DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 10/22/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 16 and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luchner et al. (US 20190073040 A1, hereinafter Luchner).
As to claim 1, Luchner discloses an apparatus for enhancing a user interface, the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (“Computer 116 is communicatively coupled to image processor 114 and includes a microprocessor 120 which is communicatively coupled to both a memory 118 and storage 122. In one embodiment, computer 116 can receive the digital representation of the hand from image processor 114 then analyze that digital representation to identify the gesture or gesture/motion combination made by hand 110. Having identified the gesture or gesture/motion combination, computer 116 can then try to associate the identified gesture or gesture/motion combination to a user interface command,” Luchner paragraph 0026); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory configured (“Computer 116 is communicatively coupled to image processor 114 and includes a microprocessor 120 which is communicatively coupled to both a memory 118 and storage 122. In one embodiment, computer 116 can receive the digital representation of the hand from image processor 114 then analyze that digital representation to identify the gesture or gesture/motion combination made by hand 110. Having identified the gesture or gesture/motion combination, computer 116 can then try to associate the identified gesture or gesture/motion combination to a user interface command,” Luchner paragraph 0026) to:
identify a region of interest based on a first input received from a user, the first input directed at the region of interest ("FIG. 8B illustrates an embodiment of a user selecting an item from display 800. In the illustrated embodiment, the user selects an item by extending the thumb, index, middle, ring, and pinky fingers to form an open hand with the palm facing display region 806, causing circular cursor 808 to appear. To select an item from the display the user moves the hand and, as the hand moves, cursor 808 follows the hand, tracking the hand's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the hand stops," Luchner paragraph 0060);
adjust, on a display, elements of the user interface within the region based on the first input ("When cursor 708 reaches desired item 710, the item highlights," Luchner paragraph 0058);
select an adjusted element within the region based on a second input received from the user ("When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user confirms this item as their selection by quickly closing the hand to a fist, then opening the hand again to return to an open hand with the palm facing the display," Luchner paragraph 0060); and
perform a function associated with the selected adjusted element ("For instance, in an automobile embodiment system 1 could be a sound system whose volume is being adjusted with gestures and motions that interact with slider 130 shown on the display," Luchner paragraph 0031).
As to claim 2, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to track a position of a hand across a first region, a second region, and a third region ("Dashboard 302 also includes hand gesture recognition cameras 310 and 312 positioned below display regions 304, 306, and 308, where they can capture video or images of a at least one of the driver's hands and both hands or a front passenger," Luchner paragraph 0039; "The apparatus includes a digital camera to capture video or a sequence of still images of a user's hand. One or more processors are coupled to the digital camera to process the video or the sequence of still images to produce a digital representation of the user's hand, to determine the gesture and motion of the user's hand from the digital representation, and to correlate the gesture or the gesture/motion combination to a user interface command," Luchner paragraph 0003; "In some embodiments, a graphic representation 128 of the gesture made by hand 110 can be displayed on display 126 and on additional displays 136, if present, and its motion on the screen can track the actual motion of hand 110 to provide visual user feedback. User interface controls such as a visible cursor, can be provided instead of or in addition to other controls to provide different or additional visual user feedback," Luchner paragraph 0028; "As shown in FIG. 7A, in the illustrated embodiment, the user extends their index finger, causing circular cursor 708 to appear. With the index finger still extended, the user moves their hand and, as the hand moves cursor 708 follows the index finger, tracking the finger's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the finger stops. When cursor 708 reaches desired item 710, the item highlights," Luchner paragraph 0058; "When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user thrusts the hand, or just the index finger, toward the screen—as if trying to poke the screen, as shown by the arrow—to confirm that item 810 is the desired selection," Luchner paragraph 0059, show cursor when hand is making a specific gesture in the capture region (i.e., a first region)), highlight an on-screen item when the hand is in a region overlapping with the element region (i.e., a second region) and thrusting the hand inward toward the screen (i.e., inhabiting a third region closer to the screen) to select an element).
As to claim 3, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to track the position of the hand using a hand tracking system ("Dashboard 302 also includes hand gesture recognition cameras 310 and 312 positioned below display regions 304, 306, and 308, where they can capture video or images of a at least one of the driver's hands and both hands or a front passenger," Luchner paragraph 0039; "The apparatus includes a digital camera to capture video or a sequence of still images of a user's hand. One or more processors are coupled to the digital camera to process the video or the sequence of still images to produce a digital representation of the user's hand, to determine the gesture and motion of the user's hand from the digital representation, and to correlate the gesture or the gesture/motion combination to a user interface command," Luchner paragraph 0003).
As to claim 4, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine the position of the hand is within the first region ("In some embodiments, a graphic representation 128 of the gesture made by hand 110 can be displayed on display 126 and on additional displays 136, if present, and its motion on the screen can track the actual motion of hand 110 to provide visual user feedback. User interface controls such as a visible cursor, can be provided instead of or in addition to other controls to provide different or additional visual user feedback," Luchner paragraph 0028, show cursor when hand is making a specific gesture in the capture region (i.e., a first region)); and
in response to a determination that the position of the hand is within the first region, output, via the user interface, visual feedback indicating that the hand tracking system detects the hand ("In some embodiments, a graphic representation 128 of the gesture made by hand 110 can be displayed on display 126 and on additional displays 136, if present, and its motion on the screen can track the actual motion of hand 110 to provide visual user feedback. User interface controls such as a visible cursor, can be provided instead of or in addition to other controls to provide different or additional visual user feedback," Luchner paragraph 0028, show cursor (i.e., visual feedback) when hand is making a specific gesture in the capture region (i.e., a first region)).
As to claim 5, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine the position of the hand is within the second region ("As shown in FIG. 7A, in the illustrated embodiment, the user extends their index finger, causing circular cursor 708 to appear. With the index finger still extended, the user moves their hand and, as the hand moves cursor 708 follows the index finger, tracking the finger's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the finger stops. When cursor 708 reaches desired item 710, the item highlights," Luchner paragraph 0058, highlight an on-screen item when the hand is in a region overlapping with the element region (i.e., a second region)); and
in response to a determination that the position of the hand is within the second region, adjust the elements of the user interface within the region ("As shown in FIG. 7A, in the illustrated embodiment, the user extends their index finger, causing circular cursor 708 to appear. With the index finger still extended, the user moves their hand and, as the hand moves cursor 708 follows the index finger, tracking the finger's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the finger stops. When cursor 708 reaches desired item 710, the item highlights," Luchner paragraph 0058, highlight an on-screen item when the hand is in a region overlapping with the element region (i.e., a second region)).
As to claim 6, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine the position of the hand is within the third region ("When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user thrusts the hand, or just the index finger, toward the screen—as if trying to poke the screen, as shown by the arrow—to confirm that item 810 is the desired selection," Luchner paragraph 0059, thrusting the hand inward toward the screen (i.e., inhabiting a third region closer to the screen) to select an element); and
in response to a determination that the position of the hand is within the third region, the at least one processor is configured to select the adjusted element within the region ("When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user thrusts the hand, or just the index finger, toward the screen—as if trying to poke the screen, as shown by the arrow—to confirm that item 810 is the desired selection," Luchner paragraph 0059, thrusting the hand inward toward the screen (i.e., inhabiting a third region closer to the screen) to select an element).
As to claim 8, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first input includes a trajectory of a hand ("FIG. 8B illustrates an embodiment of a user selecting an item from display 800. In the illustrated embodiment, the user selects an item by extending the thumb, index, middle, ring, and pinky fingers to form an open hand with the palm facing display region 806, causing circular cursor 808 to appear. To select an item from the display the user moves the hand and, as the hand moves, cursor 808 follows the hand, tracking the hand's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the hand stops," Luchner paragraph 0060, tracking the hand’s motion (i.e., a trajectory of the hand) to place the cursor).
As to claim 9, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second input is a hand gesture ("When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user confirms this item as their selection by quickly closing the hand to a fist, then opening the hand again to return to an open hand with the palm facing the display," Luchner paragraph 0060).
As to claim 14, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to perform the function, the at least one processor is configured to open an application associated with the selected adjusted element, adjust a setting of the user interface, or adjust a setting associated with a vehicle ("In the illustrated embodiment, the graphic user interface control is a slider 130 over which a handle 132 can be moved from position 132a to position 132b, by the correct gesture and motion of hand 110 to alter some attribute of an underlying system. Such a graphic user interface control could be useful, for instance, in an embodiment in which a sound system volume is adjusted from one value to another. A different set of graphic user interface controls—multiple sliders 130, for instance, or some other type of control (see, e.g., FIGS. 4A-10)—could be used when adjusting multiple sound qualities such as bass, treble, balance, fade, etc., of the sound system," Luchner paragraph 0028; "Systems 1-3 are the systems whose attributes are being controlled by the interaction of the hand's gesture or gesture/motion combination with the user interface controls displayed by controller/GUI driver 124 on displays 126 and 136. For instance, in an automobile embodiment system 1 could be a sound system whose volume is being adjusted with gestures and motions that interact with slider 130 shown on the display. In an automobile embodiment, systems 1-3 can include a sound system, a navigation system, a telephone system, or automobile systems such as those that control steering, suspension, air-conditioning, interior lighting, exterior lighting, locking, battery management, power management, and so on," Luchner paragraph 0031).
As to claim 16, Luchner discloses a method for enhancing a user interface, the method comprising:
identifying a region of interest based on a first input received from a user, the first input directed at the region of interest ("FIG. 8B illustrates an embodiment of a user selecting an item from display 800. In the illustrated embodiment, the user selects an item by extending the thumb, index, middle, ring, and pinky fingers to form an open hand with the palm facing display region 806, causing circular cursor 808 to appear. To select an item from the display the user moves the hand and, as the hand moves, cursor 808 follows the hand, tracking the hand's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the hand stops," Luchner paragraph 0060);
adjusting, on a display, elements of the user interface within the region based on the first input ("When cursor 708 reaches desired item 710, the item highlights," Luchner paragraph 0058);
selecting an adjusted element within the region based on a second input received from the user ("When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user confirms this item as their selection by quickly closing the hand to a fist, then opening the hand again to return to an open hand with the palm facing the display," Luchner paragraph 0060); and
performing a function associated with the selected adjusted element ("For instance, in an automobile embodiment system 1 could be a sound system whose volume is being adjusted with gestures and motions that interact with slider 130 shown on the display," Luchner paragraph 0031).
As to claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 18, it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 19, it is substantially similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 20, Luchner discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing code for enhancing a user interface, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to:
identify a region of interest based on a first input received from a user, the first input directed at the region of interest ("FIG. 8B illustrates an embodiment of a user selecting an item from display 800. In the illustrated embodiment, the user selects an item by extending the thumb, index, middle, ring, and pinky fingers to form an open hand with the palm facing display region 806, causing circular cursor 808 to appear. To select an item from the display the user moves the hand and, as the hand moves, cursor 808 follows the hand, tracking the hand's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the hand stops," Luchner paragraph 0060;);
adjust, on a display, elements of the user interface within the region based on the first input ("When cursor 708 reaches desired item 710, the item highlights," Luchner paragraph 0058);
select an adjusted element within the region based on a second input received from the user ("When cursor 808 reaches desired item 810, the user confirms this item as their selection by quickly closing the hand to a fist, then opening the hand again to return to an open hand with the palm facing the display," Luchner paragraph 0060); and
perform a function associated with the selected adjusted element ("For instance, in an automobile embodiment system 1 could be a sound system whose volume is being adjusted with gestures and motions that interact with slider 130 shown on the display," Luchner paragraph 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luchner et al. (US 20190073040 A1, hereinafter Luchner) in view of Kim et al. (US 20220118851 A1).
As to claim 7, Luchner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however Luchner does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to increase sizes of the elements as a hand approaches the display.
Kim teaches a limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to increase sizes of the elements as a hand approaches the display ("Then information on whether the finger approaches the mobile phone in step S346 is acquired through a sensor (e.g. IR sensor, ToF sensor, camera or the like). At this time, information on whether the finger approaches the front surface of the mobile phone is acquired," Kim paragraph 0119; "When it is checked that a user's hand approaches the mobile phone, the processor increases the sizes of the buttons," Kim paragraph 0375).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Luchner to increase element size as the user’s hand approaches the display as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that display of on-screen elements could be displayed in a safer manner and to improve accessibility of the on-screen elements (Luchner paragraphs 0268 and 0269).
As to claim 10, Luchner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however Luchner does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the apparatus further comprises an inertial sensor, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
adjust positions of the elements on the display based on inertial data from the inertial sensor.
Kim teaches a limitation wherein the apparatus further comprises an inertial sensor ("A vehicle information display apparatus in accordance with another further embodiment of the present disclosure includes an input unit configured to receive driving speed information of a vehicle," Kim paragraph 0372), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
adjust positions of the elements on the display based on inertial data from the inertial sensor ("The processor adjusts the transparency of an image or a size of a button displayed on the screen of the mobile phone screen according to the driving speed of the vehicle," Kim paragraph 0372; "The processor adjusts the sizes of buttons displayed on the mobile phone screen according to the driving speed of the vehicle in consideration of the preset reference speed range. As the driving speed of the vehicle increases, the processor increases the sizes of the buttons," Kim paragraph 0374).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Luchner to increase element size as driving speed increases as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that display of on-screen elements could be displayed in a safer manner and to improve accessibility of the on-screen elements (Luchner paragraphs 0268 and 0269).
As to claim 15, Luchner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however Luchner does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
decrease a size of the adjusted elements after receiving the second input.
Kim teaches decreasing a size of the adjusted elements after receiving the second input ("{circle around (1)} indicates a previous button for returning to the previous module when the previous button is pressed. The previous button is displayed as an icon. When 10 seconds have passed with no manipulation after the sound settings screen was activated, the button is displayed as information," Kim paragraph 0174).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Luchner to decrease a size of the elements after receiving activation input as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to give the user more visual feedback that the button was activated thus reducing user confusion and enhancing ease of use.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luchner et al. (US 20190073040 A1, hereinafter Luchner) in view of Kim et al. (US 20220118851 A1) in further view of Sarria, Jr. et al. (US 11278810 B1, hereinafter Sarria, Jr.).
As to claim 11, Luchner as modified by Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 10, however neither Luchner nor Kim appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
adjust the positions of the elements using a machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using historical inertial data and historical hand position data.
Sarria, Jr. teaches a limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
adjust the positions of the elements using a machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using historical inertial data and historical hand position data ("In some embodiments, the model of interactivity 520 is configured to receive as inputs the classified features (e.g., user profile classified features, user captured physical actions classified features, gameplay data classified features). In another embodiment, other inputs that are not direct inputs or lack of input/feedback, may also be taken as inputs to the model of interactivity 520. The model of interactivity 520 may use a machine learning model to predict one or more virtual menus to move and its corresponding adjusted virtual position. For example, a user profile 502 associated with a user playing a racing game may indicate that a user has tendency to initiate the “turbo mode” feature when driving along a straightaway portion of a race track. Further, based on the user captured physical actions 504 associated with the user, the system may determine that the user is unable to reach the virtual menu to initiate the ‘turbo mode’ feature. Accordingly, using the user profile, user captured physical actions, and the gameplay data, the model of interactivity 520 may be used to predict the movement of the virtual menu related to the ‘turbo mode’ feature to a location closer to the user when the user is driving along the straightaway portion of a race track," Sarria, Jr. column 12 lines 31-52; "Over time, the model of interactivity 520, based on the inputs and physical actions of the user, will be trained more specifically to the user's preferences and dislikes which can be used to predict what virtual menus the user 100 may wish to identify for movement to an adjusted virtual position," Sarria, Jr. column 14 lines 66-67 and column 15 lines 1-4, detect if user is moving on straightaway or not straightaway portion of the track (i.e., inertial data) and using the inertial data and hand position to train a machine learning model and determine the position of the elements using the machine learning model).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Luchner to reposition elements using a machine learning model as taught by Sarria, Jr. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve user accessibility for on-screen menu items (Sarria Jr. column 1 liens 25-41).
As to claim 12, Luchner as modified by Kim and Sarria, Jr. further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the machine learning model is trained using on-device training (“As shown in FIG. 5A, in one embodiment, the system may include feature extraction operations (e.g., 508, 510, 512) that are configured to identify various features in the user profile 502, the user captured physical actions 504, and the gameplay data 506. After the feature extraction operations identifies the features associated with the inputs, classifier operations (e.g., 514,516, 518) may be configured to classify the features using one or more classifiers. In some embodiments, the system includes a model of interactivity 520 of the user that is configured to receive the classified features from the classifier operations,” Sarria, Jr. column 11 lines 15-25; “In one embodiment, the system can process the user profile 502. The user profile 502 may include various attributes and information associated with user 100 such as physical attributes, current and previous physical mobility, gameplay tendencies, specialized gaming skills, gaming skill level, gaming experience, preferences, interests, disinterests, etc. In some embodiments, the user profile extraction 508 operation is configured to process the user profile 502 to identify and extract features associated with the profile of the user 100. After the user profile extraction 508 operation processes and identifies the features from the user profile 502, the user profile classifiers 514 operation is configured to classify the features using one or more classifiers. In one embodiment, the features are labeled using a classification algorithm for further refining by the model of interactivity 520,” Sarria, Jr. column 11 lines 35-50; "Over time, the model of interactivity 520, based on the inputs and physical actions of the user, will be trained more specifically to the user's preferences and dislikes which can be used to predict what virtual menus the user 100 may wish to identify for movement to an adjusted virtual position," Sarria, Jr. column 14 lines 66-67 and column 15 lines 1-4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luchner et al. (US 20190073040 A1, hereinafter Luchner) in view of Mori et al. (US 20190004614 A1, hereinafter Mori).
As to claim 13, Luchner further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first input is a finger gesture ("FIG. 8B illustrates an embodiment of a user selecting an item from display 800. In the illustrated embodiment, the user selects an item by extending the thumb, index, middle, ring, and pinky fingers to form an open hand with the palm facing display region 806, causing circular cursor 808 to appear. To select an item from the display the user moves the hand and, as the hand moves, cursor 808 follows the hand, tracking the hand's motion in substantially real time, and stopping when the hand stops," Luchner paragraph 0060; “Another variation is a horizontal display of boxes of selection options. For that variation, a circle is displayed to show the linger/wait time, with the rim of the circle progressively highlighted in a clockwise direction over time. The user can alternate between selecting items with lingering gestures or using a touch pad,” Luchner paragraph 0070).
However Luchner does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the first input is a finger gesture on a touchscreen.
Mori teaches a limitation wherein the first input is a finger gesture on a touchscreen (“Note that, while the vehicle is stopped, operations based on a touch panel with high operability which enables detailed operations with the user's fingertips may also be permitted. For example, as shown in FIG. 25, in a state where the steering controller operation menu 2002 is being displayed on the external display unit 109, when the user moves one's hand close to the sensing unit 103 while the vehicle is stopped, a detailed menu as shown in 2501 of FIG. 25 may be displayed on the display unit 108. and operations may be performed based on touch operation Furthermore, when the vehicle starts moving again, the display of the display unit 106 may be turned off, and the steering controller operation menu 2002 may be displayed once again on the external display unit 109. Consequently, an effect, is yielded in that the user can switch to a touch panel operation and perform operations efficiently based on a touch operation in circumstances where the driving operation will not be hindered, such as when the vehicle is stopped,” Mori paragraph 0160).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Luchner to allow the user to input using a touchscreen as taught by Mori. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable more efficient user operations in situations where driving operation will not be hindered (Mori paragraph 0160).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11221680 B1 to Clements discloses hand gestures used to operate a control panel for a device where hand gestures can be used to select functions in a vehicle display;
US 20130063336 A1 to Sugimoto et al. discloses a vehicle user interface system where finger gestures can be used to select elements on a vehicle display;
US 20130076615 A1 to Iao discloses an interface method and apparatus for inputting information with an air finger gesture where an air finger gesture can be used to select elements displayed on a vehicle’s display;
US 20160004322 A1 to Takada et al. discloses an information processing device where air gestures are used to select on-screen elements displayed on a vehicle screen;
US 20160349850 A1 to Tsuda discloses a detection device and gesture input device where a user’s hand gestures are used to select displayed elements on a vehicle display;
US 20170102774 A1 to Naruse discloses a vehicular display input apparatus where air gestures are used to control elements displayed on a vehicle screen; and
US 20170192629 A1 to Takada et al. discloses an information processing device where air finger gestures can be used to select elements on a vehicle display.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171