DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-13 and 16-19 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara (US 20210110442) in view of Norimatsu (US 20220060851).
Regarding claim 1, Fujiwara teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer-readable instructions for a terminal device comprising a processor, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal device (fig. 1)) to:
receive, from a first server, notification related information including format information indicating an information display format and related information related to notification information for a target device communicable with the terminal device (p0170:This notification may take any format so long as the recommended company can be recognized in comparison to the other companies…the terminal 20 may determine the display format, or it may be designated by the server 10);
in a case where the notification related information includes first format information indicating a first display format, display on a display of the terminal device a first notification screen according to the first display format, wherein the first notification screen includes first notification information related to first related information included in the notification related information (fig. 12B); and in a case where the notification related information includes second format information indicating a second display format different from the first display format, display on the display a second notification screen according to the second display format, wherein the second notification screen includes second notification information related to second related information included in the notification related information (fig. 12A).
Fujiwara does not explicitly a second display format different from the first format.
Norimatsu teaches a second display format different from the first format (p0166: guidance notification to be displayed in a display format of a popup display, a banner display).
Fujiwara and Norimatsu are combinable because they both deal with notification display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Fujiwara with the teaching of Norimatsu for purpose of display notification.
Regarding claim 2, Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein a screen size of the second notification screen is larger than a screen size of the first notification screen (Fujiwara: fig. 12: full screen display and Norimatsu: banner display).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 2, wherein the first notification screen is a banner-format screen (Norimatsu: p0166: guidance notification to be displayed in a display format of a popup display, a banner display).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is device claim corresponding to program claim 1, therefore it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is device claim corresponding to program claim 1, therefore it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, is method claim corresponding to program claim 2, therefore it is rejected for the same reason as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, is method claim corresponding to program claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification information includes information related to a state of the first server (fig. 12b).
Regarding claim 11, Fujiwara teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification information includes information related to a state of a third server that communicates with the target device (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 12, Fujiwara teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification information includes device identification information for identifying the target device (fig. 12B: recommended B).
Regarding claim 13, Fujiwara teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 12, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to: in a case where a third predetermined operation is received from a user after a plurality of the notification related information is received from the first server, display on the display a list screen including a plurality of display areas corresponding to the plurality of notification related information, wherein each of the plurality of display areas includes the device identification information (fig. 10).
Claims 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara and Norimatsu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Fujiwara (US 10075611 ) (Fujiwara’611).
Regarding claim 4, Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 2, wherein
wherein under a state where the first notification screen is displayed over the function selection screen, an operation to the function selection screen by a user is enabled (Fujiwara:p0166: a banna display), and under a state where the second notification screen is displayed over the function selection screen, an operation to the function selection screen by the user is disabled, wherein the user may interact with both the notification and the user application. (Fujiwara: p0166: guidance notification to be displayed in a display format of a popup display).
Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu does not display in the case where the notification related information includes the first format information, a function selection screen for selecting a function to be executed by the target device is displayed on the display and the first notification screen is displayed over the function selection screen, and in the case where the notification related information includes the second format information, the function selection screen is displayed on the display and the second notification screen is displayed over the function selection screen
Fujiwara’611 teaches display in the case where the notification related information includes the first format information, a function selection screen for selecting a function to be executed by the target device is displayed on the display and the first notification screen is displayed over the function selection screen, and in the case where the notification related information includes the second format information, the function selection screen is displayed on the display and the second notification screen is displayed over the function selection screen (fig. 7).
Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu and Fujiwara’611 are combinable because they both deal with notification display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu with the teaching of Fujiwara for purpose of for controlling print processing in a printer.
Regarding claim 20, is method claim corresponding to program claim 4.
Claims 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara and Norimatsu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nakai (US 20240118849).
Regarding claim 5, Fujiwara and Norimatsu does not teach the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 2, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to: in response to a first predetermined operation to the first notification screen itself being received from a user under a state where the first notification screen is displayed on the display, send first operation information to a second server; and in a case where a second predetermined operation to a predetermined object in the second notification screen is received from the user under a state where the second notification screen is displayed on the display, send second operation information to the second server.
Nakai teaches wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to: in response to a first predetermined operation to the first notification screen itself being received from a user under a state where the first notification screen is displayed on the display, send first operation information to a second server (p0085: the user accesses a registration management screen of the printing server 200 using the user terminal 20a, and instructs the printing server 200 to delete the registration); and in a case where a second predetermined operation to a predetermined object in the second notification screen is received from the user under a state where the second notification screen is displayed on the display, send second operation information to the second server (fig. 4 and p0079: In step S15, the communication control unit 130 causes the display of the user terminal 20a to display the registration information received from the printing server 200).
Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu and Nakai are combinable because they both deal with notification display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu with the teaching of Nakai for purpose of realize a mechanism to prevent the aforementioned waste of communication resources in a cloud-based printing service (p0005).
Regarding claim 8, Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu and Nakai teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 2, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to: in response to a first predetermined operation to the first notification screen itself being received from a user under a state where the first notification screen is displayed on the display, display a first predetermined screen on the display; and in a case where a second predetermined operation to a predetermined object in the second notification screen is received from the user under a state where the second notification screen is displayed on the display, display the first predetermined screen on the display (Nakai: fig. 4 and p0079: In step S15, the communication control unit 130 causes the display of the user terminal 20a to display the registration information received from the printing server 200).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 5 has been incorporated herein.
Claims 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara and Norimatsu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 20250377841).
Regarding claim 14, Fujiwara and Norimatsu does not teach the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification information includes information related to a subscription service for the target device.
Suzuki teaches wherein the notification information includes information related to a subscription service for the target device (p0046).
Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu and Suzuki are combinable because they both deal with notification display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu with the teaching of Suzuki for purpose of delivery consumable.
Regarding claim 15, Fujiwara in view of Norimatsu and Suzuki teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification information includes information related to a consumable article shipping service for the target device (Suzuki:p0046).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 14 has been incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 6-7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Fujiwara (US 20210110442) teaches the similar limitations. However, the closest prior art of record, namely Fujiwara (US 20210110442), does not disclose, teach or suggest, the claim limitation, as recited in dependent claims 6-7 and 9.
Conclusion
HELEN ZONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2683
/HELEN ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683