DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-7 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 10/22/2024 & 08/20/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 7,878,586 B2 to Kneller.
A) As per Claim 1, Kneller teaches a method comprising:
sensing a passenger condition in an interior space (Kneller: Col. 5, line 58 – Col. 6, line 16); and
adjusting airflow into the interior space based on the sensed passenger health condition and/or occupancy (Kneller: Col. 5, lines 49-57).
B) As per Claim 2, Kneller teaches that adjusting airflow includes changing an airflow circulation pattern based on the sensed passenger health condition and/or occupancy (Kneller: Col. 5, lines 49-57).
C) As per Claim 3, Kneller teaches that adjusting airflow includes opening and/or closing a valve in a respective duct to increase and/or decrease flow to a respective passenger unit based on the sensed passenger health condition and/or occupancy (Kneller: Col. 5, lines 49-57, valve is gasper valve).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneller in view of US Patent Publication Number 2021/0107662 A1 to Quartarone.
A) As per Claim 5, Kneller teaches all the limitations except includes at least one of: imaging the interior space at a first time, imaging the space at a second time, and comparing the images to determine an occupancy; and/or sensing a weight distribution of passengers within the interior space to determine an occupancy.
However, Quartarone teaches sensing a weight distribution of passengers within the interior space to determine an occupancy (Quartarone: Paragraph 0065).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Kneller by adding a weight sensor, as taught by Quartarone, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kneller with these aforementioned teachings of Quartarone with the motivation of only controlling the system when an occupant is present, thereby saving energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 & 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762