DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the premotor filter chamber and configured to configured to cooperate with the”, and should be “the premotor filter chamber and configured to cooperate with the”, as best understood, for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conrad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0253437 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Conrad discloses a surface cleaning apparatus (100 Figs. 1-12) comprising:
a cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12) having an inlet (120 Figs. 1-12);
a dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) coupled to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12), the dust cup being configured to selectively pivot (pivoting via 248 Fig. 3) between at least three indexed positions, wherein each indexed position is a position at which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is selectively retained, the at least three indexed positions including:
a first position (first position shown in Figs. 1, 2, and 6) in which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is fluidly coupled to the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12);
a second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7) in which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is fluidly decoupled from the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12); and
a third position (third
a dust cup biasing mechanism (248 Figs. 2-4) to urge the dust cup towards the second position; and
a stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12), wherein a force exerted (outward swinging force of 248) by the dust cup biasing mechanism (248 Figs. 2-4) is insufficient to overcome a force exerted by the stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12), selectively retaining the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) in the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7).
Referring to claim 4: Conrad discloses the surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein, when the dust cup is in the third position (third
Referring to claim 5: Conrad discloses the surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12; Paragraphs 0134, 0135) configured to cooperate with the stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12) to retain the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) in the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7).
Referring to claim 6: Conrad discloses the surface cleaning apparatus of claim 5, wherein the slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12) is configured to slide (shown sliding in Figs. 7, 9, and 12) in response to pivotal movement of the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) from the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7) toward the third position (third
Referring to claim 7: Conrad discloses the surface cleaning apparatus of claim 6 further comprising a removal release (264 Figs. 2 and 3) pivotally coupled (pivoting via 272 Figs. 2 and 3) to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12), the removal release being configured to transition between a latching position and a releasing position (shown in Figs. 2 and 3), wherein, when the removal release (264 Figs. 2 and 3) is in the latching position (shown in Fig. 2), sliding movement of the slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12) is substantially prevented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0253437 A1) and Tonderys (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0090701 A1).
Referring to claim 2: Conrad discloses the surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a filter chamber (178 Fig. 3) coupled to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12).
But is silent on a filter chamber specifically being removably coupled.
Tonderys et al. teaches a filter chamber (1314 Figs. 31C and D) which is specifically removably coupled (Paragraph 0134) to the cleaner body (1301 Figs. 31A-D and 32A-D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Conrad et al. with the removable filter chamber of Tonderys et al. for the purpose of easily cleaning or replacing part of the cleaning chamber.
Referring to claim 3: Conrad as modified teaches the surface cleaning apparatus of claim 2, wherein the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is pivotally coupled to the filter chamber (178 Fig. 3).
Referring to claim 8: Conrad teaches a vacuum cleaner (100 Figs. 1-12) comprising:
a cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12) having a handle (112 Fig. 1) and an inlet (120 Figs. 1-12);
a suction motor (144 Fig. 3) fluidly coupled to the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12); a premotor filter chamber (178 Fig. 3) coupled to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12) and fluidly coupled to the suction motor (144 Fig. 3); and
a dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) coupled to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12), the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) being configured to selectively pivot between at least three indexed positions, wherein each indexed position is a position at which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is selectively retained, the at least three indexed positions including:
a first position (first position shown in Figs. 1, 2, and 6) in which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is fluidly coupled to the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12);
a second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7) in which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is fluidly decoupled from the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12); and
a third position (third
a dust cup biasing mechanism (248 Figs. 2-4) to urge the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) towards the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7); and
a stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12), wherein a force exerted (outward swinging force of 248) by the dust cup biasing mechanism (248 Figs. 2-4) is insufficient to overcome a force exerted by the stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12), selectively retaining the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) in the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7).
But is silent on the premotor filter chamber specifically being removably coupled to the cleaner body.
Tonderys et al. teaches a filter chamber (1314 Figs. 31C and D) which is specifically removably coupled (Paragraph 0134) to the cleaner body (1301 Figs. 31A-D and 32A-D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Conrad et al. with the removable filter chamber of Tonderys et al. for the purpose of easily cleaning or replacing part of the cleaning chamber.
Referring to claim 9: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 8, wherein, when the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is in the third position (third
Referring to claim 10: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 8 further comprising a slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12; Paragraphs 0134, 0135) slidably coupled to the premotor filter chamber (178 Fig. 3) and configured to configured to cooperate with the stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12) to retain the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) in the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7).
Referring to claim 11: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 10, wherein the slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12) is configured to slide in response to pivotal movement of the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) from the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7) toward the third position (third
Referring to claim 12: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 11 further comprising a removal release (264 Figs. 2 and 3) pivotally coupled (pivoting via 272 Figs. 2 and 3) to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12), the removal release being configured to transition between a latching position and a releasing position (shown in Figs. 2 and 3), wherein, when the removal release (264 Figs. 2 and 3) is in the latching position (shown in Fig. 2), sliding movement of the slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12) is substantially prevented.
Referring to claim 13: Conrad teaches a vacuum cleaner (100 Figs. 1-12) comprising:
a cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12) having a handle (112 Fig. 1) and an inlet (120 Figs. 1-12), the inlet being opposite the handle (112 Fig. 1) along a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 2/2’ shown in Fig. 1) of the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12);
a suction motor (144 Fig. 3) fluidly coupled to the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12);
a premotor filter chamber (178 Fig. 3) coupled to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12) and fluidly coupled to the suction motor (144 Fig. 3); and
a dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) fluidly coupled to the suction motor (144 Fig. 3) and pivotally coupled to the premotor filter chamber (178 Fig. 3), the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) being configured to selectively pivot between at least three indexed positions, wherein each indexed position is a position at which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is selectively retained, the at least three indexed positions including:
a first position (first position shown in Figs. 1, 2, and 6) in which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is fluidly coupled to the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12);
a second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7) in which the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is fluidly decoupled from the inlet (120 Figs. 1-12); and
a third position (third
a dust cup biasing mechanism (248 Figs. 2-4) to urge the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) towards the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7); and
a stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12), wherein a force exerted (outward swinging force of 248) by the dust cup biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12) is insufficient to overcome a force exerted by the stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12), selectively retaining the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) in the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7).
But is silent on the premotor filter chamber specifically being removably coupled to the cleaner body.
Tonderys et al. teaches a filter chamber (1314 Figs. 31C and D) which is specifically removably coupled (Paragraph 0134) to the cleaner body (1301 Figs. 31A-D and 32A-D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Conrad et al. with the removable filter chamber of Tonderys et al. for the purpose of easily cleaning or replacing part of the cleaning chamber.
Referring to claim 14: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 13, wherein, when the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) is in the third position (third
Referring to claim 15: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 13 further comprising a slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12; Paragraphs 0134, 0135) slidably coupled to the premotor filter chamber (178 Fig. 3) and configured to configured to cooperate (shown in Fig. 4) with the stop biasing mechanism (280, 308, and 304 Figs. 6-9 and 12) to retain the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) in the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7).
Referring to claim 16: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 15, wherein the slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12) is configured to slide in response to pivotal movement of the dust cup (208 Figs. 1-12) from the second position (second position shown in Figs. 3-5, and 7) toward the third position (third
Referring to claim 17: Conrad as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 16 further comprising a removal release (264 Figs. 2 and 3) pivotally coupled (pivoting via 272 Figs. 2 and 3) to the cleaner body (108 Figs. 1-12), the removal release being configured to transition between a latching position and a releasing position (shown in Figs. 2 and 3), wherein, when the removal release (264 Figs. 2 and 3) is in the latching position (shown in Fig. 2), sliding movement of the slidable stop (304 Figs. 7, 9, and 12) is substantially prevented.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723