DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the Application’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/694,737 filed on 09/13/2024, which claims the prior benefit of a Provisional Application 63/593,166 filed on 10/25/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information disclosure statement (IDS) was on file as of the time of writing this Office Action.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of claims in the filed Application 18/923,985. Amended claims 1, 19, 25-26, 43; Original claims 2, 6-8, 10-18, 20-23, 27-28, 30, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42, 44-45; canceled claims 3-5, 9, 24, 29, 31, 34, 36, 39, 41, 46-112. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-23, 25-28, 30, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claim 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding instant claim 6, the claim is recited as dependent upon Applicant’s claim 5, which is cancelled in the application. It is unclear what the cancelled claim 5 recites. Accordingly, Applicant needs to make the necessary amendments so that the claimed invention is clear and distinct.
For the purpose of progressing with compact prosecution, Examiner assumed the instant claim 6 is dependent upon claim 1.
Claim 18 contains the trademark/trade names PERMULEN® TR-1 and ARLACEL® 165. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademarks or trade names cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade names are used to identify/describe emulsifiers and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10, 12-23, 25-27, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al., 2008, (WO 2008/047198 A1; Published, 24 April 2008), hereon after, Barrett.
The teachings in Barrett are directed to compounds of a generic formula I (or pharmaceutically acceptable salts, compositions and methods of treating TGFβ-mediated conditions or diseases. The disclosed compositions comprising one or more of the compounds disclosed in the reference (abstract). Barrett explains ALK-5, a member of ALK proteins, is the most specific ALK for TGFβ (transforming growth factor-β). Therefore ALK-5 inhibitors are used to treat diseases that include cancer, conditions that involve fibrosis, scars – hypertrophic and keloid scars, among others (page 1).
Barrett’s compound of formula I (abstract)
Regarding instant claim 1, Barrett teaches pharmaceutical compositions of compound that are ALK-5 inhibitors (abstract). Barrett teaches an aspect of the disclosure provides for topical pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the ALK-5 inhibitor (page 6); further the pharmaceutical composition can be in the form of a cream, an ointment, a lotion, a gel or an emulsion (page 11).
With respect to a composition comprising a permeation enhancer, a solvent, an antioxidant, a thickening agent and a preservative; Barrett teaches formulations that contain compounds recited as permeation enhancers namely, propylene glycol and ethanol (page 12-line 11 & Formulation examples page 43); formulations with thickeners such as gelatin, methylcellulose or Hydroxy propyl cellulose (pages 11-12 & 43); formulations with antioxidants and preservatives (page 12); And formulations with solvents such as water or water/ propylene glycol (page 12).
Regarding instant claim 2, Barrett teaches the pharmaceuticals compositions with embodiments that are topical in the form of creams, ointments, gels, salves, among others (page 12 -line 24-26).
Regarding instant claim 6, Barrett teaches the quantity of active component, the ALK-5 inhibitor in a unit dose from 0.1 mg to 1000 mg, preferably 1.0 mg to 100 mg or from 0.01% to 95 (w/w) (page 13 line1-3). In relation to topical administration, Barrett teaches the dose of the active ingredient may vary but provides a general guideline of 0.01 to 50 w/w% and more typically 0.1 to 10 w/w% (page 14). Barrett further teaches the proper dosage for particular situation is determined by the efficacy of the particular compound employed, the condition of the subject, the severity of the disease being treated as well as the body weight or surface area of the subject to be treated (page 13).
Regarding instant claim 7 and in vivo administration, Barrett teaches the topical compositions are applied directly to the skin or wound area and the affected area from 1 to 4 times daily. Further, a compound may be administered within 1, 8 or 12 hours or within 1, 2 or 3 days or within 1 week, 2 week and so on (page 14). Barrett teaches the compound(s) or pharmaceutically acceptable salts are administered to a patient, a mammal including humans, primates, mice among others and in one particular embodiment a mammal is human (page 6).
Regarding instant claim 8, Barrett teaches that in determining the effective amount of the compound to be administered in the treatment or prophylaxis of the disease being treated, the physician can evaluate factors such as the circulating plasma levels of the compound, compound toxicities, and/or the progression of the disease, etc. (page 13).
Regarding instant claim 10, Barrett teaches formulations that include thickening agents, gelatin, methylcellulose, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and further exemplifies formulation prepared that contain hydroxypropyl cellulose (page 43).
Regarding instant claims 11, 12 and 13, Barrett teaches formulations that contain antioxidants as in instant claim 11; and formulations that can contain preservative and bacteriostats (instant claim 12) (Barrett - page 12). Barrett further teaches the compounds can be administered separately or combined in a single formulation with antibiotics or topical antibiotics (page 14).
Regarding instant claim 14 -16, Barrett teaches exemplified formulations that contain benzyl alcohol – as instant claim 14 (page 43). Further teaches compositions that contain components that overlap with solvents and permeation enhancers as recited in instant claims 15 and 16, namely, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, benzyl alcohol, or ethanol, caprylate, citrate, stearate, palmoate, among others (page 10 and Formulations examples - page 43).
Regarding instant claims 17 and 18, Barrett teaches compositions that contain surfactants for example, saccharate, sebacate, stearate, suberate, palmoate, among others (page 10).
Regarding instant claims 19-20, Barrett teaches some embodiments that can be administered with other agents combined into a single formulation, for example, silicone sheeting. Further, teaches compositions that contain magnesium stearate, which is recited instant claim 20 (page 11).
Regarding instant claims 21-23, Barrett teaches formulations that contain buffers and exemplifies examples with buffers (page 12 and 39) as in instant claim 21; The reference teaches formulations can contain pharmaceutically acceptable salts that include phosphates and citrates (instant claim 22) (page 10). With respect to instant claim 23, Barrett teaches compositions that contain one or more suitable excipients, that include sebacate, stearate, low melting wax and mixtures of fatty acid glycerides, among others (page 11-12).
Regarding instant claim 25-27, and the composition range %(w/w) of the ALK-5 inhibitor, Barrett teaches ranges that encompass the instant claimed ranges, i.e. 0.01% to 95% (w/w) of a unit dose, or 0.01 to 50 w/w% or 0.1 to 10 w/w%. Further states that quantity of the active component in a unit dose is based according to the particular application and the potency of the active component (pg. 13-14).
Barrett does not distinctly teach the % (w/w), of other components in the formulation, namely, the solvent, permeation enhancer, thickener, preservative, and buffer as recited in instant claims (28, 32-33, 35, 38 and 40), however the reference provides examples of formulations and biological assays that reveal the % (w/w) used of the different components of the exemplified formulation.
Regarding instant claims 27, 28, 32, 33, 35, 37 and 38, Barrett exemplifies a formulation for preparing a gel containing 1% of ALK-5 inhibitor compound (example 2 page 43), as in instant claim 27. The formulation further contains 30% propylene glycol, 30% polyethylene glycol, 10% water, 2% benzyl alcohol, 0.5% hydroxypropyl cellulose and 26.5% ethanol.
Propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and ethanol are recited in the instant claims among the selection of solvents and permeation enhancers; water is recited in the selection of solvents; benzyl alcohol is recited as a preservative and hydroxypropyl cellulose as thickener.
Thus, Example 2 in Barrett discloses a formulation containing 1% of ALK-5 inhibitor, 0.5% thickener and 2% preservative (instant claims 27, 28 & 32-33). Water, ethanol, propylene glycol and polyethylene glycol disclosed in varying percent ranging from 10%, 20% and 30% individually and collectively accounting for 98% when considered as solvents (instant claims 35, 37 and 38).
Regarding instant claim 40, Barrett teaches biological assays for the claimed compounds, ALK-5 kinase assays that were performed in buffer solutions - Biological Example 1 in Barrett, with 50 mM HEPES, pH 7.6 as a buffer (page 39). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to convert the disclosed concentration of 50 mM HEPES to an approximate weight percentage as follows:
50 mM HEPES = 0.050 mol/L x 238.3 g/mol = 11.9 g/L, which corresponds to approximately 1.2 % (w/w), of the buffer, HEPES, – assuming an aqueous density of approximately 1g/mL.
Regarding instant claim 42, Barrett teaches ALK-5 inhibitors or their pharmaceutically acceptable salts provide methods for treating TGFβ-mediated conditions or diseases comprising of inhibition of scar formation, cancer, melanoma, all types of fibrotic diseases, hyperplasia, restenosis, scleroderma, scars – hypertrophic and keloid scars and dermal scarring, among others (page 13-14).
Regarding instant claim 43, Barrett teaches exemplified embodiments, Example 1-8, which are identical to compounds in the claimed invention and are directed to methods of treating TGFβ-mediated diseases and conditions. (Examples 1- 8, pages 15-30).
Regarding instant claim 44, Barrett teaches the compounds in the reference are prepared as topical compositions in the form of solutions, salves, creams, ointment, liposomes, sprays, gels, foams, roller sticks, or any other formulation routinely used to deliver a topical pharmaceutical composition (page 12 and claim 13). Additionally, Barrett teaches exemplified gel formulations, examples 1 – 2, comprising of solvent, and ALK-5 inhibitor, permeation enhancer, a thickening agent and preservative (page 43).
Regarding instant claim 45, Barrett teaches a method of inhibiting scar formation comprising administering therapeutically effective of the claimed compound(s) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt (page 14 and page 46 – claim 9).
Per MPEP § 2143 (I)(D), a prima facie case of obviousness exists for applying a known technique to a known method or product ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Additionally, per MPEP § 2144.05(I), a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed invention overlaps with or is close to prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings by Barrett.
Barrett teaches compounds, ALK5 inhibitors, pharmaceutically acceptable salts, compositions and methods of treating TGFβ-mediated conditions or diseases, including treatment of scars, hypertrophic and keloid scars, wounds, reducing scarring among other diseases. Barrett teaches the claimed compounds and topical compositions that comprise an ALK5 inhibitor, permeation enhancer, solvent, antioxidant, thickening agent and a preservative; further teaches compositions that contain a surfactant, a buffer, a glidant i.e. other excipients and additives. Barrett also teaches overlapping ranges of the components in the compositions with what is claimed in the instant invention. Furthermore, Barrett provides examples of formulations and biological assays that use the claimed ALK-5 inhibitors.
Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed invention because of any of the following reasons; (i) the compounds in the claimed invention were known from prior art as ALK5 inhibitors; (ii) topical compositions and methods of treating TGFβ-mediated conditions or diseases, including treatment of scars, hypertrophic and keloid scars using the claimed compounds were taught in prior art (iii) Prior art taught examples of formulations that include permeation enhancer, solvent, thickening agent, preservative and antioxidant.
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to take what is already known, optimize and/or improve on it, i.e. apply a known technique to a known method or product ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-23, 25-28, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al., 2008, (WO 2008/047198 A1; Published, 24 April 2008), hereon after, Barrett, and further in view of Barnes et al., 2021, (Barnes et al., Review, Vehicles for delivery and Cosmetic Moisturizers: Review and Comparison, Pharmaceutics, 2021, 13, 2012 pg. 1-18; Published 26 November 2021), hereon after, Barnes.
Regarding claims 1-2, 6-8, 10, 12-23, 25-27, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45, all the teachings of Barrett as discussed in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection are incorporated herein.
Barrett teaches antioxidants in a pharmaceutical composition for topical application but does not provide named antioxidants as recited in instant claim 11. Additionally, Barrett does not teach some of the recited thickeners, permeation enhancers, solvents, preservatives, and other excipients as in instant claims 10, 12-23 and 28.
Barnes’ review highlights that many dermatological conditions are treated with topical therapeutic products and instead of applying the active drug directly onto the skin, it is combined with a vehicle to aid its delivery through the skin - into the deeper regions of the skin namely epidermis and dermis. Absorption into the systemic circulation is minimized. Barnes further teaches on additives and excipients; permeation enhancers, thickeners, solvents, antioxidants and preservatives for topical therapeutic products to aid in delivery through the skin (abstract).
Regarding instant claim 10 on thickening agents, Barnes teaches thickeners as excipients that influence topical vehicle viscosity, skin retention and drug penetration. Barnes further provides examples that include carbomer, silica, gelatin, hydroxyethyl cellulose, guar gum, carboxymethyl cellulose and polyethylene glycol, among others (page 12).
Regarding instant claim 11 on antioxidants, Barnes teaches the use of antioxidants in topical formulations to minimize oxidative deterioration and help stabilize the active drug. Barnes names examples of antioxidants that include alkyl gallates, butylated hydroxyanisole, butylated hydroxytoluene and tocopherols among others (page 11, 13-14).
Regarding instant claim 12 -14 and 28, on preservatives, Barnes teaches preservatives are usually included in topical vehicles containing aqueous gels and creams to prevent contamination and growth of microorganisms, hence the use of antimicrobial preservatives (as in instant claim 12).
Notably, Barnes teaches in non-aqueous systems, such as ointments, it is uncommon to include antimicrobial preservatives since microorganisms rarely proliferate under such conditions, hence some formulations don’t include a preservative (as in instant claim 13).
Barnes provides examples of preservatives which include alcohols (e.g., benzyl alcohol, ethanol, phenoxyethanol), hydroxybenzoates (all salts), phenols (e.g., chlorocresol), and quaternary ammonium compounds (e.g., benzalkonium chloride, cetrimide) (as in instant claim 14).
Barnes cautions the concentration of preservative should also be taken into consideration since other excipients within the vehicle may have some antimicrobial activity (instant claim 28) – (Barnes, page 14).
Regarding instant claim 15 on solvents, Barnes teaches solvents play multiple roles including enhancing the solubility of the active drug and facilitating drug absorption into the skin. Further, for aqueous-based topical formulations, such as aqueous gels and oil-in-water emulsions, water is the main solvent and often with various water-miscible solvents including polyethylene glycol and propylene glycol ethanol, isopropyl alcohol and benzyl alcohol. Other solvents include hexylene glycol, oleyl alcohol, mineral oil/liquid paraffin, propylene carbonate, among others (page 11-12).
Regarding instant claim 16 on permeation enhancer, Barnes teaches many penetration enhancers are also solvents .e.g. propylene glycol and ethanol; other penetration enhancers include dimethyl sulfoxide, oleic acid, linoleic acid and isopropyl myristate.
Regarding instant claim 17-18 on surfactant, Barnes teaches surfactants in formulations that include polysorbate 80, glycerol monostearate and PEG monostearate.
Regarding instant claim 19 and 20, Barnes teaches examples of glidant / lubricant that include silicones namely, dimethicone and cyclomethicone.
Regarding instant claim 21 and 22, Barnes teaches citric acid, lactic acid and phosphoric acids as buffering reagents and that they maintain optimum pH for drug delivery. Thus, buffers maintain the pH of topical vehicles throughout their shelf life (page 11 & 13).
Regarding instant claim 23, Barnes teaches other excipients in formulations as recited in the instant claim, including petrolatum, coconut oil and fatty alcohols among others (page 9).
Per MPEP § 2143 (I)(A) a prima facie case of obviousness exists for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to arrive at the instant claims in view of prior art with reasonable expectation of success.
Prior art as evidenced by Barnes, teaches on excipients and additives in topical formulations, their role and importance. It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to claim an invention where a pharmaceutical composition comprises antioxidants to minimize oxidation deterioration and help stabilize the active compound, an antioxidant selected from a group as recited (instant claim 11), a composition wherein the thickening agent is selected from a group as recited in instant claims (claim 10); a composition where the preservative is an antimicrobial preservative (instant claim 12); a composition where the composition does not include a preservative (instant claim 13); a composition where the preservative is selected from a group as recited (claim 14), with further limitation as recited (instant claim 28); a solvent selected from a group as recited (claim 15); a permeation enhancer selected from a group as recited (16); surfactant and glidant each selected from groups as recited, with additional limitations (claims 17-20) and with buffer and other excipients as recited (claims 21-23).
One would have been motivated because of any of the following reasons (i) prior art teaches solvents, thickening agents, permeation enhancers, antioxidants, preservatives, buffers, surfactants, glidants and other excipients that are used in topical formulations to enhance and /or aid delivery of active compound; (ii) provides comprehensive information about additives and excipients; For example, Barnes teaches some formulations require antimicrobial preservatives while others do not, and teaches antioxidants in topical formulations minimize oxidative deterioration and stabilize the active drug; (iii) it is well-within the ordinary skill in art to combine additives; solvents, thickening agents, permeation enhancers, antioxidants, preservatives, buffers, surfactants, glidants and other excipients for the same purpose as taught in prior art, i.e. additives and excipients for topical formulations. Accordingly, claims 10-23, and 28 are obvious in view of prior art.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-23, 25-28, 30, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al., 2008, (WO 2008/047198 A1; Published, 24 April 2008), further in view of Barnes et al., 2021, and further in view of Anderson 2002, (Anderson F.A. (ed.), Final Report on the safety of BHT. International Journal of Toxicology. 2002; 21(2); 19-94; Published 6 June 2002), hereon after, Anderson.
Regarding claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-23, 25-27, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45, all the teachings of Barrett and Barnes as discussed in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are incorporated herein.
Barrett and Barnes fail to teach a pharmaceutical composition wherein the composition comprises about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.5% (w/w) of the antioxidant as claimed in instant claim 30.
Regarding instant claim 30; Anderson provides a safety assessment on antioxidant, butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT), widely used in skin formulations, cosmetics and noncosmetic (page 21-22). Instant application claims a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the antioxidant selected from a group that includes butylated hydroxytoluene (instant claim 11).
Anderson’s report discloses the concentration of butylated hydroxytoluene as an antioxidant in cosmetic formulations in the range of 0.0002% to 0.5% (Abstract, page 19 and Table 2). Additionally, Anderson reveals concentration of BHT in noncosmetic applications that contain up to 0.02% or 0.5% BHT, depending on the use and states antioxidants can be added singly or in combination (page 21).
Per MPEP § 2144.07, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for the selection of known material based on its suitability for its intended use.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to arrive at the instantly claimed invention –wherein the claimed pharmaceutical composition comprises 0.05%(w/w) to about 0.5% (w/w) of the antioxidant – with reasonable expectation of success in view of prior art.
One would have been motivated to arrive at the instant claimed invention because prior art, as evidenced by Anderson, provides teachings on antioxidants and their recommended concentration ranges for use in formulations.
Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in art to select a known antioxidant and to apply known concentration ranges or optimize for the purpose of a pharmaceutical composition for topical application.
Therefore, an artisan would arrive at the same invention as presently claimed for reasons taught in prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-23, 25-28, 30, 32-33, 35, 37-38, 40, 42-45 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
Communication
/PAULINE ONDACHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627