DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024, 04/24/2025, and 10/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chung (U.S. Patent No. 11068123, hereinafter “Chung”).
Claims 1 and 19:
Chung discloses a server providing reaction contents, the server comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Column 20, Lines 7-9; System memory 814), and
a processor configured to execute the instructions (Column 19, Line 66; The computer system 800 includes a processor 802) to:
receive a request to post a custom content for at least one reaction content and an object related to the custom content on a first user’s profile screen (Column 18, Lines 51-55; The information that can be shared by a user comprises user account information such as profile photos, changing user profile information, and the like, which extends from the disclosure that posts may include data such as status updates or other textual data, location information, images such as photos, videos, links, music or other similar data and/or media in col. 15, ln. 48-51) from a first user terminal (Column 3, Lines 21-24; A user can provide, post, share, and access various content items, such as status updates, images, videos, articles, and links, via a social networking system) (See Fig. 2A, which illustrates a post (element 202) for at least one reaction (element 212) and an object related to the custom content (the image));
in response to a request to view the first user's profile screen from a second user terminal (See citation above that shows information that can be shared by a user comprises user account information such as profile photos, changing user profile information, and the like), provide the first user’s profile screen comprising the object to the second user terminal (Column 3, Lines 25-28; Users of a social networking system can be provided with a user interface to interact with content posted by other users on the social networking system, i.e., social network content posts);
providing information about the custom content to be displayed as part of at least one reaction interface for the object to the second user terminal (Column 3, Lines 28-30; Users can comment on, react to, and/or share social network content posts posted to the social networking system by other users);
receive an interaction with at least one of the at least one reaction interface from the second user terminal (Column 12, Lines 4-8; At block 604, the example method 600 can receive a plurality of reactions to a social network content post, each of the plurality of reactions associated with a particular reaction icon selected from a predefined plurality of reaction icons); and
provide reaction information associated with the interaction to the first user terminal (Column 4, Lines 58-62; A user interface for a social networking system can present a social network content post. The social network content post can be presented along with associated user interaction information, which is indicative of how users have interacted with the social network content post).
The method of claim 1 is implemented by the system of claim 19 and is therefore rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 2:
Chung further discloses wherein the at least one reaction interface comprises a custom interface based on the custom content (Column 8, Lines 44-45; The set of information content rules may dictate that the reaction icons are ranked based on popularity) and a default interface unrelated to the custom content (Column 8, Lines 8-10; Users may be given the ability to react to a social network content post by selecting a reaction from a set of predefined reaction icons).
Claim 3:
Chung further discloses wherein the at least one reaction interface comprises a reaction content interface related to a reaction content (Column 8, Lines 18-20; As users react to the social network content post by selecting various reaction icons, one or more reaction icons can be presented in a user reaction information area) and a feature interface connected to a specific feature (See Fig. 2A, Element 206, which allows a user to interact (Like, Comment, and/or Share) with the social network content post 202).
Claim 4:
Chung further discloses wherein the specific feature comprises at least one of the following: a feature of providing a gift to the first user or a feature of sending a message to the first user (See Fig. 2A, Element 206, which allows a user to comment on (i.e., send a message) the social network content post 202).
Claim 5:
Chung further discloses: in response to receiving an interaction with the feature interface from the second user terminal, providing a feature window for performing the specific feature to the second user terminal, wherein the feature window comprises information related to the object (See Fig. 2D, Element 272, which allows a user to write a comment (i.e., send a message) related to the social network content post 202).
Claim 6:
Chung further discloses wherein the information related to the object comprises at least one of the following: information about details received in relation to the object from the first user terminal (See Fig. 2A, which illustrates a message (“What do you think of the new Stories?”) associated with the image) or characteristic information related to the first user.
Claim 7:
Chung further discloses: in response to receiving an interaction with the feature interface from the second user terminal, providing a feature window for performing the specific feature to the second user terminal, wherein the feature window is displayed overlapping at least a part of the first user's profile screen (See Fig. 2D, Element 272, which allows a user to write a comment (i.e., send a message) related to the social network content post 202 and is a part of and overlaps the first user’s profile screen).
Claim 8:
Chung further discloses wherein the reaction information comprises at least one of the following: information about a reaction content associated with the interaction (various reactions), information about a specific feature associated with the interaction (“Comment” or “Share”), or profile information about the second user (names of people who reacted) (See Fig. 2A, which illustrates the various reactions, a social sentence, and the options to command and/or share the social network content post 202).
Claim 11:
Chung further discloses wherein the reaction interface is displayed overlapping at least a part of the first user's profile screen (See Fig. 2A, Element 206, which is a part of and overlaps the first user’s profile screen).
Claim 12:
Chung further discloses wherein providing the reaction interface is performed in response to an interaction from the second user terminal with the object (Column 8, Lines 6-10; The reaction icon content module 304 can be configured to determine one or more reaction icons to be presented to a user. Users may be given the ability to react to a social network content post by selecting a reaction icon from a set of predefined reaction icons).
Claim 13:
Chung further discloses wherein: the object comprises a details area, comprising details received from the first user terminal in relation to the object (“message”), and a reaction area related to a reaction to the object (“Like”), and at least one of the at least one reaction interface is provided within the reaction area (See Fig. 2A, which illustrates a message associated with the image and an area to react, comment, and/or share).
Claim 14:
Chung further discloses wherein: receiving the request comprises receiving information designating one of the at least one reaction content as a designated reaction content from the first user terminal, and the object is displayed comprising the designated reaction content (Column 4, Lines 21-24 and 36-38; The user interaction presentation module 102 can be configured to apply a set of information presentation rules to present user interaction information for a social network content post. The set of information presentation rules can provide rules specifying the arrangement and content of the one or more reaction icons).
Claim 15:
Chung further discloses wherein: receiving the request comprises providing candidate reaction contents selectable as the custom content to the first user terminal, and the candidate reaction contents are related to the first user's history information regarding the at least one reaction content (Column 4, Lines 58-62; A user interface for a social networking system can present a social network content post. The social network content post can be presented along with associated user interaction information, which is indicative of how users have interacted with the social network content post).
Claim 16:
Chung further discloses wherein: the at least one reaction content comprises an emoticon (Column 8, Lines 8-10; Users may be given the ability to react to a social network content post by selecting a reaction icon from a set of predefined reaction icons), and the history information is associated with at least one of the following: the first user's recent usage history (Column 6, Line 63 – Column 7, Line 1; Other interaction information 210 may include information such as the number of comments to the social network content post 202, the number of times the social network content post 202 has been shared, and/or the number of times the social network content post 202 has been viewed), favorite designation history, purchase history, download history, and retention history regarding emoticons.
Claim 17:
Chung further discloses wherein: receiving the request comprises providing candidate reaction contents selectable as the custom content to the first user terminal, the candidate reaction contents comprise a reaction content (“Like”) related to a characteristic (“question”) of the object (See Fig. 2A, which illustrates a “Like” reaction (Element 206) to the question “What do you think of the new Stories?”).
Claim 18:
Chung further discloses wherein the characteristic of the object comprises at least one of the following: a posting time of the object or details (“question”) received from the first user terminal in relation to the object (See Fig. 2A, which illustrates the question “What do you think of the new Stories?” in relation to the image).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (U.S. Patent No. 11068123, hereinafter “Chung”) in view of Marlow et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0359530, hereinafter “Marlow”).
Claim 9:
Chung discloses the method as recited in claims 1 and 3.
Chung does not appear to disclose wherein: the specific feature is a feature of providing a gift to the first user, and the reaction information comprises a viewing interface that allows viewing information about a gift provided by the first user in relation to the object.
Marlow discloses wherein: the specific feature is a feature of providing a gift to the first user, and the reaction information comprises a viewing interface that allows viewing information about a gift provided by the first user in relation to the object (§ 0057, Lines 4-10; The video stream of a presentation can be moderated or hosted by a presenter that initiates the video session and receives chat messages and reactions from viewers. During a period of time when the presenter is sharing a video stream with an audience, the audience reacts or interacts through chat messages, payments, gifts, emoticons, etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung’s feature interface by including features of Marlow’s audience interface in order to give an audience more options to react to a video session with payments and/or gifts (in addition to chat messages and emoticons).
Claim 10:
Chung discloses the method as recited in claims 1 and 3.
Chung does not appear to disclose wherein: the specific feature is a feature of providing a gift to the first user, and the method further comprises, in response to the object being provided in plural, providing information on at least one of gifts received by the first user to the first user terminal, separately by object.
Marlow discloses wherein: the specific feature is a feature of providing a gift to the first user, and the method further comprises, in response to the object being provided in plural (§ 0057, Lines 1-2; Curating messages during a live presentation), providing information on at least one of gifts received by the first user to the first user terminal, separately by object (§ 0057, Lines 4-10; The video stream of a presentation can be moderated or hosted by a presenter that initiates the video session and receives chat messages and reactions from viewers. During a period of time when the presenter is sharing a video stream with an audience, the audience reacts or interacts through chat messages, payments, gifts, emoticons, etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung’s feature interface by including features of Marlow’s audience interface in order to provide curated messages to a presenter in a managed interface for effectively responding to the audience without having to provide their full attention to a message queue (Marlow, § 0057, Lines 11-14).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (U.S. Patent No. 11068123, hereinafter “Chung”) in view of Bryant, III et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0311189, hereinafter “Bryant”).
Claim 20:
Chung discloses a method for displaying a reaction interface by a user terminal, the method comprising:
displaying another user's profile screen (Column 18, Lines 51-55; The information that can be shared by a user comprises user account information such as profile photos, changing user profile information, and the like, which extends from the disclosure that posts may include data such as status updates or other textual data, location information, images such as photos, videos, links, music or other similar data and/or media in col. 15, ln. 48-51) comprising an object related to a custom content (Column 3, Lines 25-28; Users of a social networking system can be provided with a user interface to interact with content posted by other users on the social networking system, i.e., social network content posts), wherein the custom content is obtained based on other users’ selection of at least one reaction content (Column 3, Lines 49-51; Knowledge of other users’ interactions with a particular content post may encourage a user to interact with the content post);
displaying at least one reaction interface for the object, wherein at least one of the at least one reaction interface is based on the custom content (Column 8, Lines 8-10; Users may be given the ability to react to a social network content post by selecting a reaction from a set of predefined reaction icons) (Column 8, Lines 44-45; The set of information content rules may dictate that the reaction icons are ranked based on popularity); and
receiving an interaction with at least one of the at least one reaction interface from the another user (Column 12, Lines 4-8; At block 604, the example method 600 can receive a plurality of reactions to a social network content post, each of the plurality of reactions associated with a particular reaction icon selected from a predefined plurality of reaction icons).
Chung does not appear to disclose wherein the custom content is obtained based on the another user's selection of at least one reaction content. That is, it is unclear whether Chung’s “other users” that provide reactions includes the user that posted the custom content.
Bryant discloses a user selecting an image to share and assigning a reaction emotion to the image (§ 0062).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung’s custom content by attaching the author’s reaction to it, as taught by Bryant, in order to determine or recognize facial expressions and reaction emotions in photographs (Bryant, § 0060, Lines 4-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent No. 10871877 (Clediere) – Determine a list of reaction icons from which users can select based on the context of a post.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0334972 (Cheng et al.) – A commenting user may be provided the ability to overlay content, such as images, icons, text, links to websites, and/or other content visually and positionally onto a social network post.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0300042 (Clediere) – Real-time delivery of interactions where the displayed reaction may include a user profile picture of the user.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0357729 (Farnham et al.) – Generating a GUI for monetizing social affirmations. A post including information about a project/charity is displayed and a user viewing the post is able to click/press a “Heart” button to send virtual currency to the project/charity.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0099406 (Al Majid et al.) – Based on reaction data from a list of friends, content items for which friends from the list of friends reacted are presented to the user.
/NAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455