DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues that under Step 2A, the claims are not practically performed in the human mind because the claims are inherently tied to the operation of a computing device (a mobile phone and a processor) and a specific technological environment.
In response the claims as now amended still fail to recite specific computer structures to
implement the claimed functions. The broad recitation of an “artificial intelligence” for performing measurement and damage assessment is not a specific compute structure, as the claimed functions can be performed mentally and manually. These claimed functions are and can be mentally processed to perform the related claimed functions. The newly added limitations of “executed by a processor” is not a specific computer element.
These claimed functions are merely the obtaining of house photos by a photographer using a camera device or a device having a camera, and assessing damages. Applicant is to be reminded that a system, apparatus, machine or method for performing business, however, novel, useful, or commercially successful, is not patentable apart from the means for making the system practically useful or carrying it out. The applicant is making use of generic devices to determine the image quality and to determine whether to retake the image.
The question in step two of the Alice framework is not whether an additional feature is novel but whether the implementation of the abstract idea involves "more than [the] performance of 'well--understood, routine, [and] conventional activities previously known to the industry."' Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat. Ass 'n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1347--48 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (quoting Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2359).
Applicant’s representative then argues that the claims addresses a technical problem in the field of computer-based image acquisition for insurance purposes and perform a technical improvement that enhances the functionality of the image capture device and the overall data acquisition system.
In response, the claims still fail to recite technological implementation details of how the claimed functions are being realized. Claims of this nature are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101." Beteiro, LLC V. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). The specification does not even provide details of a specific architecture or means or structures or specific computer executed modules for performing the claimed functions.
The claims "do[es] not improve the functioning of the computing device or processor having a memory or the artificial intelligence or make[s] it operate more efficiently, or solve any technological problem." Trading Techs. Int'l, Inc. V. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019). "Nothing in the claim[s], understood in light of the specification, calls for anything but preexisting computers and displays, programmed using techniques known to skilled artisans, to present the new arrangement of information." Brumfield V. IBG LLC, 97 F Ath 854, 868 (Fed. Cir. 2024). The claims also do not show a technical improvement in the architecture of the computing device with the processor and memory or using a computing logic of the computing device or global router. The recited functions involve generic or conventional functions and setup of a basic computer device even with the recitation of a generic artificial intelligence.
The mere recitation of a generic computing device with a processor and memory, an artificial intelligence cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention as stated in Alice Corp., 134S.Ct. at 2358; DDR Holdings, LLC V. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256 (Fed. Cri. 2014) ("And after Alice, there can remain no doubt: recitation of generic computer limitations does not make an otherwise ineligible claim patent-eligible. (citation omitted)). Thus, if a patent's recitation of a computer amounts to a mere instruction to 'implement' an abstract idea 'on a computer', that addition cannot impart patent eligibility." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358 (internal citation omitted). The claimed computing device, processor with a memory and an artificial intelligence are merely a field of use that attempts to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Each of the independent claims uses generic computer technology and a photographer for determining whether to retake an image of a house based on the quality of an image previously taken, as such does not recite an improvement to a particular computer technology. See, e.g., McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F .3 d 1299, 1314-1315 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ( finding claims not abstract because they "focused on a specific asserted improvement in computer animation").
Applicant’s representative then argues that the claims as amended are directed to a judicial exception because at least claim 1 includes an inventive concept sufficient to transform the alleged judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter.
In response, all the cited prior art provides the structural means or structures for performing the claimed invention or the functions as recited in at least the independent claims.
The additional elements when considered both individually and as a combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional elements of a computing device, processor, memory and an artificial intelligence when taken individually or as a whole are seen as a general purpose computer or a computerized system (see the applicant’s specification). These claimed devices are noted to perform routine computer functions. The claimed processor with a memory, and the artificial intelligence are seen as a generic computers performing generic functions without an inventive concept as such does not amount to significantly more. These devices are simply a field of use that attempts to limit the abstract idea to a particular environment. The type of data being manipulated does not impose meaningful limitations. Looking at the elements as a combination does not add anything more than the elements analyzed individually. Therefore the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible.
Furthermore, in Core Wireless Licensing S.A.R.L. v. LG Electronics, Inc., the Courts held that claims to a method for making websites easier to navigate on a small-screen device were not directed to an abstract idea. 880 F.3d 1356, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Here, the claims are not drafted in the format CoreWireless. Rather than providing a technical solution that improves the way the computing device, the applicant is merely using alternate ways of using a computer for allowing a user to determine whether to retake a photo of a house based on quality of a previously taken photo of the house.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims merely recite a generic computing device with a processor and memory, and an artificial intelligence to perform the claimed functions. These types of functions being performed are functions that a generic computer may achieve and they are also functions which similarly the Courts found to be abstract. The claimed “processor” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The 35 USC 103 Arguments
Applicant’s representative argues that Farnsworth performs data analysis through one or more engines on the unmanned aircraft 100, a ground server 150, a server located within the structure 131, or a combination of these. It determines whether additional images (such as more detailed images or videos) are needed and instructs the unmanned vehicle 100 to obtain the needed additional images.
Applicant’s representative then states that therefore, “Farnsworth fails to disclose to the features "calling an image algorithm or an artificial intelligence model to perform real-time determination, , if it is determined that image quality of the photographer is not up to standard or that shooting was not performed according to instruction, displaying prompt information; providing the photographer with corresponding suggestion of re-shooting or ignoring the prompt information after confirming that shooting is correct" as recited in amended claim 1.
In response, Farnsworth clearly teaches performing data analysis of an image to determine whether additional images are needed and instructs the vehicle to obtain more images as argued. Performing retail-time analysis to determine the quality of an image is done by Davis.
Davis et al teach a system and method allowing a user to capture images of a house or items inside a home to be insured see the abstract and Figure 4 of Davis et al.
Davis et al teach “if it is determined that image quality of the photographer is not up to standard or that shooting was not performed according to instruction, the processor further displays prompt information; provides the photographer with corresponding suggestion of re-shooting or ignores the prompt information after confirming that shooting is correct. Applicant is directed to column 11, lines 29-65 of Davis et al.
Furthermore, Roach et al disclose a system and method for performing an image analysis of an image of a check using a mobile device. See the abstract of Roach et al.
Roch et al further teaches scanning the image of a check and if the image is blurry or the quality of the image is not acceptable, a prompt is given to retake the image of the check. See paragraph [0333] of Roach et al as Roach et al state:
[0333] According to some embodiments, an Image Focus IQA Test can be executed on a mobile image to determine whether the image is too blurry to be used by a mobile application. Blurry images are often unusable, and this test can help to identify such out-of-focus images and reject them. The user can be provided detailed information to assist the user in taking a better quality image of the document. For example, the blurriness may have been the result of motion blur caused by the user moving the camera while taking the image. The test result messages can suggest that the user hold the camera steadier when retaking the image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Roach et al into the combination of Farnsworth et al and Davis et al in order to further enhance the interaction of a photographer with the camera system when retaking an image due to the quality of the image.
A 35 USC 101 and 103 rejection based on the claims as amended is found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Specifically, claim 8 is directed to a system. Claim 1 is directed to a method. Each of the claims falls under one of the four statutory classes of invention.
If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea).
The claims when the bolded limitations are removed recite the following limitations:
Claim 1 recites:
A method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images executed by a processor, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
a. performing artificial intelligence detection and determination in real time during a process of taking house photos, and uploading taken house photos to a cloud end; wherein the house photos comprise a roof photo and/or photos of inside and outside of the house;
b. performing artificial intelligence measurement and damage assessment based on the uploaded house photos, and generating an underwriting or claiming report.
wherein the step a comprises:
step S31: obtaining house photos taken by a photographer;
step S32: calling an image algorithm or an artificial intelligence model to perform real-time determination, wherein the real-time determination comprises: determining image clarities, determining far and close degrees of image sizes, determining whether an image comprises an entire wall body, and determining whether an image is a roof or a facade;
step S33, generating a detection result and displaying it on a user interface,
wherein the step S33 comprises: if it is determined that image quality of the photographer is not up to standard or that shooting was not performed according to instruction, displaying prompt information;
providing the photographer with corresponding suggestion of re-shooting or ignoring the prompt information after confirming that shooting is correct.
Claim 2 recites:
The method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 1, wherein before the step a, the method further comprises:
when a detection requirement of an insurance company comprises a roof, dispatching an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to take photos of the roof; wherein the UAV comprises a consumer grade UAV.
Claim 3 recites:
The method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 1, wherein before the step a, the method further comprises:
when a detection requirement of an insurance company comprises inside and outside of a house, using a mobile phone to take photos of inside and outside of the house; wherein the mobile phone comprises a consumer grade mobile phone.
Claim 6 recites:
The method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 1, wherein the step b comprises:
step S41, receiving uploaded house photos;
step S42, performing pre-processing for the house photos, wherein the pre-processing comprises denoising and adjusting brightness and contrast;
step S43, calling an artificial intelligence model to perform measurement and damage assessment for pre-processed house photos; extracting image features and analyzing to recognize risk items or damage items;
step S44, generating an underwriting or claiming report;
step S45, storing processed data and updating database.
Claim 7 recites:
The method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 6, wherein the step S44 comprises:
forming a claiming report based on the measurement and damage assessment; if initial review is not passed, notifying missed photo information, and performing photo data collection for the second time.
Claim 8 recites:
A system for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images
comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory configured to store one or more programs which, when executed by the processor cause the processor to:
perform artificial intelligence detection and determination in real time during a process of taking house photos, and upload taken house photos to a cloud end;
wherein the house photos comprise a roof photo and/or photos of inside and outside of the house; and
perform measurement and damage assessment based on the uploaded house photos, and generate an underwriting or claiming report,
wherein the processor further;
obtains house photos taken by a photographer;
calls an image algorithm or an artificial intelligence model to perform real-time determination, wherein the real-time determination comprises: determining image clarities, determining far and close degrees of image sizes, determining whether an image comprises an entire wall body, and determining whether an image is a roof or a facade;
generates a detection result and displaying it on a user interface,
wherein the step S33 comprises: if it is determined that image quality of the photographer is not up to standard or that shooting was not performed according to instruction, displaying prompt information;
provides the photographer with corresponding suggestion of re-shooting or ignoring the prompt information after confirming that shooting is correct.
Claim 9 recites:
The system for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 8, wherein the processor further:
when a detection requirement of an insurance company comprises a roof, dispatch an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to take photos of the roof.
Claim 10 recites:
The system for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 8, wherein the processor further when a detection requirement of an insurance company comprises inside and outside of a house, use a mobile phone to take photos of inside and outside of the house.
Claim 11 recites: wherein dispatching an UAV to take photos of the roof comprises: setting flight paths and task areas of the UAV, wherein the flight paths comprise overview map shooting 360-degree flight shooting, overall claim object shooting, and close-range shooting for claim object details. Farnsworth et al teach providing flight paths showing overview map shooting
Claim 12 recites: wherein the overview map shooting requires a whole house to be covered by an image, and segments the image in real time to detect whether the whole house is within the image by a deployed algorithm.
Claim 13 recites: wherein the 360-degree flight shooting requires one of S-shaped and Zigzag shaped shooting, wherein each image has a certain degree of overlap with a previous image.
Claim 14 recites: wherein using a mobile phone to take photos of inside and outside of the house comprises: when shooting exterior of a house, indicating a photographer of the mobile phone to perform a series of shots for each individual house and shoot each house from different angles.
Claim 15 recites: wherein using a mobile phone to take photos of inside and outside of the house comprises: when shooting interior of a house, indicating a photographer of the mobile phone to perform a series of shots for each individual house and important objects, wherein the important objects comprise at one or more combinations of air conditioning and ventilation systems, drainage and sewage systems, pipelines, water and electricity meters, water heaters, stairs, doors and windows. See column 3, lines 31-67 of Farnsworth et al.
Claim 16 recites: wherein the processor further: sets flight paths and task areas of the UAV, wherein the flight paths comprise overview map shooting, 360-degree flight shooting, overall claim object shooting, and close-range shooting for claim object details. See column 3, lines 31-67 of Farnsworth et al.
Claim 17 recites: wherein the overview map shooting requires a whole house to be covered by an image, and segments the image in real time to detect whether the whole house is within the image by a deployed algorithm.
Claim 18 recites: wherein the 360-degree flight shooting requires one of S-shaped and Zigzag shaped shooting, wherein each image has a certain degree of overlap with a previous image.
Claim 19 recites: wherein the processor further: when shooting exterior of a house, indicates a photographer of the mobile phone to perform a series of shots for each individual house and shoot each house from different angles.
Claim 20 recites: wherein the processor further: when shooting interior of a house, indicate a photographer of the mobile phone to perform a series of shots for each individual house and important objects, wherein the important objects comprise at one or more combinations of air conditioning and ventilation systems, drainage and sewage systems, pipelines, water and electricity meters, water heaters, stairs, doors and windows.
Here, the claimed concept falls into the category of functions of organizing human activities such as fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, migrating risk) because it amounts to the concept of determining damages of photos of inside and outside a house for insurance purposes.
The BRI of the claimed limitations describe functions of :
“performing artificial intelligence measurement and damage assessment based on the uploaded house photos, and generating an underwriting or claiming report”.
Step 2A, Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, In particular, the clams recite the above bolded limitations understood to be the additional limitations.
Performing steps by a processor or generic machine, or generic artificial intelligence” and “using a mobile phone to take photos” merely limit the abstraction to a computer field by execution by generic computers. See MPEP 2106.05(1).
As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), limitations which amount to instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely using a computer as a tool, limitations which amount to
insignificant extra-solution activity, and limitations which amount to generally linking to a particular technological environment do not integrate a practical exception into a practical application.
Using a generic processor or artificial intelligence and using a phone to take photos are similar to Alappat, which as noted in MPEP 2106. 05(b)(1) is superseded, and the correct analysis is to look whether the added elements integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims in the instant application are performed using a phone and a generic artificial for performing measurement and damage assessment based on uploaded house photos and generating an underwriting or claiming report.
Consideration of these steps as a combination does not change the analysis as it does not add anything compared to when the steps are considered separately. The claims recite a particular sequence of functions of generating an underwriting or claimant report.
Performance of these steps or functions technologically may present a meaningful limit to the scope of the claim does not reasonably integrate the abstraction into a practical application.
Step 2B: The elements discussed above with respect to the practical application in Step 2A, prong 2 are equally applicable to consideration of whether the claims amount to significantly more. Accordingly, the claims fail to recite additional elements which, when considered individually and in combination, amount to significantly more. Reconsideration of these elements identified as insignificant extra-solution activity as part of Step 2B does not change the analysis.
Positively reciting a processor or an “artificial intelligence” not executed by a processor, even assuming such, and a “user interface” does not change the analysis as these aspects are properly considered as additional elements which amount to instructions to apply it with a computer.
These claimed elements also as found in the dependent claims are also recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic component.
In processing the claims, it is noted that the recitation of these additional elements does not impact the analysis of the claims because these elements in combination are noted only to be one or more of a general purpose computer for performing basic or routine computer functions. The claimed “artificial intelligence” is noted to a be a generic computer for performing known computer functions therein. These additional elements do not overcome the analysis as these elements are merely considered as additional elements which amount to instructions to be applied to the generic computer.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claimed “processor with a memory”, “artificial intelligence” and a “user interface” are recited at a high level of generality such they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, claims 1 and 8 are directed to an abstract idea.
The dependent claim(s) when analyzed and each taken as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnsworth et al. (US Patent No. 10,354,386) and Davis et al (US Pat. No. 11,715,162) in further view of Roach et al (US Pub. No. 20140032406).
As per claims 1 and 8, Farnsworth et al disclose a system and method for taking photos or images
of a house (inside and outside) so as to determine and assess potential damages of the house for insurance purposes. See the abstract of Farnsworth et al. Accordingly, Farnsworth et al teach or disclose:
A method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
performing artificial intelligence detection and determination in real time during a process of taking house photos, and uploading taken house photos to a cloud end (col 7, lines 49-57 and column 15,lines 10-14 of Farnsworth et al);
wherein the house photos comprise a roof photo and/or photos of inside and outside of the house (see column 10, lines 11-27 of Farnsworth et al.);
performing artificial intelligence measurement and damage assessment based on the uploaded house photos, and generating an underwriting or claiming report. See column 20, line 57 to column 21, line 50 of Farnsworth et al.
Farnsworth et al do not explicitly teach obtaining house photos taken by a photographer.
Farnsworth et al teach calling an image algorithm or an artificial intelligence model to perform real-time determination, wherein the real-time determination comprises: determining image clarities, determining far and close (column 11, lines 14-23 as using a zoom factor) degrees of image sizes (see column 5, lines 28-32 as Farnsworth et al. teach determining the dimension of a captured image), determining whether an image comprises an entire wall body (column 10, lines 24-28 and column 10, lines 48-52 of Farnsworth et al.), and determining whether an image is a roof or a façade (column 10, lines 11-13 of Farnsworth et al.);
generates a detection result and displaying it on a user interface (as image data are captured and/or sent to a remote location which would be displayed on a computer screen for viewing and insurance analysis purposes. See column 10 lines 48-65 of Farnsworth et al.);
wherein if it is determined that image quality is not up to standard or that shooting was not performed according to instruction, re-shooting or ignoring after confirming that shooting is correct (see column 7, line 59 to column 8, line 5 of Farnsworth et al as Farnsworth et al. state:
“Further, unmanned vehicle 100 may be enabled with functionality to analyze gathered data (e.g., an image) and determined whether the image sufficiently contains what is needed. For example, if unmanned vehicle 100 has been tasked with identifying the status of a residential home, and the vehicle gathers a visual image of the home from a relatively large distance (e.g., 1,000 feet), the image may be analyzed to determine that a closer or more zoomed-in image is needed to enable the functionality and analysis related to identifying what damage, if any, has occurred to the home”.
While Farnsworth et al do not provide specific details of obtaining photos taken by a photographer and provide a prompt to retake the image of an item inside the house.
This is well known in the insurance system wherein a house or items inside a home and/house are intended to be insured.
Providing a prompt to a photographer to retake the image of an item is taught by Davis et al.
Davis et al teach a system and method allowing a user to capture images of a house or items inside a home to be insured see the abstract and Figure 4 of Davis et al.
Davis et al suggest “if it is determined that image quality of the photographer is not up to standard or that shooting was not performed according to instruction, the processor further displays prompt information; provides the photographer with corresponding suggestion of re-shooting or ignores the prompt information after confirming that shooting is correct. Applicant is directed to column 11, lines 29-65 of Davis et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Davis et al into the system and method of Farnsworth et al. at the effective filing date of the invention in order to assure that required images of the houses and items inside a house are taken based on the type of insurance coverage of a given customer for dispute resolution purposes.
Additionally, Roach et al disclose a system and method for performing an image analysis of an image of a check using a mobile device. See the abstract of Roach et al.
Roch et al further teaches scanning the image of a check and if the image is blurry or the quality of the image is not acceptable, a prompt is given to retake the image of the check. See paragraph [0333] of Roach et al as Roach et al state:
[0333] According to some embodiments, an Image Focus IQA Test can be executed on a mobile image to determine whether the image is too blurry to be used by a mobile application. Blurry images are often unusable, and this test can help to identify such out-of-focus images and reject them. The user can be provided detailed information to assist the user in taking a better quality image of the document. For example, the blurriness may have been the result of motion blur caused by the user moving the camera while taking the image. The test result messages can suggest that the user hold the camera steadier when retaking the image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Roach et al into the combination of Farnsworth et al and Davis et al in order to further enhance the interaction of a photographer with the camera system when retaking an image due to the quality of the image.
As per claims 2 and 9, Farnsworth et al teach or disclose the method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 1, wherein before the step a, the method further comprises:
when a detection requirement of an insurance company comprises a roof, dispatching an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to take photos of the roof; wherein the UAV comprises a consumer grade UAV (see column 3, lines 31-52 of Farnsworth et al.).
As per claims 3 and 10, the teachings of Farnsworth et al are discussed above. Farnsworth et al teach:
when a detection requirement of an insurance company comprises inside and outside of a house, using a UAV to take photos of inside and outside of the house. (See column 11, lines 14-23, column 10, lines 11-27 of Farnsworth et al.).
Farnsworth et al also teach using cell phone towers to connect a phone to download pictures or images of the inside or outside a house. See column 15, lines 17-25 of Farnsworth et al. Using a mobile phone is not explicitly taught by Farnsworth et al.
Using cell phones such as a consumer grade mobile phone connected to a cell phone tower for taking pictures or images is well-practiced in the art at the effective filing date of the invention.
Applicant is directed to column 11, line 14-55 of Davis et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a user taken pictures of the inside or outside of a house once it is detected of a requirement using a mobile phone in the combined system and method of Farnsworth et al, Roach et al and Davis et al at the effective filing date of the invention, in order to make it simpler to have a user such as a home owner or an insurance agent to take pictures of a specific or required area of the house as may be required in a claim that is filed.
As per claim 6, the teachings of Farnsworth et al are discussed above.
Farnsworth et al teach or disclose: the method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 1 (see the abstract of Farnsworth et al), wherein the step b comprises:
step $41, receiving uploaded house photos;
step S42, performing pre-processing for the house photos, wherein the pre-processing comprises denoising and adjusting brightness and contrast (see column 5, lines 32 to column 6, line 24 of Farnsworth et al.);
step S43, calling an artificial intelligence model to perform measurement and damage assessment for pre-processed house photos (see column 20, line 57 to column 21, line 50 of Farnsworth et al.);
extracting image features and analyzing to recognize risk items or damage items (see column 7, lines 26-34 of Farnsworth et al);
step $44, generating an underwriting or claiming report (see column 20, line 57 to column 21, line 50 of Farnsworth et al.
step S45, storing processed data and updating database (column 11, lines 47-53 of Farnsworth et al.).
As per claim 7, Farnsworth et al disclose a method for insurance underwriting and claiming using house images according to claim 6, wherein the step S44 comprises:
forming a claiming report based on the measurement and damage assessment (see column 20, line 57 to column 21, line 50 of Farnsworth et al);
Farnsworth et al do not explicitly state:
if initial review is not passed, notifying missed photo information, and performing photo data collection for the second time.
However, Farnsworth et al teach determining resolutions and angles for performing data collection at different time for a given object. See column 6, lines 38-47 and column 5, lines 32 to column 6, line 24 of Farnsworth et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al to note that “if initial review is not passed, notifying missed photo information, and performing photo data collection for the second time” so that the quality of a desires image is obtained in order to enhance image processing of the image.
As per claims 15 and 20, the teachings of Farnsworth et al are discussed above. Farnsworth et al does not explicitly state: wherein using a mobile phone to take photos of inside and outside of the house comprises: when shooting interior of a house, indicating a photographer of the mobile phone to perform a series of shots for each individual house and important objects.
Farnsworth et al. teach taken images of one or more combinations of air conditioning and ventilation systems, drainage and sewage systems, pipelines, water and electricity meters, water heaters, stairs, doors and windows. See column 3, lines 31-67 of Farnsworth et al.
Indicating a person such as a photographer to use cell phones such as a consumer grade mobile phone connected to a cell phone tower for taking pictures or images is well-practiced in the art at the effective filing date of the invention.
Applicant is directed to column 11, lines 14-55 of Davis et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a user taken pictures of the inside or outside of a house once it is detected of a requirement using a mobile phone in the combined system and method of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al. at the effective filing date of the invention, in order to make it simpler to have a user such as a home owner or an insurance agent to take pictures of a specific or required area of the house as may be required in a claim that is filed.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Farnsworth et al. (US Patent No. 10,354,386) in view of Davis et al (US Pat. No. 11,715,162) and Roach et al (US Pub No. 20140032406A1) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above in further view of Marsh (US Pub. No. 2022/0398762 A1).
As per claims 11 and 16, the teachings of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al are discussed above. The combination of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al. do not explicitly recite: wherein the processor further: sets flight paths and task areas of the UAV, wherein the flight paths comprise overview map shooting, 360-degree flight shooting, overall claim object shooting, and close-range shooting for claim object details.
Farnsworth et al teach flight paths with an overview map for shooting images of a desired object. See column 3, lines 31-67 of Farnsworth et al.
Marsh discloses a system and method for insuring a building by generating a plurality of images of the building for analysis purposes. See the abstract of Marsh.
Marsh further teaches a 360-degree shooting of the building in a panorama view. See paragraphs [0033] and [0094] of Marsh.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Marsh into the combination of Farnsworth et al., Davis et al and Roach et al. in order to obtain a panorama view of the building thus making it a more appealing view of the building.
As per claims 13 and 18 the teachings of Farnsworth et al and Davis et al are discussed above. The combined teaching of Farnsworth et al., Davis et al and Roach et al do not explicitly mention:
wherein the 360-degree flight shooting requires one of S-shaped and Zigzag shaped shooting, wherein each image has a certain degree of overlap with a previous image.
Marsh discloses a system and method for insuring a building by generating a plurality of images of the building for analysis purposes. See the abstract of Marsh.
Marsh further teaches a 360-degree shooting of the building in a panorama view. See paragraphs [0033] and [0094] of Marsh. An S-shaped or Zigzag shaped shooting are ones of a plurality of desired shooting patterns by an individual in shooting a target.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Marsh by providing desired shooting path into the combination of Farnsworth et al., Davis et al and Roach et al. in order to obtain a panorama view of the building thus making it a more appealing view of the building.
Claim(s) 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnsworth et al.
(US Patent No. 10,354,386), Davis et al (US Pat. No. 11,715,162), Roach et al (US Pub No. 20140032406) and Marsh (US Pub. No. 2022/0398762 A1) as applied to claims 11 and 16 above in further view of Collins et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0265193 A).
As per claims 12 and 17, the teachings of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al, Roach et al and Marsh are discussed above. The combination does not explicitly state: wherein the overview map shooting requires a whole house to be covered by an image, and segments the image in real time to detect whether the whole house is within the image by a deployed algorithm.
Farnsworth et al teach providing a map for shooting of a whole house.
Collins et al teach taking or shooting different images at different angles of a house. Applicant is directed to figure 5 and paragraph [0047] of Collins et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Collins et al into the system and method Farnsworth et al, Davis et al, Roach et al and Marsh in order combine images at different angles or view of the whole house especially in the case where one image of the house is impossible or difficult to take.
Claim(s) 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnsworth et al. (US Patent No. 10,354,386), Davis et al (US Pat. No. 11,715,162) and Roach et al (US Pub No. 20140032406) as applied to claims 3 and 10 above in further view of Collins et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0265193 A).
As per claims 14 and 19, the teachings of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al are discussed above. The combination of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al do not explicitly teach: wherein the processor further: when shooting exterior of a house, indicates a photographer of the mobile phone to perform a series of shots for each individual house and shoot each house from different angles.
Collins et al teach a system and method for capturing different angles of a house intended to be insured. See paragraphs [0063] and [0107] of Collins et al where it is stated:
[0107] The number of images being reviewed can be from as few as one (depending on the application), to billions of images. Further, multiple images from the same property may be reviewed at the same time. For example, images taken from different sources, at different times, or from different angles. Review of multiple images over time can be used to determine trends, establish a pattern, or to discover something that happens infrequently. The purpose of using views from different angles might be to establish a measurement, such as the height of a fence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Collins et al. into the combined system and method of Farnsworth et al, Davis et al and Roach et al in order to establish a measurement such as a height of a fence as suggested by Collins et al.
Conclusion
/fp/
/FRANTZY POINVIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
August 10, 2026