DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach, disclose or suggest all limitations of claims 1-15. In particular, Applicant asserts that the cited references fail to disclose “determining a slice address for the first slice from the slice header based on the identifier associated with the sub-picture.” Applicant argues that Sjöberg et al. (US20220150495A1), hereinafter referred to as “Sjöberg495” fails to disclose the aforementioned limitation because the previously cited tile_group_address_idc is allegedly associated with a tile group instead of with a sub-picture.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Sjöberg495 states in one embodiment that tile_group_address_idc specifies the tile address of the first tile in the tile group, Sjöberg495 is not limited to that embodiment. Sjöberg495 also discloses decoding a first part of the bitstream to form an address mapping that maps a segment group index value to a segment group address, decoding a first segment group index value, and determining a first segment group address based on the first segment group index value and the address mapping. Further, Sjöberg495 discloses that the segment groups my correspond to tile groups, subpictures, and/or slices. Thus, Sjöberg495’s segment group index value is an identifier associated with the claimed sub-picture, and that identifier is used with the mapping to determine the corresponding address (See ¶¶ [0032], [0048] and [0180]-[0183]).
For the above reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sjöberg et al. (US20220150495A1), hereinafter referred to as “Sjöberg495”.
Regarding claim 1, Sjöberg495 discloses method implemented in a decoder, characterized in that, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream including: a sub-picture of a picture partitioned into a plurality of slices including a first slice, a parameter set associated with the picture, and a slice header associated with the first slice (See ¶¶[0009]-[0014], [0022]-[0023] and [0028]-[0031] disclosing pictures partitioned into tile and segment groups, each with a group header and payload (regional layer), and decoding from a bitstream with a parameter set control);
parsing the parameter set to obtain an identifier associated with the sub-picture (See ¶¶ [0032], [0048], [0070]-[0072], and [0180]-[0183] );
determining a slice address for the first slice from the slice header based on the identifier associated with the sub-picture (See ¶¶ [0032], [0048], [0071]-[0072], and [0180]-[0183]]), wherein a length of the slice address is inferred to be equal to a ceiling of log two of a number of tiles in a picture (Ceil(Log2(NumTilesInPic)) (See ¶[0085] disclosing length of pps_tile_group_address[i] is Ceil(Log2 (NumTilesInPic)) bits); and
decoding the bitstream to create a video sequence of sub-pictures including the first slice based on the slice address (See ¶¶ [0009]-[0014] and [0028]-[00031] disclosing a uses the resolved address to position the region for decoding; regions extraction and viewport workflows align with the creation and display of sub-pictures. See also [0180]-[0183] and Fig. 9 ).
Regarding claim 2, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising forwarding the sub-picture for display (See ¶[0197])
Regarding claim 3, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the length of the slice address indicates a number of bits contained in the slice address (See ¶[0085])
Regarding claim 5, Sjöberg495 discloses method implemented in an encoder, the method comprising (See ¶¶[0195]-[0197]. See also ¶¶[0188] and [0189] ):
encoding a picture in a bitstream, wherein the picture comprises a plurality of slices including a first slice, and wherein the picture includes a sub-picture (See ¶¶[0009]-[0014] and [0022]-[0023]. See also [0183]);
encoding in the bitstream a parameter set associated with the picture, the parameter set including an identifier, associated with the sub-picture, for deriving a length of a slice address of the first slice, wherein the length of the slice address is inferred to be equal to a ceiling of log two of a number of tiles in a picture (Ceil(Log2(NumTilesInPic)) (See ¶¶[0070]-[0072], [0079]-[0085], [0183], [0188]-[0189] and [0195]); and
encoding in the bitstream the slice address of the first slice based on the length of the slice address(See ¶¶[0079]-[0085], [0188]-[0189] and [0195]).
The Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: a compressor (encoder) and a decompressor (decoder). The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream.
Regarding claim 6, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the method of claim 5, wherein further comprising storing the bitstream for communication toward a decoder. (See Fig. 14 and ¶[0197])
Regarding claim 7, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the length of the slice address indicates a number of bits contained in the slice address. (See ¶[0085])
Regarding claim 10, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising extracting the sub-picture of the picture, wherein the sub-picture includes the first slice, and wherein the bitstream comprises the sub-picture and a slice header (See ¶¶[0010]-[0014], [0028]-[0031] and Table 7).
Regarding claim 11, Sjöberg495 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream that, when parsed by a coding device, is used by the coding device to generate a video, the bitstream comprising (See Fig. 14 and ¶¶ [0197]-[0199]):
data representing a sub-picture of a picture partitioned into a plurality of slices including a first slice (See ¶¶[0009]-[0014] and [0022]-[0023]);
a parameter set associated with the picture (See Table 6 and ¶¶ [0070]-[0072], [0079]-[0085] and [0122]-[0123]);
a slice header associated with the first slice (See Table 7 and ¶¶ [0070]-[0072] and [0088]-[0091]); and
an identifier associated with the sub-picture, in the parameter set, for deriving a length of a slice address of the first slice, wherein the length of the slice address is inferred to be equal to a ceiling of log two of a number of tiles in a picture (Ceil(Log2(NumTilesInPic)), and the length of the slice address is used to determine the slice address for the first slice (See Table 7 and ¶¶ [0070]-[0072], [0079]-[0085], [0088]-[0091], [0180]-[0183] and [0197]-[0199]).
Regarding claim 12, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the length of the slice address indicates a number of bits contained in the slice address (See ¶¶[0085])
Regarding claim 15, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the picture includes the sub-picture, wherein the sub-picture includes the first slice, and wherein a sub-bitstream comprises the sub-picture and the slice header (See ¶¶[0010]-[0014] and [0028]-[0031])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjöberg495, in view of Sjöberg et al. (US20140362912A1), hereinafter referred to as Sjöberg912
Regarding claim 4, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Sjöberg495 does not explicitly disclose method of claim 2, wherein determining the slice address for the first slice comprises:
employing the length to determine bit boundaries for interpreting the slice address from the slice header; and
employing the slice address to map slice addresses from a picture based position to a sub-picture based position.
However, Sjöberg912 from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses method of claim 2, wherein determining the slice address for the first slice comprises:
employing the length to determine bit boundaries for interpreting the slice address from the slice header (See ¶¶[0073] and [0074]); and
employing the slice address to map slice addresses from a picture based position to a sub-picture based position (See Fig. 9 and ¶¶[0067]-[0069], [0073]-[0074] and [0153]-[0154]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Sjöberg912 direct address value into Sjöberg495 index based approach to achieve deterministic bit boundary parsing without requiring indexing. A simple substitution of known alternatives yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Sjöberg495 and Sjöberg912 disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Sjöberg495 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the slice address comprises a defined value and does not comprise an index.
However, Sjöberg912 from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the slice address comprises a defined value and does not comprise an index (See Fig. 6 and ¶¶[0042]-[0044] [0073] -[0074]).
The motivation for combining Sjöberg495 and Sjöberg912 has been discussed in connection with claim 4, above.
Regarding claim 14, Sjöberg495 and Sjöberg912 disclose all the limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Sjöberg495 does not explicitly disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the slice address comprises a defined value and does not comprise an index.
However, Sjöberg912 from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the slice address comprises a defined value and does not comprise an index (See Fig. 6 and ¶¶[0042]-[0044] [0073] -[0074]).
The motivation for combining Sjöberg495 and Sjöberg912 has been discussed in connection with claim 4, above.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjöberg495, in view of Huang (US20120106652A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding claim 8, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising encoding in the parameter set an identifier (ID) [syntax] indicating a mapping is available to map the slice address from a picture based position to a sub-picture based position (See ¶¶[0079]-[0085], [0088] and [0090])..
Sjöberg495 does not explicitly disclose a flag disclosing this capability .
However, Huang from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses flag disclosing this capability (See ¶¶[0033], [0038] and [0042])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Sjöberg495 a to add the teachings of Huang as above, in order to include a PPS flag expressly indicating that mapping availability so the encoder signals and the decoder knows when to apply the index (address mapping) (Huang, ¶¶[0033], [0038] and [0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Sjöberg495 discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Sjöberg495 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the parameter set further comprises an identifier (ID) [syntax]in a parameter set indicating a mapping is available to map the slice address from a picture based position to a sub-picture based position (See ¶¶[0079]-[0085], [0088] and [0090])..
Sjöberg495 does not explicitly disclose a flag disclosing this capability .
However, Huang from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses flag disclosing this capability (See ¶¶[0033], [0038] and [0042])
The motivation for combining Sjöberg495 and Huang has been discussed in connection with claim 8, above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486