DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/923,529 filed on 22 October 2025. Claims 1-22 are subject to examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraphs [0020], [0022], [0023], [0028], [0029], and [0031]-[0034], “In one more embodiments” should read “In one or more embodiments”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation "the STA of the first AP" (Emphasis Added). This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “the STA” recited in this limitation corresponds to the “a station associated with the first AP” previously recited in line 7 of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, it is unclear which AP is transmitting the r-TWT coordination response as claim 4 contradicts with claim 3. In claim 3, first AP transmits the r-TWT coordination response, "...transmitting, by the first AP, a r-TWT coordination response...", but in claim 4, it claims "the r-TWT coordination response transmitted by the second AP". For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets claim 4 to mean "the r-TWT coordination response transmitted by the first AP".
Regarding Claims 10 and 21, claims 10 and 21 each recite the limitation "a TXOP" (Emphasis Added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 12, claim 12 recites the limitations “indicate to the AP in the OBSS that the AP respects the r-TWT schedule” (Emphasis Added) and "the STA of the AP in the BSS" (Emphasis Added). These limitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “the AP” and “the STA” recited in these limitations corresponds to the “An access point (AP) in a basic service set (BSS)” previously recited in line 1 of claim 12 and the “a station associated with the AP in the BSS” previously recited in line 6 of claim 12 respectively.
Regarding Claim 22, claim 22 recites the limitations "the first AP" (Emphasis Added), “the second AP” (Emphasis Added), and “the AP” (Emphasis Added). This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “the first AP”, “the second AP”, and “the AP” recited in these limitations corresponds to the “An access point (AP) in a basic service set (BSS)” previously recited in line 1 of claim 12 or “an AP in an overlapping BSS (OBSS)” previously recited in line 3 of claim 12. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “the first AP”, “the second AP”, and “the AP” to correspond to “An access point (AP) in a basic service set (BSS)”, “an AP in an overlapping BSS (OBSS)”, and “An access point (AP) in a basic service set (BSS)” respectively".
Regarding Claims 2-3, 5-9, 11, and 13-20, claims 2-3, 5-9, 11, and 13-20 each depend on independent claims 1 or 12 and, therefore, inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112 issues of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12-17, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haider et al. (US 20250081176 A1, hereinafter "Haider").
Regarding claim 1, Haider teaches A restricted target wake time (r-TWT) coordination method for a first AP to respect an r-TWT schedule of a second AP, the second AP being in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) (Haider: As referred to hereinafter, references to an AP can refer to an AP (e.g., AP, soft AP, peer-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi direct device) for a particular BSS ... That is, the references to the AP may refer to at least one AP of a particular BSS. Further, the groups or coordination described herein can correspond to any number of OBSS, see Paragraph [0086]), the method comprising:
acquiring, by the first AP, the r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: At operation 1304, the AP1 receives, from AP2, a request to establish a TWT schedule coordination agreement according to the TWT schedule capability of AP1; In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306 ... the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs [0134], [0138], and [0095]);
indicating, by the first AP to the second AP, that the first AP respects the r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: At operation 1306, the AP1 transmits a second IE to AP2, the second IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of AP1; Upon receipt of the request command, or an alternate command received responsive to a previous transmitted request command, a receiving AP can respond with an accept command to establish the agreement; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs [0135], [0108], and [0095]); and
providing, by the first AP, to a station associated with the first AP an indication of the r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306. For example, in some embodiments, subsequent to operation 1306 ... AP1 can transmit one or more signals indicating the TWT schedule of AP2 to a service set (SS) of AP1, based on the third IE; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Paragraphs [0138] and [0095]) to cause a frame exchange with the STA of the first AP to end at a beginning of a r-TWT service period of the second AP to respect the r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: a schedule may be defined for one BSS, and communicated to other BSSs which may align their own TWT schedule (or disregard the communication). The alignment of the TWT schedules can include aligning a start time of TWT intervals (e.g., spatial reuse), or exclusively scheduling TWTs (e.g., exclusive medium access), see Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 2, Haider teaches The method of claim 1, wherein acquiring the r-TWT schedule of the second AP comprises receiving a public action frame from the second AP having the r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]) wherein the public action frame is for r-TWT coordination negotiation (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]).
Regarding claim 3, Haider teaches The method of claim 2, wherein indicating that the first AP respects the r-TWT schedule of the second AP comprises transmitting, by the first AP, a r-TWT coordination response in response to a r-TWT coordination request transmitted by the second AP that carries the r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: At operation 1306, the AP1 transmits a second IE to AP2, the second IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of AP1; a first AP may send a TWT Schedule Coordination Agreement frame with a “request” command to establish an agreement with parameters specified by various populated other subfields of a same or related frame; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs [0135], [0108], and [0095]), the request and response being public action frames (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]).
Regarding claim 4, Haider teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising transmitting, by the first AP, a r-TWT coordination confirmation in response to the r-TWT coordination response transmitted by the second AP that carries the second r-TWT schedule of the second AP (Haider: Upon receipt of the request command, or an alternate command received responsive to a previous transmitted request command, a receiving AP can respond with an accept command to establish the agreement, see Paragraph [0108]), the coordination confirmation being a public action frame (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]).
Regarding claim 5, Haider teaches The method of claim 1, wherein acquiring the r-TWT schedule comprises receiving the r-TWT schedule in a r-TWT notification frame which is a public action frame (Haider: In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306 ... the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2; An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraphs [0138], [0094]. [Examiner contends that transferring after the request of operation 1304 does not require a response and thus is a notification frame. Additionally, examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]), and wherein indicating that the first AP respects the r-TWT schedule of the second AP comprises transmitting, by the first AP, a r-TWT coordination response in response to a r-TWT coordination request transmitted by the second AP (Haider: At operation 1306, the AP1 transmits a second IE to AP2, the second IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of AP1, see Paragraph [0135]) which does not carry the r-TWT schedule (Haider: At operation 1304, the AP1 receives, from AP2, a request to establish a TWT schedule coordination agreement according to the TWT schedule capability of AP1; In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306 ... the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2, see Paragraphs [0134] and [0138]. [Examiner contends that the schedule is transmitted in a subsequent operation]).
Regarding claim 6, Haider teaches The method of claim 1, wherein acquiring the r-TWT schedule comprises receiving a beacon from the second AP having the r-TWT schedule (Haider: a device (such as AP 105) may schedule TWT SPs with other devices (e.g., computing devices 110 and/or HWDs 150) and may share schedule information in beacon frames and/or probe response frames, see Paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 7, Haider teaches The method of claim 1, wherein providing to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises transmitting a beacon to the station (Haider: a device (such as AP 105) may schedule TWT SPs with other devices (e.g., computing devices 110 and/or HWDs 150) and may share schedule information in beacon frames and/or probe response frames, see Paragraph [0082]. [Examiner contends that a station is a type of computing device]) with a repurposed bit in a request type field of a broadcast TWT parameter set which indicates that the r-TWT schedule in the broadcast TWT parameter set is for the second AP (Haider: Referring generally to joint scheduling, a first AP may learn about TWT Schedule Coordination Support and Capabilities of a second, neighboring AP, by listening to the second APs beacon frames, and parsing a UHR Capabilities element 500; With continued reference to joint scheduling, each schedule may have an owner (e.g., host, manager, or initiator) ... For example, the owner may be identified according to a BSSID and a Schedule ID, as may be carried in a TWT element or other fields provided herein; As for the UHR capability IE 500 ... at least some subfields may be provided within existing or repurposed fields (e.g., reserved bits) of other frames used to manage TWT or other Wi-Fi operation; Referring now to FIG. 10, a field 1000 related to a broadcast TWT parameters set field 1000 is provided ... a request type subfield 1002 ... The request type subfield 1002 can further include other subfields, see Fig. 10 and Paragraphs [0092], [0093], [0103], and [0120]).
Regarding claim 9, Haider teaches The method of claim 1, wherein providing to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises transmitting a beacon to the station (Haider: a device (such as AP 105) may schedule TWT SPs with other devices (e.g., computing devices 110 and/or HWDs 150) and may share schedule information in beacon frames and/or probe response frames, see Paragraph [0082]. [Examiner contends that a station is a type of computing device]) with an OBSS r-TWT index element which indicates a location of the r-TWT schedule of the second AP in an target wake time (TWT) element having a plurality of broadcast TWT parameter sets (Haider: With continued reference to joint scheduling, each schedule may have an owner (e.g., host, manager, or initiator) ... For example, the owner may be identified according to a BSSID and a Schedule ID, as may be carried in a TWT element or other fields provided herein, see Paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 12, Haider teaches An access point (AP) in a basic service set (BSS) (Haider: As referred to hereinafter, references to an AP can refer to an AP (e.g., AP, soft AP, peer-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi direct device) for a particular BSS, see Paragraph [0086]) arranged to perform a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) coordination to respect an r-TWT schedule of an AP in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) (Haider: As referred to hereinafter, references to an AP can refer to an AP (e.g., AP, soft AP, peer-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi direct device) for a particular BSS ... That is, the references to the AP may refer to at least one AP of a particular BSS. Further, the groups or coordination described herein can correspond to any number of OBSS, see Paragraph [0086]), the AP in the BSS comprising circuitry configured to acquire the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS (Haider: At operation 1304, the AP1 receives, from AP2, a request to establish a TWT schedule coordination agreement according to the TWT schedule capability of AP1; In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306 ... the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs [0134], [0138], and [0095]); indicate to the AP in the OBSS that the AP respects the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS (Haider: At operation 1306, the AP1 transmits a second IE to AP2, the second IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of AP1; Upon receipt of the request command, or an alternate command received responsive to a previous transmitted request command, a receiving AP can respond with an accept command to establish the agreement; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs [0135], [0108], and [0095]); and provide to a station associated with the AP in the BSS an indication of the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS to cause a frame exchange with the STA of the AP in the BSS to end at a beginning of a r-TWT service period of the AP in the OBSS to respect the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS (Haider: In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306. For example, in some embodiments, subsequent to operation 1306 ... AP1 can transmit one or more signals indicating the TWT schedule of AP2 to a service set (SS) of AP1, based on the third IE; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Paragraphs [0138] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 13, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the circuitry configured to acquire the r-TWT schedule comprises circuitry configured to receive a public action frame from the AP in the OBSS having the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]), wherein the public action frame is for r-TWT coordination negotiation (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]).
Regarding claim 14, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the indication that the AP in the BSS respects the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS is provided in a r-TWT coordination response transmitted by the AP in the BSS in response to a r-TWT coordination request transmitted by the AP in the BSS (Haider: At operation 1306, the AP1 transmits a second IE to AP2, the second IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of AP1; a first AP may send a TWT Schedule Coordination Agreement frame with a “request” command to establish an agreement with parameters specified by various populated other subfields of a same or related frame; The respective APs can determine a coordination level responsive to a data type associated with a TWT, or a type of TWT (e.g., iTWT, bTWT, or rTWT), see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs [0135], [0108], and [0095]), the request and response being public action frames (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]).
Regarding claim 15, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS is acquired by a r-TWT notification frame which is a public action frame (Haider: In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306 ... the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2; An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraphs [0138], [0094]. [Examiner contends that transferring after the request of operation 1304 does not require a response and thus is a notification frame. Additionally, examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]) and wherein the indication that the AP in the BSS respects the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS is a r-TWT coordination response transmitted by the AP in the BSS in response to a r-TWT coordination request transmitted by the AP in the OBSS (Haider: At operation 1306, the AP1 transmits a second IE to AP2, the second IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of AP1, see Paragraph [0135]) which does not carry the r-TWT schedule (Haider: At operation 1304, the AP1 receives, from AP2, a request to establish a TWT schedule coordination agreement according to the TWT schedule capability of AP1; In some embodiments, AP1 can execute further operations or suboperations prior to, subsequent to, simultaneous with, or interleaved with operation 1302, operation 1304, or operation 1306 ... the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2, see Paragraphs [0134] and [0138]. [Examiner contends that the schedule is transmitted in a subsequent operation]).
Regarding claim 16, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the r-TWT schedule is acquired in a beacon received from the AP in the OBSS and having the r-TWT schedule (Haider: a device (such as AP 105) may schedule TWT SPs with other devices (e.g., computing devices 110 and/or HWDs 150) and may share schedule information in beacon frames and/or probe response frames, see Paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 17, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the r-TWT schedule is provided to the station by transmitting a beacon to the station (Haider: a device (such as AP 105) may schedule TWT SPs with other devices (e.g., computing devices 110 and/or HWDs 150) and may share schedule information in beacon frames and/or probe response frames, see Paragraph [0082]. [Examiner contends that a station is a type of computing device]) with a repurposed bit in a request type field of a broadcast TWT parameter set which indicates that the r-TWT schedule in the broadcast TWT parameter set is for the AP in the OBSS (Haider: Referring generally to joint scheduling, a first AP may learn about TWT Schedule Coordination Support and Capabilities of a second, neighboring AP, by listening to the second APs beacon frames, and parsing a UHR Capabilities element 500; With continued reference to joint scheduling, each schedule may have an owner (e.g., host, manager, or initiator) ... For example, the owner may be identified according to a BSSID and a Schedule ID, as may be carried in a TWT element or other fields provided herein; As for the UHR capability IE 500 ... at least some subfields may be provided within existing or repurposed fields (e.g., reserved bits) of other frames used to manage TWT or other Wi-Fi operation; Referring now to FIG. 10, a field 1000 related to a broadcast TWT parameters set field 1000 is provided ... a request type subfield 1002 ... The request type subfield 1002 can further include other subfields, see Fig. 10 and Paragraphs [0092], [0093], [0103], and [0120]).
Regarding claim 19, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the r-TWT schedule is provided to the station by transmitting a beacon (Haider: a device (such as AP 105) may schedule TWT SPs with other devices (e.g., computing devices 110 and/or HWDs 150) and may share schedule information in beacon frames and/or probe response frames, see Paragraph [0082]. [Examiner contends that a station is a type of computing device]) having an OBSS r-TWT index element which indicates a location of the r-TWT schedule of the AP in the OBSS within an target wake time (TWT) element having a plurality of broadcast TWT parameter sets (Haider: With continued reference to joint scheduling, each schedule may have an owner (e.g., host, manager, or initiator) ... For example, the owner may be identified according to a BSSID and a Schedule ID, as may be carried in a TWT element or other fields provided herein, see Paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 22, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, wherein the AP arranged to indicate that the first AP respects the r-TWT schedule of the second AP comprises the AP arranged to transmit a r-TWT coordination confirmation in response to a r-TWT coordination response transmitted by the second AP (Haider: Upon receipt of the request command, or an alternate command received responsive to a previous transmitted request command, a receiving AP can respond with an accept command to establish the agreement, see Paragraph [0108]) that carries second AP’s r-TWT schedules (Haider: subsequent to operation 1306, the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2, see Fig. 13 and Paragraph [0138]), the response and confirmation being public action frames (Haider: An AP can establish a joint schedule simultaneously across multiple BSS, or may establish the schedule at a first BSS, and thereafter propagate the schedule to further BSSs according to various embodiments and implementations of the present disclosure. For example, an AP can provide a TWT setup frame or another management/action frame to establish or propagate the joint schedule, see Paragraph [0094]. [Examiner contends that public action frames are a type of action frame]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haider in view of AJAMI et al. (US 20230164709 A1, hereinafter "Ajami '709").
Regarding claim 8, Haider teaches The method of claim 7, but fails to explicitly teach, wherein the beacon further indicates a timing synchronization function (TSF) clock drift of the second AP and time unit (TU) starting difference of a TSF time of the second AP with respect to a TSF time of the first AP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ajami ‘709 teaches,
wherein the beacon further indicates a timing synchronization function (TSF) clock drift of the second AP (Ajami '709: the AP 806 may further transmit or broadcast the adjusted SP1 timing information to the STA 808. In some implementations, the adjusted SP1 timing information may be carried in beacons; the AP 806 may factor clock drift into the timing information provided to the STA 808, see Fig. 8A and Paragraphs [0086] and [0090]) and time unit (TU) starting difference of a TSF time of the second AP with respect to a TSF time of the first AP (Ajami '709: The AP 806 also receives the first beacon frame and the SP1 timing information from the AP 802 and calculates a TSF timer offset based on a timestamp included in the beacon frame; the AP 806 may further transmit or broadcast the adjusted SP1 timing information to the STA 808. In some implementations, the adjusted SP1 timing information may be carried in beacons, see Fig. 8A and Paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the method of Haider to include the teachings of Ajami ‘709 as above, in order to improve the latency gains (Ajami ‘709: Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Haider-Ajami ‘709 teaches The AP of claim 17, wherein the beacon further indicates a timing synchronization function (TSF) drift of the AP in the OBSS (Ajami '709: the AP 806 may further transmit or broadcast the adjusted SP1 timing information to the STA 808. In some implementations, the adjusted SP1 timing information may be carried in beacons; the AP 806 may factor clock drift into the timing information provided to the STA 808, see Fig. 8A and Paragraphs [0086] and [0090]) and time unit (TU) starting difference of a TSF time of the second AP with respect to a TSF time of the first AP (Ajami '709: The AP 806 also receives the first beacon frame and the SP1 timing information from the AP 802 and calculates a TSF timer offset based on a timestamp included in the beacon frame; the AP 806 may further transmit or broadcast the adjusted SP1 timing information to the STA 808. In some implementations, the adjusted SP1 timing information may be carried in beacons, see Fig. 8A and Paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the method of Haider to include the teachings of Ajami ‘709 as above, in order to improve the latency gains (Ajami ‘709: Paragraph [0030]).
Claims 10-11 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haider in view of AJAMI et al. (US 20230087887 A1, hereinafter "Ajami '887").
Regarding claim 10, Haider teaches The method of claim 1, when the r-TWT service period (SP) of the second AP begins (Haider: the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2; all AP of a same schedule can end a TXOP at a SP start time 402, see Fig. 13, Fig. 4 and Paragraphs [0138] and [0099])
Haider fails to explicitly teach, wherein providing to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises receiving a request to send (RTS) from the station associated with the first AP and sending in response to the RTS a clear to send (CTS) with a duration of a TXOP that ends.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ajami ‘887 teaches,
wherein providing to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises receiving a request to send (RTS) from the station associated with the first AP (Ajami '887: non-legacy STA 806 senses that the channel is idle for an AIFS duration, from times t.sub.0 to t.sub.1, and counts down an RBO duration from times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2. At time t.sub.2, the non-legacy STA 806 senses that the wireless channel is still idle and proceeds to transmit an RTS frame requesting a TXOP from times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0097]) and sending in response to the RTS a clear to send (CTS) with a duration of a TXOP that ends (Ajami '887: the AP 802 may transmit a CTS frame granting the requested TXOP (indicated by the RTS frame) only if the desired length is less than or equal to the amount of time remaining before the start of the r-TWT SP, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0096])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the method of Haider to include the teachings of Ajami ‘887 as above, in order to more precisely regulate access to a shared wireless channel (Ajami ‘887: Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, Haider-Ajami ‘887 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein providing to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises receiving a request to send (RTS) from the station associated with the first AP (Ajami '887: non-legacy STA 806 senses that the channel is idle for an AIFS duration, from times t.sub.0 to t.sub.1, and counts down an RBO duration from times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2. At time t.sub.2, the non-legacy STA 806 senses that the wireless channel is still idle and proceeds to transmit an RTS frame requesting a TXOP from times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0097]) and sending in response to the RTS an clear to send (CTS) if one or more of a transmit opportunity (TXOP) ends when the r-TWT service period (SP) of the second AP begins (Ajami '887: the AP 802 may transmit a CTS frame granting the requested TXOP (indicated by the RTS frame) only if the desired length is less than or equal to the amount of time remaining before the start of the r-TWT SP, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0096]) and one frame exchange is able to be completed before the r-TWT SP of the second AP starts (Ajami '887: the AP 802 may set the TXOP duration RTS threshold subfield of the legacy operation element included in beacon or probe response frames (not shown for simplicity) to a minimum threshold duration (such as 32 .Math.s), see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0096]. [Examiner contends that one frame exchange is a minimum threshold duration]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the method of Haider to include the teachings of Ajami ‘887 as above, in order to more precisely regulate access to a shared wireless channel (Ajami ‘887: Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 20, Haider teaches The AP of claim 12, when the r-TWT service period of the AP in the OBSS starts (Haider: the AP1 can receive a third IE from AP2, the third IE including information indicating a TWT schedule of the AP2; all AP of a same schedule can end a TXOP at a SP start time 402, see Fig. 13, Fig. 4 and Paragraphs [0138] and [0099])
Haider fails to explicitly teach, wherein the circuitry arranged to provide to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises circuitry to receive a request to send (RTS) from the station associated with AP in the BSS and send a clear to send (CTS) with a duration of a transmit opportunity (TXOP) that ends
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ajami ‘887 teaches,
wherein the circuitry arranged to provide to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises circuitry to receive a request to send (RTS) from the station associated with AP in the BSS (Ajami '887: non-legacy STA 806 senses that the channel is idle for an AIFS duration, from times t.sub.0 to t.sub.1, and counts down an RBO duration from times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2. At time t.sub.2, the non-legacy STA 806 senses that the wireless channel is still idle and proceeds to transmit an RTS frame requesting a TXOP from times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0097]) and send a clear to send (CTS) with a duration of a transmit opportunity (TXOP) that ends (Ajami '887: the AP 802 may transmit a CTS frame granting the requested TXOP (indicated by the RTS frame) only if the desired length is less than or equal to the amount of time remaining before the start of the r-TWT SP, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the method of Haider to include the teachings of Ajami ‘887 as above, in order to more precisely regulate access to a shared wireless channel (Ajami ‘887: Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 21, Haider-Ajami ‘887 The AP of claim 12, wherein the circuitry arranged to provide to the station the r-TWT schedule comprises circuitry to receive a request to send (RTS) from the station associated AP in the BSS (Ajami '887: non-legacy STA 806 senses that the channel is idle for an AIFS duration, from times t.sub.0 to t.sub.1, and counts down an RBO duration from times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2. At time t.sub.2, the non-legacy STA 806 senses that the wireless channel is still idle and proceeds to transmit an RTS frame requesting a TXOP from times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0097]) and send a clear to send (CTS) when one or more of a TXOP ends when the r-TWT service period of the AP in the OBSS starts (Ajami '887: the AP 802 may transmit a CTS frame granting the requested TXOP (indicated by the RTS frame) only if the desired length is less than or equal to the amount of time remaining before the start of the r-TWT SP, see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0096]) and one frame exchange is able to be completed before the r-TWT SP of the second AP starts (Ajami '887: the AP 802 may set the TXOP duration RTS threshold subfield of the legacy operation element included in beacon or probe response frames (not shown for simplicity) to a minimum threshold duration (such as 32 .Math.s), see Fig. 8A and Paragraph [0096]. [Examiner contends that one frame exchange is a minimum threshold duration]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the method of Haider to include the teachings of Ajami ‘887 as above, in order to more precisely regulate access to a shared wireless channel (Ajami ‘887: Paragraph [0098]).
Conclusion
/A.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416