsets may be applied for the luma and chroma components when adjusting the QP values of a coding block) [Xiu: Para. 0060].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin and ITU-T with Xiu to implement the method of Xiu.
Therefore, the combination of Yin and ITU-T with Xiu will enable for the quality and/or experience of one or more aspects in the VR processing chain is improved [Xiu: Para 0028].
Regarding claim 15, Yin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing (i.e. According to one embodiment, the techniques herein are performed by computer system 500 in response to processor 504 executing one or more sequences of one or more instructions contained in main memory 506. Such instructions may be read into main memory 506 from another storage medium, such as storage device 510. Execution of the sequences of instructions contained in main memory 506 causes processor 504 to perform the process steps described herein) [Yin: col. 29, line 53-61] a bitstream ((i.e. A video signal (e.g., coded bitstream, etc.) comprising) [Yin: col. 7, line 15]; (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is signaled from an upstream device (e.g., a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc.) to a downstream device (e.g., a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.). In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is preconfigured or stored) [Yin: col. 20, line 39-45]), wherein:
the bitstream (i.e. A video signal (e.g., coded bitstream, etc.) comprising video content can be received by a downstream device such as a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.) [Yin: col. 7, line 15-17] comprises a luminance quantization parameter (QP) (i.e. parsing and decoding independently in different regions of luminance levels, one or more syntax elements that can (explicitly or implicitly) differentiate different sets of context in the different regions of luminance levels may be signaled at one of various levels such as CU, LCU, slice, and other levels) [Yin: col. 22, line 1-6] and information on at least one chroma QP mapping table which associates a QP index (QPi) to a chrominance QP (QPc) (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is generated by applying chroma QP offsets to another of the multiple QP mapping tables. For example, multiple chroma QP offsets can be signaled with a slice header shown in the following table: TABLE 7 …. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables, as illustrated in the following table: TABLE 8) [Yin: col. 21, line 1-32; TABLES 7-8], wherein the information on the at least one chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is generated by applying chroma QP offsets to another of the multiple QP mapping tables. For example, multiple chroma QP offsets can be signaled with a slice header shown in the following table: TABLE 7 …. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables, as illustrated in the following table: TABLE 8) [Yin: col. 21, line 1-32; TABLES 7-8] comprises pivot points of a piecewise mapping function (i.e. In some embodiments, to reduce complexity, residue reshaping functions and their underlying luminance levels can be computed ( e.g., by a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc.) at a level of CU, LCU, slice, picture, scene, video coding sequence, etc. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 23-30], and wherein values of the at least one chroma QP mapping table satisfy the piecewise mapping function (i.e. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 27-30];the luminance QP is used to obtain a QPi (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37]; the pivot points of the piecewise mapping function are used (i.e. In a non-limiting example, a piecewise linear expression may be used to represent a residue reshaping function with pivots of the piecewise linear expression controlled by a luminance indicator ("luminance_idc").) [Yin: col. 26, line 27-30] to obtain one of the at least one chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, the number of regions of luminance levels is 3; chroma QP offsets (for Cb and Cr) are (-2, -2) for dark areas, (0, 0) for midtone areas, and (-5,-5) for bright areas. These offset values may be applied to a reference QP mapping table (e.g., a midtone chroma QP mapping table) to generate one or more new QP mapping tables (e.g., a dark chroma QP mapping table, a bright chroma QP mapping table, etc.). In some embodiments, a luminance indicator can be used to select which QP mapping table among the multiple QP mapping tables) [Yin: col. 21, line 20-27]; and the chroma QP mapping table and the QPi are used to obtain a first QPc (i.e. Instead of using a single QP mapping table that maps a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.), multiple QP mapping tables can be used under techniques as described herein. Each of the multiple QP mapping tables corresponds to a region of luminance levels and can be used for mapping a set of qPi values (e.g., luma QP values, etc.) to a set of Qpc values (e.g., chroma QP values, etc.) in the corresponding region of luminance levels) [Yin: col. 20, line 29-37; Table 5, 6, and 8].
In the same field of endeavor, ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
obtaining one of the at least one chroma QP mapping table ((i.e. If ChromaArrayType is equal to 1, the variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of QpC as specified in Table 8-10 based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb and qPiCr, respectively. – Otherwise, the variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to Min( qPi, 51 ), based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb and qPiCr, respectively.) [ITU-T: Page 174] – Note: Since qPCb and qPCr are set equal either to the value of QpC or Min( qPi, 51 ), hence qPiCb and qPiCr can be obtained from each other); (i.e. Depending on the value of separate_colour_plane_flag, the decoding process is structured as follows:
– If separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 0, the decoding process is invoked a single time with the current picture being the output. – Otherwise (separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 1), the decoding process is invoked three times. Inputs to the decoding process are all NAL units of the coded picture with identical value of colour_plane_id. The decoding process of NAL units with a particular value of colour_plane_id is specified as if only a CVS with monochrome colour format with that particular value of colour_plane_id would be present in the bitstream. The output of each of the three decoding processes is assigned to one of the 3 sample arrays of the current picture, with the NAL units with colour_plane_id equal to 0, 1 and 2 being assigned to SL, SCb and SCr, respectively) [ITU-T: Page 117] – Note: The ITU specifies that when separate_colour_plane_flag is equal to 0, the decoding process is invoked a single time for all three color planes. In other words, a same QP mapping table is used for the Cb component and the Cr component)) based on the pivot points of the piecewise mapping function (i.e. A tone_map_model_id of 0 corresponds to a linear mapping with clipping; a tone_map_model_id of 1 corresponds to a sigmoidal mapping; a tone_map_model_id of 2 corresponds to a user-defined table mapping, and a tone_map_model_id of 3 corresponds to a piece-wise linear mapping, tone_map_model_id of 4 corresponds to luminance dynamic range information) [ITU-T: Page 326].
the obtained chroma QP mapping table associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X, to one element y of a set Y;
(Table 8-10 – Specification of Qpc as a function of qPi for ChromaArrayType equal to 1) [ITU-T: Page xii]; (Note: Table 8-10 is a QP mapping table between a chroma quantized parameter QPc (i.e. x) and an associated luma quantized parameter QPi (i.e. y)) [ITU-T: Page 174].
the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder; and
(Note: The value of QPis is set between 0 and 53) [ITU-T: Page 193-194]
(Note: Formulas 8-284-8-286 further defines value of QPis in certain ranges) [ITU-T: Page 174]
the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder.
(Note: From equations 8-287 to 8-290, the value of QPc is set between -QpBdOffsetC to 57) [ITU-T: Page 193-194]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin with ITU-T to implement the method of ITU-T.
Therefore, the combination of Yin with ITU-T will enable the coding system to be compliance with the H.265 video coding standard [ITU-T: Page ii].
In the same field of endeavor, ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the obtained chroma QP mapping table associates each element x of a set X, or any subset of the set X, to one element y of a set Y (The derivation of the chroma QP may be dependent on the luma QP via a look-up table (LUT). For example, the LUT as specified in Table 2 may be used to map the QP value of luma component (e.g., QPL) into the corresponding QP value that may be applied to chroma components (e.g., QPc)) [Xiu: Para. 0042; Table 2; Figs. 6A-B].
the set X corresponds to QPis in an allowed QPi range supported by the decoder (The
calculated QP value may be clipped to an integer and/or may be limited to the range [0, 51]) [Xiu: Para. 0055].
the set Y corresponds to QPcs in an allowed QPc range supported by the decoder (When applying adaptive QPs, the adjustment of the chroma QP may be dependent on that of the luma QP. When applying adaptive quantization, the luma QP and/or the chroma QP may be manipulated (e.g., independently manipulated) for a (e.g., each) coding block. For example, the luma QP and/or the chroma QP may be manipulated ( e.g., independently manipulated) for a ( e.g., each) coding block depending on the coding block's sampling density on the sphere. Based on chroma samples having a smaller dynamic range than luma samples (e.g., being smoother), unequal QP offsets may be applied for the luma and chroma components when adjusting the QP values of a coding block) [Xiu: Para. 0060].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin and ITU-T with Xiu to implement the method of Xiu.
Therefore, the combination of Yin and ITU-T with Xiu will enable for the quality and/or experience of one or more aspects in the VR processing chain is improved [Xiu: Para 0028].
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin (US Patent 11,032,553 B2), (“Yin”), in view of ITU-T (H.265), (ITU-T), in view of Xiu (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0337202 A1), (“Xiu”), in view of Hendry et al. (US Patent 10,404,990 B2), (Hendry), in view of Su et al. (US Patent 9,219,916 B2), (“Su”).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 3, 10, and 17. Yin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the mapping function ((i.e. The LUT can be constructed by polynomials, surfaces, other methods, other functions, etc.) [Yin: col. 18, line 40-41]; [i.e. f(d)) [Yin: col. 18, line 33]) is a monotonically increasing (i.e. Please see the values of Qpc in Tables 5 and 6 are monotonically increasing) [Yin: Tables 5 & 6].
In the same field of endeavor Su further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the mapping function is a monotonically increasing (i.e. a monotonic increase) [Su: col. 11, line 10].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin, Xiu and ITU-T with Su to implement the method of Lim.
Therefore, the combination of Yin, Xiu and ITU-T with Su will enable the coding system to improve coding efficiency [Su: col. 13, line 14-20].
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin (US Patent 11,032,553 B2), (“Yin”), in view of ITU-T (H.265), (ITU-T), in view of Xiu (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0337202 A1), in view of Lim et al. (US Patent 10,609,371 B1), (“Lim”).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Yin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 8.Yin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the bitstream comprises (i.e. A video signal (e.g., coded bitstream, etc.) comprising) [Yin: col. 7, line 15] an indicator indicating whether (i.e. as a syntax element) [Yin: col. 20, line 16], to use a predefined chroma QP mapping table (i.e. In some embodiments, none of the multiple QP mapping tables is signaled but rather is preconfigured or stored.) [Yin: col. 20, line 38-39; Tables 5 and 6] or use the chroma QP mapping table signaled in the bitstream (i.e. In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is signaled from an upstream device ( e.g., a video encoder 100 of FIG. 1A, etc.) to a downstream device (e.g., a video decoder 150 of FIG. 1B, etc.). In some embodiments, at least one of the multiple QP mapping tables is preconfigured or stored) [Yin: col. 20, line 39-45].
In the same field of endeavor Lim further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
use a predefined chroma QP mapping table (i.e. The chrominance component quantization parameter may be calculated by using a predetermined mapping relationship between the chrominance component quantization parameter index and the chrominance component quantization parameter based on the calculated chrominance component quantization parameter index information) [Lim: col. 15, line 3-8] or use the chroma QP mapping table signaled in the bitstream (i.e. The chrominance component quantization parameter calculator may calculate the chrominance component quantization parameters by using a mapping table in which mapping is made so that different chrominance component quantization parameters are calculated according to groups of each of at least one transform block size classified according to a size of a transform block based on the luminance component quantization parameter information.) [Lim: col. 4, line 16-23].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yin, Xiu and ITU-T with Lim to implement the method of Lim.
Therefore, the combination of Yin, Xiu and ITU-T with Lim will enable the coding system to improve coding efficiency [Lim: col. 2, line 42-51].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information