DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor vehicle, in particular an electric vehicle, which has a heat exchanger assembly must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “transferring heat between two fluids”, and the claim also recites “in particular a liquid and air” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the air flow ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “an air flow”.
The term “minimized” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “minimized” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as any degree of minimization.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation “a motor vehicle”, and the claim also recites “in particular an electric vehicle” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claims 2-13, 15 and 16 are rejected at least insofar as they are dependent on rejected claim(s), and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Case (US6470961B1).
Regarding claim 1, Case teaches a heat exchanger assembly (see Figure 1) for transferring heat between two fluids, in particular a liquid and air (via fan), comprising a frame (12) with at least one fan (20), the frame (12) has two parallel side pieces (22L and 22R), each of which has a groove (14R) into which a heat exchanger (18) can be inserted (see Figure 1), the heat exchanger (18) is substantially perpendicular to the air flow passing through it, generated by the fan (see Figure 1 where the fan’s (20) rotation axis is perpendicular to the heat exchanger (18)) when the heat exchanger (18) is inserted into the groove (14R) such that the heat exchanger (18) is in an assembled state (see Figure 2), the heat exchanger (18) is configured to be inserted into the groove (14R) such that a seal is obtained (i.e. snug fit), and air leakage through the groove (14R) is at least minimized (see Col. 3 Lines [34-43]).
Regarding claim 2, Case further teaches wherein the heat exchanger (18) and fan (20) are substantially parallel to one another in the assembled state (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Case further teaches wherein the side pieces (22L and 22R) each have at least two grooves (14R and 14C) for at least two heat exchangers (18 and 16) to be respectively inserted therein (see Figures 1 and 2), the at least two heat exchangers (18 and 16) when inserted into the respective two grooves are substantially parallel to one another and substantially perpendicular to the air flow passing through them, generated by the at least one fan (20: see Figure 1 where the fan’s (20) rotation axis is perpendicular to the heat exchangers (18 and 16)), the heat exchangers (18 and 16) are configured to be inserted into the grooves (14R and 14C) such that a seal is obtained, and air leakage through the grooves (14R and 14C) is at least minimized (see Col. 3 Lines [34-43]).
Regarding claim 4, Case further teaches wherein the at least two heat exchangers (18 and 16) can be inserted into the grooves (14R and 14C) from above (see Figure 1) or below.
Regarding claim 5, Case further teaches wherein characterized in that the frame (12) is an injection molded part made of plastic (see Col. 3 Lines [14-16]: The recitation " an injection molded part " is considered product-by-process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113)).
Regarding claim 7, Case further teaches wherein fastening contours (28a and 28b) are integrally formed on the frame (12) with which the heat exchanger assembly can be attached to a body of a motor vehicle (see Col. 4 Lines [45-50]).
Regarding claim 8, Case further teaches wherein the heat exchanger (18) is form-fit into the respective groove (14R) of the frame, without forming a gap (i.e. snug fit: see Col. 3 Lines [34-43]).
Regarding claim 9, Case further teaches further comprising a sealing contour (see Case’s Figure 1 annotated by Examiner) on the frame (12), which forms a seal for the grooves (14R).
Case’s Figure 1 annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 10, Case further teaches wherein characterized in that the sealing contour is one of an elastic sealing lip, or a sealing fin (see in Case’s Figure 1 annotated by Examiner where the sealing contour is a sealing fin).
Regarding claim 11, Case further teaches wherein the heat exchanger (18) comprises reservoirs (18T) on opposite sides thereof, wherein the reservoirs (18T) slide into the grooves (14R) formed in the frame (12: see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, Case further teaches wherein the heat exchanger (18) is one of a coolant cooler, condenser, or oil cooler (see Col. 3 Lines [34-43]).
Regarding claim 14, Case further teaches a motor vehicle, in particular an electric vehicle, which has a heat exchanger assembly according to claim 1 (see Col. 4 Lines [45-50] and the rejection of claim 1 where Case teaches a motor vehicle which has a heat exchanger assembly according to claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Case further teaches wherein the frame (12) is made of a single piece of plastic (see Col. 3 Lines [14-16]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case (US6470961B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RISKI (US20240077088A1).
Regarding claim 12, Case does not teach wherein the heat exchanger assembly has a diffusor, wherein the diffusor is configured to be slid onto the heat exchanger.
RISKI teaches a heat exchanger assembly (1: see Figure 1) comprising a heat exchanger 5) and diffusor (4), wherein the diffusor is configured to be slid onto the heat exchanger (5: see Figure 1).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the heat exchanger assembly of Case with a diffusor, wherein the diffusor is configured to be slid onto the heat exchanger, as taught by RISKI, such provision would provide the benefit of redirecting the air flow into the heat exchanger(s) thus increase the heat transfer rate.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case (US6470961B1).
Regarding claim 16, Case does not teach wherein the heat exchanger is form-fit into the respective groove of the frame with a gap of 0.5 mm to 1.0 mm.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the gap of the frame would result in a difference in function of the Case assembly. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the gap of Case, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the assembly would function as intended being given the claimed gap. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the heat exchangers fit in the grooves without forming gaps, or with gaps of between 0.5 mm and 1.0 mm (specification at Page 5. Lines [1-3]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Case to have a gap of 0.5 mm to 1.0 mm as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763