DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benaron et al. (USPGPUB No. 2006/0098921, from hereinafter “Benaron”).
Regarding claim 1, Benaron teaches a hybrid plug connector configured to terminate an optical conductor and a plurality of electrical conductors, said hybrid plug connector comprising: a plurality of electrical contacts (electrical contacts 109) configured to terminate the plurality of electrical conductors (contact elements 109), the plurality of electrical contacts being longitudinally offset from one another and configured to at least partially radially surround the optical conductor (optical fiber terminates in a ferrule 108); and an electrical insulator (rounded portion 118 of shaft) securing and separating the plurality of electrical contacts (see Figures 1-7, paragraphs 66-71).
Regarding claim 8, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 1, the electrical insulator comprising a glass filled polymer material and being overmolded onto the plurality of electrical contacts (see paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 9, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 1, the hybrid plug connector is configured to terminate a catheter comprising the optical conductor and the plurality of electrical conductors (see Figure 11, paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 10, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 9, further comprising a flexible strain relief configured to attach the hybrid plug connector to the catheter (see Figure 11, paragraph 71).
Regarding claims 11-12, Benaron teaches a catheter (catheter probe 203), comprising: an optical conductor and a plurality of electrical conductors; a sheath (catheter body 207) in which the optical conductor and the plurality of electrical conductors is disposed; and the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 1 terminating the optical conductor and the plurality of electrical conductors and further, the catheter in accordance with claim 11, further comprising a flexible strain relief attaching the hybrid plug connector to the sheath (see Figure 11, paragraph 71).
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (USPGPUB No. 2013/0121648, from hereinafter “Hung”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Hung teaches a hybrid plug connector (plug 100) configured to terminate an optical conductor and a plurality of electrical conductors, said hybrid plug connector comprising: a plurality of electrical contacts (conductor with front metal tip 1) configured to terminate the plurality of electrical conductors, the plurality of electrical contacts being longitudinally offset from one another and configured to at least partially radially surround the optical conductor (fiber ferrule 2); and an electrical insulator (insulating ring 6) securing and separating the plurality of electrical contacts (see Figures 1-4, paragraphs 40-45).
Regarding claim 2, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a ferrule (fiber ferrule 2) configured to receive and terminate the optical conductor, wherein the ferrule is disposed in a first electrical contact in the plurality of electrical contacts (see Figures 4a and 4b, paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 3, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 2, wherein the ferrule and the first electrical contact are concentric with the optical conductor and wherein the ferrule is in a friction fit within the first electrical contact (see Figures 2-4, paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 4, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 2, wherein the first electrical contact defines a groove (grooves 42, 43) configured to receive a latch of a corresponding hybrid receptacle connector, the groove and the latch being configured to secure the hybrid plug connector to the corresponding hybrid receptacle connector (see Figure 2, paragraph 49).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 2, the electrical insulator defining a key seat groove (key 45 engaged the keyway 48 on ferrule 2) configured to receive a key feature of a corresponding hybrid receptacle connector, the key seat groove and the key feature being configured to cooperate to align the ferrule with a corresponding ferrule that is configured to receive and terminate another optical conductor in the corresponding hybrid receptacle connector (see Figures 2, 10, paragraph 49, 65).
Regarding claim 6, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 1, wherein at least one electrical contact in the plurality of electrical contacts is configured to radially surround the optical conductor.
Regarding claim 7, Hung teaches the hybrid plug connector in accordance with claim 1, wherein at least one electrical contact in the plurality of electrical contacts has a different radial distance from the optical conductor than other electrical contacts in the plurality of electrical contacts (see Figure 3, paragraphs 48-49).
Regarding claim 15, Hung teaches the hybrid receptacle connector in accordance with claim 13, wherein the plurality of electrical contacts comprise electrically conductive toroidal springs (see Figure 7, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 16, Hung teaches the hybrid receptacle connector in accordance with claim 15, wherein the plurality of electrical contacts further comprise electrically conductive rings in which the toroidal springs are disposed springs (see Figure 7, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 17, Hung teaches the hybrid receptacle connector in accordance with claim 15, wherein one toroidal spring in the plurality of electrical contacts has a larger diameter than another toroidal spring in the plurality of electrical contacts springs (see Figure 7, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 18, Hung teaches the hybrid receptacle connector in accordance with claim 15, further comprising: a housing containing the electrical insulator; and a releasable latch disposed within the housing that is configured to engage a groove in a corresponding hybrid plug connector, the groove and the latch configured to secure the hybrid receptacle connector to the corresponding hybrid plug connector (see Figure 10, paragraphs 49, 64-65, key acts as latch).
Regarding claim 19, Hung teaches the hybrid receptacle connector in accordance with claim 18, further comprising: a lock shaft defining the latch; and a compression spring configured to maintain the latch within the groove until a force applied to the lock shaft overcomes a spring force of the compression spring and moves the latch out of the groove (see Figure 10, paragraphs 49, 64-65).
Regarding claim 20, Hung teaches the hybrid receptacle connector in accordance with claim 19, further comprising: an actuation button configured to move the lock shaft; and a cover slidably attached to the housing (mating keyway) and configured to conceal the actuation button when in a first position and expose the actuation button when moved to a second position (window 49 to show how the shaft can move) (see Figures 10, 12, paragraphs 64-65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0089290 to Sloey et al.
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874