DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 10/23/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 10/23/2024, 6/18/2025, 10/3/2025, and 1/21/2026 have been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (USPAN 2022/0060981).
Consider claims 1 and 20, Zhou discloses an apparatus for configuring a network energy-saving cell (see abstract and paragraphs 491 and 492, and figure 34, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), and a corresponding a network device, comprising a non-transitory computer readable memory and processor circuitry, the non-transitory computer readable memory storing a computer program, and the processor circuitry being configured to execute the computer program (see abstract and paragraphs 491 and 492, and figure 34, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), the apparatus comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit first information to a terminal equipment, the first information being used to configure a cell to the terminal equipment so that a network device serves for the terminal equipment by using the cell (see paragraph 491, wherein disclosed is said transmitting of said first information); wherein the first information is used to change a first state to a second state for the cell when the network device enters into a power saving state (see paragraph 492: switching to the PS (Power Save) mode).
Consider claim 2, Zhou discloses that the second state possesses the following characteristic: under the second state, the network device stops transmission of a part of downlink time units of the cell (see paragraphs 492 and 496 and 556).
Consider claim 3, Zhou discloses that the cell is configured as at least one of the following: secondary cell of the terminal equipment, primary secondary cell of the terminal equipment, or primary cell of the terminal equipment (see paragraphs 305-307 and 450; also, see paragraphs 233, 240-241, and 364).
Consider claim 4, Zhou discloses that the network device does not operate the first state and the second state simultaneously (see paragraphs 305-307 and 450).
Consider claim 5, Zhou discloses that the cell is a configured or activated secondary cell of the terminal equipment (see paragraphs 375 and 516; also, see paragraphs 233, 235, 240, and 241).
Consider claim 6, Zhou discloses that the first information is also used to set an initial state of the second state to be of a deactive state.
Consider claim 7, Zhou discloses that the transmitter further transmit second information to the terminal equipment, the second information being used to enable the terminal equipment to set the second state to be of an active state (see paragraphs 375 and 516).
Consider claim 8, Zhou discloses that, the transmitter further transmits third information to the terminal equipment, the third information being used to enable the terminal equipment to set the second state to be of a deactive state (see paragraphs 375 and 516).
Consider claim 9, Zhou discloses that the third information is carried via PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control CHannel) or DCI (Downlink Control Information) (see paragraphs 305-307 and 450; also, see paragraphs 261, 278, and 281).
Consider claim 10, Zhou discloses that the first information is also used to configure a transition timer for the terminal equipment, so that the terminal equipment starts or restarts the transition timer when a preset condition is satisfied, and deactivates the first state and activates the second state when the transition timer expires (see paragraphs 490, 524, and 525).
Consider claim 11, Zhou discloses that the cell is a special cell (SpCell) of a configured or activated first secondary cell group (SCG) of the terminal equipment (see paragraph 491; also, see paragraphs 328 and 401).
Consider claim 12, Zhou discloses that the first information is used to enable the terminal equipment to release the first secondary cell group, and enable the terminal equipment to set up a second secondary cell group; wherein the cell is a special cell of the second secondary cell group (see paragraph 491; also, see paragraphs 328 and 401).
Consider claim 13, Zhou discloses that the cell is a primary cell of the terminal equipment (see paragraphs 231 and 305-307).
Consider claim 14, Zhou discloses that the first information is used to reconfigure parameters of the cell, so as to change the first state into the second state (see paragraphs 490, 524, and 525).
Consider claim 15, Zhou discloses that the first information is carried via RRC (Radio Resource Control) message (see paragraph 491).
Consider claim 17, Zhou discloses that the cell is a configured or activated secondary cell of the terminal equipment, and the first information is used to configure at least one of the cells as a secondary cell of the terminal equipment, and configure a transition timer; and the apparatus further comprising: first processor circuitry configured to start or restart the transition timer when a preset condition is satisfied, and deactivate the first state and activate the second state when the transition timer expires (see paragraphs 490, 524, and 525).
Consider claim 18, Zhou discloses that the cell is a special cell (SpCell) of a configured or activated first secondary cell group (SCG) of the terminal equipment, and the first information configures at least one second secondary cell group taking the cell as a special cell, and configures a transition timer; and the apparatus further comprising: fourth processor circuitry configured to start or restart the transition timer when a preset condition is satisfied, and, when the transition timer expires, deactivate or release the first secondary cell group and activate or set up the second secondary cell group, or, when the transition timer expires, change parameter configuration of the first secondary cell group into parameter configuration of the second secondary cell group (see paragraphs 490, 524, and 525).
Consider claim 19, Zhou discloses that the cell is a primary cell of the terminal equipment, and the first information includes configuration for changing the first state into the second state and a condition for applying the configuration; and the apparatus further comprising: second processor circuitry configured to change the first state into the second state when the condition is satisfied (see paragraphs 490, 524, and 525).
Consider claim 16, Zhou discloses an apparatus (see abstract and paragraphs 491 and 492, and figure 34, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said apparatus) comprising: a receiver configured to receive first information transmitted by a network device, the first information being used to configure a cell to a terminal equipment so that the network device serves for the terminal equipment by using the cell (see paragraph 491, wherein disclosed is said receiving of said first information); wherein the first information is used to change a first state to a second state for the cell when the network device enters into a power saving state (see paragraph 492: switching to the PS (Power Save) mode).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412