DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the rate of the balance spring” in claim 1 lacks antecedent basis.
“the stiffness of the balance spring” in claim 1 lacks antecedent basis.
“the main axis” in claim 4 lacks antecedent basis.
“the tip” in claim 5 lacks antecedent basis.
“the balance staff” in claim 11 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6 and 7 recite the limitation "the flexible element". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is confusion regarding the terms flexible and resilient. If the flexible element and the resilient element are the same element, then they should be referred to by a common name for clarity and consistency. For purposes of examination, the flexible element will be treated as the same as resilient element. Claims 2-13 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le Moal, US 20220171335.
Regarding claim 1, Le Moal discloses a regulating member for a horological movement comprising a balance [0024], a balance spring (2), a balance cock [0024], and an actuation system for adjusting the rate of the balance spring [0032], the balance spring comprising a coiled ribbon (wound blade 2) and means for adjusting the stiffness of the balance spring (clamp 3), which means are provided with a resilient element (flexible element 7) arranged in series with the coiled ribbon ([0034]-[0035]), the adjustment means comprising prestressing means (14) for applying a variable force or torque to the flexible element, wherein the actuation system comprises an eccentric (eccentric screw [0036]) actuating the prestressing means of the adjustment means.
Regarding claim 12, Le Moal discloses a horological movement, comprising the regulating member according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Le Moal discloses a timepiece comprising the horological movement according to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Moal, in view of Wiederrecht, US 10,180,659.
Regarding claim 2, Le Moal does not explicitly disclose the eccentric is rotatably mounted through the balance cock.
Wiederrecht shows eccentric (84) rotatably mounted through the balance cock (6) in Figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the eccentric taught by Le Moal through the balance cock to allow access to adjust the positioning of the eccentric and because it would be a routine and conventional practice as taught by Wiederrecht.
Regarding claim 3, Le Moal and Wiederrecht disclose the eccentric comprises a head (88) and a main body (86) extending from the head (Wiederrecht figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Le Moal and Wiederrecht disclose the eccentric further comprises a finger (82) extending from the main body (86), the finger being off-centred relative to the main axis of the main body of the eccentric (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Le Moal and Wiederrecht disclose the head comprises a recess intended to receive the tip of a tool for actuating the eccentric (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 10, Le Moal and Wiederrecht disclose the actuation system comprises a stud-holder (12) comprising a stud on which the balance spring is mounted, the stud being mechanically linked to the resilient element of the balance spring. (See Wiederrecht, figures 1 and 2 and col. 1 lines 35 to col 2. Line 64)
11. The regulating member according to claim 1, wherein the stud-holder is arranged on the balance cock around a bearing on the balance staff (Wiederrecht figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the claimed regulating member wherein the prestressing means comprise a movable first lever connected to the flexible element, with the eccentric being in contact with the lever in order to be able to actuate it.
Conclusion
/JASON M COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/EDWIN A. LEON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831