DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a model providing unit that provides a pre-trained model”; “a communication module that receives captured images . . .”; and “a processing module functionally connected to the model providing unit and the . . .” in claim 1, and “an output module that outputs a guidance message . . .” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114332020 A to Ling (Please refer to the attached USPTO translation version)
Regarding claim 1, Ling discloses a device for detecting a defect of a solar panel (Page 2, Para 3, wherein the present invention provides a photovoltaic panel positioning and defect detection method and system based on visible light image), the device comprising: a model providing unit that provides a pre-trained model (Page 4, Para 6, wherein constructing SEFPN semantic segmentation network, comprising: forming the VGG16 basic network by 13 convolution layers, outputting the feature map to the feature pyramid network with channel attention mechanism); a communication module that receives captured images of a solar panel from an image sensor (Page 4, Para 1, wherein using the unmanned aerial vehicle carrying the visible light camera to collect the image of the photovoltaic panel;); and a processing module functionally connected to the model providing unit and the communication module (Page 2, Para 7, wherein step S3: inputting the photovoltaic panel edge mask pattern into the outline filter module, obtaining the candidate position frame of the photovoltaic panel), wherein the processing module is configured to collect the captured images of the solar panel, generate an attention map by applying the captured images to the pre-trained model (Page 2, Para 6-7, wherein photovoltaic panel edge mask pattern, wherein the SEFPN semantic segmentation network is composed of a VGG16 base network, a feature pyramid network with channel attention mechanism and a feature fusion layer; step S3: inputting the photovoltaic panel edge mask pattern into the outline filter module, obtaining the candidate position frame of the photovoltaic panel), and determine whether there is a defect in the solar panel depending on whether the attention map is abnormal (Page 2, Para 8, wherein step S5: orderly passing the test set through the SEFPN semantic segmentation network, the outline filter module and the YOLOv5 detection network, obtaining the position and defect type of the photovoltaic panel).
Regarding claim 2, Ling discloses wherein the processing module applies an attention mechanism that includes convolutional neural network training on a large-scale public data set (Page 4, Para 6, wherein constructing SEFPN semantic segmentation network, comprising: forming the VGG16 basic network by 13 convolution layers, outputting the feature map to the feature pyramid network with channel attention mechanism).
Regarding claim 3, Ling discloses wherein the processing module is configured to extract at least one statistical feature from the attention map, detect a correlation between the extracted statistical feature and a label value indicating a defective solar panel, and determine whether the solar panel is defective based on a degree of the correlation (Page 6, para 5 and 6, wherein step S42: based on the photovoltaic plate marked as defect in step S21, labelling the defect type of the photovoltaic panel rectangular frame, the defect type comprises: bird droppings, crushing, dust and shielding; based on the step S21 is marked as a defective photovoltaic panel, using CVAT marking tool, according to the defect type to mark).
Regarding claim 6, Ling discloses of claim 1, further comprising: an output module that outputs a guidance message indicating whether the solar panel is defective (Page 6, para 6, wherein based on the step S21 is marked as a defective photovoltaic panel, using CVAT marking tool, according to the defect type to mark.).
Regarding method claims 7-9 and 12, please refer to the corresponding device claims above for further teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art or the prior art of record specifically, Ling and CN 112233101 A to Zhong et al, does not disclose:
. . . wherein the processing module is configured to extract a standard deviation of a surface flatness of the solar panel from the attention map, and detect a correlation between a standard deviation of a surface flatness of the defective solar panel and the standard deviation of the surface flatness extracted from the attention map, of claim 4 combined with other features and elements of the claim;
Claim 5 depend from an allowable base claim and is thus allowable itself;
. . . . wherein extracting the statistical feature includes extracting a surface flatness of the solar panel from the attention map, and detecting the correlation includes detecting a correlation between a surface flatness of the defective solar panel and the surface flatness extracted from the attention map, of claim 10 combined with other features and elements of the claim;
Claim 11 depend from an allowable base claim and is thus allowable itself.
Contact Information
/SHERVIN K NAKHJAVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672