Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Priority
This application claims priority to 63/592,331 and 63/553,999 and has an effective filing date of 23 October 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1,9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The Statutory Categories
The claim recites a method, a system and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions for information retrieval, which are within a statutory category (or are interpreted to be within a statutory category for subject matter eligibility analysis purposes).
Step 2A1: Abstract Idea
The limitations of (claim 9 being representative) receiving protocol data from a data source associated with an entity, the protocol data indicating at least one of a procedure, guideline, policy, or standard defined by the entity; receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters; based on the protocol data, generating a first data generation request to generate content related to the user input data; sending the first data generation request […]; receiving machine-generated content […]; generating displayable content based on the machine-generated content; and providing the displayable content […], as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components.
That is, other than reciting a computing device, control circuitry, memory communicatively coupled to the control circuitry, one or more non-transitory computer readable media and one or more processors, the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. For example, but for the additional elements listed, this claim encompasses a person performing the recited abstract idea (see bolded abstract idea above). The Examiner notes that certain “method[s] of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A2: Practical Application
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a computing device, control circuitry, memory communicatively coupled to the control circuitry, one or more non-transitory computer readable media and one or more processors that implements the identified abstract idea. These are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Significantly More
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computing device, control circuitry, memory communicatively coupled to the control circuitry, one or more non-transitory computer readable media and one or more processors to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Dependent Claim Rejections and Dependent Additional Elements
Claims 2-5, 8-10, and 12 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. Claim(s) 2 merely describe(s) specific content includes one or more terms and specification data, the specification data including at least one correct description of the one or more terms and at least one incorrect description of the one or more terms. Claim(s) 3 merely describe(s) receiving second user input requesting generation of content relating to the same one or more parameters, sending a second data generation request to generate content related to the second user input data, receiving certain content from an entity, generating content for display, providing displayable content. Claim 4 merely describes receiving user input related to the displayable content, analyzing the second user input data to determine if the second user input data satisfies one or more criteria based on the protocol data or specification data; in response to determining that the second user input data satisfies the one or more criteria, provide an indication that the second user input data satisfies the one or more criteria. Claim 5 merely describes the generated content includes clinical data related to treating a medical condition. Claim 6 merely describes the generated content includes simulated laboratory results for a sample patient scenario. Claim 7 merely describes wherein the generated content includes medication data related to a medication. Claim 8 merely describes receiving at least one of patient data or sensor data, determining a trend in a medical condition based on at least one of the patient data or sensor data, wherein generating the first data generation request is based on the trend. Claim 10 merely describes receiving a content item from a user, wherein the first data generation request includes the content item and a request to analyze the content item and generate content based on the analysis. Claim 11 merely describes receiving patient data regarding medical conditions of patients, processing at least one of the patient data or the protocol data to generate analytics data indicating a trend in a medical condition; and wherein the first data generation request is generated based on the trend in the medical condition. Claim 12 merely describes the analytics data indicates a trend in a medical condition for a particular geographic area. Claim 13 merely describes the analytics data indicates a medical condition that is most frequently diagnosed in a certain geographic area. Claim 14 merely describes that the displayable content indicates a medical condition that is most frequently diagnosed in a certain geographic area. Claim 16 merely describes receiving a content item from a user, wherein the first data generation request includes the content item and a request to analyze the content item and generate content based on the analysis. Claim 17 merely describes receiving patient data regarding medical conditions of patients, processing at least one of the patient data or the protocol data to generate analytics data indicating a trend in a medical condition, and wherein the first data generation request is generated based on the trend in the medical condition. Claim 18 merely describes wherein the analytics data indicates a trend in a medical condition for a particular geographic area. Claim 19 merely describes the analytics data indicates a medical condition that is most frequently observed by a certain type of medical professional. Claim 20 merely describes the displayable content indicates a medical condition that is most frequently diagnosed in a certain geographic area.
The dependent claims recite a variety of additional elements including: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and a medical device. These additional elements were analyzed per the generic computing device(s) in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,7,8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/086175 A1 (hereafter Rodriguez) in view of US 2025/0054633 A1 (hereafter Jameel) in view of US 2024/0021279 A1 (hereafter Worley).
Regarding Claim 1
Rodriguez teaches:
A method comprising: receiving protocol data from a data source associated with an entity, the protocol data indicating at least one of a procedure guideline, policy, or standard defined by the entity; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0051] for example, the server will assist in processing loads handled by various devices in the system, such as, but not limited to, registering a user with the system, determining the user’s chief medical complaint by utilizing the tirage artificial intelligence engine, predicting likely assessment codes, generating digital records (e.g., S.O.A.P. notes), generating plans for a user based on analyzing user data, lab results, and other information; facilitating operative functionality of the physician assessment engine, updating digital records of a user, facilitating medical billing; and performing any other operations conducted in the system or otherwise. Generating these plans for a user based on analyzing user data, lab result and other information is receiving protocol data from a data source associated with an entity, the protocol data indicating at least one of a procedure guideline.]
[…]
receiving machine-generated content from the content generation component; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] that the functionality and features will be accessible by rendered graphical user interface that will be displayed on an interface of the first user device. The display of the machine generated S.O.A.P. note is receiving machine-generated content from the content generation component. The content generation component is interpreted to be the first user device taught by Rodriguez.]
analyzing the machine-generated content to determine whether or not the machine-generated content aligns with the protocol data; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system 100, the system 100 will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. Checking for the matching criteria in the existing standing order protocols is analyzing the machine-generated content to determine whether or not the machine generated content aligns with the protocol data. Collectively, Rodriguez teaches analyzing the machine-generated content to determine whether or not the machine-generated content aligns with the protocol data.]
in response to determining that the machine-generated content aligns with the protocol data: [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system 100, the system 100 will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. Checking for the matching criteria is interpreted as analyzing the machine-generated content to determine whether or not the machine generated content aligns with the protocol data.]
generating displaying content based on the machine-generated content; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note.]
and providing the displayable content to a computing device; [Rodriguez teaches that the functionality and features will be accessible by rendered graphical user interface that will be displayed on an interface of the first user device.]
and in response to determining that the content does not align with the protocol data; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system 100, the system 100 will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. This is determining that the content does not align with the protocol data.]
generating a second data request, the second data request including one or more updated constraints; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system 100, the system 100 will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. The matching criteria are interpreted here as the one or more updated constraints.]
sending the second data request to the content generation component; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device 111 will be utilized by the second user 110 to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. This is sending the second data request to a second content generation component (generation component is taught immediately below). Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device will be utilized by the second user to view patient data, generate plans for patients, edit plants for patients, provide instructions for patients, confirm the content of digital records generated by the system, perform any operative functionality of the system, or a combination thereof. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in further embodiments, the second user will be a robot, a computer, a vehicle (e.g. semi or fully-automated vehicle), a humanoid, an animal, any type of user, or any combination thereof.]
[…]
and analyzing the updated machine-generated content. [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] the information collected from the user and the information generated by the triage artificial intelligence engine will then be provided to the physician assessment engine for further processing, analysis, or a combination thereof.]
Rodriguez may not explicitly teach:
[…]
receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters;
processing the protocol data and the first user input data to generate a first data generation requests that includes one or more constraints that are based on the protocol data and the first user input data;
sending the first data generation request to a content generation component to generate content related to the first user input data;
[…].
Jameel teaches:
[…]
processing the protocol data and the first user input data to generate a first data generation requests that includes one or more constraints that are based on the protocol data and the first user input data; [Jameel teaches at para. [0011] according to a second aspect of the present invention, a method for providing medical personnel artificial intelligence (AI)-derived data regarding a patient presenting with neurological indications, includes receiving, with a guidance server, three or more of parameters: (i) natural language input from medical personnel, (ii) real-time vital signs telemetry data, (iii) neurosurgical treatment database information, (iv) neurosurgical treatment guideline information, (v) clinical laboratory testing results, (vi) patient historical data, and (vii) patient imaging information. An imaging post-processor receives (i) patient imaging history information, (ii) and real-time patient imaging data, and providing to the guidance server the patient imaging information. The parameters are one or more constraints that are based on the protocol data and the first user input data.]
[…].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the artificial intelligence system for providing automated case management and reporting of Rodriguez to the system and method for artificial intelligence-based diagnostic and/or treatment guidance for patients of Jameel with the motivation of quickly assessing and determining care-protocols for patients who may have neurological impairments (Jameel at para. [0002]).
Rodriguez/Jameel may not explicitly teach:
[…]
receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters;
[…]
sending the first data generation request to a content generation component to generate content related to the first user input data;
[…].
Worley teaches:
[…]
receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters; [Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment, the System will be configured to run the algorithm’s logic based on a predefined event (example, when all necessary inputs have been provided in the database) or upon request by the clinician. Worley teaches at para. [0093] the algorithm is dynamic and predicted probability will be re-calculated upon changes in relevant parameters in the patient chart. Collectively, this is receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters. Additionally, Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment where the algorithm is actuated upon request of a clinician, a signal will be generated in a patient’s chart signifying that the patient has a prediction available. This is receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters. The prediction is related to the one or more parameters.]
[…]
sending the first data generation request to a content generation component to generate content related to the first user input data; [Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment, the System will be configured to run the algorithm’s logic based on a predefined event (example, when all necessary inputs have been provided in the database) or upon request by the clinician. This is interpreted as the data generation request to a content generation component to generate content related to first user input data. Worley also teaches at para. [0093] the algorithm is dynamic and predicted probability will be re-calculated upon changes in relevant parameters in the patient chart. Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment where the algorithm is actuated upon request of a clinician, a signal will be generated in a patient’s chart signifying that the patient has a prediction available.]
[…].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the artificial intelligence system for providing automated case management and reporting of Rodriguez to the system and method for artificial intelligence-based diagnostic and/or treatment guidance for patients of Jameel to the system for predictive medical treatment recommendation and digital platform integration thereof of Worley with the motivation of addressing the needs of clinicians, especially those treating mental health conditions such as clinical depression, who may be burdened by switching between these platforms (Worley at para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 5
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley teach the method of claim 1. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley further teach:
wherein the machine-generated content includes clinical data related to treating a medical condition. [Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment, the System will be configured to run the algorithm’s logic based on a predefined event (example, when all necessary inputs have been provided in the database) or upon request by the clinician. Worley teaches at para. [0093] the algorithm is dynamic and predicted probability will be re-calculated upon changes in relevant parameters in the patient chart. Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment where the algorithm is actuated upon request of a clinician, a signal will be generated in a patient’s chart signifying that the patient has a prediction available. The prediction is interpreted as the machine generated content includes clinical data related to treating a medical condition.]
Regarding Claim 7
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley teach the method of claim 1. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley further teach:
wherein the machine-generated content includes medication data related to a medication. [Worley teaches at para. [0104] the provider facing interface will include a predictive treatment adherence module configured to display the predicted treatment adherence probability of one or more potential treatments. The treatment adherence probability is the machine generated content includes medication data related to a medication.]
Regarding Claim 8
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley teach the method of claim 1. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley further teach:
further comprising: receiving at least one of patient data or sensor data generated by a medical device; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0055] in certain embodiments, the cameras and/or sensor data will capture information and/or content associated with the user’s skin, body, limbs, face, head, skin coloration, symptoms, organs, voice, movements, and/or other characteristics of the user to assist in determining a medical complaint and/or assessment of the user. The cameras are interpreted as the medical device.]
determining a trend in a medical condition based on at least one of a patient data or sensor data; wherein generating the first data generation request is based on the trend. [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0055] in certain embodiments, the cameras and/or sensor data will capture information and/or content associated with the user’s skin, body, limbs, face, head, skin coloration, symptoms, organs, voice, movements, and/or other characteristics of the user to assist in determining a medical complaint and/or assessment of the user. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0055] in certain embodiments, the information from the user will be loaded into an artificial intelligence model(s) for analysis. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0055] in certain embodiments, artificial intelligence model(s) will be a file, program, module, and/or process that will be trained by the system (or other system described herein) to recognize certain patterns, diagnoses, symptoms, behaviors, and/or content. The patterns recognized by the system are interpreted as determining a trend in a medical condition based on at least one of a patient data or sensor data.]
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/086175 A1 (hereafter Rodriguez) in view of US 2025/0054633 A1 (hereafter Jameel) in view of US 2024/0021279 A1 (hereafter Worley) in view of JP 2006079189 A (hereafter Shinya).
Regarding Claim 2
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley teach the method of claim 1. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley may not explicitly teach:
wherein the machine-generated content includes one or more terms and specification data, the specification data including at least one correct description of the one or more terms and at least one incorrect description of the one or more terms.
Shinya teaches:
wherein the machine-generated content includes one or more terms and specification data, the specification data including at least one correct description of the one or more terms and at least one incorrect description of the one or more terms. [Shinya teaches at pg. 2 the receipt file generation system includes a temporary dictionary storage unit that stores a temporary dictionary table in which character strings that are not stored in the dictionary table and are not normally used are associated with identification codes of standard words. This teaches the at least one incorrect description of the one or more terms. Shinya teaches at pg. 2 in order to solve the above problems, an aspect of the present invention relates to a system for generating a receipt file. Shinya teaches at pg. 2 the receipt file generation system of this aspect includes a master table storage unit that stores a master table that associates medical related terms that are standard words with their identification codes and attribute information, and has the same meaning as standard terms as medical related terms. This teaches at least one correct description of the one or more terms.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the artificial intelligence system for providing automated case management and reporting of Rodriguez to the system and method for artificial intelligence-based diagnostic and/or treatment guidance for patients of Jameel to the system for predictive medical treatment recommendation and digital platform integration thereof of Worley to the receipt file creation system, medical chart file creation system and file creation system of Shinya with the motivation of generating medical content for the medical industry.
Regarding Claim 3
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley/Shinya teach the method of claim 2. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley/Shinya further teach:
further comprising: receiving second user input data requesting generation of content relating to the same one or more parameters; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device 111 will be utilized by the second user 110 to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. This is sending the second data request to a second content generation component (generation component is taught immediately below). Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device will be utilized by the second user to view patient data, generate plans for patients, edit plans for patients, provide instructions for patients, confirm the content of digital records generated by the system, perform any operative functionality of the system, or a combination thereof. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in further embodiments, the second user will be a robot, a computer, a vehicle (e.g. semi or fully-automated vehicle), a humanoid, an animal, any type of user, or any combination thereof.]
sending a second data request to the content generation component to generate content related to the second user input data; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device 111 will be utilized by the second user 110 to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. This is sending the second data request to a second content generation component (generation component is taught immediately below). Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device will be utilized by the second user to view patient data, generate plans for patients, edit plants for patients, provide instructions for patients, confirm the content of digital records generated by the system, perform any operative functionality of the system, or a combination thereof. The second user device is interpreted as the content generation component. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in further embodiments, the second user will be a robot, a computer, a vehicle (e.g. semi or fully-automated vehicle), a humanoid, an animal, any type of user, or any combination thereof. Collectively, this is sending a second data request to the content generation component to generate content related to the second user input data.]
receiving additional machine-generated content from the content generation component, the additional machine-generated content being different than the machine-generated content; [Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment, the System will be configured to run the algorithm’s logic based on a predefined event (example, when all necessary inputs have been provided in the database) or upon request by the clinician. Worley teaches at para. [0093] the algorithm is dynamic and predicted probability will be re-calculated upon changes in relevant parameters in the patient chart. Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment where the algorithm is actuated upon request of a clinician, a signal will be generated in a patient’s chart signifying that the patient has a prediction available. This is receiving additional machine-generated content, the additional machine-generated content being different than the machine-generated content.]
generating additional displayable content based on the additional machine-generated content; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note.]
and providing the additional displayable content to the computing device. [Rodriguez teaches that the functionality and features will be accessible by rendered graphical user interface that will be displayed on an interface of the first user device.]
Regarding Claim 4
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley/Shinya teach the method of claim 2. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley/Shinya further teach:
further comprising: receiving second user input data related to the displayable content; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device will be utilized by the second user to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. This teaches receiving second user input data. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device will be utilized by the second user to view patient data, generate plans for patients, edit plans for patients, provide instructions for patients, confirm the content of digital records generated by the system, perform any operative functionality of the system, or a combination thereof. This teaches that the second input received is related to the displayable content.]
analyzing the second user input data to determine if the second user input data satisfies one or more criteria based on the protocol data or specification data; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system, the system will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. The standing order protocols in place are interpreted the protocol data.]
in response to determining that the second user input data satisfies the one or more criteria provide an indication that the second user input data satisfies the one or more criteria. [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system, the system will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. The standing order protocols in place are interpreted as the protocol data. The matching of criteria is interpreted as determining that the second user input data satisfies the one or more criteria.]
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/086175 A1 (hereafter Rodriguez) in view of US 2025/0054633 A1 (hereafter Jameel) in view of US 2024/0021279 A1 (hereafter Worley) in view of US 2018/0277246 A1 (hereafter Zhong).
Regarding Claim 6
Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley teach the method of claim 1. Rodriguez/Jameel/Worley may not explicitly teach:
wherein the machine-generated content includes simulated laboratory results for a sample patient scenario.
Zhong teaches:
wherein the machine-generated content includes simulated laboratory results for a sample patient scenario. [Zhong teaches at para. [0008] in another embodiment, a method of monitoring a physiological condition of a patient involves obtaining, from a sensing arrangement, current measurement data for the physiological condition of the patient, predicting one or more events likely influence the physiological condition of the patient at one or more different times in the future based at least in part on historical event data associated with the patient, determining a plurality of forecast values for the physiological condition of the patient associated with a plurality of different time periods in the future based at least in part on the current measurement data and the one or more events using a forecasting model associated with the patient, and displaying, on a display device, the plurality of forecast values with respect to the plurality of different time periods in the future. Collectively this is wherein the machine-generated content includes simulated laboratory results for a sample patient scenario.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the artificial intelligence system for providing automated case management and reporting of Rodriguez to the system and method for artificial intelligence-based diagnostic and/or treatment guidance for patients of Jameel to the patient data management systems and conversational interaction methods of Zhong with the motivation of improving medical devices and related patient monitoring systems, and more particularly, embodiments of the subject matter related to database systems facilitating improved patient-specific queries, predictions, and recommendations (Zhong at para. [0002]).
Claim(s) 9-12,15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/086175 A1 (hereafter Rodriguez) in view of US 2024/0021279 A1 (hereafter Worley).
Regarding Claim 9
Rodriguez teaches:
[…]
based on the protocol data, generating a first data generation request to generate content related to the first user input data; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device 111 will be utilized by the second user 110 to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system 100, the system 100 will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. This is collectively, based on the protocol data, generating a first data generation request to generate content related to the first user input data.]
sending the first data generation request to a content generation component; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device 111 will be utilized by the second user 110 to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. This is sending the first data generation request to a second content generation component (generation component is taught immediately below). Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device will be utilized by the second user to view patient data, generate plans for patients, edit plants for patients, provide instructions for patients, confirm the content of digital records generated by the system, perform any operative functionality of the system, or a combination thereof. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in further embodiments, the second user will be a robot, a computer, a vehicle (e.g. semi or fully-automated vehicle), a humanoid, an animal, any type of user, or any combination thereof.]
receiving machine-generated content from the content generation component; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] that the functionality and features will be accessible by rendered graphical user interface that will be displayed on an interface of the first user device. The display of the machine generated S.O.A.P. note is interpreted as receiving machine-generated content from the content generation component.]
generating displayable content to a computing device. [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note.]
Rodriguez may not explicitly teach:
A system comprising: control circuitry; and memory communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and storing executable instructions, that when executed by the control circuitry, cause the control circuitry to perform operations comprising: receiving protocol data from a data source associated with an entity, the protocol data indicating at least one of a procedure, guideline, policy or standard defined by the entity defined by the entity; [Worley teaches the provider interface will be configured to receive data input from one or more providers. Worley teaches in an embodiment, the provider interface includes one or more permissions enabling access to administrators and/or approved providers (for example, as a function of the provider’s correlation to a particular patient or class of patients). The permissions are interpreted as protocol data indicating at least a standard defined by the entity.]
receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters; [Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment, the System will be configured to run the algorithm’s logic based on a predefined event (example, when all necessary inputs have been provided in the database) or upon request by the clinician. Worley teaches at para. [0093] the algorithm is dynamic and predicted probability will be re-calculated upon changes in relevant parameters in the patient chart. Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment where the algorithm is actuated upon request of a clinician, a signal will be generated in a patient’s chart signifying that the patient has a prediction available. This is receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters. The prediction is related to the one or more parameters.]
[…].
Worley teaches:
A system comprising: control circuitry; and memory communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and storing executable instructions, that when executed by the control circuitry, cause the control circuitry to perform operations comprising: receiving protocol data from a data source associated with an entity, the protocol data indicating at least one of a procedure, guideline, policy or standard defined by the entity defined by the entity; [Worley teaches the provider interface will be configured to receive data input from one or more providers. Worley teaches in an embodiment, the provider interface includes one or more permissions enabling access to administrators and/or approved providers (for example, as a function of the provider’s correlation to a particular patient or class of patients). The permissions are interpreted as protocol data indicating at least a standard defined by the entity.]
receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters; [Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment, the System will be configured to run the algorithm’s logic based on a predefined event (example, when all necessary inputs have been provided in the database) or upon request by the clinician. Worley teaches at para. [0093] the algorithm is dynamic and predicted probability will be re-calculated upon changes in relevant parameters in the patient chart. Worley teaches at para. [0094] in an embodiment where the algorithm is actuated upon request of a clinician, a signal will be generated in a patient’s chart signifying that the patient has a prediction available. This is receiving first user input data requesting generation of content relating to one or more parameters. The prediction is related to the one or more parameters.]
based on the protocol data, generating a first data generation request to generate content related to the first user input data; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0034] in certain embodiments, the second user device 111 will be utilized by the second user 110 to transmit signals to request various types of content, services, and data provided by and/or accessible by communications network or any other network in the system. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0022] for example, in an exemplary scenario, if there are existing standing order protocols (i.e., decision trees defined with narrow parameters that can execute specific action) in place that match criteria based on the user’s inputted information and responses to the questions posed by the system 100, the system 100 will generate or obtain corresponding orders, education resources, or a combination thereof, to the user without further input from the user. This is collectively, based on the protocol data, generating a first data generation request to generate content related to the first user input data.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the artificial intelligence system for providing automated case management and reporting of Rodriguez to the system for predictive medical treatment recommendation and digital platform integration thereof of Worley with the motivation of addressing the needs of clinicians, especially those treating mental health conditions such as clinical depression, who may be burdened by switching between these platforms (Worley at para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 15
Due to its similarity to Claim 9, Claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10
Rodriguez/Worley teach the system of claim 9. Rodriguez/Worley further teach:
wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a content item from a user; [Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] that the functionality and features will be accessible by rendered graphical user interface that will be displayed on an interface of the first user device. The display of the machine generated S.O.A.P. note is interpreted as receiving machine-generated content from the content generation component therefore it is receiving a content item from a user, there being no requirement that the user cannot be the computer.]
wherein the first data generation request includes the content item and a request to analyze the content item and generate content based on the analysis. [Rodriguez teaches at para.[0064] at step 504, the method will include receiving, at the system, a request from the user for a specific plan treatment and/or medication, such as a plan treatment and/or medication that the user wants for himself. The specific treatment plan is the content item. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0064] in certain embodiments, the request will be received via the application of the system and the receiving of the request will be performed and/or facilitated by utilizing the first user, the second user, and/or by utilizing the first user device, the second user device, the server, the server, the server, the server, the communications network, any component of the system, any combination therefor, or by utilizing any other appropriate program, network, system, or device. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0055] in certain embodiments, the information from the user will be loaded into an artificial intelligence model(s) for analysis. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] additionally, in certain embodiments, the triage artificial intelligence engine will be configured to facilitate the automatic generation of digital record that will include a ready for execution medical note, such as a S.O.A.P. note. Rodriguez teaches at para. [0042] that the functionality and features will be accessible by rendered graphical user interface that will be displayed on an interface of the first user device. The display of the machine generated S.O.A.P. note is interpreted as receiving machine-generated content from the content generation component.]
Regarding Claim 11
Rodriguez/Worley teach the system of claim 9. Rodriguez/Worley further teach:
wherein the operations further comprise: receiving patient data regarding medical conditions of patients; [Rodriguez teaches at pg. 15 additionally, the communications network will be configured to transmit, generate, and receive any information and data traversing the system 100. Rodriguez teaches at pg. 19 the note, for example, will include a predicted assessment (E.g., diagnosis or medical condition) for the user, a treatment plan for treating the diagnosis or medical condition, subject information associated with the user, and objective data associated with the user (e.g. lab results, measurements, vital signs, etc.). Collectively, Rodriguez teaches receiving patient data regarding conditions of patients.]
processing at least one of the patient data or the protocol da