DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] in view of Malik [US 2016/0112886].
As claims 1, 8 and 15, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses a method comprising: sending an alternative communications advertisement frame to a client, the alternative communications advertisement frame identifying an alternative connection for communicating with the client [Fig 8, Ref 802, Par. 0072, 0083-0089 discloses access point send a request frame includes alternated connection for UE to report its diagnostic via alternated connection]; receiving an alternative communications [Fig 8, Ref 804 discloses UE send report to access point], the alternative communications [Par. 0022, 0086 discloses connection problem with a network]; and sending the [Fig 8, 0083-0089 discloses access point received report]. However, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] fails to discloses troubleshooting information. In the same field of endeavor, Malik [US 2016/0112886] discloses sending the troubleshooting information to a network device [Fig 5, Ref 530 discloses UE reports the troubleshooting information to a network device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for reporting the troubleshooting information to a network device via alternated connection as disclosed by Malik [US 2016/0112886] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915]. The motivation would have been to improve down time.
As claims 2, 9 and 16, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses sending to the client an address of a device for connection issue reporting [Par. 0072 discloses UE receives address to report information].
As claims 5, 12 and 19, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses the alternative communications advertisement frame comprises any one of (i) a supported alternative communications field indicating one or more supported alternative communications methods including the alternative connection [Par. 0072, network name], (ii) a reporting address field including an address of a device for connection issue reporting [Par. 0072 discloses URL], or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Giorcelli [US 2021/0226870].
As claims 3, 10 and 17, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses sending the alternative communications advertisement frame [Fig 8, Ref 802] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] discloses receiving from the client an alternative communications request frame [Fig 5, Ref 530]. However, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] fail to disclose sending the alternative communications advertisement frame is in response to receiving the alternative communications request frame. In the same field of endeavor, Giorcelli [US 2021/0226870] discloses sending the alternative communications advertisement frame is in response to receiving the alternative communications request frame [Par. 0026-0027 discloses a client send a request for address and receiving a reply].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for sending an address based on receiving a request from client as disclosed by Giorcelli [US 2021/0226870] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886]. The motivation would have been to improve down time.
As claims 4, 11 and 18, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses the alternative communications request frame comprises any one of (i) a connection issue notification field for indicating the connection issue exists, (ii) a client supported alternative communications field to indicate one or more client supported communication methods [Par. 0072], or (iii) both (i) and (ii), wherein the one or more client supported communication methods includes the alternative connection [Par. 0072 discloses address of the connection].
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Huh [US 8064349].
As claims 6, 13 and 20, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] fail to fully disclose what Huh [US 8064349] discloses the alternative communications troubleshooting frame comprises any one of (i) a timestamp field indicating a time the connection issue began, (ii) a status code field indicating a status code associated with the connection issue [Fig 20-21], (iii) a troubleshooting information field including additional troubleshooting information, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for sending status code as disclosed by Huh [US 8064349] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886]. The motivation would have been to improve down time.
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388].
As claims 3, 10 and 17, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses sending the alternative communications advertisement frame [Fig 8, Ref 802] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] discloses receiving from the client an alternative communications request frame [Fig 5, Ref 530]. However, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] fail to fully disclose sending the alternative communications advertisement frame is in response to receiving the alternative communications request frame. In the same field of endeavor, Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] discloses sending the alternative communications advertisement frame is in response to receiving the alternative communications request frame [Fig 4 discloses a client send request for connection to server, Ref 400-404 and receiving a reply for setup data, Ref 406 via alternated path].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for sending a request and receiving a reply as disclosed by Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886]. The motivation would have been to improve down time.
As claims 4, 11 and 18, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses the alternative communications request frame comprises any one of (i) a connection issue notification field for indicating the connection issue exists, (ii) a client supported alternative communications field to indicate one or more client supported communication methods [Par. 0072], or (iii) both (i) and (ii), wherein the one or more client supported communication methods includes the alternative connection [Par. 0072 discloses address of the connection].
As claims 7 and 14, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886] fail to disclose what Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] discloses receiving troubleshooting correction information from the network device [Fig 5, Ref 512 discloses receives correction information, Par. 0026, 0037, 0051, 0071-0072]; and restoring a connection to the client using the troubleshooting correction information [Fig 5, Ref 514 using received correction information to restore connection, Par. 0026, 0037, 0051, 0071-0072].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method for receiving correction data via alternated connection to be used for restoring the connection as disclosed by Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Malik [US 2016/0112886]. The motivation would have been to reduce down time.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 12, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] in view of Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179].
As claims 1, 8 and 15, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses a method comprising: sending an alternative communications advertisement frame to a client, the alternative communications advertisement frame identifying an alternative connection for communicating with the client [Fig 8, Ref 802, Par. 0072, 0083-0089 discloses access point send a request frame includes alternated connection for UE to report its diagnostic via alternated connection]; receiving an alternative communications [Fig 8, Ref 804 discloses UE send report to access point], the alternative communications [Par. 0022, 0086 discloses connection problem with a network]; and sending the [Fig 8, 0083-0089 discloses access point received report]. However, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] fails to discloses troubleshooting information. In the same field of endeavor, Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] discloses sending the troubleshooting information to a network device [Fig 4, Ref 420 discloses UE reports the troubleshooting information to a network device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for reporting the troubleshooting information to a network device via alternated connection as disclosed by Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915]. The motivation would have been to improve down time.
As claims 2, 9 and 16, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses sending to the client an address of a device for connection issue reporting [Par. 0072 discloses UE receives address to report information].
As claims 5, 12 and 19, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses the alternative communications advertisement frame comprises any one of (i) a supported alternative communications field indicating one or more supported alternative communications methods including the alternative connection [Par. 0072, network name], (ii) a reporting address field including an address of a device for connection issue reporting [Par. 0072 discloses URL], or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
As claims 6, 13 and 20, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses the alternative communications troubleshooting frame comprises any one of (i) a timestamp field indicating a time the connection issue began [Par. 0031, time stamp], (ii) a status code field indicating a status code associated with the connection issue (iii) a troubleshooting information field including additional troubleshooting information, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii).
As claims 7 and 14, Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] discloses receiving troubleshooting correction information from the network device [Par. 0044-0048]; and restoring a connection to the client using the troubleshooting correction information [Par. 0044-0048].
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388].
As claims 3, 10 and 17, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses sending the alternative communications advertisement frame [Fig 8, Ref 802] and Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] discloses receiving from the client an alternative communications request frame [Fig 4, Ref 415]. However, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] fail to disclose sending the alternative communications advertisement frame is in response to receiving the alternative communications request frame. In the same field of endeavor, Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] discloses sending the alternative communications advertisement frame is in response to receiving the alternative communications request frame [Fig 4 discloses a client send request for connection to server, Ref 400-404 and receiving a reply for setup data, Ref 406 via alternated path].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for sending a request and receiving a reply as disclosed by Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179]]. The motivation would have been to improve down time.
As claims 4, 11 and 18, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] discloses the alternative communications request frame comprises any one of (i) a connection issue notification field for indicating the connection issue exists, (ii) a client supported alternative communications field to indicate one or more client supported communication methods [Par. 0072], or (iii) both (i) and (ii), wherein the one or more client supported communication methods includes the alternative connection [Par. 0072 discloses address of the connection].
As claims 7 and 14, Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179] fail to fully disclose what Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] discloses receiving troubleshooting correction information from the network device [Fig 5, Ref 512 discloses receives correction information, Par. 0026, 0037, 0051, 0071-0072]; and restoring a connection to the client using the troubleshooting correction information [Fig 5, Ref 514 using received correction information to restore connection, Par. 0026, 0037, 0051, 0071-0072].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method for receiving correction data via alternated connection to be used for restoring the connection as disclosed by Britt Jr [US 2016/0094388] into the teaching of Montemurro [US 2010/0182915] and Gundavelli [US 2023/0103179]. The motivation would have been to reduce down time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rivera [US 2021/0058283] discloses a computer system includes a virtual server to provide virtual computing sessions, and a client device to access one of the virtual computing sessions via a communications network. The client device includes a wireless transceiver connected to a cellular network. A server communicates with the client device via the cellular network based on the client device losing connectivity to the communications network. The cellular network provides a backup communications channel for the server to restore connectivity for the client device to access one of the virtual computing sessions via the communications network.
Kerpez [US 2016/0285676] discloses an alternate communications device is coupled to a broadband CPE in broadband customer premises equipment (CPE). The broadband CPE is coupled to a broadband communication network management device via a primary communication path. The alternate communications device is further coupled to the broadband communication network management device via an alternate communication path. The alternate communications device is to provide diagnostic and configuration information about a broadband connection to the broadband communication network management device via the alternate communication path when the broadband CPE is unable to provide such via the broadband connection. The broadband communication network management device is to perform analysis on this information. The alternate communications device is to receive from the broadband communication network management device, via the alternate communication path, new diagnostic information and new configuration information about the broadband connection responsive to the broadband communication network management device performing the analysis.
Choy [US 2015/0222507] discloses a method and network device for initiating data collection based on WiFi network connectivity metrics. Specifically, detects that a value for a WiFi network connectivity metric for a WiFi connection between a client device and a WiFi network meets a particular criteria. Responsive to determining that the value meets the particular criteria, the disclosed system initiates a data collection process for collecting data associated with one or more devices while the WiFi network connectivity metric meets the particular criteria. The determining operation may be performed by a network device in response to receiving a request from a user of the client device. Also, the disclosed system stores the data collected while the WiFi network connectivity metric meets the particular criteria.
Akman [US 2013/0322262] discloses a method and a device which contains a diagnostic client (5) and a monitoring server (9) which aim to detect connection problems and service failures of Wi-Fi hotspot (wireless access field) services and measure user experience and connection quality.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414