DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on April 15, 2026. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claims 1-2 have been amended. No claims were added or cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (U.S. Patent No. 11279362) in view of Ohmura, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210009115).
Regarding claim 1, Kuwahara teaches: A vehicle driving assistance apparatus, comprising an electronic control unit which executes a following moving control to maintain an inter-vehicle distance between an own vehicle and a preceding vehicle at a set inter-vehicle distance, the electronic control unit being configured to: (Col. 8, lines 34-37: "When the preceding vehicle P is detected, the automatic driving control unit (26) [electronic control unit] cause the own vehicle M to travel following the preceding vehicle P, with the predetermined inter-vehicle distance maintained [following moving control maintaining inter-vehicle distance between own vehicle and preceding vehicle at fixed distance].")
maintain a vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle at a set vehicle moving speed when the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle becomes greater than the set vehicle moving speed while maintaining the inter-vehicle distance at the set inter-vehicle distance by the following moving control; (Col. 10, lines 8-13: "The determination threshold Vo is a speed at which the driver does not have a feeling of incompatibility even if the vehicle speed (own vehicle speed) of the own vehicle M is decelerated to cause the own vehicle to follow the preceding vehicle P [maintaining or decelerating parameters]." ; Col. 10, lines 17-29: "In the case of Vset−Vp>Vo, it is determined that the relative vehicle speed is great and the process proceeds to step (S6) [...] When the process proceeds to the step (S6), it is checked whether the inter-vehicle distance Lk between the own vehicle M and the preceding vehicle P, […] reaches a lane change start inter-vehicle distance Lko set in advance. [maintaining moving speed of own vehicle when moving speed of own vehicle becomes greater than threshold speed at specific distance by lane changing].")
and execute a deceleration assistance control to decelerate the own vehicle when the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle becomes greater than a predetermined upper limit vehicle moving speed, (Col. 10, lines 8-13: "The determination threshold Vo is a speed at which the driver does not have a feeling of incompatibility even if the vehicle speed (own vehicle speed) of the own vehicle M is decelerated to cause the own vehicle to follow the preceding vehicle P [maintaining or decelerating parameters]." ; Col. 10, lines 19-21: "In the case of Vset−Vp≤Vo, it is determined that the relative vehicle speed is small and the process jumps to step (S15) for performing the following traveling [decelerates own vehicle in order to maintain following distance].")
wherein when (i) a speed limit condition in which a speed limit applied to the own vehicle is predicted to be lower than the set vehicle moving speed at a predicted position of the own vehicle, (Col. 9, line 65 to Col. 10, lines 1-2: "First, in the step S5, comparison is made between a determination threshold Vo and the relative vehicle speed (Vset−Vp) between the set vehicle speed Vset set for the own vehicle M within the speed limit and the vehicle speed Vp [speed threshold based on speed limit condition]" ; Col. 10, lines 19-21: "In the case of Vset−Vp≤Vo, it is determined that the relative vehicle speed is small [predicted to be lower than set vehicle moving speed at predicted position of own vehicle] and the process jumps to step (S15) for performing the following traveling.").
Kuwahara does not teach and (ii) a set vehicle moving speed change condition in which the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle cannot be maintained at a speed equal to or smaller than the speed limit predicted position by the deceleration assistance control, become satisfied, the electronic control unit is configured to change the set vehicle moving speed to a speed equal to or smaller than the speed limit at the predicted position of the own vehicle, and the change of the set vehicle moving speed is performed in response to an approval operation by an operator of the own vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle speed control), Ohmura, et al. teaches: and (ii) a set vehicle moving speed change condition in which the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle cannot be maintained at a speed equal to or smaller than the speed limit predicted position by the deceleration assistance control, become satisfied, (Paragraph [0065]: "However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from a speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section (5b), the target speed V1_k at each of the target positions P1_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits [set vehicle speed cannot be maintained at speed equal to or smaller than anticipated decelerated speed limit].")
the electronic control unit is configured to change the set vehicle moving speed to a speed equal to or smaller than the speed limit at the predicted position of the own vehicle, (Paragraph [0130]: "…the subroutine in the ECU (10) proceeds to step (S24) [electronic control unit sets values]." ; Paragraph [0131]: "…each of the correction coefficients α, β is changed to a smaller value, so that the speed limit distributions (40) set in the step (S24) are changed from a pattern illustrated on the left side of FIG. 12 to a pattern illustrated on the right side of FIG. 12. [...] the speed limit in each of the speed limit distributions (40) is lowered [speed limit is lowered to smaller speed limit at position of own vehicle].")
and the change of the set vehicle moving speed is performed in response to an approval operation by an operator of the own vehicle (Paragraph [0079]: "Further, generally, when the vehicle (1) is approaching a preceding vehicle from behind the preceding vehicle, the driver of the vehicle (1) adjusts the vehicle speed (relative speed) [change in set vehicle moving speed according to approval operation by operator of own vehicle] according to the inter-vehicle distance (longitudinal distance) along the travelling direction [criteria - reviewing distances].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwahara to include the teaching of Ohmura, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of controlling a vehicle’s speed with respect to maintaining an adequate distance with respect to a surrounding vehicle (Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Kuwahara and Ohmura, at al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The vehicle driving assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the deceleration assistance control is a control of decelerating the own vehicle when the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle becomes greater than the predetermined upper limit vehicle moving speed when the own vehicle is moving on a curved road, (Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0065]: "However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from a speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section (5b) [moving on curved road], the target speed V1_k at each of the target positions P1_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits [set vehicle speed exceeds predetermined upper limit vehicle moving speed]. Further, the target traveling course calculation part (10c) is operable to appropriately correct the target positions P1_k and the target speed V1_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration [deceleration assistance control]")
and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to predict that the speed limit applied to the own vehicle is lower than the set vehicle speed when the own vehicle is predicted to move on the curved road (Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0064]: "On the other hand, with regard to the curve section (5b), the target traveling course calculation part (10c) is operable to maximally set a displacement amount Ws [...] This displacement amount Ws is computed based on the curvature radius L, the lane width W, and a width dimension D of the vehicle (1) (prescribed values stored in the memory of the ECU (10)) [electronic control unit predicts movement of vehicle on curved road]." ; Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0065]: "…or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section (5b) [moving on curved road], the target speed V1_k at each of the target positions P1_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits [speed limit is set to be lower than the set vehicle speed on curved road].")
and the curved road is a deceleration request section in which the speed limit smaller than the speed limit currently applied to the own vehicle is applied to the own vehicle (Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0065]: "…a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section (5b) [moving on curved road], the target speed V1_k at each of the target positions P1_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits [speed limit is smaller than speed limit currently applied to own vehicle]. Further, the target traveling course calculation part (10c) is operable to appropriately correct the target positions P1_k and the target speed V1_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration [deceleration assistance control]").
Regarding claim 3, Kuwahara and Ohmura, at al. remain as applied to claim 2, and in a further embodiment, teach: The vehicle driving assistance apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to restore the changed set vehicle moving speed to the original set vehicle moving speed when the own vehicle has passed the deceleration request section, (Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0055]: "…and therefore the vehicle (1) is decelerated from the setup vehicle speed. Further, when the vehicle (1) catches up to a preceding vehicle, the speed control is performed such that the vehicle (1) follows the preceding vehicle while maintaining an inter-vehicle distance appropriate to a follow-up vehicle speed and then when the preceding vehicle disappears, the speed control is performed such that the follow-up vehicle speed is returned [electronic control unit restores changed set vehicle moving speed to original speed after deceleration request section]")
and wherein the original set vehicle moving speed is the set vehicle moving speed set before the own vehicle enters the deceleration request section (Ohmura, et al. Paragraph [0055]: "and then when the preceding vehicle disappears, the speed control is performed such that the follow-up vehicle speed is returned to the setup vehicle speed [set vehicle moving speed is original setup speed set before deceleration request].").
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed on April 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserted that amended claim 1 was patentable over Kuwahara (U.S. Patent No. 11279362) in view of Ohmura, at al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210009115) because the references did not meet the claim limitation “and (ii) a set vehicle moving speed change condition in which the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle cannot be maintained at a speed equal to or smaller than the speed limit predicted position by the deceleration assistance control, become satisfied”. The examiner disagrees. In Ohmura, et al., the setup vehicle speed, or set vehicle moving speed, may be set for specific locations on a road and can be adjusted before a target location based on inter-vehicle distance (Paragraph [0079]). However, under the specific condition when this cannot be maintained, such as “…when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from a speed sign S […] or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section (5b),”, or the projected speed projected by the deceleration assistance control, the change condition initiates in which “…the target speed V1_k at each of the target positions P1_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits” (Paragraph [0065]). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Ohmura, et al. with Kuwahara because Kuwahara teaches a deceleration assistance control device in which the vehicle reaches above an upper vehicle limited speed (Col. 10, lines 8-13, Col. 10, lines 19-21) under the condition such that the speed limit applied the own vehicle is predicted to be set to lower than a set moving speed relative to a predicted position of the own vehicle (Col. 9, line 65 to Col. 10, lines 1-2, and Col. 10, lines 19-21).
Applicant also asserted that amended claim 1 was patentable over Kuwahara (U.S. Patent No. 11279362) in view of Ohmura, at al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210009115) because the references did not meet the claim limitation “the change of the set vehicle moving speed is performed in response to an approval operation by an operator of the own vehicle”. The examiner disagrees. In Ohmura, et al., under the condition in which vehicle (1), or the own vehicle, “…is approaching a preceding vehicle from behind the preceding vehicle, the driver of the vehicle (1) adjusts the vehicle speed”, or the set vehicle moving speed, is changed in response to an approval operation, under the condition of “…the inter-vehicle distance (longitudinal distance) along the travelling direction” (Paragraph [0079]). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Ohmura, et al. with Kuwahara because Kuwahara teaches a deceleration assistance control device in which the vehicle reaches above an upper vehicle limited speed (Col. 10, lines 8-13, Col. 10, lines 19-21) under the condition such that the speed limit applied the own vehicle is predicted to be set to lower than a set moving speed relative to a predicted position of the own vehicle (Col. 9, line 65 to Col. 10, lines 1-2, and Col. 10, lines 19-21).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Kuwahara and Ohmura, et al. reads on the claim limitations “and (ii) a set vehicle moving speed change condition in which the vehicle moving speed of the own vehicle cannot be maintained at a speed equal to or smaller than the speed limit predicted position by the deceleration assistance control, become satisfied” and “the change of the set vehicle moving speed is performed in response to an approval operation by an operator of the own vehicle”, as stated in amended claim 1, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Horiguchi (U.S. Patent No. 12291206) teaches a vehicle control apparatus which includes a traveling environment data acquiring unit and a traveling controller for the purpose of controlling a vehicle’s speed before losing track of a preceding vehicle.
7. Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663