DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig. 2 200. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alexia et al. (US 2004/0193549).
Regarding claim 1, Alexia discloses an imaging system comprising:
an imaging device and a supply item installed in the imaging device (see Fig. 1 and paras 101-102, printer unit 14 contains a printer cartridge 46),
the imaging device comprising:
a system control component having host firmware stored thereon, the system control component comprising a print head operation module actuatable by the host firmware to transmit signals to a print head of the imaging system, the signals configured to cause the print head to operate (see Fig. 1 and paras 101-102 and 126, unit 68 is an ASIC that incorporates memory in the form of RAM or EEPROM, which is host firmware, print member 46 is a printer cartridge that includes an ink reservoir and a print head 50, a tag identifier 58 communicates authorization information to the print control module 40 causing the print head 50 to print when authorized to do so);
an imaging device security device (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18);
a monitor-enforce module, the monitor-enforce module comprising:
a monitor interface configured to receive security information from the imaging device security device, wherein the security information indicates an authentication status of the supply item (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data), and
an enforce module, the enforce module being configured to selectively interrupt said signals transmitted by the print head operation module, based on the security information (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data); and
a security communication system configured to allow the monitor interface of the monitor-enforce module to receive communication from the imaging device security device (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18).
Regarding claim 2, Alexia further discloses wherein the supply item comprises a supply security device and the imaging system further comprises a supply communication system configured to allow communication between the imaging device security device and the supply security device (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18).
Regarding claim 4, Alexia further discloses wherein the imaging device security device is configured to send the security information to the host firmware via the security communication system (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18).
Regarding claim 5, Alexia further discloses wherein the monitor-enforce module is on the system control component and the monitor-enforce module comprises a hardware block on the system control component, configured to receive the security information and selectively interrupt the print head operation (see paras 94, 196, 205, 207, 210, and 220-221, unit 68 is an ASIC that incorporates memory in the form of RAM or EEPROM, module 54 is a thin double-sided printed circuit).
Regarding claim 6, Alexia further discloses wherein the enforce module is configured to interrupt the signals transmitted by the print head operation module via a gate (see paras 210 and 216, a logic switch selectively authorizes the passage of a signal and set 122 of diodes implements an “OR” logic function, these are logic gates).
Regarding claim 7, Alexia further discloses wherein the monitor-enforce module is separate to the system control component (see Fig. 1 and paras 101-102 and 104, CPU 18 and monitor enforce module 54 are separate).
Regarding claim 8, Alexia further discloses wherein the monitor-enforce module is a programmable device (see para 183, a key can be programmed when installing the module 54 on the printer cartridge or programmed directly into the processing unit 68).
Regarding claim 9, Alexia further discloses wherein the programmable device is locked or lockable (see paras 178-183, encryption keys are used to lock data).
Regarding claim 10, Alexia further discloses wherein the imaging device security device is a leader of the supply communication system (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18).
Regarding claim 11, Alexia further discloses wherein the host firmware is a leader of the security communication system (see paras 101-102 and 128, unit 68 is an ASIC that incorporates memory in the form of RAM or EEPROM, which is host firmware).
Regarding claim 12, Alexia further discloses wherein the host firmware is not connected to the supply communication system (see paras 101-102 and 128, unit 68 is an ASIC that incorporates memory in the form of RAM or EEPROM, which is host firmware).
Regarding claim 13, Alexia further discloses selectively interrupting, by the enforce module, the signals transmitted by the print head operation module, based on the security information (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data).
Regarding claim 14, Alexia further discloses wherein interrupting, by the enforce module, comprises operating a gate (see paras 210 and 216, a logic switch selectively authorizes the passage of a signal and set 122 of diodes implements an “OR” logic function, these are logic gates).
Regarding claim 15, Alexia further discloses wherein the imaging system further comprises a supply communication system, the supply communication system configured to allow communication between the imaging device security device and a supply security device of the supply item, and the method further comprises:
receiving authentication information, by the imaging device security device on the supply communication system from the supply security device (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data), and
determining, by the imaging device security device, the authentication status of the supply item based on the authentication information (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data).
Regarding claim 16, Alexia further discloses sending, by the imaging device security device, the security information via the security communication system, to the host firmware, and receiving, by the monitor interface on the security communication system from the imaging device security device, the security information (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data).
Regarding claim 20 Alexia discloses an electronic system comprising:
an electronic device and a supply item installed in the electronic device (see Fig. 1 and paras 101-102, printer unit 14 contains a printer cartridge 46),
the electronic device comprising:
a system control component having host firmware stored thereon, the system control component comprising a component operation module actuatable by the host firmware to transmit signals to an operation component of the electronic system, the signals configured to cause the operation component to operate (see Fig. 1 and paras 101-102 and 126, unit 68 is an ASIC that incorporates memory in the form of RAM or EEPROM, which is host firmware, print member 46 is a printer cartridge that includes an ink reservoir and a print head 50, a tag identifier 58 communicates authorization information to the print control module 40 causing the print head 50 to print when authorized to do so);
an electronic device security device (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18);
a monitor-enforce module, the monitor-enforce module comprising:
a monitor interface configured to receive security information from the electronic device security device, wherein the security information indicates an authentication status of the supply item (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data), and
an enforce module, the enforce module being configured to selectively interrupt said signals transmitted by the component operation module , based on the security information (see paras 101-102, 104, 106, 108-110, 127-128, 176, 178, 189, 196, and 202-203, when integrity of the data to be printed has been recognized then the unit 104 authorizes printing of the data but if the data has not been authenticated or the integrity has not been recognized then the unit 104 does not authorize printing of the data); and
a security communication system configured to allow the monitor interface of the monitor-enforce module to receive communication from the electronic device security device (see paras 104-110 and 176-178, inkjet printer cartridge 46 is equipped with an identification module enabling identification of the printer cartridge by CPU 18 of the unit 12 that verifies the print member 46 is an authorized print member, module 20 then generates a data signature, wireless communication between the print member 46 and the unit 12 enables the identification and verification of the print member by CPU 18).
Claims 3, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Alexia as applied to claims 1, 13, and 16 above, and further in view of Ward et al. (US 2016/0214391).
Regarding claim 3, Alexia does not disclose expressly wherein the supply security device is configured to perform a challenge received via the supply communication system and send the response via the supply communication system, thereby enabling authentication of the supply item, by the imaging device security device.
Ward discloses wherein the supply security device is configured to perform a challenge received via the supply communication system and send the response via the supply communication system, thereby enabling authentication of the supply item, by the imaging device security device (see para 20, memory 110 includes an authentication algorithm 126 executable on processor 108 of controller 106 to determine the authenticity of the replaceable supply device 104, the supply device 104 is determined to be authentic when it responds correctly to a cryptographic timing challenge 128 issued by the authentication algorithm 126, and when its response 130 to the challenge is completed within an expected window of time).
Regarding claim 17, Alexia does not disclose expressly wherein the supply security device performs a challenge received via the supply communication system and sends a response to the challenge via the supply communication system, thereby enabling authentication of the supply item.
Ward discloses wherein the supply security device performs a challenge received via the supply communication system and sends a response to the challenge via the supply communication system, thereby enabling authentication of the supply item (see para 20, memory 110 includes an authentication algorithm 126 executable on processor 108 of controller 106 to determine the authenticity of the replaceable supply device 104, the supply device 104 is determined to be authentic when it responds correctly to a cryptographic timing challenge 128 issued by the authentication algorithm 126, and when its response 130 to the challenge is completed within an expected window of time).
Regarding claim 18, Alexia does not disclose expressly wherein the enforce module interrupts the signals unless security information confirming authenticity of all supply items in the imaging system has been received during a preceding time period.
Ward discloses wherein the enforce module interrupts the signals unless security information confirming authenticity of all supply items in the imaging system has been received during a preceding time period (see para 20, memory 110 includes an authentication algorithm 126 executable on processor 108 of controller 106 to determine the authenticity of the replaceable supply device 104, the supply device 104 is determined to be authentic when it responds correctly to a cryptographic timing challenge 128 issued by the authentication algorithm 126, and when its response 130 to the challenge is completed within an expected window of time).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the authentication challenge, as described by Ward, with the system of Alexia.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide for identifying an original device from a fake one thereby increasing user friendliness and system efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ward with Alexia to obtain the invention as specified in claims 3, 17, and 18.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Alexia as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Katayama et al. (US 6,786,659).
Alexia does not disclose expressly wherein the print head operation module is a video output.
Katayama discloses wherein the print head operation module is a video output (see abstract and col 1 lines 47-60, a printer to print a video signal using printing media including a printing ink ribbon and paper, an image processing means for storing a plurality of data different from each other in a value on which the color appearance characteristic of the printing media depends and converting, using the plurality of data, an image composed of R, G and B video signals based on the video signal to a complementary-color image consisting of a desired number of frames).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine a print head to output video data, as described by Katayama, with the system of Alexia.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide printing of any type or form of data as long as the printing is authorized thereby increasing system flexibility and efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Katayama with Alexia to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Conclusion
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681