DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 10, 12-13, 23 amended
Claims 1-24 pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the metallic catalyst" in page 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the hydrosilylation reaction" in page 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the Si–H group" in page 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the alkene group" in page 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (PG Pub 2019/0077988 A1).
Consider Claims 1-3 and 17, Yan teaches the process of forming a coated coating of a fabric with a hydrophobic coating (abstract), articles such as woven textile [0084], and where the prepared coating material is fluorine-free [0007]. Yan teaches the process of coating the coating material onto the article/textile followed by the step of curing the coated textile forming hydrophobic coated articles [0069]. Yan teaches the coating material to include at least one “unsaturated functional group” [0010]-[0011], where the “unsaturated functional group” of the coating material include materials such as “pentaerythritol triacrylate” (claim 1), having an alkene group (C=C), where a solvent is added to the coating materials forming coating solution, then ditectly applied to the fabric [0012].
Although Yan does not explicitly teach the use of pressing process or applying a pressure during the curing process, however, it would be obvious for ordinary skilled person in the art that the process is performed in the ambient pressure (760 mm Hg), with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Yan teach the coating material comprises the hydrosilylation reaction between (1) crosslinker and (2) functional terminal group and (3) metal catalyst [0062]; (1) crosslinker such as pentaerythritol triacrylate (PT) (having C=C bond), (2) functional terminal group such as polymethylhydrosiloxane (PMHS)/PMHS@PT (having Si-H group), and (3) metal catalyst such as Karstedt's catalyst [0062].
Consider Claim 4, Yan teaches the coating material is formed by reacting the (1) crosslinker and (2) functional terminal group and (3) metal catalyst forming an addition of Si—H bonds occurs across the unsaturated bonds, where an examples of the unsaturated bonds-containing functional group include alkyne C≡C bond [0062] resulting in having a -Si-H bond with C=C bond as one C-C was used for the -Si-H group addition.
Consider Claim 5, Yan teaches the coating material from (1) crosslinker and (2) functional terminal group and (3) metal catalyst [0062].
Consider Claims 6-7, Yan teaches the coating material are ready to use after preparation (with less than one hour) [0079], and cured at temperature of 50℃-100℃ [0069]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claims 8-9, Yan teaches the coating material from (1) crosslinker and (2) functional terminal group and (3) metal catalyst [0062]; (1) crosslinker such as pentaerythritol triacrylate (PT) having C=C bond/vinyl group and acrylate group as second reagent, (2) functional terminal group such as polymethylhydrosiloxane (PMHS) (having Si-H group) as first reagent, and (3) metal catalyst such as Karstedt's catalyst or platinum(0)-1,3-divinyl-1,1,3,3-tetramethyl di siloxane (claim 29).
Consider Claims 10 and 12, Yan teaches the coating material to include poly(methyl hydrosiloxane-co-methylphenylsiloxane) to be combined with coating material [0045], as third reagent having siloxane group and vinyl/phenol group. As vinyl group have C=C bond, and where phenol group also have a C=C bond.
Consider Claim 11, Yan teaches the coating material to include polydimethylsiloxane as inert silicone to be combined with coating material [0045].
Consider Claim 22, Yan teaches the coating material use of solvent/toluene as a third reagent [0054].
Consider Claim 18, Yan does not teach the process of pressing during the curing.
Consider Claims 19-21, Yan teaches the coating of woven and non-woven textile, knitted fabric, made from nylon, polyester [0066].
Consider Claim 23, Yan teaches the coating material from (1) crosslinker and (2) functional terminal group and (3) metal catalyst [0062]; (1) crosslinker such as pentaerythritol triacrylate (PT) having C=C bond/vinyl group and acrylate group as second reagent, (2) functional terminal group such as polymethylhydrosiloxane (PMHS) (having Si-H group) as first reagent.
Claim(s) 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (PG Pub 2019/0077988 A1) in view of Shiotani (PG Pub 2021/0214545 A1).
Consider Claims 13-16, Yan teaches the process or forming coating material using the siloxane compound such as polymethylhydrosiloxane (PMHS) and acrylate combined such as pentaerythritol triacrylate (PT) [0062].
Yan does not teach the ratio of first reagent to the second reagent.
However, Shiotani is in the prior art of forming non-fluorinated polymer (abstract) using block segment (A) with segment (B) [0074], where segment (A) include acrylic monomer [0076], and where segment (B) include (B2) [0140], and where segment (B2) include silicon-containing monomer include a monomer having a dimethylsiloxane group having a carbon-carbon double bond such as a (meth)acrylic group [0177]. Shiotani teaches the ratio between segment (A) and segment (B) (or (B2)) 99:01 to 30:70 [0240], with amount of acrylic monomer 30 % or more to 99 % mol or less [0239], leading to 0.3:70 (30/99:70). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Yan with Shiotani to block copolymer exhibits better performance such as liquid repellency [0073].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The previously applied 112 claims rejection, in light of the amended claim are now withdrawn. However, in light of the currently amended claims, new 112 claim rejection are now applied.
The applicant argued against the prior art of Yan, on the ground that Yan does not disclose the textile to be contacted with a precursor coating material having the claimed chemical groups, as after the application of the precursor coating composition a hydrosilylation reaction occur.
However, Yan discloses the coating material to include at least one “unsaturated functional group” [0010]-[0011], where the “unsaturated functional group” of the coating material include materials such as “pentaerythritol triacrylate” (claim 1), having an alkene group (C=C). Where this “unsaturated functional group” would undergo a hydrosilylation reaction in the presence of catalyst (such as Karstedt’s) and cross-link with materials such as PMHS, having Si–H terminal group [0062]. Leading to after the application of coating material onto the substrate surface, the presence of “unsaturated functional group” (pentaerythritol triacrylate) would react with the remnant catalyst (Karstedt’s) along with the formed PMHS@PT [0062] (having PMHS), as this reaction classified as hydrosilylation reaction. As to this coating materials a solvent is added to it forming a coating solution, then this coating solution is ditectly applied to the fabric [0012], meeting the claimed limitation.
The applicant argued against claims 10-12, on the ground that the claims require that third reagent to have siloxane group and vinyl, as vinyl is not the same as phenol group.
However, it is known that the vinyl group is a group C=C bond, and where phenol group also have a C=C bond. Leading to the presence of C=C group/vinyl in the poly(methyl hydrosiloxane-co-methylphenylsiloxane) material.
All other applicant arguments not specifically addressed above are deemed unpersuasive as either not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or are unsupported by factual evidence and are deemed mere attorney speculation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718