DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, Species I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 16 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no search burden to examine the non-elected inventions, that all of the identified classification areas would need to be searched, and that the species the search areas for the different species are not identified. This is not found persuasive because the non-elected inventions and species require additional limitations not found in the elected invention/species. For example, the non-elected inventions require additional searching for a spindle having a bit holder having a threaded end to receive a threaded tool bit, classified in B23B 31/11, and a drive assembly including a multi-speed transmission, classified in B23Q 2005/005, neither of which is required for the elected invention/species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 16 June 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4, line 1, “each air intake openings” should be changed to “each air intake opening”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fluid delivery system” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraser et al. (US 6,962,523).
Regarding claim 1, Fraser et al. discloses a power tool 1, comprising: a housing 2/3 including left (side facing outward in figure 1) and right (side facing inward in figure 1) side walls, a rear wall (wall with cord 12, see figure 2) extending between the left and right side walls, a left angled wall (portion of left wall with openings 53, see figure 4) extending between the left side wall and the rear wall and a right angled wall (portion of right wall with openings 53, see figure 4) extending between the right side wall and the rear wall; a handle 9 extending from the housing and defining a gap (not labeled, see figure 1) between the handle and the rear wall of the housing; a motor 14 located within the housing; a fan 21 driven by the motor; and a spindle 25 driven by the motor to rotate about an axis; wherein the left and right angled walls converge inwardly toward the axis in a front-to-rear direction along the axis (see figure 4); wherein the housing includes a plurality of air intake openings 53 located on the left and right angled walls; and wherein rotation of the fan draws an airflow into the housing through the plurality of air intake openings (see column 7, lines 50-56).
Regarding claim 5, Fraser et al. discloses further comprising a plurality of air exhaust openings 30 located on the left and right side walls, wherein the airflow is configured to enter the housing through the plurality of air intake openings 53 and cool the motor 14 before being discharged from the housing through the plurality of air exhaust openings.
Regarding claim 7, Fraser et al. discloses wherein each air exhaust opening 30 of the plurality of air exhaust openings includes a deflector 31 configured to inhibit fluid from entering the housing 2/3 through the air exhaust opening.
Regarding claim 8, Fraser et al. discloses wherein the deflector 31 is scoop-shaped (see figures 1 and 2).
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 10,027,201).
Regarding claim 1, Hara et al. discloses a power tool 1, comprising: a housing 2 including left (inward side in figure 1) and right (outward side in figure 1) side walls, a rear wall (back portion including inner portions of air intake openings 15, see figures 1-2) extending between the left and right side walls, a left angled wall (angled portion 29
between left wall and rear wall, see figure 3) extending between the left side wall and the rear wall and a right angled wall (angled portion between right wall and rear wall, see figure 3) extending between the right side wall and the rear wall; a handle 3 extending from the housing and defining a gap (not labeled, see figure 1) between the handle and the rear wall of the housing; a motor 7 located within the housing; a fan 51 driven by the motor; and a spindle 48 driven by the motor to rotate about an axis; wherein the left and right angled walls converge inwardly toward the axis in a front-to-rear direction along the axis (see figure 3); wherein the housing includes a plurality of air intake openings 15 located on the left and right angled walls (see figures 1-3); and wherein rotation of the fan draws an airflow into the housing through the plurality of air intake openings (see column 10, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 5, Hara et al. discloses further comprising a plurality of air exhaust openings 99 located on the left and right side walls, wherein the airflow is configured to enter the housing 2 through the plurality of air intake openings 15 and cool the motor 7 before being discharged from the housing through the plurality of air exhaust openings (see column 10, lines 61 to column 11, line 8).
Regarding claim 9, Hara et al. discloses wherein the housing 2 includes left 2a and right 2b cooperating halves defining a motor housing portion 4, wherein the motor 7 is mounted within the motor housing portion, and wherein the power tool further comprises: a battery receptacle 29 located below the motor housing portion and in front of the gap (at least a portion of the battery receptacle is located in front of the gap, see figure 1; additionally, as the term front is not further defined by the claim, the battery receptacle can be seen to be fully in front of the gap); and a battery 6 removably coupled to the battery receptacle and configured to provide power to the motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser et al. (US 6,962,523) in view of JP 6758960 B2.
Regarding claim 6, Fraser et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Fraser et al. does not disclose further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) located within the housing and including a finned heat sink thereon, wherein the airflow passes over the finned heat sink to cool the PCB. JP 6758960 B2 teaches the use of a power tool 1 that comprises a housing 2, wherein the power tool comprises a printed circuit board 75 for controlling operation of the tool located within the housing (in controller portion 74) and including a finned heat sink 63 for the purpose of cooling the circuit board (see English translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the power tool of Fraser et al. with the PCB and heat sink of JP 6758960 B2 in order to be able to provide additional control to the power tool without overheating the controller.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,980. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious combinations of each other.
Claim correlations:
Application claim numbers
Patent claim numbers
1
1-6
2
1
3
14
4
12-13
5
7-8
6
11
7
7-8
8
9
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arich et al. (US 7,705497) and Schreiber et al. (US 2017/0100831 A1) are directed to power tools with air cooling systems.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 15 July 2026