DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 13, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886
Claim
Limitation
Claim
Limitation
1
A method, comprising: determining, by a data management system (DMS), a plurality of objects accessible to the DMS that satisfy a search criteria;
1
A data management system, comprising: one or more processors configured to generate search criteria in response to a detection of a storage failure, the storage failure corresponding to a plurality of virtual machines that are identified based on the search criteria,
causing, by the DMS and at a first time, display at a user interface of a first subset of the plurality of objects;
the one or more processors configured to determine a first subset of the plurality of virtual machines and render and display at a user interface, at a first time, a first listing corresponding with the first subset of the plurality of virtual machines,
causing, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset;
the one or more processors configured to determine, based on a first rate at which prior listings of other different subsets of the plurality of virtual machines subsequent to the first listing were rendered and displayed at the user interface exceeding a threshold, a second subset of the plurality of virtual machines to render and display in a second listing at the user interface at a second time subsequent to the first time, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, the second subset less than all of the plurality of virtual machines that satisfy the search criteria, and the second subset including a larger number of virtual machines than the first subset; the one or more processors configured to render and display at the user interface, at the second time, the second listing;
causing, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity;
the one or more processors configured to determine, based on a second rate at which additional listings of other different subsets of the plurality of virtual machines subsequent to the second listing were rendered and displayed at the user interface being below the threshold, a third subset of the plurality of virtual machines to render and display in a third listing at the user interface at a third time subsequent to the second time, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, the third subset less than all of the plurality of virtual machines that satisfy the search criteria, and the third subset including a smaller number of virtual machines than the second subset and the first subset; the one or more processors configured to render and display at the user interface, at the third time, the third listing;
receiving, by the DMS via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects of the first subset, the second subset, or the third subset; and
the one or more processors configured to determine a selection of one or more virtual machines of the second subset and
initiating, by the DMS, an action on the one or more objects based on the selection.
initiate a concurrent action on the one or more virtual machines;
2
The method of claim 1, further comprising: automatically generating, by the DMS, the search criteria in response to detection of a triggering event associated with the plurality of objects.
A data management system, comprising: one or more processors configured to generate search criteria in response to a detection of a storage failure, the storage failure corresponding to a plurality of virtual machines that are identified based on the search criteria,
8
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to automatically generate the search criteria in response to the detection of the storage failure.
3
The method of claim 2, wherein the triggering event comprises a failure of a physical machine associated with the plurality of objects.
9
The data management system of claim 8, wherein: the storage failure comprises a hardware failure.
4
The method of claim 2, wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure.
7
The method of claim 1, wherein initiating the action comprises: automatically initiating the action on the one or more objects after a threshold period of time after the second subset is displayed.
18
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to automatically initiate the concurrent action on the one or more virtual machines after a threshold period of time after the second listing is rendered and displayed.
8
The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action; and automatically setting each object within the second subset to the selected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action.
3
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to detect that a threshold number of virtual machines within the first listing changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the concurrent action and automatically set each virtual machine within the second listing to the selected state for the concurrent action based on the detection that the threshold number of virtual machines within the first listing changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the concurrent action.
9
The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a selected state to a deselected state for the action; and automatically setting each object within the second subset to the deselected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the selected state to the deselected state for the action.
4
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to detect that a threshold number of virtual machines within the first listing changed from a selected state to a deselected state for the concurrent action and automatically set each virtual machine within the second listing to the deselected state for the concurrent action based on the detection that the threshold number of virtual machines within the first listing changed from the selected state to the deselected state for the concurrent action.
10
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a display size or a display type associated with the user interface; and determine the second subset based on the display size or the display type.
5
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to determine a display size associated with the display and determine the second subset based on the display size.
6
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to determine a display type associated with the display and determine the second subset based on the display type.
11
The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action; and determining the second subset based on the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset that changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action.
7
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to detect that a threshold number of virtual machines within the first listing changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the concurrent action and determine the second subset based on the threshold number of virtual machines within the first listing that changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the concurrent action.
12
The method of claim 1, further comprising: assigning a particular backup schedule to each of the one or more objects of the selection of the second subset.
10
The data management system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to assign a particular backup schedule to each of the one or more virtual machines of the selection of the second subset.
13
The method of claim 1, further comprising: causing, by the DMS and with display of the first subset, display at the user interface of a set of fields comprising first information associated with the first subset; causing, by the DMS and with display of the second subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising second information associated with the second subset; and causing, by the DMS and with display of the third subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising third information associated with the third subset.
19
The data management system of claim 1, wherein the first listing comprises a set of fields comprising information associated with the first subset of the plurality of virtual machines, wherein the second listing comprises the set of fields comprising second information associated with the second subset of the plurality of virtual machines, and wherein the third listing comprises the set of fields comprising third information associated with the third subset of the plurality of virtual machines.
14
The method of claim 13, wherein the set of fields comprises an object name field and at least one of a service level agreement field or an object address field.
20
The data management system of claim 19, wherein the set of fields comprises a virtual machine name field and at least one of a service level agreement field or a virtual machine address field.
15
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of objects comprise a plurality of virtual machines.
1
A data management system, comprising: one or more processors configured to generate search criteria in response to a detection of a storage failure, the storage failure corresponding to a plurality of virtual machines that are identified based on the search criteria,
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 in view of Hadar et al. (US Publication No. 2011/0270804).
As to claim 5, the limitation of parent claims 1 and 2 have been discussed above. The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 do not specifically disclose wherein the triggering event comprises a violation of a service level agreement associated with the plurality of objects. However, Hadar teaches
wherein the triggering event comprises a violation of a service level agreement associated with the plurality of objects [configuration items] (see e.g., [0018] for a deployed service being comprised of several underlying services or Configuration Items (CIs), occupying multiple management domains and therefore instrumented by different management technologies, each contributing a partial set of the capabilities and relative quality attributes to the provided service, [0038] for a pattern, in some embodiments, being a set of CIs of a service model associated with maintained or improved service levels as measured by at least one SLA or other metric, and [0073] for the metric monitoring module 704 including a process that identifies when performance metric violations, such as service level agreement violations, occur, upon detection of decreasing performance or a metric violation, the process querying patterns stored in the pattern database 716 to identify patterns that may be relevant for resolving the metric violation or improving the decreasing performance of the system under management 718. Violation of a service level agreement associated with configuration items triggers querying a pattern database.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data management system of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 wherein the triggering event comprises a violation of a service level agreement associated with the plurality of objects, as taught by Hadar, for the benefit of resolving violations of system and process performance measuring metrics (see e.g., Hadar, abstract).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 in view of Somaiya et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0066907).
As to claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 do not specifically disclose receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria. However, Somaiya teaches
receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria (see e.g., [0067] for text entry field 410 showing the current search query and allowing the user to enter a new search query).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data management system of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 to receive, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria, as taught by Somaiya, for the benefit of facilitating retrieval and presentation of information requested by a user (see e.g., Somaiya, [0110]).
As to claim 19, the limitations of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 do not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured by the instructions to perform further operations comprising: receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria. However, Somaiya teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured by the instructions to perform further operations comprising:
receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria (see e.g., [0067] for text entry field 410 showing the current search query and allowing the user to enter a new search query).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data management system of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,886 wherein the one or more processors are configured by the instructions to perform further operations comprising: receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria, as taught by Somaiya, for the benefit of facilitating retrieval and presentation of information requested by a user (see e.g., Somaiya, [0110]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varadharajan et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0074060) in view of Shoji (US Publication No. 2019/0250787).
As to claim 1, Varadharajan teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by a data management system (DMS) [storage manager], a plurality of objects [VMs] accessible to the DMS that satisfy a search criteria [association with a particular user] (see e.g., [0270] for storage manager 240 comprising VM management interface module 241 and management database 246, [0273] for storage manager 240 comprising functionality and information for interoperating with the illustrative file manager application 201, [0274] for VM interface module 241 executing functions in response to requests/commands received from file manager application 201, [0276] for management database 246 comprising information that associates a given user with one or more VMs and their associated files in order to enable the given user to manage those particular VMs, [0293] for at block 401, client computing device 102 receiving a user command to open file manager application 201, [0294] for at block 402, file manager application 201 causing client computing device 102 to display (e.g., via console 291) a user interface that comprises one or more indications of a set of virtual machines that are associated with the present user of client computing device 102 (e.g., the logged-in user), the information presented to the user in window 301 being based on management database 246 in (or associated with) storage manager 240, and to present an up-to-date set of user-associated VMs for example, file manager application 201 querying storage manager 240, which may in turn consult management database 246, and [0344] for storage manager 240 receiving a message/request from file manager application 201, e.g., sent when the user opens and/or refreshes the "My Virtual Machines" window 301, indicating that the user wishes to view VM information in system 200, in response, storage manager 240 consulting management database 246 and/or the relevant media agent(s) (e.g., index 153) for information about VMs that are associated with the user, and the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3). Storage manager determines a plurality of VMs accessible to storage manager that are associated with a particular user.);
causing, by the DMS and at a first time, display at a user interface of a first subset of the plurality of objects (see e.g., [0344] for storage manager 240 receiving a message/request from file manager application 201, e.g., sent when the user opens and/or refreshes the "My Virtual Machines" window 301, indicating that the user wishes to view VM information in system 200, in response, storage manager 240 consulting management database 246 and/or the relevant media agent(s) (e.g., index 153) for information about VMs that are associated with the user, and the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3). When the storage manager transmits the listing of VMs to the file manager, it is causing the listing of DMs to be displayed at a user interface.);
receiving, by the DMS via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects of the first subset, the second subset, or the third subset (see e.g., [0295] for receiving a user command to select a virtual machine from the displayed set, e.g., selecting one of the icons presented and [0344] for the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3) and this operation further executing to additional levels of detail as the user drills down via file manager application 201, e.g., selecting an icon in window 301 to seek additional details about VM1 and all its associated files. The storage manager receives a selection of a VM made by the user at the user interface.); and
initiating, by the DMS, an action [providing additional levels of detail] on the one or more objects based on the selection (see e.g., [0344] for the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3) , this operation further executing to additional levels of detail as the user drills down via file manager application 201, e.g., selecting an icon in window 301 to seek additional details about VM1 and all its associated files, which may be found in primary storage and in secondary storage as well, and in a case when a VM is present in primary storage, storage manager 240 (in addition to consulting management database 246 and media agents) also consulting data agents executing on one or more host computing devices in the system, e.g., 203-1, 203-2, etc., before storage manager 240 returns appropriate results to file manager application 201. Storage manager provides additional levels of detail to the object drill down based on the selection.).
Varadharajan does not specifically disclose causing, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset; and causing, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity. However, Shoji teaches
causing, by the DMS and at a second time [time of increased scrolling frequency], display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects [larger number of pieces of display information], wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time [time of high-speed scrolling] exceeding a threshold [high-speed scrolling rate], the first rate based on a first scrolling input [increased scrolling frequency] from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset [pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling] (see e.g., [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size, in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example, [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed, and [0140] for in the example shown in FIG. 14, at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time), the information processing device 400 causing each piece of the display information v21 to be displayed as much as possible within the range of a predetermined number of characters, as shown in the upper drawing and in contrast to this, in the case where an action of a predetermined object is sensed (for example, at high-speed scrolling), the information processing device 400 causing a larger number of pieces of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401 by restricting the number of characters of each piece of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401. The information processing device causes, at a time of increased scrolling frequency beyond high-speed scrolling, display at the user interface of pieces of display information. The quantity of pieces of display information is based on the rate at which prior pieces of display information were displayed at the user interface, subsequent to the time of high-speed scrolling, exceeding the high-speed scrolling rate. This rate is based on increased scrolling frequency from the user interface. The quantity of pieces of display information is larger than the quantity of pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling.); and
causing, by the DMS and at a third time [normal scroll time] subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects [pieces of display information during normal scroll time], wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input [normal scrolling frequency] from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity (see e.g., [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size, in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example, [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed, and [0140] for in the example shown in FIG. 14, at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time), the information processing device 400 causing each piece of the display information v21 to be displayed as much as possible within the range of a predetermined number of characters, as shown in the upper drawing and in contrast to this, in the case where an action of a predetermined object is sensed (for example, at high-speed scrolling), the information processing device 400 causing a larger number of pieces of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401 by restricting the number of characters of each piece of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401. The information processing device causes, at a normal scroll time, display at the user interface of pieces of display information. The quantity of pieces of display information is based on the rate at which additional pieces of display information were displayed at the user interface, subsequent to the time of increased scrolling frequency, being below the high-speed scrolling rate. This rate is based on normal scrolling frequency from the user interface. The quantity of pieces of display information is smaller than the quantity of pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling and the quantity of pieces of display information during increased scrolling frequency.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan to cause, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset; and cause, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity, as taught by Shoji, for the benefit of effectively utilizing a display area in which display information is to be displayed in accordance with the utilization situation (see e.g., Shoji, [0057]).
As to claim 7, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan does not specifically disclose wherein initiating the action comprises: automatically initiating the action on the one or more objects after a threshold period of time after the second subset is displayed. However, Shoji teaches wherein initiating the action comprises:
automatically initiating the action [modification of display information] on the one or more objects after a threshold period of time after the second subset is displayed (see e.g., [0082]-[0083] for note that, in the case where the information amount of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 is controlled, the output control unit 115 returning the information amount of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 to the state before the control on the basis of a predetermined trigger and as a specific example, in the case where a certain time period has elapsed since the information amount of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 is controlled, the output control unit 115 returning the information amount of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 to the state before the control, in addition, as another example, in the case where a state where a predetermined action of the predetermined object is not detected continues for a certain time period or longer after controlling the information amount of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101, the output control unit 115 returning the information amount of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 to the state before the control. After a threshold period of time of the pieces of display information being displayed, the modification of the display information is automatically initiated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan wherein initiating the action comprises: automatically initiating the action on the one or more objects after a threshold period of time after the second subset is displayed, as taught by Shoji, for the benefit of effectively utilizing a display area in which display information is to be displayed in accordance with the utilization situation (see e.g., Shoji, [0057]).
As to claim 12, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan teaches
assigning a particular backup schedule to each of the one or more objects of the selection (see e.g., [0158] for information management operations including data movement operations, [0160] for data movement operations including backup operations, [0214] for a scheduling policy specifying when and how often to perform operations, scheduling parameters specifying with what frequency (e.g., hourly, weekly, daily, event-based, etc.) or under what triggering conditions information management operations will take place, and scheduling policies in some cases being associated with particular components, such as client computing device 102, [0253] for a user manually initiating a restore of the backup copy 116A by interacting with the user interface 158 of the storage manager 140 and the storage manager 140 then accessing data in its index 150 (and/or the respective storage policy 148A) associated with the selected backup copy 116A to identify the appropriate media agent 144A and/or secondary storage device 108A, [0255] for once it has retrieved the backup copy 116A, the media agent 144A communicating the data to the source client computing device 102, [0273] for storage manager 240 being analogous to storage manager 140, and [0310]-[0315] for file manager application 201 enabling the user to manage VMs through data movement operations by executing, on the VMs, one or more of the following storage management operations: restoring from secondary storage, e.g., from a backup copy. A user may restore a selected VM to a client. Once the selected VM is restored to the client, it is assigned a backup schedule associated with the client.).
Varadharajan does not specifically disclose the one or more objects of the selection of the second subset. However, Shoji teaches
the one or more objects of the selection of the second subset (see e.g., [0045] for a user selecting a desired piece of content and [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed. A selection of the pieces of display information is determined.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan to include the one or more objects of the selection of the second subset, as taught by Shoji, for the benefit of effectively utilizing a display area in which display information is to be displayed in accordance with the utilization situation (see e.g., Shoji, [0057]).
As to claim 13, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan does not specifically disclose causing, by the DMS and with display of the first subset, display at the user interface of a set of fields comprising first information associated with the first subset; causing, by the DMS and with display of the second subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising second information associated with the second subset; and causing, by the DMS and with display of the third subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising third information associated with the third subset. However, Shoji teaches
causing, by the DMS and with display of the first subset, display at the user interface of a set of fields comprising first information [watch name, watch description, expiration date, and price] associated with the first subset (see e.g., FIG. 1 for the information processing device displaying watch name, watch description, expiration date, and price and [0057] for in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example);
causing, by the DMS and with display of the second subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising second information associated with the second subset (see e.g., FIG. 1 for the information processing device displaying watch name, watch description, expiration date and [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed); and
causing, by the DMS and with display of the third subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising third information associated with the third subset (see e.g., FIG. 1 for the information processing device displaying watch name, watch description, expiration date and [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan to cause, by the DMS and with display of the first subset, display at the user interface of a set of fields comprising first information associated with the first subset; cause, by the DMS and with display of the second subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising second information associated with the second subset; and cause, by the DMS and with display of the third subset, display at the user interface of the set of fields comprising third information associated with the third subset, as taught by Shoji, for the benefit of effectively utilizing a display area in which display information is to be displayed in accordance with the utilization situation (see e.g., Shoji, [0057]).
As to claim 15, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan teaches
wherein the plurality of objects comprise a plurality of virtual machines (see e.g., [0276] for management database 246 comprising information that associates a given user with one or more VMs and their associated files in order to enable the given user to manage those particular VMs , [0293] for at block 401, client computing device 102 receiving a user command to open file manager application 201, and [0294] for at block 402, file manager application 201 causing client computing device 102 to display (e.g., via console 291) a user interface that comprises one or more indications of a set of virtual machines that are associated with the present user of client computing device 102 (e.g., the logged-in user), the information presented to the user in window 301 being based on management database 246 in (or associated with) storage manager 240, and to present an up-to-date set of user-associated VMs for example, file manager application 201 querying storage manager 240, which may in turn consult management database 246).
As to claim 16, Varadharajan teaches a data management system (DMS), comprising:
a memory storing instructions (see e.g., [0380] for software and other modules being accessible via local memory); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and configured by the instructions to perform operations (see e.g., [0382] for instructions being provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, specially-equipped computer (e.g., comprising a high-performance database server, a graphics subsystem, etc.) or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor(s) of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the acts specified in the flow chart and/or block diagram block or blocks ) comprising:
determining, by the DMS [storage manager], a plurality of objects [VMs] accessible to the DMS that satisfy a search criteria [association with a particular user] (see e.g., [0270] for storage manager 240 comprising VM management interface module 241 and management database 246, [0273] for storage manager 240 comprising functionality and information for interoperating with the illustrative file manager application 201, [0274] for VM interface module 241 executing functions in response to requests/commands received from file manager application 201, [0276] for management database 246 comprising information that associates a given user with one or more VMs and their associated files in order to enable the given user to manage those particular VMs, [0293] for at block 401, client computing device 102 receiving a user command to open file manager application 201, [0294] for at block 402, file manager application 201 causing client computing device 102 to display (e.g., via console 291) a user interface that comprises one or more indications of a set of virtual machines that are associated with the present user of client computing device 102 (e.g., the logged-in user), the information presented to the user in window 301 being based on management database 246 in (or associated with) storage manager 240, and to present an up-to-date set of user-associated VMs for example, file manager application 201 querying storage manager 240, which may in turn consult management database 246, and [0344] for storage manager 240 receiving a message/request from file manager application 201, e.g., sent when the user opens and/or refreshes the "My Virtual Machines" window 301, indicating that the user wishes to view VM information in system 200, in response, storage manager 240 consulting management database 246 and/or the relevant media agent(s) (e.g., index 153) for information about VMs that are associated with the user, and the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3). Storage manager determines a plurality of VMs accessible to storage manager that are associated with a particular user.);
causing, by the DMS and at a first time, display at a user interface of a first subset of the plurality of objects (see e.g., [0344] for storage manager 240 receiving a message/request from file manager application 201, e.g., sent when the user opens and/or refreshes the "My Virtual Machines" window 301, indicating that the user wishes to view VM information in system 200, in response, storage manager 240 consulting management database 246 and/or the relevant media agent(s) (e.g., index 153) for information about VMs that are associated with the user, and the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3). When the storage manager transmits the listing of VMs to the file manager, it is causing the listing of DMs to be displayed at a user interface.);
receiving, by the DMS via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects of the first subset, the second subset, or the third subset (see e.g., [0295] for receiving a user command to select a virtual machine from the displayed set, e.g., selecting one of the icons presented and [0344] for the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3) and this operation further executing to additional levels of detail as the user drills down via file manager application 201, e.g., selecting an icon in window 301 to seek additional details about VM1 and all its associated files. The storage manager receives a selection of a VM made by the user at the user interface.); and
initiating, by the DMS, an action [providing additional levels of detail] on the one or more objects based on the selection (see e.g., [0344] for the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3) , this operation further executing to additional levels of detail as the user drills down via file manager application 201, e.g., selecting an icon in window 301 to seek additional details about VM1 and all its associated files, which may be found in primary storage and in secondary storage as well, and in a case when a VM is present in primary storage, storage manager 240 (in addition to consulting management database 246 and media agents) also consulting data agents executing on one or more host computing devices in the system, e.g., 203-1, 203-2, etc., before storage manager 240 returns appropriate results to file manager application 201. Storage manager provides additional levels of detail to the object drill down based on the selection.).
Varadharajan does not specifically disclose causing, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset; and causing, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity. However, Shoji teaches
causing, by the DMS and at a second time [time of increased scrolling frequency], display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects [larger number of pieces of display information], wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time [time of high-speed scrolling] exceeding a threshold [high-speed scrolling rate], the first rate based on a first scrolling input [increased scrolling frequency] from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset [pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling] (see e.g., [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size, in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example, [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed, and [0140] for in the example shown in FIG. 14, at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time), the information processing device 400 causing each piece of the display information v21 to be displayed as much as possible within the range of a predetermined number of characters, as shown in the upper drawing and in contrast to this, in the case where an action of a predetermined object is sensed (for example, at high-speed scrolling), the information processing device 400 causing a larger number of pieces of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401 by restricting the number of characters of each piece of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401. The information processing device causes, at a time of increased scrolling frequency beyond high-speed scrolling, display at the user interface of pieces of display information. The quantity of pieces of display information is based on the rate at which prior pieces of display information were displayed at the user interface, subsequent to the time of high-speed scrolling, exceeding the high-speed scrolling rate. This rate is based on increased scrolling frequency from the user interface. The quantity of pieces of display information is larger than the quantity of pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling.); and
causing, by the DMS and at a third time [normal scroll time] subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects [pieces of display information during normal scroll time], wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input [normal scrolling frequency] from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity (see e.g., [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size, in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example, [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed, and [0140] for in the example shown in FIG. 14, at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time), the information processing device 400 causing each piece of the display information v21 to be displayed as much as possible within the range of a predetermined number of characters, as shown in the upper drawing and in contrast to this, in the case where an action of a predetermined object is sensed (for example, at high-speed scrolling), the information processing device 400 causing a larger number of pieces of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401 by restricting the number of characters of each piece of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401. The information processing device causes, at a normal scroll time, display at the user interface of pieces of display information. The quantity of pieces of display information is based on the rate at which additional pieces of display information were displayed at the user interface, subsequent to the time of increased scrolling frequency, being below the high-speed scrolling rate. This rate is based on normal scrolling frequency from the user interface. The quantity of pieces of display information is smaller than the quantity of pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling and the quantity of pieces of display information during increased scrolling frequency.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan to cause, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset; and cause, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity, as taught by Shoji, for the benefit of effectively utilizing a display area in which display information is to be displayed in accordance with the utilization situation (see e.g., Shoji, [0057]).
As to claim 20, Varadharajan teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions which, when read by a machine (see e.g., [0383] for these computer program instructions also being stored in a non-transitory computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to operate in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means which implement the acts specified in the flow chart and/or block diagram block or blocks), cause the machine to perform operations comprising at least:
determining, by a data management system (DMS) [storage manager], a plurality of objects [VMs] accessible to the DMS that satisfy a search criteria [association with a particular user] (see e.g., [0270] for storage manager 240 comprising VM management interface module 241 and management database 246, [0273] for storage manager 240 comprising functionality and information for interoperating with the illustrative file manager application 201, [0274] for VM interface module 241 executing functions in response to requests/commands received from file manager application 201, [0276] for management database 246 comprising information that associates a given user with one or more VMs and their associated files in order to enable the given user to manage those particular VMs, [0293] for at block 401, client computing device 102 receiving a user command to open file manager application 201, [0294] for at block 402, file manager application 201 causing client computing device 102 to display (e.g., via console 291) a user interface that comprises one or more indications of a set of virtual machines that are associated with the present user of client computing device 102 (e.g., the logged-in user), the information presented to the user in window 301 being based on management database 246 in (or associated with) storage manager 240, and to present an up-to-date set of user-associated VMs for example, file manager application 201 querying storage manager 240, which may in turn consult management database 246, and [0344] for storage manager 240 receiving a message/request from file manager application 201, e.g., sent when the user opens and/or refreshes the "My Virtual Machines" window 301, indicating that the user wishes to view VM information in system 200, in response, storage manager 240 consulting management database 246 and/or the relevant media agent(s) (e.g., index 153) for information about VMs that are associated with the user, and the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3). Storage manager determines a plurality of VMs accessible to storage manager that are associated with a particular user.);
causing, by the DMS and at a first time, display at a user interface of a first subset of the plurality of objects (see e.g., [0344] for storage manager 240 receiving a message/request from file manager application 201, e.g., sent when the user opens and/or refreshes the "My Virtual Machines" window 301, indicating that the user wishes to view VM information in system 200, in response, storage manager 240 consulting management database 246 and/or the relevant media agent(s) (e.g., index 153) for information about VMs that are associated with the user, and the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3). When the storage manager transmits the listing of VMs to the file manager, it is causing the listing of DMs to be displayed at a user interface.);
receiving, by the DMS via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects of the first subset, the second subset, or the third subset (see e.g., [0295] for receiving a user command to select a virtual machine from the displayed set, e.g., selecting one of the icons presented and [0344] for the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3) and this operation further executing to additional levels of detail as the user drills down via file manager application 201, e.g., selecting an icon in window 301 to seek additional details about VM1 and all its associated files. The storage manager receives a selection of a VM made by the user at the user interface.); and
initiating, by the DMS, an action [providing additional levels of detail] on the one or more objects based on the selection (see e.g., [0344] for the storage manager 240 collecting the relevant information and transmitting the results to file manager application 201, which may then analyze, arrange, and display the results for the user to view (see, e.g., window 301 in FIG. 3) , this operation further executing to additional levels of detail as the user drills down via file manager application 201, e.g., selecting an icon in window 301 to seek additional details about VM1 and all its associated files, which may be found in primary storage and in secondary storage as well, and in a case when a VM is present in primary storage, storage manager 240 (in addition to consulting management database 246 and media agents) also consulting data agents executing on one or more host computing devices in the system, e.g., 203-1, 203-2, etc., before storage manager 240 returns appropriate results to file manager application 201. Storage manager provides additional levels of detail to the object drill down based on the selection.).
Varadharajan does not specifically disclose causing, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset; and causing, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity. However, Shoji teaches
causing, by the DMS and at a second time [time of increased scrolling frequency], display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects [larger number of pieces of display information], wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time [time of high-speed scrolling] exceeding a threshold [high-speed scrolling rate], the first rate based on a first scrolling input [increased scrolling frequency] from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset [pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling] (see e.g., [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size, in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example, [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed, and [0140] for in the example shown in FIG. 14, at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time), the information processing device 400 causing each piece of the display information v21 to be displayed as much as possible within the range of a predetermined number of characters, as shown in the upper drawing and in contrast to this, in the case where an action of a predetermined object is sensed (for example, at high-speed scrolling), the information processing device 400 causing a larger number of pieces of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401 by restricting the number of characters of each piece of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401. The information processing device causes, at a time of increased scrolling frequency beyond high-speed scrolling, display at the user interface of pieces of display information. The quantity of pieces of display information is based on the rate at which prior pieces of display information were displayed at the user interface, subsequent to the time of high-speed scrolling, exceeding the high-speed scrolling rate. This rate is based on increased scrolling frequency from the user interface. The quantity of pieces of display information is larger than the quantity of pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling.); and
causing, by the DMS and at a third time [normal scroll time] subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects [pieces of display information during normal scroll time], wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input [normal scrolling frequency] from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity (see e.g., [0057] for exerting control at the normal time, for example, such that each piece of the display information v11 is displayed in a larger size, in addition, under a situation where the user is searching for a desired piece of the display information v11 (content) at high-speed scrolling or the like, the information processing device 100 according to the present embodiment increasing the number of pieces of the display information v11 to be displayed on the output unit RH by restricting the size of each piece of the display information v11, and controlling the information amount of display information for example, the number of pieces of display information to be displayed) to be presented to the user via the output unit 101 in accordance with a recognition result of an action of the user (that is, a determination result about whether or not a predetermined action has been performed), for example, [0095] for the example of switching between two states of a state at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time) and a state in which the information amount is controlled (for example, at high-speed scrolling) has been described, for example, whilst it is not necessarily limited to switching between the two states and for example, the information processing device 100 further restricting the size of display information to be displayed on the output unit 101 as at least any of the number, frequency, or manipulation amount of predetermined manipulations increases to exert control such that a larger number of pieces of display information are displayed, and [0140] for in the example shown in FIG. 14, at the normal time (for example, at the normal scroll time), the information processing device 400 causing each piece of the display information v21 to be displayed as much as possible within the range of a predetermined number of characters, as shown in the upper drawing and in contrast to this, in the case where an action of a predetermined object is sensed (for example, at high-speed scrolling), the information processing device 400 causing a larger number of pieces of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401 by restricting the number of characters of each piece of display information to be displayed on the output unit 401. The information processing device causes, at a normal scroll time, display at the user interface of pieces of display information. The quantity of pieces of display information is based on the rate at which additional pieces of display information were displayed at the user interface, subsequent to the time of increased scrolling frequency, being below the high-speed scrolling rate. This rate is based on normal scrolling frequency from the user interface. The quantity of pieces of display information is smaller than the quantity of pieces of display information during high-speed scrolling and the quantity of pieces of display information during increased scrolling frequency.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan to cause, by the DMS and at a second time, display at the user interface of a second subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a second quantity of objects in the second subset is based on a first rate at which prior subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the first time exceeding a threshold, the first rate based on a first scrolling input from the user interface, and the second quantity being larger than a first quantity of objects in the first subset; and cause, by the DMS and at a third time subsequent to the second time, display at the user interface of a third subset of the plurality of objects, wherein a third quantity of objects in the third subset is based on a second rate at which additional subsets of the plurality of objects were displayed at the user interface subsequent to the second time being below the threshold, the second rate based on a second scrolling input from the user interface, and the third quantity smaller than the second quantity and the first quantity, as taught by Shoji, for the benefit of effectively utilizing a display area in which display information is to be displayed in accordance with the utilization situation (see e.g., Shoji, [0057]).
Claims 2-4, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varadharajan et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0074060) in view of Shoji (US Publication No. 2019/0250787) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 20 above, and further in view of Kulkarni (US Publication No. 2013/0132769).
As to claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose automatically generating, by the DMS, the search criteria in response to detection of a triggering event associated with the plurality of objects. However, Kulkarni teaches
automatically generating, by the DMS, the search criteria [indication of the RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device] in response to detection of a triggering event [failed storage device] associated with the plurality of objects [virtual drives] (see e.g., [0067] for when the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) identifies a failure indication indicating that a data storage device within a RAID group, such as the RAID group 422, has failed or is going to fail imminently, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) generating an event to trigger a virtual drive 602-608 to be selected for use as a virtual hot spare to replace the failed data storage device and such event indicating the storage array 420 and RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member, the drive type of the failed data storage device, the storage capacity of the failed data storage device, and the address of the failed data storage device, [0068] for in response to the event, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) searching the cloud computing environment for available virtual drives 602-608 (FIG. 6), and selecting a virtual drive 602-608 having at least the same storage volume as the failed data storage device, [0069] for when selecting a virtual drive 602-608, the control node 402 ignoring virtual drives and/or logical storage volume that use storage space provided by the RAID group 422 having the failed storage device and for example, the virtual drive 602 being identified as being unavailable, [0074] for a storage manager or control node in a (e.g., cloud storage) environment identifying a failure indication for a first data storage device that is a member of a first RAID group and for example, a storage controller that manages the first RAID group within a respective storage array identifying a data storage device failure, or impending failure, and sending an event (e.g., as a message) to the storage manager or control node, which can be external to the storage array, [0075] for the cloud computing environment being searched to identify at least one available virtual drive, and the virtual drive being selected and the selected virtual drive having the same storage capacity as the failed data storage device, or more storage capacity, and [0076] for a determination being made whether the virtual drive includes logical storage volume from a RAID group that includes the failed physical storage device, in which case the virtual drive can be identified as being unhealthy and if the virtual drive is not healthy, another virtual drive being selected. In response to the detection of a failed storage device, the control node automatically generates an indication of the RAID group in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device. The failed storage device corresponds to a plurality of virtual drives.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to automatically generate, by the DMS, the search criteria in response to detection of a triggering event associated with the plurality of objects, as taught by Kulkarni, for the benefit of replacing a failed data storage device with a virtual hot spare (see e.g., Kulkarni, abstract).
As to claim 3, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 2 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose wherein the triggering event comprises a failure of a physical machine associated with the plurality of objects. However, Kulkarni teaches
wherein the triggering event comprises a failure of a physical machine [failed storage device] associated with the plurality of objects (see e.g., [0067] for when the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) identifies a failure indication indicating that a data storage device within a RAID group, such as the RAID group 422, has failed or is going to fail imminently, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) generating an event to trigger a virtual drive 602-608 to be selected for use as a virtual hot spare to replace the failed data storage device and such event indicating the storage array 420 and RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member, the drive type of the failed data storage device, the storage capacity of the failed data storage device, and the address of the failed data storage device, [0068] for in response to the event, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) searching the cloud computing environment for available virtual drives 602-608 (FIG. 6), and selecting a virtual drive 602-608 having at least the same storage volume as the failed data storage device, [0069] for when selecting a virtual drive 602-608, the control node 402 ignoring virtual drives and/or logical storage volume that use storage space provided by the RAID group 422 having the failed storage device and for example, the virtual drive 602 being identified as being unavailable, [0074] for a storage manager or control node in a (e.g., cloud storage) environment identifying a failure indication for a first data storage device that is a member of a first RAID group and for example, a storage controller that manages the first RAID group within a respective storage array identifying a data storage device failure, or impending failure, and sending an event (e.g., as a message) to the storage manager or control node, which can be external to the storage array, [0075] for the cloud computing environment being searched to identify at least one available virtual drive, and the virtual drive being selected and the selected virtual drive having the same storage capacity as the failed data storage device, or more storage capacity, and [0076] for a determination being made whether the virtual drive includes logical storage volume from a RAID group that includes the failed physical storage device, in which case the virtual drive can be identified as being unhealthy and if the virtual drive is not healthy, another virtual drive being selected. In response to the detection of a failed storage device, the control node automatically generates an indication of the RAID group in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device. The failed storage device corresponds to a plurality of virtual drives.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji wherein the triggering event comprises a failure of a physical machine associated with the plurality of objects, as taught by Kulkarni, for the benefit of replacing a failed data storage device with a virtual hot spare (see e.g., Kulkarni, abstract).
As to claim 4, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 2 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure. However, Kulkarni teaches
wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure (see e.g., [0067] for when the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) identifies a failure indication indicating that a data storage device within a RAID group, such as the RAID group 422, has failed or is going to fail imminently, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) generating an event to trigger a virtual drive 602-608 to be selected for use as a virtual hot spare to replace the failed data storage device and such event indicating the storage array 420 and RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member, the drive type of the failed data storage device, the storage capacity of the failed data storage device, and the address of the failed data storage device, [0068] for in response to the event, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) searching the cloud computing environment for available virtual drives 602-608 (FIG. 6), and selecting a virtual drive 602-608 having at least the same storage volume as the failed data storage device, [0069] for when selecting a virtual drive 602-608, the control node 402 ignoring virtual drives and/or logical storage volume that use storage space provided by the RAID group 422 having the failed storage device and for example, the virtual drive 602 being identified as being unavailable, [0074] for a storage manager or control node in a (e.g., cloud storage) environment identifying a failure indication for a first data storage device that is a member of a first RAID group and for example, a storage controller that manages the first RAID group within a respective storage array identifying a data storage device failure, or impending failure, and sending an event (e.g., as a message) to the storage manager or control node, which can be external to the storage array, [0075] for the cloud computing environment being searched to identify at least one available virtual drive, and the virtual drive being selected and the selected virtual drive having the same storage capacity as the failed data storage device, or more storage capacity, and [0076] for a determination being made whether the virtual drive includes logical storage volume from a RAID group that includes the failed physical storage device, in which case the virtual drive can be identified as being unhealthy and if the virtual drive is not healthy, another virtual drive being selected. In response to the detection of a failed storage device, the control node automatically generates an indication of the RAID group in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device. The failed storage device corresponds to a plurality of virtual drives.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure, as taught by Kulkarni, for the benefit of replacing a failed data storage device with a virtual hot spare (see e.g., Kulkarni, abstract).
As to claim 17, the limitations of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose automatically generating, by the DMS, the search criteria in response to detection of a triggering event associated with the plurality of objects. However, Kulkarni teaches
automatically generating, by the DMS, the search criteria [indication of the RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device] in response to detection of a triggering event [failed storage device] associated with the plurality of objects [virtual drives] (see e.g., [0067] for when the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) identifies a failure indication indicating that a data storage device within a RAID group, such as the RAID group 422, has failed or is going to fail imminently, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) generating an event to trigger a virtual drive 602-608 to be selected for use as a virtual hot spare to replace the failed data storage device and such event indicating the storage array 420 and RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member, the drive type of the failed data storage device, the storage capacity of the failed data storage device, and the address of the failed data storage device, [0068] for in response to the event, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) searching the cloud computing environment for available virtual drives 602-608 (FIG. 6), and selecting a virtual drive 602-608 having at least the same storage volume as the failed data storage device, [0069] for when selecting a virtual drive 602-608, the control node 402 ignoring virtual drives and/or logical storage volume that use storage space provided by the RAID group 422 having the failed storage device and for example, the virtual drive 602 being identified as being unavailable, [0074] for a storage manager or control node in a (e.g., cloud storage) environment identifying a failure indication for a first data storage device that is a member of a first RAID group and for example, a storage controller that manages the first RAID group within a respective storage array identifying a data storage device failure, or impending failure, and sending an event (e.g., as a message) to the storage manager or control node, which can be external to the storage array, [0075] for the cloud computing environment being searched to identify at least one available virtual drive, and the virtual drive being selected and the selected virtual drive having the same storage capacity as the failed data storage device, or more storage capacity, and [0076] for a determination being made whether the virtual drive includes logical storage volume from a RAID group that includes the failed physical storage device, in which case the virtual drive can be identified as being unhealthy and if the virtual drive is not healthy, another virtual drive being selected. In response to the detection of a failed storage device, the control node automatically generates an indication of the RAID group in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device. The failed storage device corresponds to a plurality of virtual drives.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to automatically generate, by the DMS, the search criteria in response to detection of a triggering event associated with the plurality of objects, as taught by Kulkarni, for the benefit of replacing a failed data storage device with a virtual hot spare (see e.g., Kulkarni, abstract).
As to claim 18, the limitations of parent claims 16 and 17 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure. However, Kulkarni teaches
wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure (see e.g., [0067] for when the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) identifies a failure indication indicating that a data storage device within a RAID group, such as the RAID group 422, has failed or is going to fail imminently, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) generating an event to trigger a virtual drive 602-608 to be selected for use as a virtual hot spare to replace the failed data storage device and such event indicating the storage array 420 and RAID group 422 in which the failed data storage device is a member, the drive type of the failed data storage device, the storage capacity of the failed data storage device, and the address of the failed data storage device, [0068] for in response to the event, the control node 402 (or storage manager 410) searching the cloud computing environment for available virtual drives 602-608 (FIG. 6), and selecting a virtual drive 602-608 having at least the same storage volume as the failed data storage device, [0069] for when selecting a virtual drive 602-608, the control node 402 ignoring virtual drives and/or logical storage volume that use storage space provided by the RAID group 422 having the failed storage device and for example, the virtual drive 602 being identified as being unavailable, [0074] for a storage manager or control node in a (e.g., cloud storage) environment identifying a failure indication for a first data storage device that is a member of a first RAID group and for example, a storage controller that manages the first RAID group within a respective storage array identifying a data storage device failure, or impending failure, and sending an event (e.g., as a message) to the storage manager or control node, which can be external to the storage array, [0075] for the cloud computing environment being searched to identify at least one available virtual drive, and the virtual drive being selected and the selected virtual drive having the same storage capacity as the failed data storage device, or more storage capacity, and [0076] for a determination being made whether the virtual drive includes logical storage volume from a RAID group that includes the failed physical storage device, in which case the virtual drive can be identified as being unhealthy and if the virtual drive is not healthy, another virtual drive being selected. In response to the detection of a failed storage device, the control node automatically generates an indication of the RAID group in which the failed data storage device is a member and the storage capacity of the failed data storage device. The failed storage device corresponds to a plurality of virtual drives.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji wherein the triggering event comprises a physical hardware failure, a physical disk failure, a virtual machine failure, or a virtual disk failure, as taught by Kulkarni, for the benefit of replacing a failed data storage device with a virtual hot spare (see e.g., Kulkarni, abstract).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varadharajan et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0074060) and Shoji (US Publication No. 2019/0250787) in view of Kulkarni (US Publication No. 2013/0132769) as applied to claims 2-4, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of Hadar et al. (US Publication No. 2011/0270804).
As to claim 5, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 2 have been discussed above. Varadharajan and Shoji in view of Kulkarni does not specifically disclose wherein the triggering event comprises a violation of a service level agreement associated with the plurality of objects. However, Hadar teaches
wherein the triggering event comprises a violation of a service level agreement associated with the plurality of objects [configuration items] (see e.g., [0018] for a deployed service being comprised of several underlying services or Configuration Items (CIs), occupying multiple management domains and therefore instrumented by different management technologies, each contributing a partial set of the capabilities and relative quality attributes to the provided service, [0038] for a pattern, in some embodiments, being a set of CIs of a service model associated with maintained or improved service levels as measured by at least one SLA or other metric, and [0073] for the metric monitoring module 704 including a process that identifies when performance metric violations, such as service level agreement violations, occur, upon detection of decreasing performance or a metric violation, the process querying patterns stored in the pattern database 716 to identify patterns that may be relevant for resolving the metric violation or improving the decreasing performance of the system under management 718. Violation of a service level agreement associated with configuration items triggers querying a pattern database.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan and Shoji in view of Kulkarni wherein the triggering event comprises a violation of a service level agreement associated with the plurality of objects, as taught by Hadar, for the benefit of resolving violations of system and process performance measuring metrics (see e.g., Hadar, abstract).
Claims 6, 10, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varadharajan et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0074060) in view of Shoji (US Publication No. 2019/0250787) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 20 above, and further in view of Somaiya et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0066907).
As to claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria. However, Somaiya teaches
receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria (see e.g., [0067] for text entry field 410 showing the current search query and allowing the user to enter a new search query).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to receive, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria, as taught by Somaiya, for the benefit of facilitating retrieval and presentation of information requested by a user (see e.g., Somaiya, [0110]).
As to claim 10, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose determining a display size or a display type associated with the user interface; and determine the second subset based on the display size or the display type. However, Somaiya teaches
determining a display size or a display type associated with the user interface (see e.g., [0051] for the results being sent in a standard pagination mode or a seamless pagination mode, a standard pagination mode showing one page of results at a time, such that when a new page of results is shown, the previous page of results is no longer shown, by contrast, a seamless pagination mode providing for the results from one page and the next page to be shown on the screen simultaneously, as the user "seamlessly" scrolls from one page to the other, this also being known as "infinite scrolling," where scrolling down continuously adds new items to the display, thereby eliminating the need for the user to explicitly request additional pages of items, [0063] for the capability module 340 identifying capabilities of the client machine 110 or 112, for transmission to the application server 118 by the communication module 310, the capabilities being related to the display or storage of result item, and for example, the height, width, or area of the display device in pixels or lines of text being provided, [0113] for FIG. 23 illustrating some of the factors that may be considered in determining whether to enable seamless pagination, and [0114] for device type 2315 being considered, for example, users using full-screen devices (e.g., desktop computers) tending to scroll through more pages than those using small-screen devices (e.g., mobile devices), so the number of pages to present being higher for users of full-screen devices, and the device type being based on the capabilities of the device (e.g., screen size). The processor determines the display size and type); and
determine the second subset based on the display size or the display type (see e.g., [0051] for the results being sent in a standard pagination mode or a seamless pagination mode, a standard pagination mode showing one page of results at a time, such that when a new page of results is shown, the previous page of results is no longer shown, by contrast, a seamless pagination mode providing for the results from one page and the next page to be shown on the screen simultaneously, as the user "seamlessly" scrolls from one page to the other, this also being known as "infinite scrolling," where scrolling down continuously adds new items to the display, thereby eliminating the need for the user to explicitly request additional pages of items, [0063] for the capability module 340 identifying capabilities of the client machine 110 or 112, for transmission to the application server 118 by the communication module 310, the capabilities being related to the display or storage of result item, and for example, the height, width, or area of the display device in pixels or lines of text being provided, [0113] for FIG. 23 illustrating some of the factors that may be considered in determining whether to enable seamless pagination, and [0114] for device type 2315 being considered, for example, users using full-screen devices (e.g., desktop computers) tending to scroll through more pages than those using small-screen devices (e.g., mobile devices), so the number of pages to present being higher for users of full-screen devices, and the device type being based on the capabilities of the device (e.g., screen size). The processor determines whether to use standard pagination mode or seamless pagination mode based on the display size and type. The displayed results are determined based on whether standard pagination mode or seamless pagination mode is being used.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to determine a display size or a display type associated with the user interface; and determine the second subset based on the display size or the display type, as taught by Somaiya, for the benefit of customizing the pagination mode based on a variety of factors (see e.g., Somaiya, [0113] and [0117]).
As to claim 11, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose detecting that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action; and determining the second subset based on the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset that changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action. However, Somaiya teaches
detecting that a threshold quantity [one] of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action (see e.g., [0051] for the results being sent in a standard pagination mode or a seamless pagination mode, a standard pagination mode showing one page of results at a time, such that when a new page of results is shown, the previous page of results is no longer shown, by contrast, a seamless pagination mode providing for the results from one page and the next page to be shown on the screen simultaneously, as the user "seamlessly" scrolls from one page to the other, this also being known as "infinite scrolling," where scrolling down continuously adds new items to the display, thereby eliminating the need for the user to explicitly request additional pages of items, [0111] for a database 2110 storing historical user behavior data with data regarding the behavior of a number of users of the system, in one embodiment, data regarding the actions of all users being stored in the database 2110, the database 2110 being mined to determine the number of pages and items seen for successful sessions for a query 2120 as well as the number of pages and items seen for unsuccessful sessions for the query 2130, a successful session being a session in which a user interacts with an item in any way (e.g., views the item, bids on the item, buys the item, subscribes to the item, etc.) or a session in which a particular interaction is performed (e.g., bids on the item, buys the item, or both), an unsuccessful session being any session that is not successful, other criteria being used to identify successful and unsuccessful sessions, based on the number of pages and items seen for successful sessions for a query 2120, the number of pages and items seen for unsuccessful sessions for the query 2130, or both, database 2140 of query pagination data being created or updated and [0112] for a database 2210 containing historical user behavior data being mined to determine the number of pages and items seen for successful sessions for a user 2220 as well as the number of pages and items seen for unsuccessful sessions for the user 2230, based on the number of pages and items seen for successful sessions for a user 2220, the number of pages and items seen for unsuccessful sessions for the user 2230, or both, database 2240 of user pagination data being created or updated, and the historical user behavior data for the user and the query being combined or used independently. The processor detects that at least one result from the user’s first search of the query was changed from a deselected state to a selected state through user interaction.); and
determining the second subset based on the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset that changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action (see e.g., [0113] for FIG. 23 illustrating some of the factors that may be considered in determining whether to enable seamless pagination, and the determination to enable seamless pagination may be based on the pagination data for other users for the same query 2305, the pagination data for this user for different queries 2310. Based on the detection, the processor determines whether to use standard pagination mode or seamless pagination mode. The displayed results are determined based on whether standard pagination mode or seamless pagination mode is being used.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to detect that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action; and determine the second subset based on the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset that changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action, as taught by Somaiya, for the benefit of customizing the pagination mode based on a variety of factors (see e.g., Somaiya, [0113] and [0117]).
As to claim 19, the limitations of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria. However, Somaiya teaches
receiving, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria (see e.g., [0067] for text entry field 410 showing the current search query and allowing the user to enter a new search query).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to receive, by the DMS and via the user interface, the search criteria, as taught by Somaiya, for the benefit of facilitating retrieval and presentation of information requested by a user (see e.g., Somaiya, [0110]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varadharajan et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0074060) in view of Shoji (US Publication No. 2019/0250787) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 20 above, and further in view of Rabsatt (US Patent No. 8,341,176).
As to claim 8, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose detecting that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action; and automatically setting each object within the second subset to the selected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action. However, Rabsatt teaches
detecting that a threshold quantity [two] of objects [search result title identifiers] within the first subset [first page] changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action (see e.g., col. 8, lines 39-55 for multiple pages 146 of search results being provided, each page including at least a portion of the search results and returning similarly structured items across any number of the pages 146 and col. 9, lines 39-52 for items 106A-C as rendered in the browser 201 further including informational identifiers 202A-C, 204A-C, 206A-C and 208A-C, the identifiers 202A, 204A, 206A and 208A all including information pertaining to the product or item 106A, and being individually selectable (as selections 112A, 112B), the identifiers 202A-C including a title, the identifiers 204A-C including a description, the identifiers 206A-C including a price, and the identifiers 208A-C including an image, in an example hierarchical structure of the underlying structured data 102, the identifiers 202A-C, 204A-C, 206A-C and 208A-C being subsets of the products 106A-C, respectively, and in the example of FIG. 2A, a user having made selections 112A, 112B of only the title identifiers 202A and 202B. The system detects that two search result title identifiers from the first page have been selected by the user.); and
automatically setting each object within the second subset [second page] to the selected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action (see e.g., col. 10, lines 31-40 for FIG. 2D being an example embodiment of a graphical interface (e.g., a browser 201) for the document shown in FIG. 2A, along with items that have been automatically selected in response to a user's selection of two similar items and the selection window 132 including the original user selections 112A and 112B and the additional selection 112C associated with the original selections as determined by the object crawler 110 and col. 11, lines 43-51 for identifiers of additional other products listed within the set of structured data that are structurally similar to the first identifier and the second identifier being determined based on metadata associated with the first identifier and based on metadata associated with second identifier (440) and for example, in FIG. 2C, the object crawler 110 determining, based on the metadata nodes, that additional selection 112C is structurally similar to the selections 112A and 112B and corresponding identifiers 202A and 202B, respectively. The system automatically selects all of the remaining search result title identifiers, including all of those on the second page, based on the system detecting that two search result title identifiers from the first page have been selected by the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to detect that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a deselected state to a selected state for the action; and automatically set each object within the second subset to the selected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the deselected state to the selected state for the action, as taught by Rabsatt, for the benefit of eliminating the burden of scrolling through each search result (see e.g., Rabsatt, col. 1, lines 20-30).
As to claim 9, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose detecting that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a selected state to a deselected state for the action; and automatically setting each object within the second subset to the deselected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the selected state to the deselected state for the action. However, Rabsatt teaches
detecting that a threshold quantity [two] of objects [search result title identifiers] within the first subset [first page] changed from a selected state to a deselected state for the action (see e.g., col. 7, lines 16-24 for it being that after the selections are displayed in the selection window 132, a user decides to modify the selections 112A, 112B, the user then, for example, removing existing elections of the items of the interface 108, and then for example, the object crawler 110 modifying the selected items appearing in the selection window 132 based on a new or modified set of items that correspond to the modified user selections, col. 8, lines 39-55 for multiple pages 146 of search results being provided, each page including at least a portion of the search results and returning similarly structured items across any number of the pages 146, and col. 9, lines 39-52 for items 106A-C as rendered in the browser 201 further including informational identifiers 202A-C, 204A-C, 206A-C and 208A-C, the identifiers 202A, 204A, 206A and 208A all including information pertaining to the product or item 106A, and being individually selectable (as selections 112A, 112B), the identifiers 202A-C including a title, the identifiers 204A-C including a description, the identifiers 206A-C including a price, and the identifiers 208A-C including an image, in an example hierarchical structure of the underlying structured data 102, the identifiers 202A-C, 204A-C, 206A-C and 208A-C being subsets of the products 106A-C, respectively, and in the example of FIG. 2A, a user having made selections 112A, 112B of only the title identifiers 202A and 202B. The system detects that the two search result title identifiers from the first page have been deselected by the user.); and
automatically setting each object within the second subset [second page] to the deselected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the selected state to the deselected state for the action (see e.g., col. 7, lines 16-24 for it being that after the selections are displayed in the selection window 132, a user decides to modify the selections 112A, 112B, the user then, for example, removing existing elections of the items of the interface 108, and then for example, the object crawler 110 modifying the selected items appearing in the selection window 132 based on a new or modified set of items that correspond to the modified user selections, col. 10, lines 31-40 for FIG. 2D being an example embodiment of a graphical interface (e.g., a browser 201) for the document shown in FIG. 2A, along with items that have been automatically selected in response to a user's selection of two similar items and the selection window 132 including the original user selections 112A and 112B and the additional selection 112C associated with the original selections as determined by the object crawler 110, and col. 11, lines 43-51 for identifiers of additional other products listed within the set of structured data that are structurally similar to the first identifier and the second identifier being determined based on metadata associated with the first identifier and based on metadata associated with second identifier (440) and for example, in FIG. 2C, the object crawler 110 determining, based on the metadata nodes, that additional selection 112C is structurally similar to the selections 112A and 112B and corresponding identifiers 202A and 202B, respectively. The system automatically deselects all of the automatically selected search result title identifiers, including all of those on the second page, based on the system detecting that the two search result title identifiers from the first page have been deselected by the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji to detect that a threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from a selected state to a deselected state for the action; and automatically set each object within the second subset to the deselected state for the action based on the detection that the threshold quantity of objects within the first subset changed from the selected state to the deselected state for the action, as taught by Rabsatt, for the benefit of eliminating the burden of scrolling through each search result (see e.g., Rabsatt, col. 1, lines 20-30).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varadharajan et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0074060) in view of Shoji (US Publication No. 2019/0250787) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 20 above, and further in view of Gesmann (US Publication No. 2014/0337510).
As to claim 14, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 13 have been discussed above. Varadharajan does not specifically disclose wherein the set of fields comprises an object name field. However, Shoji teaches
wherein the set of fields comprises an object name field [watch name] (see e.g., FIG. 1 for the information processing device displaying watch name, watch description, expiration date, and price).
Varadharajan in view of Shoji does not specifically disclose wherein the set of fields comprises at least one of a service level agreement field or an object address field. However, Gesmann teaches
wherein the set of fields comprises at least one of a service level agreement [SLA] field or an object address field (see e.g., FIG. 6 for a set of fields including SLA fields).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage manager of Varadharajan in view of Shoji wherein the set of fields comprises at least one of a service level agreement field or an object address field, as taught by Gesman, for the benefit of SLOs being defined in a declarative way and reflecting performance requirements (see [0058)],
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Panda (US Publication No. 2015/0169576) for “the user feedback model can be adjusted to take into account how quickly or slowly a particular user selects search results or scrolls as compared to the user feedback model for queries of a given term length” (see [0027]).
06-04-2026
/DARA J GLASSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161