DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 9th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 2-3 have been canceled. Claims 1 and 4-9 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braden (US 4406373) in view of Garcia (US 9636713).
Regarding claim 1, Braden (US 4406373) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Col. 1 lines 8-12) comprising:
a conveyance table (Fig. 1 #20) including a plurality of accommodation through holes (Fig. 10 #22) in which electronic components (Fig. 10 #10) are to be accommodated (Col. 2 lines 25-28);
a base (Fig. 1 #80) including a plurality of air discharge outlets (Fig. 10 #154) facing the conveyance table (Fig. 10 #154 facing #20);
a discharge unit (Fig. 1 #138, Col. 5 lines 23-25) including:
a plurality of classification holes (Fig. 10 #148) that are located on an opposite side from the plurality of air discharge outlets via the conveyance table (Fig. 10 #148 located on an opposite side from #154 via #20);
at least one collection path (Fig. 1 path along #131-136) that is connected to the plurality of classification holes (Fig. 10 path along #131-136 connected to #148); and
a guide unit (Fig. 10 #140, Fig. 9 #142) that guides electronic components having been discharged from the plurality of accommodation through holes and having passed through the plurality of classification holes due to air discharged from the plurality of air discharge outlets (Fig. 10 #140, Fig. 9 #142 guides #10 having been discharged from #22 and passed through #142 due to air discharged from #154, Col. 5 lines 48-57), to the at least one collection path (Fig. 10 #140, Fig. 9 #142 guides #10 in path along #131-136); and
an air discharge control unit (Fig. 15 #188, Col. 6 lines 60-68, Col. 7 lines 32-42) that controls discharge of air from the plurality of air discharge outlets (Fig. 10 #154), wherein:
the discharge unit (Fig. 1 #138) includes the plurality of collection paths and the plurality of guide units associated with the plurality of collection paths, respectively (Figs. 9-10 #138 includes paths along #131-136 and #140, 142 associated with #131-136),
each of the plurality of collection paths is connected to the classification holes (Fig. 10 path along #131-136 connected to #148), so that the electronic components pass through the classification holes and move toward the guide units (Figs. 9-10 #10 pass through #148 and move toward #140, 142),
each of the plurality of guide units (Figs. 9-10 #140, 142) has one or more guide surfaces (Fig. 9 surface of #142) that guide the electronic components having passed through the classification holes toward each of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 9 surface of #142 guide #10 having passed through #148 toward path of #131-136) and that are located at same distance from the classification holes, respectively (Figs. 9-10 surface of #142 located at the same distance from #148), and
the one or more guide surfaces (Fig. 9 surface of #142) have surface angles (Fig. 9 angle of surface of #142) such that the electronic components having passed through the classification holes enter the one or more guide surfaces at the same angle of incidence (Fig. 9 #10 having passed through #148 enter surface of #142 at same angle as surface of #142 has a constant curvature).
Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching wherein: the air is discharged from the plurality of air discharge outlets so that the electronic components are blown to collide against the guide unit, and the guide unit guides the electronic components to the at least one collection path as a result of collision with the electronic components.
Garcia (US 9636713) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Col. 1 lines 24-27) wherein:
the air is discharged from the plurality of air discharge outlets (Fig. 18 #1806) so that the electronic components are blown to collide against the guide unit (Fig. 18 components collide against #122), and
the guide unit guides the electronic components to the at least one collection path as a result of collision with the electronic components (Fig. 18 #122 guides components to #124 as a result of collision of the components against #122).
Garcia (US 9636713) explains that each collection tube is configured to receive, at the first end thereof, a component ejected from the test plate and guide the received component through the second end and into the collection bin (Col. 21 lines 34-38). Garcia (US 9636713) explains that in an alternative embodiment, the collection tubes are replaced by a common collection manifold which is asymmetrical to create a larger or varied cross sectional area and allow a greater range of trajectory of the components (Col. 11 lines 51-56). Garcia (US 9636713) compares the collection tubes to the common collection manifold by explaining that the variable geometry of the collection manifold allows a greater range of component trajectories, but cannot afford the reduction in velocity due to the impact of the component to the inner surface of the manifold (Col. 11 lines 59-63). Garcia (US 9636713) provides the benefits of using the collection tubes by explaining that the collection tubes reduce the overall distance traveled by the ejected components until entering a collection bin, and therefore the likelihood that the component will be damaged as a result of the ejection process is reduced (Col. 12 lines 10-21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include wherein the air is discharged from the plurality of air discharge outlets so that the electronic components are blown to collide against the guide unit, and the guide unit guides the electronic components to the at least one collection path as a result of collision with the electronic components as taught by Garcia (US 9636713) in order to guide the electronic component a short distance to the collection path, therefore reducing the likelihood of damages.
Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching each of the plurality of collection paths is connected to two or more classification holes, so that the electronic components pass through the two or more classification holes and move toward the guide units, each of the plurality of guide units has one or more guide surfaces that guide the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes toward each of the plurality of collection paths and that are located at same distance from the two or more classification holes, and the one or more guide surfaces have surface angles such that the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes enter the one or more guide surfaces at the same angle of incidence.
Garcia (US 9636713) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Col. 1 lines 24-27) wherein each of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 17 #124, Col. 12 lines 38-45) is connected to two or more classification holes (Fig. 18 #124 connected to multiple #1800), so that the electronic components pass through the two or more classification holes and move toward the guide units (Fig. 18 components pass through #1800 and move toward #122 and #1804), each of the plurality of guide units has one or more guide surfaces (Fig. 18 surface of #122) that guide the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes toward each of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 18 surface of #122 guides components which passed through #1800 toward path through #124, Col. 11 lines 9-16) and that are located at same distance from the two or more classification holes (Fig. 18 surface of #122 located at same distance from #1800), and the one or more guide surfaces (Fig. 18 surface of #122) have surface angles (Fig. 18 angles of surface of #122) such that the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes enter the one or more guide surfaces at the same angle of incidence (Fig. 18 see components that passed through #1800 enter surface of #122 at same angle of incidence).
Garcia (US 9636713) explains that each classification hole is configured to receive a component ejected from the test plate and the guide is configured to guide the received component into the collection path (Col. 21 lines 34-38). Garcia (US 9636713) states that the components may be ejected in parallel, in series, or a combination therefor into one of a number of collection paths, therefore facilitating high-throughput handling of the components (Col. 12 lines 38-45).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include each of the plurality of collection paths is connected to two or more classification holes, so that the electronic components pass through the two or more classification holes and move toward the guide units, each of the plurality of guide units has one or more guide surfaces that guide the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes toward each of the plurality of collection paths and that are located at same distance from the two or more classification holes, and the one or more guide surfaces have surface angles such that the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes enter the one or more guide surfaces at the same angle of incidence as taught by Garcia (US 9636713) in order to eject components in parallel, in series, or a combination thereof, therefore providing a high-throughput handling of the components.
Regarding claim 5, Braden (US 4406373) teaches the electronic component conveyance machine as defined in claim 1, wherein:
the conveyance table (Fig. 1 #20) extends in a vertical direction or in a direction that is inclined with respect to both the vertical direction and a horizontal direction (Col. 2 lines 40-43), and
the plurality of accommodation through holes (Fig. 10 #22) are arrayed into a plurality of rows (Col. 2 lines 27-28).
Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching the conveyance table rotates around an axis of rotation to convey the electronic components housed in the plurality of accommodation through holes in a circumferential direction, and the plurality of accommodation through holes are arrayed into a plurality of rows whose radial distances from the axis of rotation are different from each other and in each of the plurality of rows, distance between accommodation through holes adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction is constant.
Garcia (US 9636713) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Col. 1 lines 24-27) wherein the conveyance table (Fig. 1 #102) rotates around an axis of rotation (Fig. 1 #102 rotates around axis extending through ‘C’) to convey the electronic components housed in the plurality of accommodation through holes (Fig. 4 #510 housed in #500) in a circumferential direction (Col. 5 lines 59-66, Col. 6 lines 47-61), and the plurality of accommodation through holes are arrayed into a plurality of rows (Fig. 3 #104) whose radial distances from the axis of rotation are different from each other (Col. 6 lines 47-61) and in each of the plurality of rows, distance between accommodation through holes adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction is constant (Fig. 6 distance between each #500 adjacent in a circumferential direction is constant).
Garcia (US 9636713) explains that the conveyance table may be incrementally or continuously movable, so as to be rotatably movable along a clockwise direction (Col. 5 lines 60-67).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include the conveyance table rotates around an axis of rotation to convey the electronic components housed in the plurality of accommodation through holes in a circumferential direction, and the plurality of accommodation through holes are arrayed into a plurality of rows whose radial distances from the axis of rotation are different from each other and in each of the plurality of rows, distance between accommodation through holes adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction is constant as taught by Garcia (US 9636713) in order to provide a conveyance table which may be continuously movable in one direction, therefore eliminating the need to reset the conveyance table.
Regarding claim 6, Braden (US 4406373) teaches the electronic component conveyance machine as defined in claim 1, further comprising a plurality of air supply units (Fig. 14 #170) that are connected to the plurality of air discharge outlets (Col. 6 lines 60-64),
wherein the plurality of air supply units are configured to supply air to the plurality of air discharge outlets under different air pressure conditions from each other (Col. 6 line 61-Col. 7 line 15).
Regarding claim 7, Braden (US 4406373) teaches the electronic component conveyance machine as defined in claim 1, further comprising:
an inspection unit (Fig. 1 #119) that performs an inspection of electronic components housed in the plurality of accommodation through holes (Col. 4 lines 11-35); and
an air discharge control unit (Col. 6 line 61-Col. 7 line 15) that controls discharge of air from the plurality of air discharge outlets (Col. 6 lines 6-12), wherein:
the discharge unit (Fig. 1 #138, Col. 5 lines 23-25) includes: the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 10 #138 includes paths along #131-136) associated with a plurality of classifications based on a result of the inspection (Col. 5 lines 35-40, Col. 6 lines 34-50), respectively; and the plurality of guide units (Figs. 9-10 #140, 142) associated with the plurality of collection paths (Figs. 9-10 #140, 142 associated with each path through #131-136), respectively,
classification holes (Fig. 10 #148) are connected to each of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 10 #148 connected to each path through #131-136) and the electronic components having passed through the classification holes are guided by at least one of the plurality of the guide units associated with the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 10 #10 having passed through #148 are guided by #140, 142 associated with #131-136), and
the air discharge control unit is configured to control discharge of air from the plurality of air discharge outlets (Col. 6 line 61-Col. 7 line 15) according to a result of the inspection by the inspection unit (Col. 6 lines 34-50) so that an electronic component housed in each of the plurality of accommodation through holes (Fig. 10 #10 housed in #22) passes through the classification hole connected to an associated collection path and is guided by the guide unit (Figs. 9-10 #10 passes through #148 connected to path of #131-136 and is guided by #140, 142).
Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching two or more classification holes are connected to each of the plurality of collection paths and the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes are guided by at least one of the plurality of the guide units associated with the plurality of collection paths.
Garcia (US 9636713) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Col. 1 lines 24-27) wherein two or more classification holes (Fig. 18 #1800) are connected to each of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 18 multiple #1800 connected to path through #124) and the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes are guided by at least one of the plurality of the guide units associated with the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 18 components having passed through #1800 are guided by #122, 1804 associated with #124, Col. 11 lines 9-16).
Garcia (US 9636713) explains that each classification hole is configured to receive a component ejected from the test plate and the guide is configured to guide the received component into the collection path (Col. 21 lines 34-38). Garcia (US 9636713) states that the components may be ejected in parallel, in series, or a combination therefor into one of a number of collection paths, therefore facilitating high-throughput handling of the components (Col. 12 lines 38-45).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include two or more classification holes are connected to each of the plurality of collection paths and the electronic components having passed through the two or more classification holes are guided by at least one of the plurality of the guide units associated with the plurality of collection paths as taught by Garcia (US 9636713) in order to eject components in parallel, in series, or a combination thereof, therefore providing a high-throughput handling of the components.
Regarding claim 8, Braden (US 4406373) teaches the electronic component conveyance machine as defined in claim 1,
the plurality of accommodation through holes (Fig. 10 #22) are arrayed into a plurality of pocket rows (Col. 2 lines 27-28),
the discharge unit (Fig. 1 #138, Col. 5 lines 23-25) includes a discharge body provided integrally (Fig. 1 body of #138),
the discharge body has a plurality of classification sections (Fig. 1 sections of #131-136), and each of the plurality of classification sections includes a classification hole (Fig. 10 each section of #131-136 includes #148), the at least one collection path (Fig. 1 path along #131-136) and the guide unit (Fig. 10 #140, 142 in each #131-136).
Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching wherein the conveyance table is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the plurality of accommodation through holes are arranged in a circumferential direction and a radial direction of the conveyance table and are arrayed into a plurality of pocket rows that have different distances from the axis of rotation in the radial direction, each of the plurality of classification sections includes a plurality of classification holes, and the plurality of classification holes included in each of the plurality of classification sections are assigned to accommodation through holes of the plurality of pocket rows.
Garcia (US 9636713) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Col. 1 lines 24-27) wherein the conveyance table (Fig. 1 #102) is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (Fig. 1 #102 rotates around axis extending through ‘C’), the plurality of accommodation through holes are arranged in a circumferential direction and a radial direction of the conveyance table (Figs. 5, 12 #500 arranged in circumferential direction and radial direction of #102) and are arrayed into a plurality of pocket rows that have different distances from the axis of rotation in the radial direction (Col. 6 lines 47-61, Figs. 1, 12 #500 in rows #104 that have different distances from center axis of #102 extending through ‘C’), each of the plurality of classification sections (Fig. 18 #124, Col. 11 lines 9-16, each of “one or more collection bins”) includes a plurality of classification holes (Fig. 18 plurality of #1800), and the plurality of classification holes included in each of the plurality of classification sections are assigned to accommodation through holes of the plurality of pocket rows (Col. 21 lines 29-32).
Garcia (US 9636713) explains that the conveyance table may be incrementally or continuously movable, so as to be rotatably movable along a clockwise direction (Col. 5 lines 60-67). Additionally, Garcia (US 9636713) explains that each classification hole is configured to receive a component ejected from the test plate and the guide is configured to guide the received component into the collection path (Col. 21 lines 34-38). Garcia (US 9636713) states that the components may be ejected in parallel, in series, or a combination therefor into one of a number of collection paths, therefore facilitating high-throughput handling of the components (Col. 12 lines 38-45).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include wherein the conveyance table is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the plurality of accommodation through holes are arranged in a circumferential direction and a radial direction of the conveyance table and are arrayed into a plurality of pocket rows that have different distances from the axis of rotation in the radial direction, each of the plurality of classification sections includes a plurality of classification holes, and the plurality of classification holes included in each of the plurality of classification sections are assigned to accommodation through holes of the plurality of pocket rows as taught by Garcia (US 9636713) in order to provide a conveyance table which may be continuously movable in one direction, therefore eliminating the need to reset the conveyance table, and further in order to eject components in parallel, in series, or a combination thereof, therefore providing a high-throughput handling of the components.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braden (US 4406373) in view of Garcia (US 9636713) and further in view of Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553). English translations of the specification and claims of Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) have been provided herein.
Regarding claim 4, Braden (US 4406373) teaches the electronic component conveyance machine as defined in claim 1, wherein:
each of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 10 path along #131-136) has a collection wall (Fig. 9 #146), which has slopes downwardly extending toward the collection discharge outlet (Fig. 9 #146 slopes downwardly, Col. 5 lines 48-50), so that the electronic components guided by one or more of the guide units land on the collection wall (Fig. 10 #10 guided by #140, 142 land on #146), and
each of the plurality of collection paths is configured so that the electronic components from the collection wall move under gravity toward the collection discharge outlet (Fig. 9 in each #131-136, #10 on #146 move under gravity toward outlet, Col. 5 lines 48-50).
Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching a plurality of guide lines that are connected to collection discharge outlets of the plurality of collection paths, respectively, and that guide the electronic components sent from the plurality of collection paths through the collection discharge outlets, to a subsequent stage, wherein: each of the plurality of collection paths is configured so that the electronic components from the collection wall move under gravity toward the collection discharge outlet and enter a corresponding guide line of the plurality of guide lines through the collection discharge outlet.
Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-4) comprising a plurality of guide lines (Fig. 2 #86) that are connected to collection discharge outlets of the plurality of collection paths (Fig. 2 #86 connected to collection discharge outlet of #85), respectively, and that guide the electronic components sent from the plurality of collection paths through the collection discharge outlets, to a subsequent stage (Fig. 2 #86 guide ‘W’ from path through outlet of #85 to #115), wherein: each of the plurality of collection paths is configured so that the electronic components move under gravity toward the collection discharge outlet (Fig. 2 ‘W’ move under gravity toward discharge outlet of #85) and enter a corresponding guide line of the plurality of guide lines through the collection discharge outlet (Fig. 2 ‘W’ enter corresponding #86 from outlet of #85).
Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) explains that when the compressed air injected toward the component reaches the guide line (coil tube), the compressed air is discharged, and therefore the component is in a state close to a natural fall and there is no fear that the compressed air hits the components already stored in the storage box, causing the components to fly up again (Paragraph 0060 lines 10-21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include a plurality of guide lines that are connected to collection discharge outlets of the plurality of collection paths, respectively, and that guide the electronic components sent from the plurality of collection paths through the collection discharge outlets, to a subsequent stage, wherein: each of the plurality of collection paths is configured so that the electronic components from the collection wall move under gravity toward the collection discharge outlet and enter a corresponding guide line of the plurality of guide lines through the collection discharge outlet as taught by Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) in order to prevent compressed air from reaching the stored components and causing the stored components to fly up again.
Regarding claim 9, Braden (US 4406373) lacks teaching the electronic component conveyance machine as defined in claim 4, further comprising a plurality of collection containers, wherein
the plurality of collection containers are connected to the plurality of guide lines so that the plurality of collection containers accommodate the electronic components sent from the plurality of collection paths through the plurality of guide lines.
Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) teaches an electronic component conveyance machine (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-4) further comprising a plurality of collection containers (Fig. 2 #115), wherein
the plurality of collection containers are connected to the plurality of guide lines (Fig. 2 #115 connected to #86) so that the plurality of collection containers accommodate the electronic components sent from the plurality of collection paths through the plurality of guide lines (Paragraph 0060 lines 11-15).
Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) explains that the electronic components are discharged into the work storage box according to the classification corresponding to the measurement results of the electronic component (Paragraph 0017 lines 13-23).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Braden (US 4406373) to include a plurality of collection containers, wherein the plurality of collection containers are connected to the plurality of guide lines so that the plurality of collection containers accommodate the electronic components sent from the plurality of collection paths through the plurality of guide lines as taught by Tomoyuki et al. (JP 2011112553) in order to store the electronic components which have been assigned a particular classification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 9th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that Garcia (US 9636713) does not disclose or suggest “the air is discharged from the plurality of air discharge outlets so that the electronic components are blown to collide against the guide unit”, the Examiner would like to clarify the following.
Garcia teaches collection tubes configured to receive a component ejected from the test plate and guide the received component through the second end and into the collection bin (Col. 21 lines 34-38). Garcia additionally provides an alternative embodiment which uses a common collection manifold instead of the collection tubes, and explains that the common collection manifold is asymmetrical to create a larger or caried cross sectional area and allow a greater range of trajectory of the components (Col. 11 lines 51-66). Garcia compares the collection tubes to the common collection manifold by explaining that the variable geometry of the collection manifold allows a greater range of component trajectories, but cannot afford the reduction in velocity due to the impact of the component to the inner surface of the manifold (Col. 11 lines 59-63). Alternatively, the collection tubes allow reduction in velocity due to the impact (collision) of the component to the inner surface of the collection tube (guide unit), but allow a smaller range of component trajectories. Garcia explains the benefits of using the collection tubes by stating that the collection tubes reduce the overall distance traveled by the ejected components until entering a collection bin, and therefore the likelihood that the component will be damaged as a result of the ejection process is reduced (Col. 12 lines 10-21). Therefore, the collection tubes as taught by Garcia act as an “intentional, purpose-designed collision-control mechanism” as they provide the deceleration, reduction of damage risk, and stable guidance toward the recovery path due to collision of the component with the inner surface of the collection tube.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., deceleration utilizing collision, suppression of bounce behavior, reduction of damage risk, and stable guidance toward the recovery path) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653