DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-7, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Limitation
Claim(s)
Interpretation/Support
an acquisition section, configured to . . .
1, 11
Pages 2, 12, 21
a storage section, configured to . . .
1, 5, 11
Pages 2, 4, 12, 21
an estimation section, configured to . . .
1, 5, 11
Pages 2, 12, 21
a determination section configured to . . .
5
Page 6
a work operating section configured to . . .
8, 9
Pages 10, 21-22
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0167996 (Fadell) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0072943 (Przybylski).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a system for temperature control in one or more rooms, comprising (Fadell: “This invention generally relates to thermodynamic modeling for enclosures. More particularly, embodiments of this invention relate to modeling of internal environmental behavior of an enclosure for use by an HVAC control system.” Paragraph 0003; “Systems and methods for modeling the behavior of an enclosure for use by a control system of an HVAC system installed in the enclosure are described herein.” Paragraph 0008)
a remote controller, (Fadell: see the thermostat 210 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0037)
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
wherein a first room of said one or more rooms comprises (Fadell: “FIG. 1 is a diagram of an enclosure for which thermodynamic behavior is predicted, according to some embodiments. Enclosure 100, in this example is a single-family dwelling According to other embodiments, the enclosure can be, for example, a duplex, an apartment within an apartment building, a commercial structure such as an office or retail store, or a structure or enclosure that is a combination of the above.” Paragraph 0035)
a first temperature control unit with first characteristics regarding temperature control and (Fadell: see the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and as described in paragraph 0036) (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
a second temperature control unit with second characteristics regarding temperature control, (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
said first temperature control unit and said second temperature control unit comprising one or more heating and/or cooling units, (Fadell: see the HVAC system 120 with various heating/cooling components 230, 240 as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and as described in paragraph 0036) (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
wherein said first characteristics and said second characteristics are mutually different, (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053; “The working fluid can be heated in boiler 104 or cooled in chiller 102, depending on whether heating or cooling is required in building 10. Boiler 104 may add heat to the circulated fluid, for example, by burning a combustible material (e.g., natural gas) or using an electric heating element. Chiller 102 may place the circulated fluid in a heat exchange relationship with another fluid (e.g., a refrigerant) in a heat exchanger (e.g., an evaporator) to absorb heat from the circulated fluid. The working fluid from chiller 102 and/or boiler 104 can be transported to AHU 106 via piping 108.” Paragraph 0053)
wherein the remote controller is connected or connectable to said first temperature control unit and said second temperature control unit, and (Fadell: see the thermostat 210 connected to the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figure 2) (Przybylski: see the building management system 606 connected to the subplants 420 as illustrated in figure 6)
the remote controller comprises: (Fadell: see the thermostat 210 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0037)
an acquisition section, configured to acquire, at predetermined time intervals, indoor temperature data from at least one indoor temperature sensor in said first room and outdoor temperature data from at least one outdoor temperature sensor or at least one external data source; (Fadell: “According to some embodiments, one or more separate sensors 112 and 114, such as weather condition sensors for temperature, humidity, etc., are located inside and/or outside of the enclosure 100. According to some embodiments, the devices 110, 112 and 114 all have similar or identical functionality and each contains one or more weather condition sensors, and each can be used to predict enclosure thermodynamic behavior and/or generate and update enclosure models.” Paragraph 0035)
a storage section, configured to store the indoor temperature data acquired by the acquisition section as indoor temperature historical data and the outdoor temperature data acquired by the acquisition section as outdoor temperature historical data; and (Przybylski: “For example, AHU controller 330 may provide BMS controller 366 with temperature measurements from temperature sensors 362-364, equipment on/off states, equipment operating capacities, and/or any other information that can be used by BMS controller 366 to monitor or control a variable state or condition within building zone 306.” Paragraph 0075; “Still referring to FIG. 6, memory 610 is shown to include a subplant control module 628. Subplant control module 628 may store historical data regarding past operating statuses, past operating setpoints, and instructions for calculating and/or implementing control parameters for subplants 420 and storage 430. Subplant control module 628 may also receive, store, and/or transmit data regarding the conditions of individual devices of the subplant equipment, such as operating efficiency, equipment degradation, a date since last service, a lifespan parameter, a condition grade, or other device-specific data. Subplant control module 628 may receive data from subplants 420, storage 430, and/or BMS 606 via communications interface 636. Subplant control module 628 may also receive and store on/off statuses and operating setpoints from low level optimizer 634.” Paragraph 0139) (Fadell: “According to some embodiments, one or more separate sensors 112 and 114, such as weather condition sensors for temperature, humidity, etc., are located inside and/or outside of the enclosure 100. According to some embodiments, the devices 110, 112 and 114 all have similar or identical functionality and each contains one or more weather condition sensors, and each can be used to predict enclosure thermodynamic behavior and/or generate and update enclosure models.” Paragraph 0035)
an estimation section, configured to estimate a heat profile in said first room based on the indoor temperature historical data and the outdoor temperature historical data, and based on current indoor temperature data and current outdoor temperature data, said heat profile representing the expected energy loss or gain in said first room; (Fadell: see the model generation/update 422 for the enclosure thermodynamic models 412 using the output from the system identification module 430 including weather data 434 and hvac sensed data 432 as illustrated in figure 4 and as described in paragraph 0050, 0065, 0066, 0067; see the current weather condition data 520 and the regional historical data on temperature 510 as illustrated in figure 5; “The output from system identification module 430 is used in step 422 to generate one or more enclosure models, for example by using the output of 430 to set appropriate statistical coefficients in the mathematical models.” Paragraph 0066)
wherein said remote controller is configured to control said first temperature control unit and said second temperature control unit based on the estimated heat profile in said first room and based on the first characteristics and the second characteristics. (Fadell: “wherein the thermodynamic model describes the thermodynamic behavior of the enclosure for use by the control system; receiving, by the control system, weather forecast data corresponding to the location of the enclosure; predicting, by the control system, using the created thermodynamic model and a thermodynamic behavior prediction engine, how the enclosure will thermally react to activity of the HVAC system when the enclosure is exposed to forecast weather indicated by the weather forecast data; and controlling, by the control system, based on the created thermodynamic model for the enclosure, the HVAC system to adjust a temperature of the internal environment of the enclosure.” Claim 1) (Przybylski: “Asset allocator 402 may be configured to control the distribution, production, storage, and usage of resources in asset allocation system 400. In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 performs an optimization process to determine an optimal set of control decisions for each time step within an optimization period. The control decisions may include, for example, an optimal amount of each resource to purchase from sources 410, an optimal amount of each resource to produce or convert using subplants 420, an optimal amount of each resource to store or remove from storage 430, an optimal amount of each resource to sell to resources purchasers 441 or energy grid 440, and/or an optimal amount of each resource to provide to other sinks 440. In some embodiments, the control decisions include an optimal amount of each input resource and output resource for each of subplants 420.” Paragraph 0087; “The central plant further includes an asset allocator configured to receive an input model that describes a physical layout of the equipment of the central plant, discover one or more systems of interconnected equipment and one or more groups of equipment using the input model, formulate an optimization problem for the central plant using the systems and groups of equipment, and operate the equipment of the central plant according to the optimization problem.” Paragraph 0022; “For the PBDR programs, asset allocator 402 may use predictions of ambient conditions, facility thermal loads, and thermodynamic models of installed equipment to estimate the resource consumption of subplants 420. Asset allocator 402 may use predictions of the resource consumption to monetize the costs of running the equipment.” Paragraph 0094)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Fadell, namely, thermodynamic modeling for enclosure for HVAC control, with the known techniques of Przybylski, namely, central plant control system with optimization, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Fadell to determine a thermodynamic model for an enclosure and control the HVAC using the model with the teachings of Przybylski to determine optimized control parameters for various sub-plants based on models and other data would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved temperature control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a HVAC control system for a variety of sub-plants based on thermodynamic enclosure models and other data based on the teachings of controlling a HVAC system based on a thermodynamic enclosure model in Fadell and the teachings of controlling various heating/cooling sub-plants based on models and other data in Przybylski.
Claim 5:
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system for temperature control in one or more rooms according to claim 1,
wherein the remote controller further comprises a determination section configured to determine an operational status of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit based on the indoor temperature historical data and the outdoor temperature historical data stored in the storage section, (Fadell: “In step 314 the enclosure model parameters are adjusted accordingly. Over time the aggregated knowledge of how the HVAC performs in various weather conditions, also factoring in time of day and season, enriches the enclosure model. Thus, according to embodiments, an enclosure's energy performance is modeled or the model is updated one or more times after installation of the HVAC system.” Paragraph 0039; see the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and as described in paragraph 0036) (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
wherein the storage section is further configured to store pre-learned data about dynamics of change of the indoor temperature data in said first room under influence of operation of the first temperature control unit, of the second temperature control unit and of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit, and (Fadell: see the updating of the enclosure model as illustrated in figure 3; see the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and as described in paragraph 0036) (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
wherein said estimation section is further configured to estimate the heat profile in the first room by using the operational status and said pre-learned data stored in the storage section. (Fadell: see the updating of the enclosure model as illustrated in figure 3; see the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and as described in paragraph 0036) (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
Fadell and Przybylski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 8:
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system for temperature control in one or more rooms according to claim 1, wherein the remote controller further includes a work operating section configured to control each of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit based on a preset temperature in the first room and wherein said work operating section is configured for activating or deactivating the first temperature control unit and/or the second temperature control unit based on the estimated heat profile in the first room and according to a user-definable comfort setting regarding a desired speed of temperature adjustment by the activation or deactivation of the first temperature control unit and/or the second temperature control unit. (Przybylski: see the control using a setpoint as described in paragraphs 0073, 0093, 0099, 0127; “Asset allocator 402 may be configured to control the distribution, production, storage, and usage of resources in asset allocation system 400. In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 performs an optimization process to determine an optimal set of control decisions for each time step within an optimization period. The control decisions may include, for example, an optimal amount of each resource to purchase from sources 410, an optimal amount of each resource to produce or convert using subplants 420, an optimal amount of each resource to store or remove from storage 430, an optimal amount of each resource to sell to resources purchasers 441 or energy grid 440, and/or an optimal amount of each resource to provide to other sinks 440. In some embodiments, the control decisions include an optimal amount of each input resource and output resource for each of subplants 420.” Paragraph 0087; “The central plant further includes an asset allocator configured to receive an input model that describes a physical layout of the equipment of the central plant, discover one or more systems of interconnected equipment and one or more groups of equipment using the input model, formulate an optimization problem for the central plant using the systems and groups of equipment, and operate the equipment of the central plant according to the optimization problem.” Paragraph 0022; “For the PBDR programs, asset allocator 402 may use predictions of ambient conditions, facility thermal loads, and thermodynamic models of installed equipment to estimate the resource consumption of subplants 420. Asset allocator 402 may use predictions of the resource consumption to monetize the costs of running the equipment.” Paragraph 0094) (Fadell: “wherein the thermodynamic model describes the thermodynamic behavior of the enclosure for use by the control system; receiving, by the control system, weather forecast data corresponding to the location of the enclosure; predicting, by the control system, using the created thermodynamic model and a thermodynamic behavior prediction engine, how the enclosure will thermally react to activity of the HVAC system when the enclosure is exposed to forecast weather indicated by the weather forecast data; and controlling, by the control system, based on the created thermodynamic model for the enclosure, the HVAC system to adjust a temperature of the internal environment of the enclosure.” Claim 1)
Fadell and Przybylski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 9:
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system for temperature control in one or more rooms according to claim 1, wherein the remote controller further includes a work operating section configured to control at least one heat source unit based on a preset temperature in the first room and wherein said work operating section is configured for activating or deactivating said at least one heat source unit based on the estimated heat profile in the first room, wherein said at least one heat source unit is configured to heat a heating medium supplied to at least one of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit. (Przybylski: see the control using a setpoint as described in paragraphs 0073, 0093, 0099, 0127; see the boiler 104 as illustrated in figure 1; “Asset allocator 402 may be configured to control the distribution, production, storage, and usage of resources in asset allocation system 400. In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 performs an optimization process to determine an optimal set of control decisions for each time step within an optimization period. The control decisions may include, for example, an optimal amount of each resource to purchase from sources 410, an optimal amount of each resource to produce or convert using subplants 420, an optimal amount of each resource to store or remove from storage 430, an optimal amount of each resource to sell to resources purchasers 441 or energy grid 440, and/or an optimal amount of each resource to provide to other sinks 440. In some embodiments, the control decisions include an optimal amount of each input resource and output resource for each of subplants 420.” Paragraph 0087; “The central plant further includes an asset allocator configured to receive an input model that describes a physical layout of the equipment of the central plant, discover one or more systems of interconnected equipment and one or more groups of equipment using the input model, formulate an optimization problem for the central plant using the systems and groups of equipment, and operate the equipment of the central plant according to the optimization problem.” Paragraph 0022; “For the PBDR programs, asset allocator 402 may use predictions of ambient conditions, facility thermal loads, and thermodynamic models of installed equipment to estimate the resource consumption of subplants 420. Asset allocator 402 may use predictions of the resource consumption to monetize the costs of running the equipment.” Paragraph 0094) (Fadell: “wherein the thermodynamic model describes the thermodynamic behavior of the enclosure for use by the control system; receiving, by the control system, weather forecast data corresponding to the location of the enclosure; predicting, by the control system, using the created thermodynamic model and a thermodynamic behavior prediction engine, how the enclosure will thermally react to activity of the HVAC system when the enclosure is exposed to forecast weather indicated by the weather forecast data; and controlling, by the control system, based on the created thermodynamic model for the enclosure, the HVAC system to adjust a temperature of the internal environment of the enclosure.” Claim 1)
Fadell and Przybylski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 10:
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system for temperature control in one or more rooms according to claim 1,
wherein at least one of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit is an electric temperature control unit, (Fadell: see the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and as described in paragraph 0036) (Przybylski: see the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053; see the electric utility and PV field sources as illustrated in figure 4)
wherein the remote controller controls the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit further taking into account renewable energy sources available to the first temperature control unit and/or the second temperature control unit. (Przybylski: see the PV field 414 as a source as illustrated in figure 4 and as described in paragraph 0078; “Asset allocator 402 may be configured to control the distribution, production, storage, and usage of resources in asset allocation system 400. In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 performs an optimization process to determine an optimal set of control decisions for each time step within an optimization period. The control decisions may include, for example, an optimal amount of each resource to purchase from sources 410, an optimal amount of each resource to produce or convert using subplants 420, an optimal amount of each resource to store or remove from storage 430, an optimal amount of each resource to sell to resources purchasers 441 or energy grid 440, and/or an optimal amount of each resource to provide to other sinks 440. In some embodiments, the control decisions include an optimal amount of each input resource and output resource for each of subplants 420.” Paragraph 0087; “The central plant further includes an asset allocator configured to receive an input model that describes a physical layout of the equipment of the central plant, discover one or more systems of interconnected equipment and one or more groups of equipment using the input model, formulate an optimization problem for the central plant using the systems and groups of equipment, and operate the equipment of the central plant according to the optimization problem.” Paragraph 0022; “For the PBDR programs, asset allocator 402 may use predictions of ambient conditions, facility thermal loads, and thermodynamic models of installed equipment to estimate the resource consumption of subplants 420. Asset allocator 402 may use predictions of the resource consumption to monetize the costs of running the equipment.” Paragraph 0094) (Fadell: “wherein the thermodynamic model describes the thermodynamic behavior of the enclosure for use by the control system; receiving, by the control system, weather forecast data corresponding to the location of the enclosure; predicting, by the control system, using the created thermodynamic model and a thermodynamic behavior prediction engine, how the enclosure will thermally react to activity of the HVAC system when the enclosure is exposed to forecast weather indicated by the weather forecast data; and controlling, by the control system, based on the created thermodynamic model for the enclosure, the HVAC system to adjust a temperature of the internal environment of the enclosure.” Claim 1)
Fadell and Przybylski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11:
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system for temperature control in one or more rooms according to claim 1,
wherein a second room of said one or more rooms comprises a first temperature control unit with first characteristics and a second temperature control unit with second characteristics, wherein said first characteristics and said second characteristics are mutually different, which remote controller is connected or connectable, to said first temperature control unit of the second room and said second temperature control unit of the second room, (Przybylski: see the floors of the building with HVAC systems and the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053; “The working fluid can be heated in boiler 104 or cooled in chiller 102, depending on whether heating or cooling is required in building 10. Boiler 104 may add heat to the circulated fluid, for example, by burning a combustible material (e.g., natural gas) or using an electric heating element. Chiller 102 may place the circulated fluid in a heat exchange relationship with another fluid (e.g., a refrigerant) in a heat exchanger (e.g., an evaporator) to absorb heat from the circulated fluid. The working fluid from chiller 102 and/or boiler 104 can be transported to AHU 106 via piping 108.” Paragraph 0053) (Fadell: “FIG. 1 is a diagram of an enclosure for which thermodynamic behavior is predicted, according to some embodiments. Enclosure 100, in this example is a single-family dwelling According to other embodiments, the enclosure can be, for example, a duplex, an apartment within an apartment building, a commercial structure such as an office or retail store, or a structure or enclosure that is a combination of the above.” Paragraph 0035) (Przybylski: see the floors of the building with HVAC systems and the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
wherein the acquisition section is further configured to acquire, at predetermined time intervals, indoor temperature data from at least one indoor temperature sensor in said second room; (Fadell: “According to some embodiments, one or more separate sensors 112 and 114, such as weather condition sensors for temperature, humidity, etc., are located inside and/or outside of the enclosure 100. According to some embodiments, the devices 110, 112 and 114 all have similar or identical functionality and each contains one or more weather condition sensors, and each can be used to predict enclosure thermodynamic behavior and/or generate and update enclosure models.” Paragraph 0035) (Przybylski: see the floors of the building with HVAC systems and the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
wherein the storage section is further configured to store the indoor temperature data of the second room acquired by the acquisition section as indoor temperature historical data of said second room; and (Przybylski: “For example, AHU controller 330 may provide BMS controller 366 with temperature measurements from temperature sensors 362-364, equipment on/off states, equipment operating capacities, and/or any other information that can be used by BMS controller 366 to monitor or control a variable state or condition within building zone 306.” Paragraph 0075; “Still referring to FIG. 6, memory 610 is shown to include a subplant control module 628. Subplant control module 628 may store historical data regarding past operating statuses, past operating setpoints, and instructions for calculating and/or implementing control parameters for subplants 420 and storage 430. Subplant control module 628 may also receive, store, and/or transmit data regarding the conditions of individual devices of the subplant equipment, such as operating efficiency, equipment degradation, a date since last service, a lifespan parameter, a condition grade, or other device-specific data. Subplant control module 628 may receive data from subplants 420, storage 430, and/or BMS 606 via communications interface 636. Subplant control module 628 may also receive and store on/off statuses and operating setpoints from low level optimizer 634.” Paragraph 0139) (Fadell: “According to some embodiments, one or more separate sensors 112 and 114, such as weather condition sensors for temperature, humidity, etc., are located inside and/or outside of the enclosure 100. According to some embodiments, the devices 110, 112 and 114 all have similar or identical functionality and each contains one or more weather condition sensors, and each can be used to predict enclosure thermodynamic behavior and/or generate and update enclosure models.” Paragraph 0035)
wherein the estimation section is further configured to estimate a heat profile in said second room based on the indoor temperature historical data of the second room and the outdoor temperature historical data, and further based on current indoor temperature data in the second room and current outdoor temperature data; and (Fadell: see the model generation/update 422 for the enclosure thermodynamic models 412 using the output from the system identification module 430 including weather data 434 and hvac sensed data 432 as illustrated in figure 4 and as described in paragraph 0050, 0065, 0066, 0067; see the current weather condition data 520 and the regional historical data on temperature 510 as illustrated in figure 5; “The output from system identification module 430 is used in step 422 to generate one or more enclosure models, for example by using the output of 430 to set appropriate statistical coefficients in the mathematical models.” Paragraph 0066) (Przybylski: see the floors of the building with HVAC systems and the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
wherein said remote controller is configured to control said first temperature control unit and said second temperature control unit of said second room based on the estimated heat profile in said second room and based on the first characteristics and the second characteristics of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit of the second room. (Fadell: “wherein the thermodynamic model describes the thermodynamic behavior of the enclosure for use by the control system; receiving, by the control system, weather forecast data corresponding to the location of the enclosure; predicting, by the control system, using the created thermodynamic model and a thermodynamic behavior prediction engine, how the enclosure will thermally react to activity of the HVAC system when the enclosure is exposed to forecast weather indicated by the weather forecast data; and controlling, by the control system, based on the created thermodynamic model for the enclosure, the HVAC system to adjust a temperature of the internal environment of the enclosure.” Claim 1) (Przybylski: “Asset allocator 402 may be configured to control the distribution, production, storage, and usage of resources in asset allocation system 400. In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 performs an optimization process to determine an optimal set of control decisions for each time step within an optimization period. The control decisions may include, for example, an optimal amount of each resource to purchase from sources 410, an optimal amount of each resource to produce or convert using subplants 420, an optimal amount of each resource to store or remove from storage 430, an optimal amount of each resource to sell to resources purchasers 441 or energy grid 440, and/or an optimal amount of each resource to provide to other sinks 440. In some embodiments, the control decisions include an optimal amount of each input resource and output resource for each of subplants 420.” Paragraph 0087; “The central plant further includes an asset allocator configured to receive an input model that describes a physical layout of the equipment of the central plant, discover one or more systems of interconnected equipment and one or more groups of equipment using the input model, formulate an optimization problem for the central plant using the systems and groups of equipment, and operate the equipment of the central plant according to the optimization problem.” Paragraph 0022; “For the PBDR programs, asset allocator 402 may use predictions of ambient conditions, facility thermal loads, and thermodynamic models of installed equipment to estimate the resource consumption of subplants 420. Asset allocator 402 may use predictions of the resource consumption to monetize the costs of running the equipment.” Paragraph 0094; see the floors of the building with HVAC systems and the chiller 102, boiler 104, and rooftop air handling unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0053)
Fadell and Przybylski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12:
Fadell does not explicitly describe two temperature control units as described below. However, Przybylski teaches the two temperature control units as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system for temperature control in one or more rooms according to claim 1, wherein the remote controller is electronically connected or electronically connectable to said first temperature control unit and said second temperature control unit. (Fadell: see the thermostat 210 connected to the HVAC system 120 as illustrated in figure 2) (Przybylski: see the building management system 606 connected to the subplants 420 as illustrated in figure 6)
Fadell and Przybylski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
13. A method for controlling a temperature in one or more rooms,
wherein a first room of said one or more rooms comprises a first temperature control unit with first characteristics and a second temperature control unit with second characteristics,
wherein said first characteristics and said second characteristics are mutually different, comprising:
acquiring, at predetermined time intervals, indoor temperature data from at least one indoor temperature sensor in said first room and outdoor temperature data from at least one outdoor temperature sensor or at least one external data source;
storing the acquired indoor temperature data as indoor temperature historical data and the acquired outdoor temperature data as outdoor temperature historical data;
estimating a heat profile in said first room based on the indoor temperature historical data and the outdoor temperature historical data, and based on current indoor temperature data and current outdoor temperature data, said heat profile representing an expected energy loss or gain in said first room; and
controlling said first temperature control unit and said second temperature control unit based on the estimated heat profile in said first room and based on the first characteristics and the second characteristics.
Claim 14:
The cited prior art describes the method according to claim 13, wherein estimating the heat profile is performed according to a formula or model which is defined based on the indoor temperature historical data and the outdoor temperature historical data. (Fadell: see the model generation/update 422 for the enclosure thermodynamic models 412 using the output from the system identification module 430 including weather data 434 and hvac sensed data 432 as illustrated in figure 4 and as described in paragraph 0050, 0065, 0066, 0067; see the current weather condition data 520 and the regional historical data on temperature 510 as illustrated in figure 5; “The output from system identification module 430 is used in step 422 to generate one or more enclosure models, for example by using the output of 430 to set appropriate statistical coefficients in the mathematical models.” Paragraph 0066)
Claim 15:
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
15. The method according to claim 14, further comprising:
determining an operational status of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit based on the stored indoor temperature historical data and the stored outdoor temperature historical data; and
storing pre-learned data about dynamics of change of the indoor temperature data in said first room under influence of operation of the first temperature control unit, of the second temperature control unit and of the first temperature control unit and the second temperature control unit;
wherein estimating the heat profile in the first room uses the determined operational status and the stored pre-learned data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0259469 describes a HVAC control system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0192915 describes a building thermal load prediction system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0077896 describes a thermal building mass calculation system.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117