DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Invention I (claims 12-25) is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/11/2026. Claims 12-31 are pending. Claims 26-31 are withdrawn from further consideration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on Indian Application No. 202411067267 is acknowledged. However, Applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 C.F.R. § 1.55(f)(1). Applicant is advised that because the deadline for filing the certified copy under 37 C.F.R. § 1.55(f)(1) has passed, a petition would be required to remedy this issue. 37 C.F.R. § 1.55(f)(3); MPEP § 215.02.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence: (1) repeats information given in the title; and (2) uses a phrase that could be implied. Examiner suggests amending the first two sentences to read: “A machining system for sharpening and lapping an insert including a housing having a smaller first grit wheel and a larger second grit wheel.” Correction is required. MPEP § 608.01(b). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 16-18, 21, and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein said rod positions below” (claim 12, line 4) should be changed to --wherein said rod is positioned below--;
“comprising” (claim 12, line 7) should be changed to --comprises--;
“and configures to” (claim 16, line 2) should be changed to --and is configured to--;
“further comprises” (claim 17, line 1) should be changed to --further comprising--;
“positions” (claim 18, line 2) should be changed to --is positioned--;
“positions” (claim 18, line 3) should be changed to --is positioned--;
“wherein said rod positions below” (claim 21, line 4) should be changed to --wherein said rod is positioned below--;
“and configures to” (claim 25, line 2) should be changed to --and is configured to--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the Applicant) regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein said insert positions against said first grit wheel in operation to sharpen the entire face of said insert using said first grit wheel, followed by repositioning of said insert holder in order to position said insert against said second grit wheel in operation to lap said insert using said second grit wheel.” This claim is indefinite because it is a single claim that claims both an apparatus and method steps of using the apparatus. IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“it is unclear whether infringement...occurs when one creates a system that allows the user to change the predicted transaction information...or...when the user actually uses the input means to change transaction information”); MPEP § 2173.05(p). This limitation is a method step of using and/or modifying (e.g., changing the positioning of) the insert and/or insert holder. For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as best understood. Examiner suggests rewriting the limitation as a “configured to” limitation. Claims 13-20 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation of claim 12.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein said insert holder connects to said rod via said first groove to position said insert against said first grit wheel to sharpen the entire face of said insert.” This claim is indefinite because it is a single claim that claims both an apparatus and method steps of using the apparatus. IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“it is unclear whether infringement...occurs when one creates a system that allows the user to change the predicted transaction information...or...when the user actually uses the input means to change transaction information”); MPEP § 2173.05(p). This limitation is a method step of using and/or modifying (e.g., changing the positioning of) the insert and/or insert holder. For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as best understood. Examiner suggests rewriting the limitation as a “configured to” limitation.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein said insert holder connects to said rod via said second groove to position against said second grit wheel to lap said insert.” This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear and fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art what this means because the phrase “to position” does not have an object. That is, to position what against said second grit wheel? For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein said insert holder connects to said rod via said second groove to position [said insert] against said second grit wheel to lap said insert.”
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein said insert holder connects to said rod via said second groove to position [said insert] against said second grit wheel to lap said insert.” This claim is indefinite because it is a single claim that claims both an apparatus and method steps of using the apparatus. IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“it is unclear whether infringement...occurs when one creates a system that allows the user to change the predicted transaction information...or...when the user actually uses the input means to change transaction information”); MPEP § 2173.05(p). This limitation is a method step of using and/or modifying (e.g., changing the positioning of) the insert and/or insert holder. For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as best understood. Examiner suggests rewriting the limitation as a “configured to” limitation.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “wherein a first groove of said plurality of grooves receives said rod such that said insert positions against said first grit wheel in operation to sharpen the entire face of said insert, and wherein a second groove of said plurality of grooves receives said rod such that said insert positions against said second grit wheel in operation to lap said insert.” This claim is indefinite because it is a single claim that claims both an apparatus and method steps of using the apparatus. IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“it is unclear whether infringement...occurs when one creates a system that allows the user to change the predicted transaction information...or...when the user actually uses the input means to change transaction information”); MPEP § 2173.05(p). This limitation is a method step of using and/or modifying (e.g., changing the positioning of) the insert and/or insert holder. For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as best understood. Examiner suggests rewriting the limitation as a “configured to” limitation. Claims 22-25 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation of claim 12.
Claims 12, 17-18, and 21 are indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations listed below, which render the claims unclear and ambiguous. For examination purposes, these limitations are interpreted as best understood.
“the entire face” (claim 12, line 9) (claims 13-20 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation);
“the top” (claim 17, line 1);
“the bottom” (claim 18, line 2);
“the entire face” (claim 21, line 9) (claims 22-25 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Jacobson in view of Dontu
Claims 12-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 3299579 A (“Jacobson”) in view of US 20210229191 A1 (“Dontu”).
Jacobson pertains to a grinding machine (Figs. 1-9; 1:8-2:3). Dontu pertains to a rotary valve seat cutting tool (Abstr.; Figs. 1-11B). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 12, Jacobson discloses a machining system for sharpening and lapping a valve seat insert (Figs. 1-9, machining system 10 with abrasive wheels 12/13 is capable of sharpening and lapping a workpiece 51, including a cutting insert for cutting a valve seat; “valve seat insert” is interpreted as a cutting insert for a tool (e.g. a milling tool bit that uses removable cutting inserts) capable of being used to cut or grind a valve seat (Spec. ¶¶ 0002-0006); Examiner notes that this limitation includes a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.”); MPEP § 2111.02(II); see discussion below re “insert”),
said machining system comprising:
a housing having a first grit wheel and a second grit wheel (Figs. 1-9, housing 18 with first grit wheel (see Fig. 2, outer section 36 of wheel 12) and second grit wheel (see Fig. 2, middle section 37 of wheel 12); the terms “first grit wheel” and “second grit wheel” are interpreted to include a single grinding wheel with two different circular grit sections, with each section being a “grit wheel” (Spec. ¶¶ 0029-0030; Figs. 2A-B, 3, 5-6, elements 40, 42));
a rod extending from said housing, wherein said rod [is] position[ed] below said first grit wheel and said second grit wheel (Figs. 1-7; 4:36-53, rod 48 extends from housing 18 and is below the top grit wheel 12, which has the first grit wheel 36 and second grit wheel 37 (rod 48 is necessarily below at least the top grit wheel 12 because insert holder 35 fits between top grit wheel 12 and bottom grit wheel 13));
and an insert holder removably connecting to said rod at various positions (Figs. 1-7, holder 35 is capable of holding a workpiece, including an insert (of unspecified dimensions), where the holder 35 is removably connected (via screws as shown) to rod 48 at various positions (e.g., connected to various positions of rod 48 (near element 73)),
wherein said insert holder compris[es] an insert (Figs. 1-7, holder 35 holds “insert” 51; Examiner notes that the “insert” has no specified dimensions or configuration, and almost any shaped object with a perpendicular edge (including workpiece 51) could be used as an insert to cut an unspecified valve seat in an unspecified manner); Examiner also notes that “an insert” is positively recited in this limitation, thereby requiring the claimed “machining system” to also include the workpiece; see discussion below re “insert”),
wherein said insert positions against said first grit wheel in operation to sharpen the entire face of said insert using said first grit wheel, followed by repositioning of said insert holder in order to position said insert against said second grit wheel in operation to lap said insert using said second grit wheel (Figs. 1-7; 4:36-53, during operation, holder 35 positions “insert” 51 against the first grit wheel 36 to lap a face of the “insert” 51 (e.g., the top surface), followed by the holder 35 repositioning “insert” 51 against the second grit wheel 37 to further lap the same face; Examiner interprets “to sharpen the entire face of said insert” to include lapping the entire face of the insert (Spec. ¶¶ 0032-0035; Figs. 4A-B, 5-6)).
Assuming this claim requires a valve-seat cutting insert (as opposed to an unspecified “insert”), and assuming that Jacobson’s workpiece 51 is not an “insert”, Jacobson does not explicitly disclose this insert. However, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious this claim.
Dontu discloses a valve seat insert (Figs. 3-6, 6A; ¶ 0051, removable insert 76 is for cutting a valve seat; ¶ 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Dontu with Jacobson by modifying the holder 35 (including any auxiliary related components, such as elements 52, 53, 45) to be sized and shaped to hold the Dontu insert 76 so that it could lap/sharpen a face of insert 76 using the first grit wheel 36 and second grit wheel 37 (see US 20080214095 A1 (“Dovel”) Figs. 1, 5-8; ¶¶ 0089-0093, tool 140 is sharpened including by lapping surface 144 and/or 142). This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because this would allow the Jacobson device to have more than one use (e.g., the ability to grind/lap/sharpen a workpiece that is not a cylindrical workpiece 51 as shown in Jacobson Fig. 5). Jacobson contemplates using the machine for different shaped workpieces, “Another object of this invention is the provision of a flat grinding machine which will perform an abrasive finishing operation on opposite, flat, parallel sides of a workpiece without handling between the rough, intermediate, and finish grinding portions of the cycle.” (Jacobson 1:48-52).
Regarding claim 13, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 12 as applied above, with a modified mapping (for claim 13 only) of “first grit wheel” as the middle section 37 of wheel 12 and the “second grit wheel” as the outer section 36 of wheel 12. Jacobson further discloses wherein said first grit wheel has a smaller diameter than said second grit wheel (Fig. 2, the “first grit wheel” 37 has a smaller diameter than the “second grit wheel” 36).
Regarding claim 16, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 12 as applied above. Jacobson further discloses wherein each of said first grit wheel and said second grit wheel operatively connects to a motor and [is] configure[d] to rotate… (Figs. 1-5, the “first grit wheel” 36 and the “second grit wheel” 37 of the top grit wheel 12 are operatively connected to motor 14 for rotation).
Jacobson and Dontu do not explicitly disclose wherein each of said first grit wheel and said second grit wheel operatively connects to a motor and [is] configure[d] to rotate in a clockwise direction. However, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious this claim.
Jacobson does not explicitly disclose that the “first grit wheel” 36 and the “second grit wheel” 37 rotate in a clockwise direction, although they necessarily rotate clockwise and/or counter-clockwise. To the extent this “clockwise” limitation is not disclosed by Jacobson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to modify the motor of Jacobson so that the “first grit wheel” 36 and the “second grit wheel” 37 rotate in a clockwise direction (as opposed to a counter-clockwise direction) because it is only a matter of design choice in this situation and the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to the clockwise rotation direction as opposed to a counter-clockwise rotation direction. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 451, 452, n.1 (CCPA 1955) (“to reverse the operation of the relatively moving parts...would not amount to invention, mere reversal of such movement being an obvious expedient”); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(A).
Regarding claim 17, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 12 as applied above. Jacobson further discloses a cover at the top of said housing to prevent chipped material from flying away (Fig. 5, cover 67 at the top of housing 18 is capable of the recited function).
Regarding claim 18, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 12 as applied above. Jacobson further discloses wherein said insert holder comprises a first groove and a second groove, wherein said first groove [is] position[ed] at the bottom of said insert holder, and wherein said second groove [is] position[ed] above said first groove (Figs. 1-7, holder 35 (including element 74 and the element directly below (near reference 73)) has a first groove (for bearing 73 in Fig. 5) at the bottom of the holder and a second groove in element 74 (for screw near reference 74 in Fig. 6) located above the first groove).
Regarding claim 19, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 18 as applied above. Jacobson further discloses wherein said insert holder connects to said rod via said first groove to position said insert against said first grit wheel to sharpen the entire face of said insert (Figs. 1-7, holder 35 connects to rod 48 via the first groove (near reference 73) in order to position the insert against the “first grit wheel” 36 to sharpen the entire face of the insert (as modified in the Jacobson/Dontu combination for claim 12)).
Jacobson in view of Dontu and Blackmer
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 3299579 A (“Jacobson”) in view of US 20210229191 A1 (“Dontu”) and US 2828197 A (“Blackmer”).
Jacobson pertains to a grinding machine (Figs. 1-9; 1:8-2:3). Dontu pertains to a rotary valve seat cutting tool (Abstr.; Figs. 1-11B). Blackmer pertains to a grinding wheel (Figs. 1-3; 1:36-51). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 14, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 12 as applied above. Jacobson and Dontu do not explicitly disclose wherein said first grit wheel is a 400 grit diamond wheel. However, the Jacobson/Dontu/Blackmer combination makes obvious this claim.
Blackmer discloses wherein said first grit wheel is a 400 grit diamond wheel (1:9-11, 2:12-31, 2:60-67, 5:70-6:2, different “diamond abrasive wheels” are disclosed, including ones with “400 grit” and “600 grit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Blackmer with the Jacobson/Dontu combination by modifying the “first grit wheel” 36 to be a 400 grit diamond wheel. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because the choice of abrasive material (e.g., diamond) is a simple design choice that balances cost versus longevity and effectiveness of the abrasive used. Further, it would have been obvious to try out and use different grit sizes to discover the best grit size for the application because “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). Here, the chosen grit size (e.g., 400 or 600 grit) of the abrasive material (e.g., diamond) is a known result-effective variable because it achieves the recognized result of abrading coarsely or finely depending on the grit size. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the effect of this variable and found the claimed grit size through routine experimentation. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). This modification is further obvious because Jacobson discloses that the “first grit wheel” 36 and “second grit wheel” 37 uses a “roughing grade of abrasive” and a “intermediate grade of abrasive” respectively (Jacobson 2:57-66), even though Jacobson does not specify the exact grit of elements 36 and 37.
Regarding claim 15, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 12 as applied above. Jacobson and Dontu do not explicitly disclose wherein said second grit wheel is a 600 grit diamond wheel. However, the Jacobson/Dontu/Blackmer combination makes obvious this claim.
Blackmer discloses wherein said second grit wheel is a 600 grit diamond wheel (1:9-11, 2:12-31, 2:60-67, 5:70-6:2, different “diamond abrasive wheels” are disclosed, including ones with “400 grit” and “600 grit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Blackmer with the Jacobson/Dontu combination by modifying the “second grit wheel” 37 to be a 600 grit diamond wheel. The obviousness rationale is the same as for claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 21-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, as set forth in this Office action, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (for claim 20).
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, Applicant’s reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 20, the Jacobson/Dontu combination makes obvious the machining system of claim 18 as applied above. Jacobson and Dontu do not disclose the limitation “wherein said insert holder connects to said rod via said second groove to position [said insert] against said second grit wheel to lap said insert” (see § 112(b) rejection re “to position said insert against”). Based on the prior art of record, it would appear that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application would not have further modified the Jacobson/Dontu combination to implement claim 20 without hindsight based on Applicant’s disclosure. In view of the prior art of record and its deficiencies, Applicant’s invention is novel, non-obvious, and allowable as claimed.
Claims 21 is allowable for similar reasons as claim 20 (where similar terms are interpreted the same way), where the prior art of record does not anticipate or render obvious the limitations of claim 20 in the recited combination as claimed, particularly the limitations:
wherein said insert holder comprises a plurality of grooves positioned one above another for receiving said rod at various positions,
wherein a first groove of said plurality of grooves receives said rod such that said insert positions against said first grit wheel in operation to sharpen the entire face of said insert,
and wherein a second groove of said plurality of grooves receives said rod such that said insert positions against said second grit wheel in operation to lap said insert.
Claims 22-25 are allowable for depending from claim 21 (subject to addressing the objections and § 112(b) rejections).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 have been canceled. Claims 12-31 are pending. Claims 26-31 have been withdrawn from further consideration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 12-25 are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on Form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure because the references pertain to grinding and/or sharpening devices, including ones with multiple or multipart grinding wheels, that are similar to the claimed invention.
/KENT N SHUM/ Date: October 14, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3723