DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16, 1-5, 20, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mammou et al. (US 20210090301 A1).
Regarding claim 12. Mammou discloses A method of mesh encoding (abstract, an encoder configured to compress and encode data for a three-dimensional mesh using a video encoding technique), comprising:
generating a seam vertex queue that includes one or more UV vertices of a plurality of UV vertices of a mesh (abstract, the encoder determines boundary stitching information for the sub-meshes; [0008] the relative location of a pixel corresponding to a vertex in a geometry patch that has been generated based on projection of the sub-mesh onto the patch plane, respective X and Y locations signaled as texture or attribute coordinates for a corresponding texture or attribute patch), each of the one or more UV vertices in the seam vertex queue belonging to a respective UV vertex group of a plurality of seam UV vertex groups ([0538] boundary stitching information may specify how vertices belonging to different patches may be merged to stitch the seams introduced during the patch generation and the texture mapping processes together; [0555] reconstructs the mesh connectivity C(i) by stitching the patches connectivities PC(i,0), PC(i,1), . . . , PC(i,M−1), by exploiting the boundary stitching information), each of the plurality of seam UV vertex groups corresponding to a same three-dimensional (3D) vertex of the mesh in a 3D space ([0016] the boundary stitching information is further used to merge vertices of adjacent sub-meshes that correspond to a same vertex in the reconstructed three-dimensional mesh; [0555] During this process one or multiple vertices are merged together to generate a single vertex; claim 8);
determining an initial UV vertex of the mesh based on whether one of the one or more UV vertices in the seam vertex queue includes an unvisited UV vertex ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression)); and
encoding UV coordinates of the mesh based on the initial UV vertex (figure 15, [0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, compress the unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices); [0545]-[0551]).
Regarding claim 1. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1 (corresponding decoding method).
Regarding claim 20. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9. Mammou discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a current UV vertex in a same seam UV vertex group as the initial UV vertex, the current UV vertex being unvisited ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression)); and
reconstructing UV vertices of a current face that is incident to the current UV vertex (figure 16, [0567] Video decompression module 1604 may video decode two-dimensional image frames comprising packed geometry patches. Also, mesh decompression module 1606 may use a mesh decoding algorithm to decode the compressed patch mesh information to generate patch connectivity and patch texture coordinates. This information may represent mesh information for sub-meshes corresponding to the patches. Also, patch information decompression module 1608 may decompress the patch information, such as information indicating the 2D bounding box, 3D bounding box, and projection plane for the patches).
Regarding claims 13, 2. Mammou discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the determining the initial UV vertex of the mesh further comprises:
when a top UV vertex of the seam vertex queue has the unvisited UV vertex in the seam UV vertex group of the top UV vertex, determining a first unvisited UV vertex of the seam UV vertex group of the top UV vertex as the initial UV vertex ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression)); and
determining a visited UV vertex immediately before the initial UV vertex in the seam UV vertex group of the top UV vertex as a reference UV vertex of the initial UV vertex ([0016] the boundary stitching information is further used to merge vertices of adjacent sub-meshes that correspond to a same vertex in the reconstructed three-dimensional mesh; [0555] During this process one or multiple vertices are merged together to generate a single vertex; claim 8 (inherently, unvisited vertices are merged with visited vertices)).
Regarding claims 14, 3. Mammou discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the determining the initial UV vertex of the mesh further comprises:
when a top UV vertex of the seam vertex queue has no unvisited UV vertices that are in the seam UV vertex group of the top UV vertex, determining whether a UV vertex subsequent to the top UV vertex in the seam vertex queue has one or more unvisited UV vertices that are in the seam UV vertex group of the subsequent UV vertex ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression)); and
determining a first unvisited UV vertex of the one or more unvisited vertices in the seam UV vertex group of the subsequent vertex as the initial UV vertex when the subsequent UV vertex in the seam vertex queue has the one or more unvisited UV vertices ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression)).
Regarding claims 15, 4. Mammou discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the determining the initial UV vertex of the mesh further comprises:
when the seam vertex queue is empty, determining whether another seam vertex queue of the mesh includes one or more unvisited UV vertices ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression));
when the other seam vertex queue of the mesh includes the one or more unvisited UV vertices, determining one of the one or more unvisited UV vertices in the other seam vertex queue as the initial vertex ([0563] compress the boundary stitching information (inherently, find unvisited/uncoded/uncompressed boundary vertices before compression)); and
determining a visited UV vertex immediately before the initial UV vertex as a reference UV vertex of the initial UV vertex ([0016] the boundary stitching information is further used to merge vertices of adjacent sub-meshes that correspond to a same vertex in the reconstructed three-dimensional mesh; [0555] During this process one or multiple vertices are merged together to generate a single vertex; claim 8 (inherently, unvisited vertices are merged with visited vertices)).
Regarding claims 16, 5. Mammou discloses The method of claim 13, wherein the encoding further comprises:
encoding UV coordinates of the initial UV vertex based on UV coordinates of the reference UV vertex of the initial UV vertex ([0016] the boundary stitching information is further used to merge vertices of adjacent sub-meshes that correspond to a same vertex in the reconstructed three-dimensional mesh; [0555] During this process one or multiple vertices are merged together to generate a single vertex; claim 8 (inherently, unvisited vertices are merged with visited vertices)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou et al. (US 20210090301 A1) in view of ZAKHARCHENKO et al. (US 20240289997 A1).
Regarding claims 18, 7. Mammou discloses The method of claim 13, wherein the encoding further comprises:
determining an initial face based on the initial UV vertex, the initial face being incident to the initial UV vertex and including a subset of the plurality of UV vertices of the mesh (figure 15, [0561] the patch generation module 1502 receives texture coordinates T(i) indicating locations of the vertices of the sub-meshes that correspond to texture or attribute images and texture connectivity TC(i) indicating how the vertices of the sub-meshes are to be connected together);
ZAKHARCHENKO discloses
determining a reference face that is incident to the reference UV vertex (figure 1A, [0036]; figure 1B, [0038]; [0039] Attributes, such as coordinates and normals of a vertex, can be predicted from adjacent faces using various predictive algorithms, such as parallelogram prediction); and
encoding UV coordinates of a second UV vertex of the initial face based on UV coordinates of a UV vertex in the reference face that is prior to the reference UV vertex (figure 1A, [0036]; figure 1B, [0038]; [0039] Attributes, such as coordinates and normals of a vertex, can be predicted from adjacent faces using various predictive algorithms, such as parallelogram prediction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Mammou and ZAKHARCHENKO, to encode UV coordinates based on UV coordinates of a UV vertex in the reference face, in order to efficiently compress 3D content (ZAKHARCHENKO [0039]).
Claims 17, 19 and 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou et al. (US 20210090301 A1) in view of MARVIE et al. (WO 2024208852 A1).
Regarding claims 17, 6. Mammou discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the encoding further comprises:
determining an initial face based on the initial UV vertex, the initial face being incident to the initial UV vertex and including a subset of the plurality of UV vertices of the mesh (figure 15, [0561] the patch generation module 1502 receives texture coordinates T(i) indicating locations of the vertices of the sub-meshes that correspond to texture or attribute images and texture connectivity TC(i) indicating how the vertices of the sub-meshes are to be connected together); and
MARVIE discloses
encoding UV coordinates of a second UV vertex of the initial face based on UV coordinates of the initial UV vertex (figure 43B, [0059] min stretch prediction of corner c UV coordinates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Mammou and MARVIE, to encode UV coordinates of a second UV vertex of the initial face based on UV coordinates of the initial UV vertex within the initial face, in order to efficiently code mesh data (MARVIE abstract).
Regarding claim 19. Mammou discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the encoding further comprises:
determining an initial face based on the initial UV vertex, the initial face being incident to the initial UV vertex and including a subset of the plurality of UV vertices of the mesh (figure 15, [0561] the patch generation module 1502 receives texture coordinates T(i) indicating locations of the vertices of the sub-meshes that correspond to texture or attribute images and texture connectivity TC(i) indicating how the vertices of the sub-meshes are to be connected together);
MARVIE discloses
encoding UV coordinates of a third UV vertex of the initial face based on a stretch prediction (figure 43B, [0059] min stretch prediction of corner c UV coordinates); and
encoding UV coordinates of a UV vertex of the initial face that is different from the initial UV vertex, a second UV vertex, and the third UV vertex based on a within-parallelogram prediction (figure 43A, [0058] multi parallelogram prediction of corner c positions; [0199] A parallelogram to predict corner c from a sibling corner altC is valid for prediction only if the vertices of altC. o, altC. n, and altC. p were already processed by the connectivity recursion (which invokes the prediction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Mammou and MARVIE, to encode UV coordinates based on stretch predictions and parallelogram predictions, in order to efficiently code mesh data (MARVIE abstract).
Regarding claim 8. The same analysis has been stated in claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488