DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1 – 8) in the reply filed on September 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 – 20 are canceled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Inventions II and III), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 29, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “substantially parallel.” Because “parallel” is a term of degree which is not expressly defined in the Specification, the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the interior surface of the engagement region.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “substantially perpendicular.” Because “parallel” is a term of degree which is not expressly defined in the Specification, the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0178556).
As to claim 1, Su teaches a lateral attachment clamp (abstract) comprising: a clamp region including a proximal end and a distal end (figure 1, elements 20 and 30 being the ‘clamp region’; paragraph 19), the proximal end of the claim region including a clamp component (figure 1, element 30 being the ‘clamp component’; paragraph 30), a longitudinal axis of the clamp region extending between the proximal end and the distal end (figure 1, see below).
Su further teaches an engagement region including a proximal end and a distal end (figure 1, see below), the proximal end of the engagement region attached at an angle to the distal end of the clamp region (figure 1). Examiner notes that this can be found because Su teaches that the clamp region is pivotably attached to the engagement region, via a pin (figure 1, see below). Therefore, the engagement region may be oriented with respect to the clamp region, such that proximal end of the engagement region is at an angle to the distal end of the clamp region.
Su further teaches that the engagement region further includes a partial mounting aperture disposed between the proximal end and the distal end of the engagement region (figure 1, see below).
Su further teaches that the partial mounting aperture including an opening dimensioned to along with a vertical axis in a first orientation of the lateral attachment clamp and intersect with the vertical axis in a second orientation of the lateral attachment clamp, the vertical axis substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the clamp region when the lateral attachment clamp is in the second orientation. This can be found because, again, the clamp and engagement regions are pivotably attached to one another via the pin (figure 1, see above). Therefore, the engagement region may be oriented such that the opening is aligned with a vertical axis to form the first orientation (figure 1 illustrating the first orientation). Then, the engagement region may be reoriented such that the opening intersects the vertical axis in a second orientation. In each of the first and second orientations, the clamp region may be oriented horizontally, such that the vertical axis is perpendicular with the longitudinal axis of the clamp region.
As to claim 2, Su teaches that the partial mounting aperture further includes a wing located on a side of the opening, the wing being parallel to the vertical axis in the first orientation and the wing is configured to intersect the vertical axis in the second orientation (figure 1, see below).
As to claim 3, Su further teaches that the wing is tapered such that a width of the wing is variable along a length of the wing (figure 1, see above).
As to claim 4, Su teaches that the partial mounting aperture furth includes a contact face on an interior surface of the partial mounting aperture, the contact face being substantial parallel to the vertical axis in the second orientation (figure 1, see below). Examiner notes that this can be found because the surface of the contact face is a flat plane which is parallel to a vertical plane. Therefore, even though the engagement region (including the contact face) is pivoted, the surface of the contact face remains parallel to the vertical axis.
As to claim 5, Su teaches that a side surface of the engagement region includes an aperture that extends into an interior surface of the engagement region, the apertures configured to house a fastener (figure 3, see below).
As to claim 6, Su teaches that the clamp component includes a jaw located in a transverse plane, the transverse plane perpendicular to the vertical axis when the lateral attachment clamp is positioned in the second orientation (figures 1 and 2, element 30 being the ‘jaw’).
As to claim 7, Su teaches that a longitudinal axis of the engagement region and the longitudinal axis of the clamp region form an obtuse angle, the obtuse angle in a range of 145 to 165 degrees. This can be found because, again, Su teaches clamp and engagement regions are pivotably connected to one another, such that they are configured to form an angle between 145 to 165 degrees.
As to claim 8, the vertical axis may be a vertical axis of a member, the opening dimensioned such that in the first orientation the member is insertable into the opening and upon rotation of the lateral attachment clamp from the first orientation to the second orientation the member is misaligned with the opening to constrain the member within the partial mounting aperture (figure 1, see above). This can be found because the member may be dimensioned such that the member is smaller than the opening and the partial mounting aperture, which would allow the engagement region to be rotated to the second orientation while keeping the member within the opening, such that the member is misaligned with the opening and constrained within the partial mounting aperture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bortoli (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0424621) teaches a lateral attachment clamp comprising: a clamp region including a clamp component; and an engagement region including a partial mounting aperture.
Tsai (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0424649) teaches a lateral attachment clamp comprising: a clamp region including a clamp component; and an engagement region including a partial mounting aperture.
Kundel (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0090519) teaches a lateral attachment clamp comprising: a clamp region including a clamp component; and an engagement region including a parti8al mounting aperture.
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725