Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (PGPub 2020/0231079).
Regarding claim 1, Lai teaches a service cart 1 configured to support an electric vehicle battery (capable of supporting a vehicle battery, the battery is not positively recited) comprising: a support frame 6; a plurality of wheels 40 coupled to the support frame, each of the wheels having an adjustable directionality (castering) with respect to the support frame; a lift assembly 3-10 supported by the support frame 6 at a proximal end of the lift assembly; a platform 2 supported by the lift assembly and arranged at a distal end of the lift assembly, the platform configured to support the electric vehicle battery; an electrically-driven hydraulic pump 10 interfacing with the lift assembly, the electrically-driven hydraulic pump operable to raise and lower the platform by extending and retracting the lift assembly respectively; and a handle 39 coupled to the support frame, wherein the handle further comprises electric controls 70 configured to control the electrically-driven hydraulic pump.
Regarding claim 2, Lai teaches the lift assembly comprises a scissor-lift assembly 3, 4, and the scissor-lift assembly extends and retracts to respectively raise and lower the platform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi (CN115432621) in view of Lai (PGPub 2020/0231079).
Regarding claim 1, Qi teaches a service cart configured to support an electric vehicle battery (capable of supporting a vehicle battery) comprising: a support frame 10; a plurality of wheels 11 coupled to the support frame, each of the wheels having an adjustable directionality (steered using steering motor 40) with respect to the support frame; a lift assembly 31 supported by the support frame 10 at a proximal end of the lift assembly; a platform 20 supported by the lift assembly and arranged at a distal end of the lift assembly, the platform configured to support the electric vehicle battery; a hydraulic cylinder 314 interfacing with the lift assembly, the cylinder operable to raise and lower the platform by extending and retracting the lift assembly respectively.
Qi is silent regarding an electric pump for operating the hydraulic cylinder and it lacks a handle coupled to the support frame, wherein the handle further comprises electric controls configured to control the electrically-driven hydraulic pump.
As discussed above, Lai teaches a service cart with a lift platform having an electric pump 10 for operating a hydraulic cylinder 7 that lifts and lowers a platform 2 using scissor links. Lai also teaches a handle 30 coupled to support frame 6, wherein the handle further comprises electric controls 70 configured to control the electrically-driven hydraulic pump.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the service cart of Qi with an electric pump for providing pressurized fluid to the hydraulic lift cylinder, as well as a handle with controls for operating the pump, in view of Lai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to complete the hydraulic lift arrangement and to provide control of the lifting assembly on the service cart.
Regarding claim 2, the lift assembly taught by both references comprises a scissor-lift assembly, and the scissor-lift assembly extends and retracts to respectively raise and lower the platform.
Regarding claim 3, Qi teaches a first electric motor 60, and wherein at least one of the plurality of wheels comprises an electric wheel 11, the first electric motor configured to drive the electric wheel with rotational force (see drive motor 60 in figure 5 of Qi).
Regarding claim 4, Qi teaches controlling the motors 60 by remote control rather than controls on the handle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide motor drive controls on the handle of the combination cart in order to allow manual control of the cart at a location convenient to the user.
Regarding claim 5, Qi teaches a second electric motor (steering motor 40, seen in Figure 5), wherein the second electric motor is configured to control the directionality of the at least one electric wheel with respect to the support frame.
Regarding claim 6, the references do not specifically teach handle mounted electric controls configured to control the first electric motor and the second electric motor. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide motor drive controls on the handle of the combination cart in order to allow manual control of the cart at a location convenient to the user.
Claim(s) 7-10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi and Lai as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Sonoura (PGPub 2024/0317307).
Regarding claims 7-10, the combination lacks each of the plurality of wheels comprising an omni-directional wheel having a plurality of rolling spindles distributed about a circumference of the wheel.
Sonoura teaches a mobile vehicle 1 having omnidirectional wheels that are both driven and steerable (Figure 3b shows a first motor 22a for driving each omnidirectional drive wheel 21 and a steering motor 23a for steering each wheel 21) and have a plurality of rolling spindles 21f, that roll independently, distributed about a circumference of the wheel (Figure 3b; para [0029]), for improving the degree of freedom of movement (para [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination service cart with omni-directional wheels having peripheral rolling spindles, in view of Sonoura, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance maneuverability of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, the combination includes a first electric motor configured to drive the electric wheel with rotational force (Qi teaches electric motor driven wheel; Sonoura teaches electric motor driven omni-directional wheels).
Regarding claim 14, the combination comprises a second electric motor, wherein the second electric motor is configured to control the directionality of the at least one electric wheel with respect to the support frame (Qi teaches a steering motor 40 for each of the drive wheels 11 and Sonoura teaches a steering motor 23a for each of the driven omni-directional wheels).
Regarding claim 15, Qi teaches controlling the motors by remote control rather than controls on the handle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide motor drive controls on the handle of the combination cart in order to allow manual control of the cart at a location convenient to the cart.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches all of the claimed features, as discussed above, except that it is silent regarding a battery electrically connected to the electric pump. Lai teaches an electric power source 60 for the pump, but does not specify that the power source is a battery. Portable electric power sources are typically batteries (although other power sources are possible, such as a capacitor or fuel cell). Sonoura teaches an electric power source in the form of a battery 40 that powers all of the electrical equipment on the vehicle (para [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination service cart with a battery as the power source, in view of Sonoura, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a well known and readily available source of electricity for the electric pump.
Regarding claim 17, the combination comprises a first electric motor, and wherein at least one of the plurality of wheels comprises an electric wheel, the first electric motor configured to drive the electric wheel with rotational force (Qi and Sonoura both teach electric motor driven wheels).
Regarding claim 18, the combination comprises a second electric motor, wherein the second electric motor is configured to control the directionality of the at least one electric wheel with respect to the support frame (both Qi and Sonoura teach electric motors for steering driven wheels).
Regarding claim 19, Qi teaches controlling the motors by remote control rather than controls on the handle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide motor drive controls on the handle of the combination cart in order to allow manual control of the cart at a location convenient to the cart.
Claim(s) 9-12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi and Lai as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Park (USPN 6,668,950).
Regarding claims 9-12, 16, and 20, the combination of Qi and Lai lacks each of the plurality of wheels comprising an omni-directional wheel having a plurality of rolling spindles distributed about a circumference of the wheel and obliquely angled relative to the axis of the wheel.
Park teaches a mobile service cart having a lift platform and omnidirectional driven wheels 15 that have a plurality of rolling spindles 16 that roll independently of other spindles, distributed about a circumference of the wheel at an oblique angle (45-degree angle; col. 5, lines 61-63) to the axis of the wheel 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination service cart with omni-directional wheels having peripheral rolling spindles that are obliquely angled relative to the axis the wheel and that rotate independently from each other, in view of Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance maneuverability of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN110328077 and CN 105712243 teach a cart with omnidirectional wheels and a scissor lift.
WO2022/236374 teaches a cart with a scissor lift powered by a pump, motor and batteries.
Zhu teaches a cart having a handle, driven wheels and a scissor lift.
Garvey teaches a cart with a handle supporting a controller, driven wheels, and a scissor lift.
King teaches a cart with a scissor lift, a handle, driven wheels and steered wheels.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/