DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on September 2, 2026. Claims 21-42 are pending. Claims 1-20 are canceled. A final action on the merits of claims 21-42 is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-23, 25-29, 32-37 and 41-42 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cosman (U.S. Pat. No. 6,241,725), in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter ‘Lee’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2007/0016183), and further in view of Dupree et al. (hereinafter ‘Dupree’, U.S. Pat. No. 6,192,266).
In regards to independent claim 21 and claims 22-23, 34-35, 41 and 42, Cosman discloses a system for use during a surgical procedure (electrode system in Fig. 7), the system comprising:
an ablation device having a sharp tip configured for conducting radiofrequency (RF) energy (electrode 701 comprising a metal cannula and a sharpened trocar conductive distal tip);
a controller (computer graphic workstation 731 inherently comprises a processor); and
the system configured for a real-time ultrasound imaging to provide a first device image and a second device image during an ablation mode and coagulation mode, respectively (graphic display 741 shows the actual lesion process as it is proceeding in real-time; the ultrasound image is used to render the anatomy and the tumor volume of 751; col. 9, ln. 3-10: the merged image 751 between the rendered electrodes and the rendered anatomical image based upon the real-time ultrasound probe imaging).
However, Cosman fails to disclose that the ablation device comprises a plurality of stylets, wherein the stylets are moveable with respect to the sharp tip.
Lee teaches an ablation device comprising a trocar and a plurality of stylets (ablation instrument in Figs.1-5: trocar 10 and a plurality of stylets 224, [0025]). In a first geometry, the stylets are fully deployed from the trocar for delivering ablation energy to cause ablation of tumor or tissue ([0085]). In a second geometry, the stylets are fully retracted and the tip of the trocar is configured to deliver coagulation energy to prevent blood loss along the track formed by the trocar during the withdrawal ([0025]), thus meeting claims 34-35. Given that Cosman contemplates that any geometries of electrodes can be used with the system (col. 9, ln. 31-36), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ablation device and incorporate a plurality of stylets extending from the trocar or sharp tip as taught by Lee so that the modified ablation device assumes a plurality of geometries, including ablation and coagulation modes, respectively as needed for the clinical procedure.
However, Cosman/Lee combination does not disclose a first indication different from the first device image indicating that the system is in the ablation mode and a second indication different from the second device image, respectively indicating that the system is in the coagulation mode claimed.
Dupree teaches a comprehensive graphical user interface (GUI 46 including the display 38, keyboard, point and operator interface in Fig. 1) for displaying and controlling various features of an ablation system (col. 5, ln. 24-40: “The GUI 46 presents to the operator, in a graphical format, various outputs generated by the provide applications”). Specifically, the GUI allows the user to select an executable mode from a plurality of buttons associated with a plurality of modes such that the selection of a specific mode changes the GUI display to provide information and selectable operational features associated with the selected mode (e.g. buttons associated with RECORDING PROTOCOLS, VIRTUAL IMAGE NAVIGATION, REAL IMAGE NAVIGATION and more as shown in Fig. 4; displays real-time images and provides various information and operational features including, entering file names, configuration, sequence type, duration, changing color, shape or shade to indicate electrode(s) of the ablation device are close to a target ablation area and so forth; col. 10, ln. 56- col. 11, ln. 5; col. 22, ln. 32-42). Given that Cosman discloses a touch display with real-time imaging and for controlling features associated with the entire ablation process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a selectable button corresponding to each of the modes (e.g. ablation mode and coagulation mode) so that once a mode is selected by the user, the GUI display changes to provide a customized display comprising information and selectable operational features associated with only that mode as taught by Dupree, as doing so is merely a design choice of arranging and displaying information and selectable features to the user without changing the underlying functionality of the system to operate in the ablation mode and coagulation mode and involves routine skill in the art and streamline the treatment processes as the physician does not manually have to change the operational features every time it toggles between ablation and coagulation modes. The buttons are predetermined graphical objects and are separate boxes, thus meeting claims 22-23.
In regards to claims 25-29, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination further discloses that any functionality feature such as buttons, menus and submenus on a graphical user interface/display/screen to monitor or control the system and ablation process can be provided on the same computer graphic workstation (Dupree, Figs. 5-10 displaying various functionality features for each of the executable modes). Given that the claimed menus and submenus are merely a list of buttons without a specific detail as to the functionality associated with selecting the buttons, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide any menus or submenus as desired as doing so involves routine skilled in the art.
In regards to claim 32-33, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination further discloses wherein the ultrasound image of the desired anatomical structure comprises an intraabdominal ultrasound image (the final image displayed on the display is a merge of rendered electrodes, rendered anatomy and tumor volume for real-time display of any anatomical region); wherein the ultrasound probe and the ablation device are moveable independent of each other (electrode 701 and probe 721 are independent probes).
In regards to claim 36, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination further discloses both the first indication and the second indication are different from a power-level indicator (modified executable buttons corresponding to the ablation mode and coagulation mode are different from selectable operational features such as a power-level indicator).
In regards to claim 37, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination further discloses wherein the first indication comprises a first ready indicator (once ablation mode is selected via the ablation mode button, the display changes to the customizable display associated with the ablation mode which reads on the first ready indicator), wherein the second indication comprises a second ready indicator that is different from the first ready indicator (once coagulation mode is selected via the coagulation mode button, the display changes to the customizable display associated with the coagulation mode which reads on the second ready indicator), and wherein the controller is configured to provide a temperature value in association with the first ready indicator, and to provide a coagulation power level in association with the second ready indicator (note that temperature monitoring is critical to ablation process as shown in the display window 742 along the display of the workstation 731 of Cosman; on the same display window 742, the temperature of each of the electrodes and the power level are shown in a graphical form, col. 8, ln. 26-65; note that the temperature monitoring associated with each of the modes reads on the claimed temperature value).
Claims 24, 30 and 38-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cosman, Lee, Dupree as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Edwards et al (hereinafter ‘Edwards’, U.S. Pat No. 6,258,087).
In regard to claims 24, and 38-40, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above.
However, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination does not disclose a foot-operated input device such that the system is configured to start delivery of the ablation energy in response to an actuation of a foot pedal of the foot-operated input device and start delivery of the coagulation energy in response to an actuation of a foot pedal of the foot-operated input device.
Edwards teaches a foot pedal that allows the practitioner to send a radiofrequency radiation through a plurality of stylets in order to ablate or coagulate the tissue mass of the patient (col. 39, ln. 58-62: "when the physician is ready to apply energy to the targeted tissue region, the physician presses the foot pedal”; col. 11, ln. 1-19). Edwards further teaches terminating the radiofrequency radiation by pressing the foot pedal as needed (col. 41, ln. 40-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination and incorporate a manual foot pedal for activating and terminating RF energy delivery to the plurality of stylets as taught by Edwards. Doing so would allow hands-free activation and deactivation of energy delivery to target tissue.
In regards to claim 30, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above.
However, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination does not disclose the controller configured to determine a respective temperature associated with each of the stylets of the ablation device.
Edwards teaches regulating RF energy to a plurality of electrodes so as to achieve a target tissue temperature at each electrode (temperature information 466 in exemplary Fig. 73; col. 24, ln. 22-24 & col. 36, ln. 47). Edwards further teaches calculating an average temperature from the respective temperatures (col. 24, ln. 22-24: “the controller thus receives as input a temperature that is approximately the average of the temperature sensed by the sensors 80”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Cosman/Lee combination and adjust the delivery of RF energy based upon the temperature of the stylets as taught by Edwards, as doing so involves routine in the art and a predictable result of temperature feedback energy control would ensue.
Claim 31 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cosman, Lee, and Dupree as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Lee (U.S. Pat. No. 6,840,935).
In regards to claim 31, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 21 and discussed above.
However, Cosman/Lee/Dupree combination fail to disclose a second imaging device comprising a laparoscopic camera.
Lee teaches an ablation system comprising a first imaging device comprising an ultrasound probe having a first image output (ultrasound probe 24 is inserted into a patient as shown in Fig. 1; col. 6, ln. 9-11); a second imaging device comprising a laparoscopic camera (laparoscope 12 is inserted into the patient as shown in Fig. 1). Cosman already discloses the use of additional imaging modalities to better display the anatomical region of interest including CT, MRI, SPECT, or other scanning means (col. 8, ln. 37-43), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Cosman/Lee combination and provide an additional imaging device such as laparoscopic camera as taught by Lee, thereby arriving at the claimed invention. The use of multiple imaging modalities for 3-D graphic rendering of the anatomical region of interest provides a more accurate image for better viewing during ablation procedure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on September 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-23, 25-29, 32-33 and 36-37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman (U.S. PGPub. No. 6,241,725) in view of Lee (U.S. PGPub. No. 2007/0016183) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dupree (U.S. Pat. No. 6,192,266). As explained in above Office action, given that Cosman discloses a touch display to controlling features associated with the entire ablation process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a selectable button corresponding to each of the modes so that once a mode is selected by the user, the GUI display changes to provide a customized display comprising information and selectable operational features associated with the mode as taught by Dupree (col. 5, ln. 24-40), as doing so is merely a design choice of arranging and displaying information and selectable features to the user without changing the underlying functionality of the system to operate in the ablation mode and coagulation mode and involves routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 9/25/2026