DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03-04-2026 is disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,096,816 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 is rejected because it recites limitation “a second side configured to directly contact the upper”. It is not clear how the relationship looks like because the plate is directly contact of not in directly contact with the upper.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 10, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bidal et al. (2020/0383422).
Regarding claim 1, Bidal discloses an article of footwear having an upper and a sole structure (figs 1 and 13-17), the sole structure comprising: an outsole having a ground-engaging surface at a bottom end of the sole structure (member 25); a midsole member disposed between the outsole and the upper, wherein the midsole member has a top that is attached to the upper (member 30, abstract); and
a sole plate (member 32) disposed between the midsole member and the upper, wherein a first side of the sole plate is configured to face the outsole and a second side of the sole plate is opposite the first side, wherein a portion of the first side of the sole plate is visible from an exterior of the article of footwear through a cutout portion defined by the midsole member (as illustrated in figs 14 &17),
wherein a longitudinal channel extends from a heel end in a heel region toward a midfoot region (fig 13 annotated above), and wherein the outsole includes multiple outsole portions that are spaced apart from one another, such that the ground-engaging surface is not continuous between the multiple outsole portions (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 2, Bidal discloses the midsole member includes a pocket that extends from the heel region to a forefoot region, and wherein the sole plate is positioned within the pocket, the sole plate being recessed in the midsole member and
Regarding claim 6, Bidal discloses the sole plate is visible from the exterior of the article of footwear through the cutout portion in the midfoot region and the heel region (figs 14-17).
Regarding claim 7, Bidal discloses the sole plate extends through the midfoot region and spans across an entirety of the cutout portion (figs 13-17).
Regarding claim 10, Bidal discloses the midsole member includes a first midsole member that is made of a first material and a second midsole member that is made of a second material that is different from the first material (para 0095).
Regarding claim 29, Bidal discloses an article of footwear having an upper and a sole structure (figs 1 and 13-17), the sole structure comprising:
an outsole having a ground-engaging surface, the outsole including a first outsole portion in a forefoot region and a second outsole portion in a heel region (fig 13 annotated above);
a midsole member (member 30) disposed between the outsole and the upper, the midsole member having a pocket extending from the heel region to the forefoot region (figs 14-17); and
a sole plate (members 28 and 32) extending from the heel region, through a midfoot region, and into the forefoot region, the sole plate being disposed between the midsole member and the upper, and the sole plate having a first side that is configured to face the outsole and a second side that is configured to directly contact the upper,
wherein, in the heel region, the sole structure is shaped to define an entry region that is configured to increase contact at the ground-engaging surface of the sole structure during a heel strike (figs 8A to 8B), and
the second outsole portion is configured to extend into the entry region, the entry region curving upward to form an angled portion that is substantially flat between a first end and a second end so that the angled portion is angled at an entry angle relative to a flat ground surface, and wherein a heel end of the sole plate is positioned rearwardly of the first end and forwardly of the second end, such that the first end of the angled portion is closer to the forefoot region than is the heel end of the sole plate and the second end of the angled portion is farther from the forefoot region than is the heel end of the sole plate (figs 1, 8A to 8C).
Regarding claim 30, Bidal discloses the sole plate is disposed within the pocket and recessed in the midsole member (figs 14-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidal et al. (2020/0383422) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (2017/0035143).
Regarding claims 3-4, Bidal teaches all limitations of the claims except the sole plate includes a plurality of slots; wherein the plurality of slots are linear and disposed in the forefoot region.
Sato teaches a sole plate having a plurality of slots; wherein the plurality of slots are linear and disposed in the forefoot region (fig 11, member 40’, para 0056 to 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole plate of Bidal by adding slots of Sato in order to improve bending properties.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidal et al. (2020/0383422) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gerber (2012/0036740).
Regarding claim 5, Bidal teaches all limitations of the claim except an outer periphery of the sole plate curves laterally to conform to a curvature of the midsole member in the midfoot and heel regions, and the outer periphery extends inward to a decreased width in a forefoot region.
Gerber teaches a shoe comprising a plate having an outer periphery of the sole plate curves laterally to conform to a curvature of the midsole member in the midfoot and heel regions, and the outer periphery extends inward to a decreased width in a forefoot region (fig 7, member 20).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidal et al. (2020/0383422) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bruce et al. (2018/0132564).
Regarding claim 8, Bidal teaches all limitations of the claim except the sole structure is shaped to define an entry angle in the heel region and an exit angle in a forefoot region with respect to a flat ground surface, and wherein the entry angle is greater than the exit angle.
Bruce teaches a sols structure having an entry angle in the heel region and an exit angle in a forefoot region with respect to a flat ground surface, and wherein the entry angle is greater than the exit angle (fig 3 annotated above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Bidal by using the angles of Bruce in order to enhance propulsion of the footwear during running and jumping movements.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidal et al. (2020/0383422) and Bruce et al. (2018/0132564) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gerber (2012/0036740).
Regarding claim 9, the modified shoe Bidal-Bruce teaches all limitations of the claim except the sole plate includes a plurality of notches in the forefoot region.
Gerber teaches a shoe comprising a plate having a plurality of notches (fig 7, members 44 and 45) in the forefoot region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole plate of Bidal by adding the notches of Gerber in order to allow easier flexion of the foot during walking and running.
Claim(s) 11-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidal et al. (2020/0383422) in view of Gerber (2012/0036740) and Zamprogno (6,421,933).
Regarding claim 11, Bidal teaches an article of footwear having an upper and a sole structure (figs 1 and 13-17), the sole structure comprising:
an outsole having a ground-engaging surface at a bottom end of the sole structure (member 25), wherein the ground-engaging surface is not continuous between multiple outsole portions across a heel region and a forefoot region of the sole structure (fig 13 annotated above);
a midsole member (members 28 and 30) disposed between the outsole and the upper, wherein the midsole member has a top that is attached to the upper and a pocket extending from the heel region to the forefoot region (figs 1 and 14-17); and
a sole plate (member 32) disposed between the midsole member and the upper, wherein a first side of the sole plate is configured to face the outsole and a second side of the sole plate is opposite the first side.
Bidal does not teach the sole plate includes a slot that has a medial end and a lateral end, wherein a longitudinal axis bisects a heel end and a toe end of the sole structure, the longitudinal axis intersecting the relief between the medial end and the lateral end, wherein an outer periphery of the sole plate curves laterally to conform to a curvature of the midsole member in a midfoot region and the heel region, and the outer periphery extends inward to a decreased width in the forefoot region.
Gerber teaches a sole plate includes slots (fig 7) and an outer periphery of the sole plate curves laterally to conform to a curvature of the midsole member in a midfoot region and the heel region, and the outer periphery extends inward to a decreased width in the forefoot region (fig 7, members 20 and 44-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole plate of Bidal by using a sole plate of Gerber in order to allow easier flexion of the foot during walking and running.
Zamprogno teaches a sole plate having a slot that has a medial end and a lateral end, wherein a longitudinal axis bisects a heel end and a toe end of the sole structure, the longitudinal axis intersecting the slot between the medial end and the lateral end, wherein the medical end is disposed in the forefoot region (fig 1, member 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole plate of Bidal by adding a slot with medical and lateral end, as taught by Zamprogno, in order to improve torsional movements.
Regarding claim 12, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the medial end of the relief is disposed between the outer periphery of the sole plate adjacent a medial side and the longitudinal axis, and the lateral end of the slot is disposed between the outer periphery of the sole plate adjacent a lateral side and the longitudinal axis (Zamprogno, fig 1, member 14).
Regarding claim 13, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the slot includes a plurality of slots (Zamprogno, fig 1, members 12 and 14).
Regarding claim 14, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the medial end of the relief is disposed closer to the toe end than is the lateral end of the relief (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 15, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the is a cutout disposed in the forefoot region (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 16, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the pocket extends from the heel region to the forefoot region, the sole plate being disposed in the pocket and shaped so that the sole plate is recessed in the midsole member and a peripheral envelope of the pocket bounds an outer periphery of the sole plate, and wherein a portion of the first side of the sole plate is exposed and visible from an exterior of the article of footwear through a cutout portion formed within the midsole member (Bidal, figs 14-17).
Regarding claim 17, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the sole plate extends through the midfoot region and spans across an entirety of the cutout portion (Bidal, figs 14-17).
Regarding claim 18, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the midsole member defines a longitudinal channel extending from the heel end in the heel region toward the midfoot region (Bidal, figs 14-17).
Regarding claim 19, Bidal discloses an article of footwear having an upper and a sole structure (figs 1 and 13-17), the sole structure comprising:
an outsole having a ground-engaging surface at a bottom end of the sole structure (member 25);
a midsole member (members 28 and 30) disposed between the outsole and the upper, wherein the midsole member has a top that is attached to the upper and a pocket extending from a heel region to a forefoot region (figs 1 and 14-17); and
a sole plate (member 32) disposed between the midsole member and the upper, wherein a first side of the sole plate is configured to face the outsole and a second side of the sole plate is opposite the first side, wherein the second side of the sole plate is configured to face a bottom of the upper, wherein the top of the midsole member contacts the upper (fig 1),
wherein an outer periphery of the sole plate has a shape that is similar to but proportionally smaller than the midsole member in a midfoot region and the heel region, and the outer periphery extends inward to a decreased width in the forefoot region (figs 14-17).
Bidal does not teach the sole plate includes a slot that has a medial end and a lateral end, wherein a longitudinal axis bisects a heel end and a toe end of the sole structure, the longitudinal axis intersecting the slot between the medial end and the lateral end, wherein the medial end and the lateral end are disposed in the forefoot region,
a medial side notch and a lateral side notch along the outer periphery in the forefoot region, such that the decreased width is defined laterally between opposing edges of the outer periphery at the medial side notch and the lateral side notch.
Gerber teaches a sole plate includes a medial side notch and a lateral side notch along the outer periphery in the forefoot region, such that the decreased width is defined laterally between opposing edges of the outer periphery at the medial side notch and the lateral side notch (fig 7, members 44-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole plate of Bidal by using a sole plate of Gerber in order to allow easier flexion of the foot during walking and running.
Zamprogno teaches a sole plate having a slot that has a medial end and a lateral end, wherein a longitudinal axis bisects a heel end and a toe end of the sole structure, the longitudinal axis intersecting the slot between the medial end and the lateral end, wherein the medial end and the lateral end are disposed in the forefoot region (fig 1, member 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole plate of Bidal by adding a slot with medical and lateral end, as taught by Zamprogno, in order to improve torsional movements.
Regarding claims 20-21, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the sole plate varies in stiffness along a length of the sole plate, such that a stiffness in the forefoot region is different from a stiffness in the midfoot region, wherein the stiffness in the forefoot region is lower than the stiffness in the midfoot region to allow the sole plate in the forefoot region to be more flexible than in the midfoot region (Bidal, para 0108).
Regarding claim 22, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the outer periphery of the sole plate curves laterally to conform to a curvature of the midsole member in the midfoot region and the heel region (Gerber, fig 7, member 20).
Regarding claim 23, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the sole plate is recessed in the midsole member, and wherein the upper is attached to the top of the midsole member in areas adjacent to the outer periphery of the sole plate (Bidal, fig 1).
Regarding claim 24, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the midsole member defines a cutout portion and the sole plate is visible from an exterior of the article of footwear through the cutout portion in the midfoot region and the heel region (Bidal, figs 14 and 17).
Regarding claim 25, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses midsole member includes a first midsole member (member 30) that is coupled to the outsole and a second midsole member (member 28) that is positioned between the first midsole member and the upper.
Regarding claim 26, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the ground- engaging surface of the outsole is opposite an insole of the sole structure (figs 14-17).
Regarding claim 27, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses the ground-engaging surface is not continuous between multiple outsole portions (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 28, the modified sole Bidal-Gerber-Zamprogno discloses in the heel region, the sole structure is shaped to define an entry region that is configured to increase contact at a ground-engaging surface of the sole structure during a heel strike, and the outsole is configured to extend into the entry region (Bidal, fig 8A to 8B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03-04-2026, with respect to the drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03-04-2026, with respect to the specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03-04-2026, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03-04-2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C §112(b) have been fully considered, and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments, date 03-04-2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §102 and 35 U.S.C §103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive because applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “an outsole includes multiple outsole portions that are spaced apart from one another, such that the ground-engaging surface is not continuous between the multiple outsole portions”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees since Bidal clearly teaches plurality of outsole portions (i.e. set of member 25) which are disconnected (i.e. separated) which can be seen in figs 2-6 and 14-18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732