DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20220312003) (hereinafter Lee) in view of Lee (US20190281297) (hereinafter Lee2).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method of video decoding, comprising: receiving a video bitstream including coded information of a current block in a current picture [ABS, 0071-0077; signaling coding information in a bitstream].
dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes [0345; dividing and partitioning coding blocks into plurality of regions].
determining a weight set for each of the plurality of subblocks, the weight set including a first weight for an intra prediction of the respective subblock and a second weight for an inter prediction of the respective subblock [TBL 1, Figs. 3-11, 0230-0231, 0562-0575; applying different weights for intra and inter prediction blocks].
reconstructing each of the plurality of subblocks based on the weight set, the intra prediction, and the inter prediction that are associated with the respective subblock [0140-0146; reconstructing coded data utilizing parameters].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block.
Lee2 more explicitly discloses dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block [Figs. 3-14, 17-19, 0109, 0115-0126, 0134-0141, 0152-0164; variety of partitioning of coding blocks and determining coding based on size, shape or a coding mode for the block].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Lee2 as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such reduction of coding redundancy and improvement of coding efficiency is achieved (see Lee2 0009-0018).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the dividing the current block further comprises: dividing the current block into the plurality of subblocks with a plurality of perpendicular division lines, intersection points of the plurality of perpendicular division lines intersecting a diagonal line indicated by the intra prediction mode of the current block [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning and determination of coding schemes].
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses wherein a size of a first region on a first side of the diagonal line is equal to a second region of a second side of the diagonal line [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning and determination of coding schemes].
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of subblocks has a same height [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning and shapes and sizes].
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of subblocks has a same width [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning and shapes and sizes].
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses wherein the dividing the current block further comprises: when the intra prediction mode of the current block is positioned between two predefined angular modes, dividing the current block into the plurality of subblocks according to the region division shape that corresponds to the two predefined angular modes [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses wherein the region division shape of the current block is selected from the plurality of region division shapes according to a shape index syntax included in the coded information [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of subblocks has one of a square shape, a rectangular shape, a L-shape, or a polygon shape [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses wherein a shape of each of the plurality of subblocks is defined by at least one of a block size, a block shape, or the coded information of the current block [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses wherein the determining the weight set for each of the plurality of subblocks further comprises: determining the weight set for each of the plurality of subblocks as a predefined weight set that is included in a look-up table [TBL 1, Figs. 3-11, 0230-0231, 0562-0575; applying different weights for intra and inter prediction blocks].
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a method of video encoding, comprising: dividing a current block in a current picture into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block [0345; dividing and partitioning coding blocks into plurality of regions].
determining a weight set for each of the plurality of subblocks, the weight set including a first weight for an intra prediction of the respective subblock and a second weight for an inter prediction of the respective subblock [TBL 1, Figs. 3-11, 0230-0231, 0562-0575; applying different weights for intra and inter prediction blocks].
encoding each of the plurality of subblocks based on the weight set, the intra prediction, and the inter prediction that are associated with the respective subblock [0140-0146; reconstructing coded data utilizing parameters].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block.
Lee2 more explicitly discloses dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block [Figs. 3-14, 17-19, 0109, 0115-0126, 0134-0141, 0152-0164; variety of partitioning of coding blocks and determining coding based on size, shape or a coding mode for the block].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Lee2 as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such reduction of coding redundancy and improvement of coding efficiency is achieved (see Lee2 0009-0018).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses wherein the dividing the current block further comprises: dividing the current block into the plurality of subblocks with a plurality of perpendicular division lines, intersection points of the plurality of perpendicular division lines intersecting a diagonal line indicated by the intra prediction mode of the current block [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses wherein a size of a first region on a first side of the diagonal line is equal to a second region of a second side of the diagonal line [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of subblocks has a same height [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of subblocks has a same width [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses wherein the dividing the current block further comprises: when the intra prediction mode of the current block is positioned between two predefined angular modes, dividing the current block into the plurality of subblocks according to the region division shape that corresponds to the two predefined angular modes [TBL 1, Figs. 3-11, 0230-0231, 0562-0575; applying different weights for intra and inter prediction blocks].
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses further comprising: signaling a shape index syntax into a bitstream that indicates which one of the plurality of region division shapes is determined as the region division shape [Figs. 3-13, 0071, 0138, 0180-0185, 0209; dynamic block partitioning, directions shapes, sizes and angles].
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses a method of processing video data, the method comprising: processing a bitstream of the video data according to a format rule, wherein: the bitstream includes coded information of a current block in a current picture [ABS, 0071-0077; signaling coding information in a bitstream].
the format rule specifies that: the current block is divided into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block [0345; dividing and partitioning coding blocks into plurality of regions].
a weight set is determined for each of the plurality of subblocks, the weight set including a first weight for an intra prediction of the respective subblock and a second weight for an inter prediction of the respective subblock [TBL 1, Figs. 3-11, 0230-0231, 0562-0575; applying different weights for intra and inter prediction blocks].
each of the plurality of subblocks is processed based on the weight set, the intra prediction, and the inter prediction that are associated with the respective subblock [0140-0146; reconstructing coded data utilizing parameters].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block.
Lee2 more explicitly discloses dividing the current block into a plurality of subblocks based on a region division shape of a plurality of region division shapes that is associated with an intra prediction mode of the current block [Figs. 3-14, 17-19, 0109, 0115-0126, 0134-0141, 0152-0164; variety of partitioning of coding blocks and determining coding based on size, shape or a coding mode for the block].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Lee2 as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such reduction of coding redundancy and improvement of coding efficiency is achieved (see Lee2 0009-0018).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose determining a plurality of candidate weight sets for a first subblock of the plurality of subblocks, determining a template of the first subblock, the template including neighboring samples adjacent to the first subblock, determining an intra prediction value for the template based on an intra prediction mode associated with the first subblock and an inter prediction value for the template based on an inter prediction mode associated with the first subblock, applying the plurality of candidate weight sets to the intra prediction value and the inter prediction value of the template to generate a plurality of candidate prediction values of the template and determining a plurality of cost values based on a reconstructed value of the template and each of the plurality of candidate prediction values of the template and selecting one of the plurality of candidate weight sets as the weight set for the first subblock that corresponds to a smallest cost value of the plurality of cost values of the template, when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483