DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on October 23, 2024. Claims 1-4 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the memory size”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 3 is dependent on claim 1, which introduced “a first memory size” and “a second memory size”. Claim 1 made secondary reference to “the first memory size”, relating to the first memory size of the first receive memory.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the message”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 3 is dependent on claim 1, which introduced “a first message” and “first divided messages”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the memory size”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 4 is dependent on claim 2 and claim 1. Claim 1 introduced “a first memory size” and “a second memory size”. Claim 1 made secondary reference to “the first memory size”, relating to the first memory size of the first receive memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateishi et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0050108 A1 in view of Yamada et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0286321 A1.
As to claim 1, Tateishi et al. discloses a disclose a vehicle configured to be coupled to a communication apparatus (Tateishi et al., fig. 1 ¶ 42-44), the vehicle comprising:
a target unit that is provided to the vehicle and that comprises a first target unit and a second target unit (Furthermore, as a result of the processor 301 of a target ECU 320 (the ECU 300A in the present example) among the ECUs 300A, 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0004, 0021, 0068-0069); and
an intermediate unit that is provided to the vehicle and that is configured to mediate communication between the communication apparatus and the target unit (The OTA master 200 (intermediate unit) is connected to the ECUs 300A, 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E via on-board buses 400A, 400B, and 400C, which are Controller Area Network (CAN) buses or the like. Specifically, the ECUs 300A and 300B are connected to the bus 400A. The ECUs 300C and 300D are connected to the bus 400B. The ECU 300E is connected to the bus 400C. The OTA master 200 can mutually communicate with each of the ECUs 300A, 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0050, 0068-0070), wherein the first target unit comprises one or more first target unit processors and one or more first target unit memories coupled to the one or more first target unit processors (The ECU 300 includes a processor 301, a non-volatile memory 302, a volatile memory 303, a communication I/F 304, and an input/output I/F (I/O) 305; i.e. ECUs 300A, 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E.) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0050, 0061, 0068-0070),
the second target unit comprises one or more second target unit processors and one or more second target unit memories coupled to the one or more second target unit processors (The ECU 300 includes a processor 301, a non-volatile memory 302, a volatile memory 303, a communication I/F 304, and an input/output I/F (I/O) 305; i.e. ECUs 300A, 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E.) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0050, 0061, 0068-0070),
the intermediate unit comprises one or more intermediate unit processors and one or more intermediate unit memories coupled to the one or more intermediate unit processors (The OTA master 200 includes a processor 201, a non-volatile memory 202, a volatile memory 203, and a communication interface (I/F) 204.) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0050, 0061, 0068-0070),
the one or more first target unit memories comprise a first receive memory of a first memory size The target ECU 320 stores the received update data 610 in the non-volatile memory 302. The target ECU 320 decrypts the PG verification data 602 included in the update data 610 using the key data 307 stored in the non-volatile memory 302. The target ECU 320 verifies the updated program 601 included in the update data 610 by calculating a hash value of the updated program 601, and comparing the calculated hash value with a hash value obtained by decrypting the PG verification data 602. If the verification of the updated program 601 is successful, or that is, if the two hash values match, the target ECU 320 updates the control program 306 by installing the updated program 601) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0088),
the one or more second target unit memories comprise a second memory size smaller than the first memory size (the ECU 300 is either an ECU including a single-bank storage unit or an ECU including a double-bank storage unit depending on the number of logical constituent units in the non-volatile memory 302 included in the ECU 300; each of the ECUs 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E i.e. single bank storage unit ECU is less memory then double bank ECU) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0073-0074, 0088) and
the one or more OTA server processors are configured to perform a process (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10-13) comprising
in response to receiving a first message from the communication apparatus, transmitting the first message to the first target unit without dividing the first message when a destination is the first target unit ( The OTA server 50 transmits the first update data to the OTA master 200 transmits the update data 610 to the target ECU 320 (first target unit). The target ECU 320 stores the received update data 610 in the non-volatile memory 302. The target ECU 320 decrypts the PG verification data 602 included in the update data 610 using the key data 307 stored in the non-volatile memory 302. The target ECU 320 verifies the updated program 601 included in the update data 610 by calculating a hash value of the updated program 601, and comparing the calculated hash value with a hash value obtained by decrypting the PG verification data 602. If the verification of the updated program 601 is successful, or that is, if the two hash values match, the target ECU 320 updates the control program 306 by installing the updated program 601) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10 ¶ 0087, 0088), and
in response to receiving the first message from the communication apparatus, generating first divided messages obtained by division of the first message and successively transmitting the first divided messages to the second target unit when the destination is the second target unit (The OTA server 50 transmits the second update data 630 to the OTA master 200 (step S43). Upon receiving the second update data 630, the OTA master 200 transfers the received second update data 630 to the selected ECU 310 (step S44). Upon receiving the second update data 630, the selected ECU 310 stores the second update data 630 in the non-volatile memory 302 (step S45). The selected ECU 310 verifies the second partial data 612 included in the second update data 630 using the ECU verification data 631 (step S46). This concludes the split download processing.) (Tateishi et al., figs. 2, 10-13 ¶ 60, 84, 119).
Tateishi does not disclose the one or more second target unit memories comprise a second receive memory of a second memory size smaller than the first memory size, and the one or more intermediate unit processors are configured to perform a process comprising in response to receiving a first message from the communication apparatus, transmitting the first message to the first target unit and in response to receiving the first message from the communication apparatus, generating first divided messages obtained by division of the first message and successively transmitting the first divided messages to the second target unit.
In an analogous art, Yamada et al. discloses the one or more first target unit memories comprise a first receive memory of a first memory size (EPAS 231 (i.e. first target unit) includes a CAN controller built therein, extracts control data from the transmitted CAN-FD signal, and executes control of EPAS (i.e. EPAS ECU received the full 64 bytes without dividing)) (Yamada, figs. 1-4 ¶ 0028, 0040, 0050) the one or more second target unit memories comprise a second receive memory of a second memory size smaller than the first memory size (the Ethernet hub device 22 protocol-converts a control signal included in the transmitted Ethernet signals to a CAN signal and outputs the CAN signal to the steering wheel ECU 241 and the tilt telescopic ECU 242 or the like. The Ethernet hub device 22 protocol-converts the CAN signals transmitted from the steering wheel ECU 241 and the tilt telescopic ECU 242 or the like to Ethernet signals and transmits the Ethernet signals to the trunk network (i.e. ECU 241 and 242 i.e. second target unit) received the 8 bytes which is less than EPAS 231 i.e. first target unit)) (Yamada et al., figs. 1-4 ¶ 0028, 0040, 0050-0051), and
the one or more intermediate unit processors are configured to perform a process (The CAN hub devices 31 and 32 transmit/receive CAN-FD signals to/from the central processing unit 10 via trunk networks. The CAN-FD signals transmitted from the central processing unit 10 to the CAN hub devices 31 and 32 include a control signal for an engine or the like. The CAN hub devices 31 and 32 output control signals included in the CAN-FD signals transmitted from the central processing unit 10 (intermediate unit) as they are, perform data length conversion on the control signals to output CAN signals, perform protocol conversion on the control signals to output local interconnect network (LIN) signals, or perform signal conversion on the control signals to output analog control signals) (Yamada et al., figs. 1-4 ¶ 0027, 0028) comprising in response to receiving a first message from the communication apparatus, transmitting the first message to the first target unit (The CAN hub devices 31 and 32 transmit/receive CAN-FD signals to/from the central processing unit 10 (intermediate unit) via trunk networks (communication apparatus). The data length conversion section 53 performs data length conversion on the CAN-FD signal sent from the distributing/aggregating section 51 to generate a CAN signal and sends the CAN signal to the communication port 44. The CAN signal is 8 bytes and the CAN-FD signal is 64 bytes at most, and therefore, in this data length conversion, processing in which 64-byte data is divided into eight 8-byte data is performed, The Ethernet hub device 22 protocol-converts a control signal included in the transmitted Ethernet signals to a CAN-FD signal (i.e. 64 bytes not divided) and outputs the CAN-FD signal to an electric power assist steering (EPAS) 231 or the like. EPAS 231 includes a CAN controller built therein, extracts control data from the transmitted CAN-FD signal, and executes control of EPAS (i.e. EPAS ECU received the full 64 bytes without dividing)) (Yamada et al., figs. 1-4 ¶ 0028, 0040, 0050) and in response to receiving the first message from the communication apparatus, generating first divided messages obtained by division of the first message and successively transmitting the first divided messages to the second target unit (The CAN hub devices 31 and 32 transmit/receive CAN-FD signals to/from the central processing unit 10 (intermediate unit) via trunk networks (communication apparatus). The data length conversion section 53 performs data length conversion on the CAN-FD signal sent from the distributing/aggregating section 51 to generate a CAN signal and sends the CAN signal to the communication port 44. The CAN signal is 8 bytes and the CAN-FD signal is 64 bytes at most, and therefore, in this data length conversion, processing in which 64-byte data is divided into eight 8-byte data is performed, The Ethernet hub device 22 protocol-converts a control signal included in the transmitted Ethernet signals to a CAN signal and outputs the CAN signal to the steering wheel ECU 241 and the tilt telescopic ECU 242 or the like. The Ethernet hub device 22 protocol-converts the CAN signals transmitted from the steering wheel ECU 241 and the tilt telescopic ECU 242 or the like to Ethernet signals and transmits the Ethernet signals to the trunk network (i.e. ECU 241 and 242 received the 8 bytes which is divided)) (Yamada et al., figs. 1-4 ¶ 0028, 0040, 0050-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to implement Tateishi et al. teachings into Yamada et al. teaching of the one or more second target unit memories comprise a second receive memory of a second memory size smaller than the first memory size, and the one or more intermediate unit processors are configured to perform a process comprising transmitting the first message to the first target unit and generating first divided messages obtained by division of the first message, as claimed, and successively transmitting the first divided messages to the second target unit, as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. This combination effectively performs the information transmission path from CPU to each vehicle-mounted device is achieved by simpler network configuration and smaller memory size by arranging the network hub apparatus to each zone of vehicle.
As to claim 2, Tateishi et al., as modified by Yamada et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1. Tateishi et al. further discloses wherein the one or more intermediate unit processors are configured to perform a process comprising, in response to receiving from the second target unit second divided messages obtained by division of a second message, combining the second divided messages to generate a combined message and transmitting the combined message to the communication apparatus (0123).
As to claim 3, Tateishi et al., as modified by Yamada et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1. Tateishi et al. further discloses wherein the one or more intermediate unit memories are configured to store memory size information comprising the memory size of the first receive memory and the memory size of the second receive memory, and the one or more intermediate unit processors are configured to perform a process comprising, determining whether to divide the first message based on the memory size information in response to receiving the first message from the communication apparatus (0111-0112).
As to claim 4, Tateishi et al., as modified by Yamada et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 2. Tateishi et al. further discloses wherein the one or more intermediate unit memories are configured to store memory size information comprising the memory size of the first receive memory and the memory size of the second receive memory, and the one or more intermediate unit processors are configured to perform a process comprising, determining whether to divide the first message based on the memory size information in response to receiving the first message from the communication apparatus (0111-0112).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Several similar systems are cited. References from the Applicant are cited, as well as the current application publication. Yamada et al. discloses a similar system that uses mitigation of signals and division of messages.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667