DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1-20
35 U.S.C. 102
1-20
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), regarding Application No. KR 10-2024-0072368, filed on 06/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 10/23/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner Note - Prior Art
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-01.2024] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Assoc., Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) . See also MPEP §2123. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brooks et al. US 2018/0322791 A1.
Regarding claim 1: Brooks teaches: A system for controlling a plurality of mobilities, ([0002], [0004]) wherein the plurality of mobilities include a driving mobility and a driven mobility, the system comprising: ([0003], [0031]-[0033]),
one or more processors; and ([0035])
a storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, enable the one or more processors to: ([0035])
receive data confirming a state of the driving mobility and the driven mobility, ([0032], [0036], [0080], [0110])
determine whether a connection condition is satisfied based on the data, ([0176]-[0178])
transmit a connection command to the driving mobility and the driven mobility in response to the connection condition being satisfied, ([0137], [0176]-[0178], [0183], [0246], [0248])
control the driving mobility and the driven mobility to be mechanically connected by a mechanical coupling in response to receiving the connection command, and ([0003], [0031], [0176]-[0178], [0183], [0213]-[0215])
control the driving mobility and the driven mobility to perform an integrated mission in response to completion of the mechanical connection of the driving mobility and the driven mobility ([0031], [0044]-[0048], [0076], [0101], [0183]).
Regarding claim 2: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further enable the one or more processors to: select an operation mode from an operation mode set; and ([0036], [0101])
distribute roles to the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the selected operation mode so that the distributed roles can be performed by the driving mobility and the driven mobility ([0037], [0039], [0076]).
Regarding claim 3: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 2, wherein the operation mode set includes: a traction mode configured to operate only with a first driving force of the driving mobility; ([0037], [0039])
a distributed mode configured such that the driving mobility and the driven mobility distribute and process a distributed mode calculation and an operation for performing the integrated mission; and ([0040]-[0043], [0242])
an expansion mode configured such that both the first driving force of the driving mobility and a second driving force of the driven mobility are used ([0076]-[0077], [0242], [0225], [0176]).
Regarding claim 4: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 3, wherein the instructions further enable the one or more processors to, in the traction mode, configure the driving mobility to process a traction mode calculation for controlling the integrated mission and ([0051]-[0053])
configure the driving mobility to control the operation of the driving mobility according to the traction mode calculation ([0054]-[0058], [0225]).
Regarding claim 5: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 3, wherein the instructions further enable the one or more processors to, in the distributed mode, configure the driving mobility and the driven mobility to process the distributed mode calculation for controlling the integrated mission and configure the driving mobility and the driven mobility to control the operation of the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the distributed mode calculation ([0040]-[0043], [0242], [0197]-[0199]).
Regarding claim 6: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 3, wherein the instructions further enable the one or more processors to, in the expansion mode, configure the driving mobility to process an expansion mode calculation for controlling the integrated mission and configure the driving mobility to control the operation of the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the expansion mode calculation ([0076]-[0077], [0242], [0225], [0176], [0197]-[0199]).
Regarding claim 7: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein instructions further enable the one or more processors to configure a control server, the driving mobility, or the driven mobility to control the driving mobility and the driven mobility to be separated from each other in response to completion of the performance of the integrated mission ([0137], [0213]-[0215], [0246], [0248]).
Regarding claim 8: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein instructions further enable the one or more processors to configure a control server to transmit the state of the driven mobility or the driving mobility to the driving mobility or the driven mobility ([0137], [0146], [0246], [0248]).
Regarding claim 9: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 8, wherein the driving mobility or the driven mobility includes a user interface, and wherein the instructions further enable the one or more processors to provide the state of the driving mobility or the driven mobility to be displayed through the user interface ([0248], [0251]).
Regarding claim 10: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the instructions further enable the one or more processors to configure the driving mobility or the driven mobility to receive a driver's input through the user interface and transmit the received driver's input to the control server ([0246], [0248], [0251]).
Regarding claim 11: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 1, further comprising a control server configured to be communicatively connected to the driving mobility and the driven mobility, wherein the one or more processors are located in the control server ([0137], [0146]).
Regarding claim 12: Brooks further teaches: The system of claim 1, further comprising a control server configured to be communicatively connected to the driving mobility and the driven mobility; ([0137], [0176]-[0178], [0183], [0213]-[0215], [0246], [0248])
wherein the control server is configured to receive the data confirming the state of the driving mobility and the driven mobility, ([0032], [0036], [0080], [0110], [0213]-[0215], [0246], [0248])
determine whether the connection condition is satisfied based on the data, and transmit a connection command; and ([0137], [0176]-[0178], [0183], [0246], [0248])
wherein the driving mobility or the driven mobility is configured to control the driving mobility and the driven mobility to be mechanically connected and to control the driving mobility and the driven mobility to perform the integrated mission ([0031], [0044]-[0048], [0076], [0101], [0183], [0213]-[0215], [0246], [0248]).
Regarding claim 13: Brooks teaches: A method for controlling a plurality of mobilities, ([0002], [0004])
wherein the plurality of mobilities include a driving mobility and a driven mobility, and ([0003], [0031]-[0033])
wherein the driving mobility and the driven mobility can be communicatively connected to each other and communicatively connected to a control server, the method comprising: ([0137], [0146], [0213]-[0215], [0246], [0248])
determining, by the control server, whether a connection condition is satisfied; ([0176]-[0178])
controlling, by the control server or the driving mobility, a mechanical connection of the driving mobility and the driven mobility in response to the connection condition being satisfied; and ([0003], [0031], [0176]-[0178], [0183], [0213]-[0215])
controlling, by the control server or the driving mobility, the driving mobility and the driven mobility to perform an integrated mission in response to completion of the mechanical connection of the driving mobility and the driven mobility ([0031], [0044]-[0048], [0076], [0101], [0183]).
Regarding claim 14: Brooks further teaches: The method of claim 13, wherein the controlling of the driving mobility and the driven mobility to perform the integrated mission comprises: selecting an operation mode from an operation mode set; ([0036], [0101])
distributing a role to the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the operation mode; and performing the distributed role by the driving mobility and the driven mobility ([0037], [0039], [0076]).
Regarding claim 15: Brooks further teaches: The method of claim 14, wherein the operation mode set comprises: a traction mode configured to operate only with a first driving force of the driving mobility; ([0037], [0039])
a distributed mode configured such that the driving mobility and the driven mobility distribute and process a distributed mode calculation and an operation for performing the integrated mission; and ([0040]-[0043], [0242])
an expansion mode configured so that both the first driving force of the driving mobility and a second driving force of the driven mobility are used ([0076]-[0077], [0242], [0225], [0176]).
Regarding claim 16: Brooks further teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein, in the traction mode, the driving mobility is configured to process a traction mode calculation for controlling the integrated mission and ([0051]-[0053]) control the operation of the driving mobility according to the traction mode calculation ([0054]-[0058], [0225]).
Regarding claim 17: Brooks further teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein, in the distributed mode, the driving mobility and the driven mobility are configured to process the distributed mode calculation for controlling the integrated mission and control the operation of the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the distributed mode calculation ([0040]-[0043], [0242], [0197]-[0199]).
Regarding claim 18: Brooks further teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein, in the expansion mode, a processor of the driving mobility is configured to process an expansion mode calculation for controlling the integrated mission and control the operation of the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the expansion mode calculation ([0076]-[0077], [0242], [0225], [0176], [0197]-[0199]).
Regarding claim 19: Brooks further teaches: The method of claim 13, further comprising controlling the driving mobility and the driven mobility so that the driving mobility and the driven mobility are separated from each other in response to completion of the performance of the integrated mission by the control server, the driving mobility, or the driven mobility ([0137], [0146], [0213]-[0215], [0246], [0248]).
Regarding claim 20: Brooks teaches: A method for controlling a plurality of mobilities, ([0002], [0004]) wherein the plurality of mobilities include a driving mobility and a driven mobility, the method comprising: ([0003], [0031]-[0033])
determining whether a connection condition is satisfied; ([0176]-[0178])
controlling a mechanical connection of the driving mobility and the driven mobility in response to the connection condition being satisfied; and ([0003], [0031], [0137], [0176]-[0178], [0183], [0213]-[0215])
controlling the driving mobility and the driven mobility to perform an integrated mission in response to completion of the mechanical connection of the driving mobility and the driven mobility, ([0031], [0044]-[0048], [0076], [0101], [0183])
wherein the controlling of the driving mobility and the driven mobility to perform the integrated mission includes: ([0031], [0044]-[0048], [0076], [0101], [0183])
selecting an operation mode from an operation mode set, wherein the operation mode set includes: ([0036], [0101])
a traction mode configured to operate only with a first driving force of the driving mobility, ([0037], [0039])
a distributed mode configured such that the driving mobility and the driven mobility distribute and process a distributed mode calculation and an operation for performing the integrated mission, and ([0040]-[0043], [0242])
an expansion mode configured so that both the first driving force of the driving mobility and a second driving force of the driven mobility are used, ([0076]-[0077], [0242], [0225], [0176])
distributing roles to the driving mobility and the driven mobility according to the selected operation mode, and ([0037], [0039], [0076])
performing the distributed roles by the driving mobility and the driven mobility ([0031], [0044]-[0048], [0076], [0101], [0183]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DEL CASTILLO IGAREDA et al. US 20210232156 A1: A semi-automated convoy transport system for vehicles, wherein a first vehicle referred to as leader includes a system for positioning the vehicle with respect to the infrastructure recording the trajectory over which it drives and transmits said trajectory, together with other information, to the rest of vehicles of the convoy that follow it, via a communication channel. The vehicles that follow the leader include a positioning system and a navigation system which, using the data sent by the leader, follow the trajectory travelled by the leader. In addition, the system includes in the vehicles two front plugs and two rear plugs for receiving respective 8-conductor spiral cables and an extensible rod ending in a V-shaped clamp, which allows the resilient spiral cables to be connected to or disconnected from the vehicle in front or behind.
Thieberger et al. US 20200307437 A1: One embodiment of an unmanned carrier for carrying urban manned vehicles includes a computer, a motorized lift, an autonomous-driving control system, and a safety frame. The computer synchronizes pick-up of manned vehicles by the unmanned carrier; wherein each manned vehicle is an autonomous on-road vehicle that transports one or more occupants in a compartment, is authorized by law to drive in a residential neighborhood, and is unauthorized by law to drive on the highway on its own because it is not safe enough for highway speed. The motorized lift enables the manned vehicles to get on and get off the unmanned carrier without human intervention. The autonomous-driving control system navigates the unmanned carrier autonomously on a highway. And the safety frame protects the occupants who sit in the carried manned vehicles during a collision at highway speed.
Zuckerman et al. US 20230192143 A1: Systems and methods for delivering packages and consumer items using a plurality of package containers acting as lockers for the items, in which the plurality of package containers are transported between delivery locations by at least one on-road vehicle operative to straddle-over and grab any of the package containers, carry the package containers from one delivery location to another, and release/straddle-off the package containers at delivery locations. Some of the package containers may include multiple lockers, in which case the on-road vehicle transports and releases a package container in a first location, and while the package container awaits an item to be picked up from one of its lockers, the on-road vehicle continues on its way to handle other package containers. When the item is finally picked-up from the locker, the on-road vehicle may return, grab the package container and move it to another location or back to a warehouse.
Jacobson et al. US 20140246257 A1: A robotic mobile low-profile transport vehicle is disclosed. The vehicle can comprise a first transport module having a frame assembly, a mobility system, and a propulsion system and a second transport module having a frame assembly and a mobility system. A multi-degree of freedom coupling assemblage can join the first and second transport modules together. The vehicle can include a first platform supported about the frame assembly of the first transport module, and a second platform supported about the frame assembly of the second transport module. Each of the platforms can be configured to receive a load for transport. Additionally, the vehicle can include a control system that can operate to facilitate intra-module communication and coordination to provide a coordinated operating mode of the first and second transport modules and the coupling assemblage about a given terrain.
Crossley et al. US 20240140495 A1: A method is provided that may include receiving consist commands from a vehicle system controller at a consist controller onboard at least one consist of a multi-vehicle system. The consist commands may direct one or more of a power call or a braking call by the at least one consist. The method may include determining individual vehicle commands for each of an electric vehicle and a fuel-based vehicle in the at least one consist. The individual vehicle commands may be determined to achieve the power or braking call from the at least one consist. The individual vehicle command for the electric vehicle may differ from the individual vehicle command for the fuel-based vehicle. The method may include controlling motoring or braking of the electric vehicle and the fuel-based vehicle by communicating the individual vehicle commands to the electric vehicle and the fuel-based vehicle.
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658