Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 06/22/2026 do not fully overcome rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112. See rejections below for detailed analysis.
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/22/2026 with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicant submits (Remarks pg. 10) that Wilson “only test[s] for one material” rather than for “plurality of materials” as claimed.
Response 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Target substance of interest may correspond to, e.g., arsenic, formaldehyde, or nitroglycerin. Specified plurality of materials indicating authenticity of the target substance of interest may correspond to, e.g., specified numbers of protons, neutrons, and/or mass in a substance, or constituent parts of compounds, e.g., C, H2, N, O3, etc. are constituent parts of nitroglycerin CH2NO3CHNO3CH2NO3. Wilson teaches transmission for a plurality of materials. ([col. 8, para. 1] – “For example, a Formaldehyde molecule has a combined total of 16 protons (corresponding to a frequency of 16 Hz), 14 neutrons (corresponding to a frequency of 14 Hz), and mass of 30 (corresponding to a frequency of 30 Hz). Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound.”). See rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for detailed citations and analysis.
Argument 2: Applicant submits (Remarks pg. 11) that Wilson does not teach “generating output based on the analyzed response signal, wherein the output indicates that the sample within the compartment includes the authentic target currency when the response signal includes resonance frequencies corresponds to stored resonance frequencies for at least a subset of the plurality of materials specified by the material database for the target currency wherein the output indicates that the sample within the compartment includes a counterfeit of the target currency when the response signal includes ambiguous resonance frequencies in comparison to the stored resonance frequencies for one or more of the materials specified by the material database for the target currency” as claimed.
Response 2: Argument 2 is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument 3: Applicant submits (Remarks pg. 10) that “a selection of the frequency in Wilson is selected by a person,” and thus, Wilson cannot disclose “transmitting into the sample within the compartment an RF signal at a first resonance frequency for each of the materials specified for the target currency, wherein the first resonance frequency is selected based on the priority tier corresponding to the likelihood of detecting the plurality of materials indicating authenticity of the target currency;” as recited by claim 1.
Response 3: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., selection of the frequency is not done by a human) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Regardless of how the selected frequency is input/tuned prior to transmission, Wilson teaches that the selected frequency is based on a priority tier corresponding to, e.g., Figs. 9, as required by the claim. (Figs. 9; [col. 7 line 65 – col. 8 line 43] – “a frequency for transmission is selected for a particular element based on the number of protons, number of neutrons, and/or atomic mass (sum of protons and neutrons) for the element… the frequencies for a compound can be selected based on the sum total of the constituent parts. For example, a Formaldehyde molecule has a combined total of 16 protons (corresponding to a frequency of 16 Hz), 14 neutrons (corresponding to a frequency of 14 Hz), and mass of 30 (corresponding to a frequency of 30 Hz)”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phase “one or more corresponding resonance frequencies to the plurality of materials” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the one or more corresponding resonance frequencies correspond to the target currency to the plurality of materials as a whole, or whether they correspond to each of the materials of the plurality of materials. Therefore, it is further unclear whether at least one corresponding resonance frequency is required and it corresponds to all of the plurality of materials, or whether at least one corresponding resonance frequency is required for each material. Because one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim, the claim is rendered indefinite. The phrase “ambiguous resonance frequencies in comparison to the stored resonance frequencies” further renders the claim indefinite. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the meaning of this phrase. Claim 11, 21 recite similar limitations and are rejected for similar reasons. Claims 2, 4-10, 12, 14-20 rejected as dependent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10-12, 14-15, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11493494 B2 to Wilson in view of US 20040155650 A1 to Plaas-Link and further in view of US 5757001 A to Burns.
Regarding claim 1,
Wilson teaches:
A method for currency verification, the method comprising:
receiving, a trigger at a (lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference) apparatus to determine whether a sample substance of interest; (Fig. 13; [col. 11] – “ The control panel 217 includes a transmitter frequency control 240, receiver tuning controls 242, 244… The control panel 217 can also include a switch 241 for turning the detection system 210 on/off” Receiving a trigger at a detection apparatus may correspond to detection system being turned on or tuned.)
accessing a material database (Figs. 9) that stores information regarding the target substance of interest, the stored information specifying a plurality of materials indicating authenticity of the target substance of interest, (Figs. 9; [cols. 7, 8] – “the frequencies for a compound can be selected based on the sum total of the constituent parts… chemical composition (discrete atomic structure) CH2NO3CHNO3CH2NO3 for nitroglycerin. Fig. 9C – Formald[e]hyde HCHO has 16 protons, 14 neutrons, mass 30. Examiner notes that target substance of interest may correspond to, e.g., arsenic, formaldehyde, or nitroglycerin. Specified plurality of materials indicating authenticity of the target substance of interest may correspond to, e.g., specified numbers of protons, neutrons, and/or mass in a substance, or constituent parts of compounds, e.g., C, H2, N, O3, etc. are constituent parts of nitroglycerin CH2NO3CHNO3CH2NO3) one or more corresponding resonance frequencies to the plurality of materials, (Figs. 9; [col. 7 line 65 – col. 8 line 43] – “a frequency for transmission is selected for a particular element based on the number of protons, number of neutrons, and/or atomic mass (sum of protons and neutrons) for the element… the frequencies for a compound can be selected based on the sum total of the constituent parts. For example, a Formaldehyde molecule has a combined total of 16 protons (corresponding to a frequency of 16 Hz), 14 neutrons (corresponding to a frequency of 14 Hz), and mass of 30 (corresponding to a frequency of 30 Hz)”), and a priority tier corresponding to a likelihood of detecting the plurality of materials based on a type of the target substance of interest; (Fig. 9C; Examiner notes that Fig. 9C is a priority tier corresponding to a high likelihood of detecting the plurality of materials comprising 16 protons, 14 neutrons, mass 30, and/or the constituent parts of the compound when target substance of interest is a formaldehyde type. Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a likelihood in light of the specification includes a binary likelihood, and a plurality of materials may have the same likelihood (i.e., all materials listed for each subject of interest are those of high likelihood of being detected based on a type of subject of interest. Other materials listed for other subjects of interest are those of low likelihood.). See, e.g., instant application [0076] – “The frequencies may be selected in any order, but optimally, the frequencies most likely to resonate with materials of interest may be selected first… The base module 150 may skip over selecting frequencies for which there is no known material that resonates with that frequency or where there is no priority level for the current application.”)
transmitting into the sample within the compartment an RF signal at a first resonance frequency for each of the materials for the target substance of interest, wherein the first resonance frequency is selected based on the type of the target currency according to the priority tier corresponding to the likelihood of detecting the plurality of materials indicating authenticity of the target substance of interest; ([col. 8, para. 1] – “For example, a Formaldehyde molecule has a combined total of 16 protons (corresponding to a frequency of 16 Hz), 14 neutrons (corresponding to a frequency of 14 Hz), and mass of 30 (corresponding to a frequency of 30 Hz). Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound.”) ([col. 7] – “transmitter 11 transmitting at the frequency specific and unique to the target material.”)
analyzing a response signal ([col. 7] – “The receiver antenna 13 and receiver circuit 14 appears to detect the resonance induced in the material and in so doing indicates the approximate line-of-bearing to the material.”) for resonance characteristics that indicate a presence of each material specified for the target substance of interest; ([col. 7] – “The receiver antenna 13 and receiver circuit 14 appears to detect the resonance induced in the material and in so doing indicates the approximate line-of-bearing to the material. The primary method used by this detection system to detect specific materials is based on tuning the circuit of the transmitter to a specific value that is computed for the material of interest. The frequency can be based on any of the three defining characteristics of the substance, the number of protons, number of neutrons, or the atomic mass (sum of protons and neutrons), and combinations thereof.”) ([col. 8] – “Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound… Some elements and compounds may have overlapping frequencies using only one of the methods described above, and it can be beneficial to use multiple of the above described methods when searching for or identifying a target material”) and
generating output based on the analyzed response signal, wherein the output indicates that the sample within the compartment includes the authentic target substance of interest when the response signal includes resonance frequencies corresponds to stored resonance frequencies for at least a subset of the plurality of materials specified by the material database for the target currency ([col. 7, lines 1-49] – “the generated frequency is closely approximate or exact to that of the target material, and that relationship creates a responsive RF wave and/or a magnetic line between the transmitter antenna 11 and the target. When the detection system 10 is aligned with a target material (e.g., when the opening of the directional shield 15 is pointing toward the target material), the voltage produced by the receiver antenna 13 changes and thereby produces a detection output signal” Examiner further notes that “generating output indicating…” is contingent upon “when the response signal indicates the presence…” The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. MPEP 2111.04 II.) and wherein the output indicates that ([col. 8] – “Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound… Some elements and compounds may have overlapping frequencies using only one of the methods described above, and it can be beneficial to use multiple of the above described methods when searching for or identifying a target material” Output of second scan corresponds to output indicating that the response signal includes ambiguous resonance frequencies. See also rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112. Examiner further notes that “the output indicates…” is contingent upon “when the response signal includes ambiguous resonance frequencies. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. MPEP 2111.04 II. Because the invention can be practiced without the condition precedent occurring, e.g., in the case that the response signal does not include ambiguous resonance frequencies, the contingent outputting step is not required by the method claim.)
Wilson does not appear to explicitly disclose the lined-out portions of the claim above.
However, Plaas-Link discloses:
A method for currency verification, ([abstract] – “method and a device for verifying valuable documents, in particular banknotes (5)”) the method comprising:
a currency apparatus to determine whether a sample within a compartment includes a target currency; ([0013] – “The method may also be implemented with the aid of a manual device (FIG. 5) which houses the arrangement. The method and, resp., the arrangement may also be incorporated into cash dispensers/cashpoints and goods vending machines. To indicate detected banknotes light emitting diodes, electrical outputs or displays may provide information about or output the value of the identified money”)
information regarding the target substance of interest, the stored information specifying a plurality of materials indicating authenticity of the target currency, ([0016] – “In the event the frequency spectrum of the individual banknotes, labels, bonds, stamps and identification cards is highly specific due to special geometry or materials involved, for examples in banknotes of the same denomination, this may be used as a fingerprint for identification.” [0023] – “These different electromagnetically active structures may consist of metal threads 9” [claim 3] – “electromagnetically active structure (1) is a metallic security strip or metal thread (9) integrated into a banknote (5).” [0030] – “compare it to setpoints which are typical of electromagnetically active structures incorporated into banknotes,” [0009] – “reference setpoints predetermined for the electromagnetic structures incorporated into banknotes” [claim 35] – “detected by comparing the measurement to reference data, and the valuable document or the type of valuable document is identified in this fashion.”) one or more corresponding resonance frequencies, ([0018] – “A simplified arrangement successively generates only those frequencies for which resonance is expected with the individual banknotes”)
the output indicates that the sample within the compartment includes the authentic target currency ([0013] – “To indicate detected banknotes light emitting diodes, electrical outputs or displays may provide information about or output the value of the identified money” [0056] – “the rejection or acceptance of banknotes/bills in goods vending machines or cash dispensers/cashpoints can thus be realized in a secure and simple manner.”)
the output indicates that the sample within the compartment includes a counterfeit of the target currency [0013] – “To indicate detected banknotes light emitting diodes, electrical outputs or displays may provide information about or output the value of the identified money” [0056] – “the rejection or acceptance of banknotes/bills in goods vending machines or cash dispensers/cashpoints can thus be realized in a secure and simple manner.” Rejection corresponds to indication of counterfeit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Plaas-Link’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Plaas-Link teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmission to determine authentic currency and output that determination; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Further, Burns discloses:
indicates that the sample within the compartment includes a counterfeit of the target currency ([col. 16, lines 37-40] – “determination of whether said currency to be tested is genuine”)
comparison of the response signal values to the stored values for the target currency ([col. 5, lines 53-65] – “threshold values above or below which a bill being tested would be identified as being genuine, suspect, or counterfeit.” See also rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Burns’ known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Burns teaches a specific technique of thresholding received values with stored values in order to determine whether currency is counterfeit ; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson further discloses:
wherein the material database further stores information specifying a priority of detecting each material of the plurality of materials within the priority tier, and wherein the RF signal is transmitted in order of the priority. (Figs. 9; [col. 7] – “transmitter 11 transmitting at the frequency specific and unique to the target ( [col. 8, para. 1] – “Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound.” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of an indicated priority in light of the specification includes a binary priority indication (i.e., “priority high enough to transmit frequency” and “priority not high enough to transmit frequency”), and a plurality of materials may have the same priority indication. See, e.g., instant application [0076] – “The frequencies may be selected in any order, but optimally, the frequencies most likely to resonate with materials of interest may be selected first… The base module 150 may skip over selecting frequencies for which there is no known material that resonates with that frequency or where there is no priority level for the current application.”)
Regarding claim 4,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson further discloses:
identifying that no resonance characteristics or ambiguous resonance characteristics are detected in a response signal corresponding to the RF signal at the first resonance frequency for a given material of the plurality of materials; ([col. 27, last para] – “data values (i.e., candidate target bearing angles) that are measured in one frequency but not detected in the other two frequencies”) and
transmitting a second subsequent RF signal at a second resonance frequency corresponding to the given material in accordance with the stored information in the material database, wherein the response signal is received in response to the second RF signal. ([col. 27, last para] – “data values (i.e., candidate target bearing angles) that are measured in one frequency but not detected in the other two frequencies”) ([col. 8, first para] – “Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound… Some elements and compounds may have overlapping frequencies using only one of the methods described above, and it can be beneficial to use multiple of the above described methods when searching for or identifying a target material”) (([col. 8] – “These frequencies can also be increased by one or more orders of magnitude (10×, 100×, etc.).”)
Regarding claim 5,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson further discloses:
determining that a response signal corresponding to the RF signal at the first resonance frequency indicates ambiguous resonance characteristics; ([col. 8] – “Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound… Some elements and compounds may have overlapping frequencies using only one of the methods described above, and it can be beneficial to use multiple of the above described methods when searching for or identifying a target material” Determining to conduct scans using a second resonance frequency corresponds to a determination that an RF signal at a first frequency indicates ambiguous resonance characteristics) and
Wilson does not appear to disclose the remaining elements of the claim.
However, Plaas-Link further discloses:
analyzing an amplitude of the corresponding response signal. ([claim 10] – “ an electromagnetic oscillatory circuit is produced in conjunction with the electromagnetic structure (1) of the valuable document, said circuit being excited at, at least, one defined frequency, and with the resulting oscillation amplitude being used as evaluation criterion to obtain the result of the verification of the valuable document based on a comparison with reference data.” Amplitude is always analyzed, regardless of whether resonance characteristics are detected)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Plaas-Link’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Plaas-Link teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmission to determine authentic currency; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson does not teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Plaas-Link further teaches:
wherein the currency apparatus is at least one of a currency counter, currency sorter, and currency verifier. ([abstract] – “method and a device for verifying valuable documents, in particular banknotes (5)”) ([0013] – “The method may also be implemented with the aid of a manual device (FIG. 5) which houses the arrangement. The method and, resp., the arrangement may also be incorporated into cash dispensers/cashpoints and goods vending machines. To indicate detected banknotes light emitting diodes, electrical outputs or displays may provide information about or output the value of the identified money”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Plaas-Link’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Plaas-Link teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmission to determine authentic currency; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim(s) 11-12, 14-15, 20, 21
Claim(s) 11-12, 14-15, 20 is/are claims corresponding to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, and 1, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 11-12, 14-15, 20, 21 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, 1.
Claim(s) 6-9, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11493494 B2 to Wilson in view of US 20040155650 A1 to Plaas-Link and further in view of US 5757001 A to Burns and further in view of US 11422252 B2 to Bowring.
Regarding claim 6,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson further discloses:
wherein analyzing the response signal includes ([col. 8] – “Individual scans using two or more of these frequencies can be used to uniquely identify the element or compound… Some elements and compounds may have overlapping frequencies using only one of the methods described above, and it can be beneficial to use multiple of the above described methods when searching for or identifying a target material… These frequencies can also be increased by one or more orders of magnitude (10×, 100×, etc.).”)
Wilson does not appear to explicitly disclose the lined-out portions of the claim above.
However, Plaas-Link further discloses:
wherein analyzing the response signal includes analyzing signal strengths at a plurality of frequencies for one of the materials. ([claim 10] – “an electromagnetic oscillatory circuit is produced in conjunction with the electromagnetic structure (1) of the valuable document, said circuit being excited at, at least, one defined frequency, and with the resulting oscillation amplitude being used as evaluation criterion to obtain the result of the verification of the valuable document based on a comparison with reference data.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Plaas-Link’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Plaas-Link teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmission to determine authentic currency; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Plaas-Link does not appear to disclose the lined-out portions of the claim above.
However, Bowring discloses:
wherein analyzing comprises comparing signal strengths at a plurality of frequencies for a particular material. (Figs. 11, Figs. 22) ([col. 2, lines 39-67] – “(ii) perform a transform operation on the detection signal(s) to generate one or more transformed signals in the time domain or optical depth domain.”) ([cols. 28-29, appendix B.4] – “with filter characteristics taken from a data base to look for a particular resonance. Store the magnitude of the resonance… compare peak locations with natural resonances for object… sum the differences between peak locations and natural responses from data base… output 7… to neural network”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bowring’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Bowring teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmissions and expected resonances for detection of certain objects of interest; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson does not appear to explicitly disclose the additional elements of the claim
However, Bowring discloses:
further comprising using machine learning to recognize patterns of the resonance characteristics that indicate the presence of a given material of the plurality of materials. ([cols. 28-29, appendix B.4] – “with filter characteristics taken from a data base to look for a particular resonance. Store the magnitude of the resonance… compare peak locations with natural resonances for object… sum the differences between peak locations and natural responses from data base… output 7… to neural network”) [col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 5] – “step (ii) includes the procedure of Appendix B.4... producing sixth and seventh outputs dependent upon the detection signals… neural network having as inputs… sixth and seventh outputs… output of the neural network is an indication of a confidence level of a metallic or dielectric object of a predetermined type being detected, for example, 1=gun detected, 0=no metallic or dielectric object detected.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bowring’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Bowring teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmissions and expected resonances for detection of certain objects of interest; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson does not appear to explicitly disclose the additional elements of the claim
However, Bowring discloses:
wherein at least one frequency is transmitted multiple times for a material of the plurality of materials to improve a confidence level of detection. (Fig. 6; [col, 8, lines 21-23] – “FIG. 6 shows a comparative plot of the Fourier Transformed data taken from a repeated rapid scan between 14 to 40 GHz”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bowring’s known technique to Wilson’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Wilson teaches a base method of determining a resonance frequency based on the atomic makeup of a material of interest and using it to detect that material; (2) Bowring teaches a specific technique using pre-set frequency transmissions and expected resonances for detection of certain objects of interest; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9,
Wilson in view of Plaas-Link and further in view of Burns discloses the invention of claim 1.
Wilson further discloses:
wherein the output further indicates that the target currency in the sample is authentic. ([col. 7, lines 1-49] – “the generated frequency is closely approximate or exact to that of the target material, and that relationship creates a responsive RF wave and/or a magnetic line between the transmitter antenna 11 and the target. When the detection system 10 is aligned with a target material (e.g., when the opening of the directional shield 15 is pointing toward the target material), the voltage produced by the receiver antenna 13 changes and thereby produces a detection output signal”)
Regarding claim(s) 16-19,
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are claims corresponding to claim(s) 6-9 respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 16-19 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 6-9.
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648