Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The three information disclosure statements filed 07/22/2026, 08/20/2025, and 10/23/2024 have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed 10/23/2024 are considered acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations "the first machining" in line 14 and “the second machining” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitations will be interpreted to recite “a first machining” and “a second machining”,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180136626 A1 to Gu et al. (herein "Gu") in light of US 20150320524 A1 to Stratton.
Regarding claim 1, Gu teaches a correction method for a
inputting a machining program of a correction piece to a
mounting a material for the correction piece to the
machining the correction piece from the material using the
measuring a dimension of a predetermined portion of the correction piece machined in the machining (Paragraph 22 “Once the one or more features 16 are machined into one or more of the workpieces 12, a dimensional measuring device, such as a coordinate measuring machine or CMM 18 may measure one or more dimensions of one or more of the resulting workpieces”);
calculating a correction value based on the dimension measured in the measuring (Paragraph 27 “When a dimension of one or more machined features (e.g., such as the dimension 34 or the dimension 36) deviates from the nominal dimensions provided in the part print, the compensation processor calculates deviation sets based on the differences between the nominal dimensions and the measured dimensions”) and
inputting to the
Gu does not specifically teach a method for a dental cutting machine.
However, Stratton teaches a dental cutting machine (abstract “A method for calibrating a computer numerical control (CNC) machine for milling an implant abutment”).
Both Gu and Stratton are in the field of computer-controlled cutting machines. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Gu with the system of Stratton. Such a combination would merely by applying a known technique (using CNC for dental cutting) to a known device (a CNC machine that corrects dimensions) to yield a predictable result, wherein the predictable result is an error-correcting CNC machine that can also be used for dental cutting.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gu and Stratton teaches the correction method for the dental cutting machine according to claim 1.
Gu also teaches wherein the
a tool holder to hold a cutting tool (Paragraph 1 “controllable cutting tool”);
a workpiece holder to hold the correction piece (Paragraph 47 “In many configurations, a fixture may be positioned on the machine table and used to locate and restrain the workpiece 12”); and
a mover to move at least one of the tool holder and the workpiece holder to move the cutting tool in a predetermined moving direction relative to the workpiece holder (Paragraph 1 “moving a controllable cutting tool”, “may control its position relative to the workpiece via servomotor control”);
the machining program is executable to form a first plane with a first coordinate in the moving direction and a second plane with a second coordinate in the moving direction by the cutting tool on the correction piece (Fig 3 where the finished workpiece 12 is a rectangular prism, and the first and second planes are any of the surfaces in the X, Y, or Z axes);
in the measuring, a distance between the first plane and the second plane in the moving direction is measured (Paragraph 22 “Once the one or more features 16 are machined into one or more of the workpieces 12, a dimensional measuring device, such as a coordinate measuring machine or CMM 18 may measure one or more dimensions of one or more of the resulting workpieces”);
the correction value includes a correction value concerning the distance in the moving direction measuring (Paragraph 27 “When a dimension of one or more machined features (e.g., such as the dimension 34 or the dimension 36) deviates from the nominal dimensions provided in the part print, the compensation processor calculates deviation sets based on the differences between the nominal dimensions and the measured dimensions”); and
the correction value concerning the distance in the moving direction is a correction value to adjust a difference in coordinate value between the first coordinate and the second coordinate to the distance measured in the measuring (Paragraph 33 “machine coordinate system”, “part coordinate system”).
Similarly to claim 1, though Gu does not teach a dental cutting machine, Stratton also teaches a dental cutting machine. The process of machining and performing error correction on a workpiece in general would also be applicable to a dental workpiece.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gu and Stratton teaches the correction method for the dental machine according to claim 1.
Gu also teaches wherein
the
a tool holder to hold a rod-shaped cutting tool extending in predetermined Z-axis directions (Paragraph 86, Fig 7B cutting spindle 374);
a workpiece holder to hold the material for the correction piece (Paragraph 47 “In many configurations, a fixture may be positioned on the machine table and used to locate and restrain the workpiece 12”);
a rotator to rotate the workpiece holder about a rotation shaft extending in X-axis directions orthogonal to the Z-axis directions to change an orientation of the workpiece holder relative to the cutting tool (Paragraph 86, Fig 7B “C-on-B table” where the rotation is specifically about the B-axis);
a Z-axis direction mover to move at least one of the tool holder and a set of the workpiece holder and the rotator to move the tool holder in the Z-axis directions relative to the workpiece holder (Paragraph 86, Fig 7B cutting spindle 374 that is capable of three degrees of translation relative to an illustrative x-y-z coordinate system 375); and
a Y-axis direction mover to move at least one of the tool holder and the set of the workpiece holder and the rotator to move the tool holder in Y-axis directions orthogonal to the Z-axis directions and the X-axis directions relative to the workpiece holder (Paragraph 86, Fig 7B cutting spindle 374 that is capable of three degrees of translation relative to an illustrative x-y-z coordinate system 375);
the machining program is executable to:
form one or more first flat surfaces extending in the X-axis directions and the Y-axis directions on each of one side and another side of the rotation shaft in the Y-axis directions by using the cutting tool in a state in which the workpiece holder is held at a predetermined first angle about the rotation shaft (Fig 3 where the first flat surface is the top or bottom of the rectangular prism 12)
form second flat surfaces extending in the X-axis directions and the Y-axis directions on bottom sides of the first flat surfaces by the cutting tool in a state in which the workpiece holder is held at a second angle shifted from the first angle by 180 degrees (Fig 3 where the first flat surface is other of the top or bottom of the rectangular prism 12);
in the measuring, thicknesses between the first flat surfaces and the second flat surfaces in the Z-axis directions are measured (Paragraph 22 “Once the one or more features 16 are machined into one or more of the workpieces 12, a dimensional measuring device, such as a coordinate measuring machine or CMM 18 may measure one or more dimensions of one or more of the resulting workpieces”);
the correction value includes a correction value concerning a rotation angle of the rotator about the rotation shaft (Paragraph 33 “A global offset may adjust the origin and/or orientation of a machine coordinate system 38, which is the non-moving, base, coordinate system that defines the relationship of all other components, including rotating or moving tables or spindles, relative to the manufacturing tool 14 itself” where the table holding the workpiece is rotated); and
the correction value concerning the rotation angle of the rotator is a correction value to eliminate a difference between the thicknesses measured in the measuring (Paragraph 33 “In an embodiment, the compensation variables 24 include two types of offsets that may be used to reduce deviations: global offsets and local offsets” where adjusting the offset entails rotating the table holding the workpiece to eliminate the deviation).
Stratton also teaches a dental cutting machine. The process of machining and performing error correction on a workpiece in general would also be applicable to a dental workpiece.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gu and Stratton teaches the correction method for the dental cutting machine according to claim 3.
wherein the machining program is executable to:
form a first measurement surface with a coordinate in the Z-axis directions by the cutting tool in a state in which the workpiece holder is held at a predetermined angle about the rotation shaft (Fig 3 where the first measurement surface is the top or bottom of the rectangular prism 12); and
form a second measurement surface with a coordinate in the Z-axis directions by the cutting tool in a state in which the workpiece holder is held at an angle shifted from the predetermined angle by 180 degrees shaft (Fig 3 where the first measurement surface is the top or bottom of the rectangular prism 12);
in the measuring, a distance between the first measurement surface and the second measurement surface in the Z-axis directions is measured (Paragraph 22 “Once the one or more features 16 are machined into one or more of the workpieces 12, a dimensional measuring device, such as a coordinate measuring machine or CMM 18 may measure one or more dimensions of one or more of the resulting workpieces”);
the correction value includes a correction value concerning a position of the tool holder in the Z-axis directions relative to the rotation shaft (Paragraph 36 “A local offset, however, may selectively adjust a single feature 16 or group of features 16 by modifying the nominal dimensions and positioning of the manufacturing tool 14 for only that specific feature or group of features”); and
the correction value concerning the position of the tool holder in the Z-axis directions is a correction value to eliminate a difference between the measured distance between the first measurement surface and the second measurement surface and the distance between the first measurement surface and the second measurement surface in the Z-axis directions in the machining program, and is calculated after correction concerning a rotation angle of the rotator about the rotation shaft (Paragraph 38 “There may, however, be a residual deviation that remains after the global offset adjustment is applied. The residual deviation may not be acceptable for features with a tight tolerance. Implementation of the local offset may allow the deviation of that particular feature 16 to be adjusted (i.e., during machining)” where the local offset is in the Z-axis direction and clearly occurs after the global offset rotation).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gu and Stratton teaches the correction method for the dental cutting machine according to claim 5.
Gu also teaches wherein
the machining program is executable to form the first flat surfaces, the second flat surfaces, the first measurement surface, and the second measurement surface on a line passing through a center of the correction piece in the X-axis directions and extending in the Y-axis directions (Fig 3 where the flat and measurement surfaces are the top and bottom of the rectangular prism 12);
the machining includes:
forming the first flat surfaces and the second flat surfaces on the correction piece (Fig 3 where the flat and measurement surfaces are the top and bottom of the rectangular prism 12); and
forming the first measurement surface and the second measurement surface on the correction piece (Fig 3 where the flat and measurement surfaces are the top and bottom of the rectangular prism 12);
the measuring, the calculating, and the inputting include:
a first measuring (Paragraph 22 “Once the one or more features 16 are machined into one or more of the workpieces 12, a dimensional measuring device, such as a coordinate measuring machine or CMM 18 may measure one or more dimensions of one or more of the resulting workpieces”), a first calculating (Paragraph 27 “When a dimension of one or more machined features (e.g., such as the dimension 34 or the dimension 36) deviates from the nominal dimensions provided in the part print, the compensation processor calculates deviation sets based on the differences between the nominal dimensions and the measured dimensions”), and a first inputting (Paragraph 28 “The compensation variables 24 provided by the compensation processor 20 may modify the machining process and attempt to reduce the deviation”), respectively, performed after the first machining; and
a second measuring, a second calculating, and a second inputting, respectively, performed after the second machining (Paragraph 83 “The method 200 may end or may repeat, immediately, or in the future”); and
the mounting includes:
mounting the material for the correction piece to the
mounting the material to the
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gu and Stratton teaches the correction method for the dental cutting machine according to claim 3.
Gu also teaches wherein
the machining program is executable to:
form a first inspection surface extending in the Z-axis directions using the cutting tool on the correction piece in a state in which the workpiece holder is held at a predetermined angle about the rotation shaft and is held in a predetermined position in the Y-axis directions (Fig 3 where the first inspection surface is one of the sides of the rectangular prism 12); and
form a second inspection surface extending in the Z-axis directions using the cutting tool on the correction piece in a state in which the workpiece holder is held at an angle shifted from the predetermined angle by 180 degrees and is held in the predetermined position in the Y-axis directions (Fig 3 where the first inspection surface is another one of the sides of the rectangular prism 12);
in the measuring, an amount of shift between the first inspection surface and the second inspection surface concerning the Y-axis directions is measured (Paragraph 22 “Once the one or more features 16 are machined into one or more of the workpieces 12, a dimensional measuring device, such as a coordinate measuring machine or CMM 18 may measure one or more dimensions of one or more of the resulting workpieces”);
the correction value includes a correction value concerning a position of the tool holder in the Y-axis directions relative to the rotation shaft (Paragraph 36 “A local offset, however, may selectively adjust a single feature 16 or group of features 16 by modifying the nominal dimensions and positioning of the manufacturing tool 14 for only that specific feature or group of features”); and
the correction concerning the position of the tool holder in the Y-axis directions is a correction value to eliminate the measured shift, and is calculated after correction concerning a rotation angle of the rotator about the rotation shaft (Paragraph 38 “There may, however, be a residual deviation that remains after the global offset adjustment is applied. The residual deviation may not be acceptable for features with a tight tolerance. Implementation of the local offset may allow the deviation of that particular feature 16 to be adjusted (i.e., during machining)” where the local offset is in the Z-axis direction and clearly occurs after the global offset rotation).
Regarding claim 8, Gu teaches a
a tool holder to hold a cutting tool (Paragraph 1 “controllable cutting tool”);
a workpiece holder to hold a machined object (Paragraph 47 “In many configurations, a fixture may be positioned on the machine table and used to locate and restrain the workpiece 12”);
a mover to move at least one of the tool holder and the workpiece holder to move the cutting tool relative to the workpiece holder (Paragraph 1 “moving a controllable cutting tool”, “may control its position relative to the workpiece via servomotor control”); and
a controller configured or programmed to control the mover (abstract “computer controlled”) and to include:
a program register in which a machining program of a correction piece to correct a position of the mover is registered (Paragraph 25 “…include sufficient memory, processing, and communication capabilities to perform all calculations, data processing, and machine control to produce the workpieces 12 and compensate the manufacturing tool 14 based thereupon“);
a machining controller configured or programmed to control the mover based on the machining program to machine the correction piece (abstract “computer controlled”);
an input interface to which a measurement result of a dimension of a predetermined portion of the correction piece is input (Paragraph 28 “The compensation variables 24 provided by the compensation processor 20 may modify the machining process and attempt to reduce the deviation”);
a calculator configured or programmed to calculate a correction value to be set in the mover based on the result input to the input interface (Paragraph 24 “compensation processor”); and
a corrector configured or programmed to set the correction value calculated in the calculator in the mover (Paragraph 28 “The compensation variables 24 provided by the compensation processor 20 may modify the machining process and attempt to reduce the deviation”).
Gu does not specifically teach a dental cutting machine.
However, Stratton teaches a dental cutting machine (abstract “A method for calibrating a computer numerical control (CNC) machine for milling an implant abutment”).
Both Gu and Stratton are in the field of computer-controlled cutting machines. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Gu with the system of Stratton. Such a combination would merely by applying a known technique (using CNC for dental cutting) to a known device (a CNC machine that corrects dimensions) to yield a predictable result, wherein the predictable result is an error-correcting CNC machine that can also be used for dental cutting.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu in light of Stratton, further in light of US 20210402613 A1 to Eckdart.
The combination of Gu and Stratton teaches the correction method for the dental cutting machine according to claim 3.
Eckdart teaches wherein the machining program is executable to form an identifier to identify one side and another side in the Y-axis directions, on the correction piece by the cutting tool (Paragraph 23 “The reference structure may be a mark applied to the workpiece with structures that provide an orientation”).
Conclusion
/W.X.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117