DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,760. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations of the present claims similar in scope and are broader than that of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,760. For example:
Claim 1 of the present invention
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,760
A secure facility telecommunications system comprising
a monitored phone,
an outside telecommunication line,
an audio monitoring station communicatively connectible to the monitored phone and the outside telecommunication line,
and means to mute an audio channel which the audio monitoring station receives from the phone to be monitored or an external phone connected to the outside telecommunication line.
A secure facility telecommunications system for monitoring telephone audio calls between an internal caller detained in the secure facility and an external caller located outside of the secure facility,
comprising, a monitored phone disposed inside the secure facility for use by the internal caller detained in the secure facility,
an outside telecommunication line connectible to the monitored phone and to an external phone used by the external caller located outside the secure facility,
an audio monitoring station communicatively connectible to the monitored phone and to the external phone connected to the outside telecommunication line,
the audio monitoring station receiving an internal audio channel from the monitored phone and an external audio channel from the external phone,
and means to mute the external audio channel which the audio monitoring station receives from the external phone connected to the outside telecommunication line,
whereby distorting sounds being transmitted to the audio monitoring station over the external audio channel may be muted so that a user of the audio monitoring station will hear words or sounds being spoken by the detained internal caller and being transmitted over the internal audio channel.
From the above claim comparison, the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention is anticipated/covered by that of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,760. The limitations of independent claim 10 are also anticipated/covered by that of claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,760. The remaining claims are directly or indirectly taught by at least the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,760.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sidler et al (2016/0239932).
Consider claim 1, Sidler et al teach a secure facility telecommunications system (Fig. 1; controlled environment information management system; par. 0061) comprising a monitored phone (par. 0066; “user terminals 121-1 through 121-N”), an outside telecommunication line (par. 0066; “outside the walls of the facility (such as network 130 and user terminals 131-1 through 131-P”), an audio monitoring station communicatively connectible to the monitored phone and the outside telecommunication line (Fig. 2; par. 0043; “Fig. 3; par. 0012-0015; “an investigator may be allowed to monitor a live call and/or participate in the call”; 0049; ), and means to mute an audio channel which the audio monitoring station receives from the phone to be monitored or an external phone connected to the outside telecommunication line (par. 0014; “An investigator or other individual may be enabled to listen to the call in progress, himself being muted from the call (such as to prevent the calling party and/or calling party being alerted to the monitoring by background noise associated with the investigator). The investigator may be provided various controls with respect to the monitored call, such as particular dual-tone multiple frequency (DTMF) inputs to control switching from monitoring only (investigator muted) to barging into the call (investigator in duplex communication with one or more parties to the call), disconnecting the call between one or more of the parties to the call, marking positions in the call with “bookmarks” or tags for locating later in the call recording, disconnect the investigator from the call, etcetera”). [.]
Consider claim 2, Sidler et al teach wherein the secure facility is a jail (par. 0017; “Information management and retrieval systems of the present invention may be deployed for use with respect to a variety of controlled environment facilities, including inmate facilities (e.g., municipal jails, county jails, state prisons, federal prisons, military stockades, juvenile facilities, and detention camps), hospitals, nursing homes, camps, and the like”).
Consider claim 3, Sidler et al teach wherein the monitored phone is an inmate phone adapted to be used by an inmate of a jail (par. 0040; 0110; “User terminal equipment utilized according to preferred embodiments of the present invention may include personal computers, personal digital assistants (PDAs), pagers, telephones (wireline and wireless), facsimile machines, kiosks, automatic teller machines (ATMs), and the like”; par. 0049; “call monitoring (whether real-time or recorded, and whether monitoring a particular call or a plurality of calls)”).
Consider claim 4, Sidler et al teach wherein the audio monitoring station is adapted to be used by an authorized jail officer (par. 0043; 0087; “an investigator or other personnel attempting to invoke the translation service may be validated to confirm that this person has authorization to monitor the communication”).
Consider claim 5, Sidler et al teach wherein the outside telecommunications line is a VOIP line (par. 0044; 0091).
Consider claim 6, Sidler et al teach wherein the outside telecommunications line is a POTS line (par. 0044; 0091).
Consider claim 7, Sidler et al teach wherein the audio channel muted is from an external phone connected to the outside telecommunication line that contains a loud sound source (par. 0014; 0095; 0110).
Consider claim 8, Sidler et al teach wherein the means to mute includes an phone switch (par. 0014; “An investigator or other individual may be enabled to listen to the call in progress, himself being muted from the call (such as to prevent the calling party and/or calling party being alerted to the monitoring by background noise associated with the investigator). The investigator may be provided various controls with respect to the monitored call, such as particular dual-tone multiple frequency (DTMF) inputs to control switching from monitoring only (investigator muted) to barging into the call (investigator in duplex communication with one or more parties to the call)”.
Consider claim 9, Sidler et al teach wherein the phone switch is located externally with respect to the secure facility, and contains call channel isolation logic (par. 0014; “An investigator or other individual may be enabled to listen to the call in progress, himself being muted from the call (such as to prevent the calling party and/or calling party being alerted to the monitoring by background noise associated with the investigator). The investigator may be provided various controls with respect to the monitored call, such as particular dual-tone multiple frequency (DTMF) inputs to control switching from monitoring only (investigator muted) to barging into the call (investigator in duplex communication with one or more parties to the call)”; par. 0017; Fig. 8; “Additionally, information management and retrieval systems of the present invention may be coupled to other systems, whether internal or external to the controlled environment facility, including networks (such as the public switched telephone network (PSTN) and the Internet), databases (such as demographic databases, consumer account databases, historical records databases, government databases, and judicial databases), and platforms (such as personal computers, computer networks, and even other information management systems of the present invention). It should be appreciated, however, that aspects of the present invention are useful without regard to controlled environment facilities, and therefore there is no limitation to use of embodiments of the present invention with respect to controlled environment facilities”).
Consider claim 10, Sidler et al teach a secure jail facility telecommunications system that permits muting of [incomming] incoming audio of one of the call parties between an inmate and an outside party to avoid efforts to disrupt conversation monitoring (par. 0014; “An investigator or other individual may be enabled to listen to the call in progress, himself being muted from the call (such as to prevent the calling party and/or calling party being alerted to the monitoring by background noise associated with the investigator)”), comprising a. a monitored inmate phone (par. 0066; “user terminals 121-1 through 121-N”), b. a VOIP outside telecommunication line (par. par. 0044; 0066; 0091; “outside the walls of the facility (such as network 130 and user terminals 131-1 through 131-P”), c. an audio monitoring station communicatively connectible to the monitored phone and the outside telecommunication line, the audio monitoring station is adapted to be used by an authorized jail officer (par. 0043; 0087; “an investigator or other personnel attempting to invoke the translation service may be validated to confirm that this person has authorization to monitor the communication”), and d. means to mute an audio channel which the audio monitoring station receives from the phone to be monitored or an external phone connected to the outside telecommunication line (par. 0014; “An investigator or other individual may be enabled to listen to the call in progress, himself being muted from the call (such as to prevent the calling party and/or calling party being alerted to the monitoring by background noise associated with the investigator). The investigator may be provided various controls with respect to the monitored call, such as particular dual-tone multiple frequency (DTMF) inputs to control switching from monitoring only (investigator muted) to barging into the call (investigator in duplex communication with one or more parties to the call), disconnecting the call between one or more of the parties to the call, marking positions in the call with “bookmarks” or tags for locating later in the call recording, disconnect the investigator from the call, etcetera”), wherein the means to mute includes an phone switch located externally with respect to the secure facility and contains call channel isolation logic(par. 0014; “An investigator or other individual may be enabled to listen to the call in progress, himself being muted from the call (such as to prevent the calling party and/or calling party being alerted to the monitoring by background noise associated with the investigator). The investigator may be provided various controls with respect to the monitored call, such as particular dual-tone multiple frequency (DTMF) inputs to control switching from monitoring only (investigator muted) to barging into the call (investigator in duplex communication with one or more parties to the call)”; par. 0017; Fig. 8; “Additionally, information management and retrieval systems of the present invention may be coupled to other systems, whether internal or external to the controlled environment facility, including networks (such as the public switched telephone network (PSTN) and the Internet), databases (such as demographic databases, consumer account databases, historical records databases, government databases, and judicial databases), and platforms (such as personal computers, computer networks, and even other information management systems of the present invention). It should be appreciated, however, that aspects of the present invention are useful without regard to controlled environment facilities, and therefore there is no limitation to use of embodiments of the present invention with respect to controlled environment facilities”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
June 10, 2026