DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kambara (US 20230010669) in view of Hirofumi (WO 2022070901) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's statement that US 20230010669 and WO 2021199504 and the present application were, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, owned by AGC Inc. (e.g., see Pg. 1 of the Remarks) is sufficient to establish the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C). See MPEP § 717.02(a). Accordingly, US 2023/0010669 and WO 2021/199504 are disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection under nonstatutory double patenting, 35 U.S.C. 112(b), 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below. Because the new grounds of rejection are not necessitated by amendment, this action is made non-final.
Specification
Para. 50 states, with respect to Example 4, that the power reflection efficiency is improved “by increasing the area occupancy to 30.8%”, whereas the area occupancy of Example 4 is 42.4% (e.g., see Para. 49).
Para. 41 describes the durability test environment as 60 °C and a humidity of 95% for 500 hours, whereas Para. 72 describes the same test of Example 1 as 60 °C and a humidity of 90%. The inconsistency should be resolved.
Para. 38 and the subsequent Examples and Comparative Examples (e.g., see Paras. 42, 45, 48 and 63) describe the Ag-based multilayer film forming the ground layer 13 as having a thickness of 0.36 mm. Applicant is requested to verify this value, which appears inconsistent with the description of the ground layer as a film.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 59 (FIG. 3) and 20 (FIGS. 8A-8C).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12671189 B2 (hereinafter “the ’189 Patent”) in view of US 20200158634 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Claim 1: The ’189 Patent discloses an electromagnetic wave reflecting device (“An electromagnetic wave reflecting device”, see claim 1 of the ’189 Patent), comprising: a reflection panel configured to reflect radio waves in a desired band selected from a band of frequencies equal to or higher than 1 GHz and equal to or lower than 170 GHz (“a reflection panel that reflects radio waves of a desired band selected from a frequency band of 1 GHz or more and 170 GHz or less”); and a frame configured to hold the reflection panel (“a frame that holds the reflection panel”), wherein the reflection panel includes a dielectric layer (“a dielectric layer”), a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (“a conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer, the conductive pattern being periodic”), a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (“a ground layer provided on an other surface of the dielectric layer”), a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern (“an intermediate layer covering the adhesive layer and the conductive pattern”, see claim 4 of the ’189 Patent), a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (“a dielectric substrate bonded on a side where the conductive pattern is by the intermediate layer”, see claim 5 of the ’189 Patent).
The ’189 Patent does not explicitly claim a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer, and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer.
However Wang teaches a reflection panel (e.g., see reflectarray 1300 retrofitted to IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Para. 40) having a ground layer provided on a surface of a dielectric layer (e.g., see ground plane labeled “Ground” on extra glass layer 1302 in FIG. 13, Para. 40), a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer (e.g., see PVB layer 1312 in FIG. 13, Para. 40), and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer (e.g., see glass pane of IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Para. 40), the glass preventing the ground plane from being exposed to air, which leads to oxidation (e.g., see Para. 31).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to provide the reflection panel of the ’189 Patent with a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer, as taught by Wang, in order to prevent exposure of the ground layer to air and the resulting oxidation, in the same manner as the conductive pattern side.
Claim 2: the modified invention of the ’189 Patent is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 1, wherein an area occupancy of the conductive pattern on the one surface is 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less (“an occupancy of the conductive pattern with respect to the dielectric layer is 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less”, see claim 3 of the ’189 Patent).
Claim 3: the modified invention of the ’189 Patent is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 2, wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern is 0.01 mm or more and 0.05 mm or less (“a thickness of the conductive pattern is 0.01 mm or greater and 0.05 mm or less”, see claim 3 of the ’189 Patent).
Claim 4: the modified invention of the ’189 Patent is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 3, wherein the conductive pattern is provided on the one surface while being supported by an adhesive layer (“an adhesive layer that bonds the conductive pattern to the one surface of the dielectric layer”, see claim 1 of the ’189 Patent).
Claim 8: the modified invention of the ’189 Patent is such that it teaches an electromagnetic wave reflecting fence, comprising: a plurality of electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 and being joined to each other by the frame (“An electromagnetic wave reflecting fence, wherein a plurality of electromagnetic wave reflecting devices are connected by the frame, each of the electromagnetic wave reflecting devices being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1”, see claim 6 of the ’189 Patent; each device modified as set forth for claim 1 above).
Claim 9: the modified invention of the ’189 Patent is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting fence according to claim 8, wherein at least a part of the reflection panel is a metasurface having an angle of incidence and an angle of reflection, the angle of incidence differing from the angle of reflection (“at least a part of the reflection panel is a metasurface having an angle of incidence and an angle of reflection, the angle of reflection differing from the angle of incidence”, see claim 7 of the ’189 Patent).
Claim 10: The ’189 Patent discloses a reflection panel (“A reflection panel used in an electromagnetic wave reflecting device”, see claim 8 of the ’189 Patent), comprising: a dielectric layer (“a dielectric layer”); a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (“a conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer, the conductive pattern being periodic”); a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (“a ground layer provided on an other surface of the dielectric layer”); a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern; a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (e.g., see claims 4 and 5 of the ’189 Patent, reciting the intermediate layer and the dielectric substrate for the reflection panel of claim 1, which has the same structure as the reflection panel of claim 8). The ’189 Patent does not explicitly claim a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer; and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer. However Wang teaches the same as set forth for claim 1 above (e.g., see PVB layer 1312 and glass pane of IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Paras. 31, 40), and it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to so modify the reflection panel of the ’189 Patent for the same reasons set forth for claim 1 above.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 5 of the ’189 Patent in view of Wang, and further in view of WO 2022044958 A1 (hereinafter “Kawakami”; English translation EP 4202141 A1 relied upon). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Claims 5 and 6: the modified invention of the ’189 Patent does not explicitly teach the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 1, wherein the first intermediate layer is an adhesive film having a thickness of 10 µm or more and 400 µm or less, and the first dielectric substrate is bonded by the adhesive film (claim 5), and wherein the second intermediate layer is an adhesive film having a thickness of 10 µm or more and 400 µm or less, and the second dielectric substrate is bonded by the adhesive film (claim 6). However Kawakami teaches the same as set forth in the rejection of claims 5 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 below (Paras. 22, 72-73, 83, 88-90, 103-104), and it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to so modify the ’189 Patent for the same reasons set forth therein.
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-9 of copending Application No. 18963018 (hereinafter “the ’018 Application”) in view of Wang. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Claim 1: The ’018 Application discloses an electromagnetic wave reflecting device (“An electromagnetic wave reflecting device”, see claim 1 of the ’018 Application), comprising: a reflection panel configured to reflect radio waves in a desired band selected from a band of frequencies equal to or higher than 1 GHz and equal to or lower than 170 GHz (“a reflection panel configured to reflect radio waves of a desired band selected from a frequency band between 1 GHz and 170 GHz”); and a frame configured to hold the reflection panel (“a frame configured to hold the reflection panel”), wherein the reflection panel includes a dielectric layer (“a dielectric layer”), a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (“a conductive pattern periodically provided on one surface of the dielectric layer”), a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (“a ground layer provided on the other surface of the dielectric layer”), a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern (“an intermediate layer covering the adhesive layer and the conductive pattern”, see claim 5 of the ’018 Application), a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (“a dielectric substrate bonded on a conductive pattern side by the intermediate layer”, see claim 6 of the ’018 Application).
The ’018 Application does not explicitly claim a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer, and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer.
However Wang teaches the same as set forth for claim 1 in the rejection over the ’189 Patent above (FIG. 13, Paras. 31, 40).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to provide the reflection panel of the ’018 Application with a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer, as taught by Wang, in order to prevent exposure of the ground layer to air and the resulting oxidation, in the same manner as the conductive pattern side.
Claim 2: the modified invention of the ’018 Application is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 1, wherein an area occupancy of the conductive pattern on the one surface is 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less (“an occupancy of the conductive pattern with respect to the dielectric layer is 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less”, see claim 3 of the ’018 Application).
Claim 3: the modified invention of the ’018 Application is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 2, wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern is 0.01 mm or more and 0.05 mm or less (“a thickness of the conductive pattern is 0.01 mm or more and 0.05 mm or less”, see claim 3 of the ’018 Application).
Claim 4: the modified invention of the ’018 Application is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 3, wherein the conductive pattern is provided on the one surface while being supported by an adhesive layer (“an adhesive layer configured to bond the conductive pattern to the one surface of the dielectric layer”, see claim 1 of the ’018 Application).
Claim 8: the modified invention of the ’018 Application is such that it teaches an electromagnetic wave reflecting fence, comprising: a plurality of electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 and being joined to each other by the frame (“An electromagnetic wave reflecting fence, wherein a plurality of the electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 are joined by the frame”, see claim 7 of the ’018 Application; each device modified as set forth for claim 1 above).
Claim 9: the modified invention of the ’018 Application is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting fence according to claim 8, wherein at least a part of the reflection panel is a metasurface having an angle of incidence and an angle of reflection, the angle of incidence differing from the angle of reflection (“at least a part of the reflection panel is a metasurface at which an angle of incidence differs from an angle of reflection”, see claim 8 of the ’018 Application).
Claim 10: The ’018 Application discloses a reflection panel (“A reflection panel”, see claim 9 of the ’018 Application), comprising: a dielectric layer (“a dielectric layer”); a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (“a conductive pattern periodically provided on one surface of the dielectric layer”); a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (“a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer”); a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern; a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (e.g., see claims 5 and 6 of the ’018 Application, reciting the intermediate layer and the dielectric substrate for the reflection panel of claim 1, which has the same structure as the reflection panel of claim 9). The ’018 Application does not explicitly claim a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer; and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer. However Wang teaches the same as set forth for claim 1 above (e.g., see PVB layer 1312 and glass pane of IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Paras. 31, 40), and it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to so modify the reflection panel of the ’018 Application for the same reasons set forth for claim 1 above.
Claims 5 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 6 of the ’018 Application in view of Wang, and further in view of Kawakami. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons set forth for claims 5 and 6 in the rejection over the ’189 Patent above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12695205 B2 (hereinafter “the ’205 Patent”) in view of Wang and Kawakami. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Claim 7: The ’205 Patent discloses an electromagnetic wave reflecting device (“An electromagnetic wave reflecting device”, see claim 1 of the ’205 Patent), comprising: a reflection panel configured to reflect radio waves in a desired band selected from a band of frequencies equal to or higher than 1 GHz and equal to or lower than 170 GHz (“a reflection panel that reflects a radio wave of a desired band selected from a frequency band between 1 GHz and 170 GHz”); and a frame configured to hold the reflection panel (“a frame that holds the reflection panel”), wherein the frame includes a slit into which the reflection panel is inserted, a cavity communicating with the slit, and a groove formed in the cavity (“the frame includes a conductive main body, a slit into which the reflection panel is inserted, a cavity communicating with the slit, and a groove formed in the cavity”, see claim 7 of the ’205 Patent), and the reflection panel is held by the slit and the groove (“the reflection panel is held by the slit in a state in which the edge is in contact or not in contact with the base surface of the groove”, see claim 8 of the ’205 Patent, wherein the edge is in contact with the base surface of the groove).
The ’205 Patent does not explicitly claim the reflection panel includes a dielectric layer, a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer, a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer, a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern, a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer, a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer, and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer.
However Wang teaches a reflection panel (e.g., see reflectarray 1300 retrofitted to IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Para. 40) including a dielectric layer (e.g., see extra glass layer 1302 in FIG. 13), a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see reflector elements of reflectarray 1300 bonded to extra glass layer 1302 by PVB layer 1310 in FIG. 13, Paras. 40-41), a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see ground plane labeled “Ground” in FIG. 13, Para. 40), a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer (e.g., see PVB layer 1312 in FIG. 13), and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer (e.g., see glass pane of IGU 1308 in FIG. 13), the reflection panel redirecting radio waves from a base station to users in a non-line-of-sight zone (e.g., see Paras. 27-28).
Further, Kawakami teaches a first intermediate layer covering a periodic conductive pattern (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 covering conductive layer 14 in FIG. 2, Paras. 34, 89) and a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (e.g., see first dielectric layer 13 in FIG. 2, Para. 22), the first dielectric layer protecting the conductive layer (e.g., see Para. 22).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to form the reflection panel held in the frame of the ’205 Patent as the reflection panel taught by Wang in order to relay radio waves to users outside of the line-of-sight zone, and to cover the conductive pattern with an intermediate layer bonding a dielectric substrate thereto, as taught by Kawakami, in order to protect the conductive pattern. Instant claim 7 also omits the conductive main body and the protective coating limitations of claims 7 and 8 of the ’205 Patent, and omission of a limitation of a patented claim renders the instant claim broader in scope and therefore an obvious variation. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant is respectfully reminded that a nonstatutory double patenting rejection cannot be held in abeyance, see 37 CFR 1.111(b), MPEP § 804(I)(B)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-4 and 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “an area occupancy of the conductive pattern on the one surface is 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less”. The claim does not recite the area with respect to which the occupancy is measured. The Specification discloses that the entire surface of the reflection panel may be a metasurface, or that a part of the reflection panel may be a metasurface and the remaining part may be a specular reflection surface, with the area occupancy of the conductive pattern constituting the metasurface provided on a part or the whole of the reflective surface set to 10% or more and 45% or less (e.g., see Para. 73). It is therefore unclear whether the occupancy is measured with respect to the entire one surface of the dielectric layer, the region of the one surface on which the periodic conductive pattern is provided, or a unit cell of the conductive pattern, and the same panel may fall within or outside the claimed range depending on the reference area. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets the area occupancy as the ratio of the area of the conductive pattern to the area of the region of the one surface over which the periodic conductive pattern is provided.
Claim 8 recites “a plurality of electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 and being joined to each other by the frame”. Each electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 includes “a frame”, such that the plurality of devices includes a plurality of frames. It is unclear whether “the frame” refers to a single frame common to the plurality of devices, to the respective frames of each of the devices, or to the frame of one particular device. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets the limitation as the plurality of devices being joined to each other by at least one of the frames.
Claim 9 recites “at least a part of the reflection panel is a metasurface”. Claim 8, from which claim 9 depends, recites a plurality of electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each including a reflection panel. It is unclear which of the plurality of reflection panels is referred to by “the reflection panel”. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets the limitation as at least a part of at least one of the reflection panels being a metasurface.
Dependent claims 3 and 4 are rejected under this heading due to depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022044958 A1 (hereinafter “Kawakami”; English translation EP 4202141 A1 relied upon and cited to herein).
Claim 10: Kawakami teaches a reflection panel (e.g., see radio wave absorber 1 having radio wave reflective layer 16 in FIG. 3, Paras. 20, 65), comprising: a dielectric layer (e.g., see second dielectric layer 15 in FIG. 3, Para. 20); a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see conductive layer 14 of conductors 14a arranged in a lattice by slits 14c, 14d in FIG. 5, Paras. 28, 36-37, directly formed on second dielectric layer 15 in FIG. 3, Para. 35); a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see radio wave reflective layer 16 on the other side of second dielectric layer 15 in FIG. 3, Paras. 20, 65, 72); a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 between first dielectric layer 13 and conductive layer 14 in FIG. 3, Paras. 34-35); a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (e.g., see first dielectric layer 13 in FIG. 3, Para. 22); a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 between radio wave reflective layer 16 and third dielectric layer 17 in FIG. 3, Para. 72); and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer (e.g., see third dielectric layer 17 in FIG. 3, Para. 83).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0378644 A1 (hereinafter “Sasaki”) in view of Kawakami.
Claim 10: Sasaki teaches a reflection panel (e.g., see variable reflect array 10 having supercells 20 forming a metasurface in FIGS. 1-4, Paras. 76-79), comprising: a dielectric layer (e.g., see dielectric substrate 23, Para. 81); a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see cross-shaped resonators 22 of unit cells 21 on the surface of dielectric substrate 23, unit cells 21 composing supercells 20 repeated at cell size D in FIGS. 4-5, Paras. 79, 81, 88); a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see ground layer 24 on the back surface of dielectric substrate 23, Para. 81).
Sasaki does not explicitly teach a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern; a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer; a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer; and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer.
However Kawakami teaches a first intermediate layer covering a periodic conductive pattern (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 covering conductive layer 14 in FIG. 3, Paras. 34-35); a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (e.g., see first dielectric layer 13 in FIG. 3, Para. 22); a second intermediate layer covering a ground layer (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 covering radio wave reflective layer 16 in FIG. 3, Para. 72); and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer (e.g., see third dielectric layer 17 in FIG. 3, Para. 83).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to cover the resonators and the ground layer of Sasaki with intermediate layers bonding dielectric substrates thereto, as taught by Kawakami, in order to protect the conductive pattern and the ground layer (e.g., see Kawakami, Paras. 22, 83) with adhesive layers that are less likely to deteriorate in an environment of high temperature and high humidity (e.g., see Kawakami, Para. 90).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kawakami and US 2020/0381839 A1 (hereinafter “Shahvirdi”).
Claim 1: Wang teaches an electromagnetic wave reflecting device (e.g., see reflectarray 1300 retrofitted to IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Para. 40), comprising: a reflection panel configured to reflect radio waves in a desired band selected from a band of frequencies equal to or higher than 1 GHz and equal to or lower than 170 GHz (e.g., see reflectarray reflecting radio waves in a desired direction at 3.5 GHz and 28 GHz, Paras. 24, 44); wherein the reflection panel includes a dielectric layer (e.g., see extra glass layer 1302 in FIG. 13, Para. 40), a periodic conductive pattern provided on one surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see reflector elements of reflectarray 1300 bonded to extra glass layer 1302 by PVB layer 1310 in FIG. 13, the element dimensions following progressive phase distribution 1314, Paras. 40-41), a ground layer provided on another surface of the dielectric layer (e.g., see ground plane labeled “Ground” in FIG. 13, Para. 40), a second intermediate layer covering the ground layer (e.g., see PVB layer 1312 in FIG. 13, Para. 40), and a second dielectric substrate bonded to the ground layer by the second intermediate layer (e.g., see glass pane of IGU 1308 in FIG. 13, Para. 40).
Wang does not explicitly teach a first intermediate layer covering the conductive pattern, and a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (Wang glazes the reflector elements of reflectarray 1300 directly on glass layer 1304, FIG. 13), and a frame configured to hold the reflection panel.
However Kawakami teaches a first intermediate layer covering a periodic conductive pattern (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 covering conductive layer 14 formed on insulating substrate 14b in FIG. 2, Paras. 32, 34, 89) and a first dielectric substrate bonded to the conductive pattern by the first intermediate layer (e.g., see first dielectric layer 13 in FIG. 2, Para. 22).
Further, Shahvirdi teaches a frame configured to hold a reflection panel (e.g., see post 502 holding reflectarray 500 as a flat rectangular panel in FIG. 5, Para. 33; see mounting plane 808 with mount 810 coupled to the back surface of reflectarray 800 in FIG. 8, Para. 37).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to form the reflector elements of Wang on an insulating substrate and to bond glass layer 1304 thereto by an intermediate layer covering the reflector elements, as taught by Kawakami, in order to protect the conductive pattern (e.g., see Kawakami, Para. 22) with an adhesive layer that is less likely to deteriorate in an environment of high temperature and high humidity (e.g., see Kawakami, Para. 90), and to hold the reflection panel with a frame, as taught by Shahvirdi, in order to install the reflection panel at a desired location, such as near a highway or road, to provide improved wireless coverage to user equipment (e.g., see Shahvirdi, Para. 33).
Claim 2: the modified invention of Wang does not explicitly teach the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 1, wherein an area occupancy of the conductive pattern on the one surface is 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less.
However Wang recognizes the area covered by the conductive pattern as a result effective variable (e.g., see 5.8% and 7.2% of the mask covered by an opaque pattern, resulting in slightly reduced transparency, Paras. 39, 43; see decreasing the size of the patch reduces its reflection loss at the expense of a decreased phase range, Para. 32).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to set the area occupancy of the conductive pattern of the modified invention of Wang to 10.0% or more and 45.0% or less in order to balance the optical transparency of the reflection panel against the reflection loss and phase range of the reflector elements. Discovering the optimum or workable range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II).
Claim 3: the modified invention of Wang is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 2, wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern is 0.01 mm or more and 0.05 mm or less (e.g., see reflector elements formed as a 10 µm silver film in the quasi-transparent configuration, Paras. 32, 38, i.e., 0.01 mm; it would have been obvious to form the reflector elements of reflectarray 1300 as the 10 µm silver film in order to obtain the quasi-transparent configuration taught by Wang, see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 4: the modified invention of Wang is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 3, wherein the conductive pattern is provided on the one surface while being supported by an adhesive layer (e.g., see reflector elements of reflectarray 1300 bonded to extra glass layer 1302 by PVB layer 1310 in FIG. 13, Para. 40; see also patch 216 placed on PVB layer 220 in FIG. 2, Para. 31).
Claim 5: the modified invention of Wang is such that it teaches the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 1, wherein the first intermediate layer is an adhesive film having a thickness of 10 µm or more and 400 µm or less, and the first dielectric substrate is bonded by the adhesive film (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 of COP film having a thickness of 380 µm, rendered as “380 mm” in the translation, consistent with the total thickness of 9.7 mm, in Ex. 2 of Kawakami, Paras. 103-104; see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 6: the modified invention of Wang does not explicitly teach the electromagnetic wave reflecting device according to claim 1, wherein the second intermediate layer is an adhesive film having a thickness of 10 µm or more and 400 µm or less, and the second dielectric substrate is bonded by the adhesive film (Wang teaches PVB layers 1310-1312 at 0.78 mm, Para. 40).
However Kawakami teaches a second intermediate layer that is an adhesive film covering a ground layer and bonding a second dielectric substrate thereto (e.g., see adhesive layer 18 between radio wave reflective layer 16 and third dielectric layer 17 in FIG. 3, Paras. 72, 89), the adhesive film having a thickness of 380 µm (e.g., see COP film in Ex. 2, Paras. 103-104).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to form the second intermediate layer of the modified invention of Wang as an adhesive film having a thickness of 10 µm or more and 400 µm or less, as taught by Kawakami, in order to reduce the thickness and weight of the reflection panel (e.g., see Kawakami, Para. 88) and to use an adhesive layer that is less likely to deteriorate in an environment of high temperature and high humidity (e.g., see Kawakami, Para. 90). Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kawakami and Shahvirdi, and further in view of JP 4892207 B2 (hereinafter “Saito”), machine translation of Saito is relied upon and cited herein.
Claim 8: the modified invention of Wang does not explicitly teach an electromagnetic wave reflecting fence, comprising: a plurality of electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 and being joined to each other by the frame (Wang teaches that multiple reflectarrays may be placed in the windows of a building, Para. 27).
However Saito teaches a plurality of panels (e.g., see translucent electromagnetic wave shield plates 1, each having conductive mesh 5 sandwiched between a pair of transparent plates 2 in FIG. 1, Para. 16) joined to each other by a frame (e.g., see pair of band-shaped connectors 10a, 10b fitted into the opposed gap W between adjacent shield plates 1 in FIGS. 1-3, Paras. 10, 17).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to join a plurality of the electromagnetic wave reflecting devices of the modified invention of Wang to each other by the frame, as taught by Saito, in order to obtain a reflecting structure of a desired size from panels manufactured in general-purpose dimensions (e.g., see Saito, Para. 7).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kawakami, Shahvirdi and Saito, and further in view of Sasaki.
Claim 9: the modified invention of Wang does not explicitly teach the electromagnetic wave reflecting fence according to claim 8, wherein at least a part of the reflection panel is a metasurface having an angle of incidence and an angle of reflection, the angle of incidence differing from the angle of reflection.
However Sasaki teaches a reflection panel at least a part of which is a metasurface having an angle of incidence and an angle of reflection, the angle of incidence differing from the angle of reflection (e.g., see supercells 20 forming a metasurface with different angles of incidence and reflection in FIGS. 3-4, Para. 78; see incidence at 0 degrees and reflection at 60 degrees, Para. 90).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to form at least a part of the reflection panel of the modified invention of Wang as a metasurface having an angle of incidence differing from an angle of reflection, as taught by Sasaki, in order to direct the reflected millimeter waves along the propagation path in a desired direction other than the direction of specular reflection, compensating for the high linearity and propagation loss of the millimeter wave band (e.g., see Sasaki, Para. 2; see also incident EM wave at 15 degrees and reflected EM wave at -50 degrees in FIG. 1 of Wang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the nonstatutory double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with the limitations of claim 1, wherein the frame includes a slit into which the reflection panel is inserted, a cavity communicating with the slit, and a groove formed in the cavity, and the reflection panel is held by the slit and the groove. Shahvirdi mounts the reflectarray to a post or a wall by a mounting plane coupled to the back surface of the reflectarray, and Saito joins adjacent panels by band-shaped connectors fitted into the gap between the panels. Neither reference teaches the recited slit, cavity and groove.
Inquiry
/AMAL PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845