DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-3,10 and 11 in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by 20210376315 (US ‘315).
As to Claim 1, US ‘315 discloses silicon particles which further contain 5 to 200 ppm or 0.02 wt % of chlorine (Abstract) wherein the electrode material further contains carbon (para. 0066). The Examiner notes the chlorine content is believed to be in anion form as diatomic chlorine would escape as a gas.
As to Claim 2, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 3, the carbon content of the anode material is up to 40 wt % (para. 0067).
As to Claim 10, a battery embodiment is disclosed (para. 0068).
As to Claim 11, see discussion of Claims 2 and 3.
Claim(s) 1-3,10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 3407408 (EP ‘408).
As to Claims 1-3, EP ‘408 discloses a particle comprised of silicon coated with phosphate salt at 0.1 % mass (para. 0074) which the Examiner construes as being in an anion form due to a wet mixing process (para. 0083). The particle can also have a carbon coating present (para. 0080).
As to Claim 10, a battery embodiment is disclosed.
As to Claim 11, see discussion of Claims 1-3 above.
Claim(s) 1-3,10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN 11216831 (CN ‘831).
As to Claim 1, CN ‘831 discloses a process whereby alkyl orthosilicate in ethanol is mixed with a with 50 % by weigh metal salt in the presence of ammonia and epoxy resin. The material is subjected to a pyrolysis step to create a carbon containing silicon composite (Example 1, pg. 3).
CN ‘831 is relied upon as discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose the presence of an anion at 0.001 to 0.5 wt % as required by the claim.
As to the difference, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art would inherently disclose the anion presence and content due to the similarity of the starting materials and processes used to create the prior art composite.
As to Claim 2, the anion would be chloride as the salt contains chloride.
As to Claim 3, see discussion of Claim 1 in regard to production of the carbon.
As to Claim 10, CN ‘831 discloses the use of the material for use in batteries (pg. 2, lines 11).
As to Claim 11, see discussion of Claims 2 and 3 above.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 9/1/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762