DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krumpelman et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,218,927 B2, hereinafter “Krumpelman”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Krumpelman discloses a mechanical key component, comprising a circuit board (520; FIG. 5A) with a first sensing electrode (570; FIG. 5A), an elastic element (540, 560; FIG. 5A) disposed on the circuit board (520), wherein a movable portion (540) of the elastic element (540, 560) is connected to a second sensing electrode (col. 11, ll. 60-63), and a key cap (510; FIG. 5A) movably disposed on the elastic element (540, 560), wherein the elastic element (540, 560) enables the key cap (510) to move between an unpressed position and a pressed position (FIGS. 5A and 5B), and the movable portion (540) drives the second sensing electrode to move relative to the first sensing electrode (570) without contacting the first sensing electrode (570; FIG. 5B), wherein, when a first sensing signal is provided to at least one of the first sensing electrode (570) and the second sensing electrode (col. 5, ll. 45-64), a coupling capacitance is formed between the first sensing electrode (570) and the second sensing electrode (col. 5, ll. 45-64), and in response to the key cap (510) being moved between the unpressed position and the pressed position, the coupling capacitance changes to indicate whether the key cap (510) is in the unpressed position or the pressed position (col. 5, ll. 45-64), wherein, in response to the key cap (510) moving between the unpressed position and the pressed position along a first direction, the movable portion (540) drives the second sensing electrode to move relative to the first sensing electrode (570) along a second direction (FIGS. 5A and 5B), the second direction is parallel to a surface of the circuit board (520), and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (compare du and dp; FIGS. 5A and 5B).
Regarding Claim 8, Krumpelman discloses that the key cap (510) is moved between the unpressed position and the pressed position along a first direction (a z direction; FIGS. 5A and 5B), and the movable part drives the second sensing electrode to move relative to the first sensing electrode (570) along the first direction (FIGS. 5A and 5B; col. 5, ll. 45-64).
Claim 9 includes language substantially similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above with respect to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16, Krumpelman discloses that the key cap (510) is moved between the unpressed position and the pressed position along a first direction (a z direction; FIGS. 5A and 5B), and the movable part drives the second sensing electrode to move relative to the first sensing electrode (570) along the first direction (FIGS. 5A and 5B; col. 5, ll. 45-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krumpelman.
Krumpelman discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed fourth sensing electrode and the claimed fifth sensing electrode.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such electrodes to increase detection reliability and positioning between adjacent electrodes since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 U.S.P.Q. 8.
Claims 14 and 15 include language substantially similar to that of Claims 6 and 7, respectively, and are rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above with respect to Claims 6 and 7, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831