DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,765 in view of Danesh (U.S. 2015/0009676). U.S. Patent No. 12,152,765 discloses the claimed invention except for the fan. Danesh teaches that it is known to construct a junction box with a fan (see element 4; paragraph [0018]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,765 with the fan, as taught by Danesh, in order to cool the interior space.
Claims 9-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,765 in view of Xie et al. (CN 216086357U). U.S. Patent No. 12,152,765 discloses the claimed invention but also states that the wall is substantially circular. Xie et al. teaches that it is known to construct a junction box that does not have a circular wall (see figures 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,765 with the wall being non-circular, as taught by Xie et al., in order to snugly fit within a non-circular space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuko et al. (U.S. 2012/0170248) in view of Danesh (U.S. 2015/0009676).
Regarding claim 1, Masuko et al. teaches a junction box, shown in figure 1, comprising a housing comprising a top portion 13, a wall 13b extending from the top portion, comprising an internal coupling region 13d1, and a captured o-ring 14 embedded in the side wall, the attachment 11 comprising a second wall 11b comprising an external coupling region 11d2, and a captive fastener 15f configured to pass through the top portion 13 for mounting of the junction box to a surface (extends through opening of 13), wherein the external coupling region and the internal coupling region are shaped and arranged to be releasably couplable via a twist-and-lock configuration (figure 2).
Further regarding claim 1, Masuko et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the fan. Danesh teaches that it is known to construct a junction box with a fan (see element 4; paragraph [0018]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Masuko et al. with the fan, as taught by Danesh, in order to cool the interior space.
Additionally, the modified device of Masuko et al. teaches a drain and intake port adjacent lead line 11 in figure 7.
Regarding claim 2, the watertight seal is created without the use of tools or other fasteners (figure 2; watertight due to o-rings).
Regarding claim 3, the captive fastener 15f passes through a seal (extends through central opening of 14), wherein the seal is fixedly attached to the top portion when 11 is secured to 13.
Regarding claim 4, the internal coupling region comprises a locking socket (threaded fastener 11d2) and wherein the housing comprises an external locking socket disposed on an exterior portion of the housing.
Regarding claim 5, the external coupling region comprises a locking projection (thread) shaped to fit within the locking socket (thread recess), and wherein the attachment comprises an external locking projection (thread) disposed on an exterior portion of the attachment, the external locking projection shaped to be engaged with the external locking socket.
Regarding claim 6, the junction box is installed in a wet location (capable of being installed in wet location).
Regarding claim 7, one or more conduit hubs located in the substantially circular wall (see W1 in figure 4C).
Regarding claim 8, the conduit hubs are glue-in conduit hubs (the openings receiving w1 are capable of being used as glue-in conduit hubs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendment filed April 22, 2026 is sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, set forth in the previous Office Action. Applicant argues that claim 1 is not anticipated by Masuko et al. because Masuko et al. does not teach a fan, and intake port and a drain. The secondary reference of Danesh (U.S. 2015/0009676) has been added to the rejection for the teaching of providing a housing with a fan. Danesh discloses a fan in paragraph [0018] for cooling the interior of the housing. It is also the examiner’s position that the primary reference of Masuko et al. teaches openings shown in figure 7 at lead line 11 which can be considered ports and drains, to the degree set forth in amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736