DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12159000 in view of Chung et al. (US 2019/0294851).
In regard to claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12159000 teach all the elements of claim 1 except the first region is overlapped with the finger touch region and greater than the finger touch region.
Chung et al. teach the first region is overlapped with the finger touch region and greater than the finger touch region (fig. 8, element 200 is smaller than the area occupied by element 160)
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of fingerprint detection.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of the present application with the first and finger touch regions of Chung et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of the present application with the first and finger touch regions of Chung et al. because the regions of Chung et al. would work equally as well in the apparatus of the present application et al. as they do separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would opt for the arrangement of Chung et al. based on design specifications, cost and ease of manufacturing.
In regard to claim 3, Chung et al. teach a cover layer disposed on the second unit (fig. 7B, window glass on top of all layers).
In regard to claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12159000 teaches light-emitting diodes or organic light-emitting diodes (claim 5).
In regard to claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12159000 teaches wherein one of the plurality of first sub- units emits a first light, another one of the plurality of first sub-units emits a second light, and a range of wavelength of the first light is different from a range of wavelength of the second light (claim 6).
In regard to claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12159000 teaches wherein the device comprises an active region, and the first unit, the second unit, and the third unit are located in the active region (claim 10).
Claims 2 and 4-6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12159000 in view of Chung et al. and Kang et al. (US 2019/0035859).
In regard to claim 2, Kang et al. teach wherein a density of the plurality of the second sub-units is less than a density of the plurality of the third sub-units (fig. 6, see where element 55 covers multiple pixels).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of fingerprint detection.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 12159000 and Chung et al. with the pixel and sensor arrangement of Kang et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 12159000 and Chung et al. with the pixel and sensor arrangement of Kang et al. because the electrodes covering a larger area as shown in Kang et al. would work equally as well in the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 12159000 and Chung et al. as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would opt for the arrangement of Kang et al. based on design specifications, cost and ease of manufacturing.
In regard to claim 4, Kang et al. teach an intermediate layer disposed between the first unit and the second unit (paragraph 85, Kang et al. teach an encapsulation layer to seal the electrode 35. The electrode 35 is at the top of the first sub-unit between that and the second sub-unit).
In regard to claim 5, Kang et al. teach wherein the intermediate layer further comprises an encapsulating layer (paragraph 85).
In regard to claim 6, Kang et al. teach wherein the first unit is encapsulated by the encapsulating layer (paragraph 85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2019/0294851) in view of Kang et al. (US 2019/0035859).
In regard to claim 1, Chung et al. teach an electronic device, comprising: a first unit comprising a plurality of first sub-units (element 140 and paragraph 22); a second unit receiving a first signal and comprising a plurality of second sub-units, wherein the second unit is overlapped with the first unit (fig. 8 element 160); and a third unit receiving a second signal different from the first signal and comprising a plurality of third sub-units, wherein the third unit is overlapped with the second unit and the first unit (fig. 8 element 200 and paragraphs 75-77), and the first unit is disposed between the second unit and the third unit (fig. 8 and paragraph 77, the capacitive touch unit 160 is above the display unit which is above the fingerprint sensor); a finger touch region (fig. 8 element 200) and a first region (fig. 8, the region occupied by element 160 is the first region), the first region is overlapped with the finger touch region and greater than the finger touch region (fig. 8, element 200 is smaller than the area occupied by element 160) but does not teach wherein a density of the plurality of the second sub-units is less than a density of the plurality of the first sub-units.
Kang et al. teach wherein a density of the plurality of the second sub-units is less than a density of the plurality of the first sub-units (figs. 6 and 7. The capacitive electrode overlaps numbers fingerprint sensors and OLEDs).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of fingerprint detection.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Chung et al. with the pixel and sensor arrangement of Kang et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Chung et al. with the pixel and sensor arrangement of Kang et al. because the electrodes covering a larger area as shown in Kang et al. would work equally as well in the apparatus of Chung et al. as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would opt for the arrangement of Kang et al. based on design specifications, cost and ease of manufacturing.
In regard to claim 2, Kang et al. teach wherein a density of the plurality of the second sub-units is less than a density of the plurality of the third sub-units (fig. 6, see where element 55 covers multiple pixels).
In regard to claim 3, Chung et al. teach a cover layer disposed on the second unit (fig. 7B, window glass on top of all layers).
In regard to claim 4, Kang et al. teach an intermediate layer disposed between the first unit and the second unit (paragraph 85, Kang et al. teach an encapsulation layer to seal the electrode 35. The electrode 35 is at the top of the first sub-unit between that and the second sub-unit).
In regard to claim 5, Kang et al. teach wherein the intermediate layer further comprises an encapsulating layer (paragraph 85).
In regard to claim 6, Kang et al. teach wherein the first unit is encapsulated by the encapsulating layer (paragraph 85).
In regard to claim 7, Chung et al. teach wherein the first sub-units comprises light-emitting diodes or organic light-emitting diodes (paragraph 22).
In regard to claim 8, Chung et al. teach wherein one of the plurality of first sub-units emits a first light, another one of the plurality of first sub-units emits a second light, and a range of wavelength of the first light is different from a range of wavelength of the second light (paragraph 22, the OLEDs emit a plurality of colors).
In regard to claim 9, Chung et al. teach wherein the device comprises an active region, and the first unit, the second unit, and the third unit are located in the active region (figs 8 and 9, the display region contains the first, second and third sub-units).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/13/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 7 that Chung does not teach a density relationship and cannot teach the density relationship in different regions nor the relative positional and size relationships of the regions. Figure 8 of Chung shows the finger touch region (region covered by element 200). Chung also shows elements 160 (second unit) and 140 (first unit) covering the entire device. The entire area covered by elements 140 and 160 (first region) is greater than the area covered by 200 (finger touch region). Kang et al. show capacitive electrodes (second unit) being less dense than the pixels (first unit). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH R HALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621