Claim Interpretation
2. In claim 25, the term “C-shaped opening” is being interpreted as an opening like that (71) shown Applicant’s Figure 3, where the opening is formed between side edges that converge toward each other like the ends of the letter C itself. Without such converging sides, the shape would be U-shaped. The C-shaped opening is described in paragraph [0049] of the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 6, 10, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Visch et al. (EP 989029 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Visch (Figure 2) discloses a vehicle bicycle carrier assembly (neither the vehicle nor the bicycle currently being claimed in combination), comprising: a first carrier arm (10 together with right 12) including a first support member (right 6) configured to hold a first tire of a bicycle against a vehicle cargo bed floor (vehicle cargo bed floor not currently being claimed in combination); and a second carrier arm (left 12) adjustably coupled (via left 16) to the first carrier arm, the second carrier arm including a second support member (left 6) configured to hold a second tire of the bicycle against the vehicle cargo bed floor (cargo bed floor still not being claimed in combination). There is no structure in Visch that would physically prevent a user from setting the plates (14 - see [0016], [0017], and claim 7 of Visch) of the carrier on the bed floor of a vehicle and securing a bicycle therein with the wheels held against the bed floor by the first and second supports (6).
Regarding claim 6, Visch discloses the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the first carrier arm and the second carrier arm are configured to extend and retract along a first axis (see [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Visch discloses the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the vehicle cargo bed floor (cargo bed floor still not being claimed in combination) includes a surface of a tailgate (tailgate not currently being claimed in combination), and one of the first support member and the second support member is configured to hold a respective one of the first tire and the second tire against the surface of the tailgate, and wherein the tailgate is in an open position. There is no structure in Visch that would physically prevent a user from setting the plates (14 - see [0016], [0017], and claim 7 of Visch) of the carrier on the bed floor of a vehicle and securing a bicycle therein with the wheels held against the bed floor and an open tailgate surface by the first and second supports (6).
Regarding claim 22, Visch discloses the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the first support member (right 6) includes a first (U-shaped) frame defining a first opening (within the U shape), the first opening sized to allow at least a portion of the first tire to fit through the first frame while the first frame holds the first tire against the vehicle cargo bed floor, and the second support member (left 6) includes a second (U-shaped) frame defining a second opening (within the U shape), the second opening sized to allow at least a portion of the second tire to fit through the second frame while the second frame holds the second tire against the vehicle cargo bed floor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visch et al. (EP 989029 A1) in view of McKnight et al. (US 2014/0346206 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Visch discloses the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first carrier arm includes a lever and pawl that is operably connected to the lever, the pawl configured to engage a portion of the second carrier arm to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm.
Regarding claim 3, Visch fails to disclose the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 2, further comprising ratchet teeth of the second carrier arm, the pawl configured to engage one or more of the ratchet teeth to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm, wherein, when the pawl is engaged with one or more of the ratchet teeth, the second carrier arm is retractable relative to the first carrier arm and blocked from extending relative to the first carrier arm.
Visch discloses the use of locking screws (16) to control the telescoping of the arms but discloses no criticality to such telescoping control design. McKnight teaches another telescoping control design for a vehicle-mounted carrier where one arm (505) includes a lever (550) and pawl (560) that is operably connected to the lever, the pawl configured to engage a portion (515) of the second carrier arm (510) to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm; further comprising ratchet teeth (515) of the second carrier arm, the pawl configured to engage one or more of the ratchet teeth to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm; , wherein, when the pawl is engaged with one or more of the ratchet teeth, the second carrier arm is retractable relative to the first carrier arm and blocked from extending relative to the first carrier arm (see [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the locking screw telescoping control design of Visch with a lever, pawl, and tooth telescoping control design like that of McKnight as a simple substitution of one known telescoping control design for another in order to achieve predictable results. In this modified Visch carrier, the first arm (10) would have a lever and pawl as claimed and the second arm (left 12) would have teeth as claimed.
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visch et al. (EP 989029 A1) in view of Marchlewski et al. (US 2018/0361944 A1) and Wilson (US 2024/0190356 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Visch discloses the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the first carrier arm includes a second body portion (10) configured to couple the first carrier arm (10 together with right 12) to the second carrier arm (left 12). Visch fails to disclose the first carrier arm including a first body portion configured to attach to a vehicle cargo bed side panel and a bridging portion that connects the first body portion to the second body portion.
Marchlewski teaches that it was already known in the art for a carrier arm (12/40/42) to include a first body portion (40) configured to attach to a vehicle cargo bed side panel (via 24/48) and a bridging portion (42) that connects the first body portion (40) to a second body portion (12) of the carrier arm. Wilson teaches that it was already known for a carrier like that of Visch which is mounted atop a flat surface using plates (127) to also be mounted to the side wall for stability (see [0032]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the first carrier arm of Visch with a first body portion configured to attach to a vehicle cargo bed side panel and a bridging portion that connects the first body portion to the second body portion, as taught by Marchlewski, the motivation being to provide additional stability when mounted in a truck bed, as taught by Wilson.
9. Claims 7, 12, 13, 19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visch et al. (EP 989029 A1) in view of Pedrini (US 6,761,297 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Visch discloses the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the first support member and the second support member are configured to pivot about a second axis that is transverse to the first axis, wherein at least one of the first support member and the second support member are pivotable to a stored position to allow a tailgate to pivot from an open position to a closed position, and wherein, when in the stored position, the first support member is transverse to the first carrier arm and the second support member is transverse to the second carrier arm.
Visch never mentions the support member rotating and the drawings do not seem to show any pivoting structure. Pedrini teaches that it was already known in the art for support members (38) like those of Visch to be pivotably attached (via 56) to the arm of the carrier. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have realized through their own available knowledge and reasoning that such pivoting allows the support members to better accommodate tires of different diameters and would have found it obvious to have made the first and second support members of Vish pivotable in the manner taught by Pedrini for this very reason.
Being pivotable, the support members of this modified Visch carrier would be inherently capable of pivoting to several positions, one of which can be considered a “stored position” as only functionally claimed with respect to the tailgate. Nothing in the modified Visch carrier would physically prevent a user from placing the carrier in the bed of a truck, supported on the plates (14) of Visch, and positioned such that the slightest pivoting of the rear-most support member would allow a tailgate to be closed, as only functionally claimed. Also, the support members (6) of Visch are already shown by Visch to be transverse to the carrier arms and would be capable of even more transverse positions once made pivotable in the manner taught by Pedrini.
Regarding claim 12, Visch as modified above would include a vehicle bicycle carrier assembly (neither the vehicle nor the bicycle currently being claimed in combination), comprising: a first carrier arm, as taught by Visch (10 together with right 12) supportable on a vehicle cargo bed side panel (side panel not currently being claimed in combination) and including a first support member, as taught by Visch (right 6), configured to pivot relative to the first carrier arm, as taught by Pedrini, and hold a first tire of a bicycle against a vehicle cargo bed floor (functional ability of the original Visch carrier); and a second carrier arm, as taught by Visch (left 12), telescopically engaged with the first carrier arm and including a second support member, as taught by Visch (left 6), configured to pivot relative to the second carrier arm, as taught by Pedrini, and hold a second tire of the bicycle against the vehicle cargo bed floor (functional ability of the original Visch carrier).
Regarding claim 13, Visch as modified above would include the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 12, wherein the first support member includes a first frame, as originally taught by Visch (6), configured to hold the first tire of the bicycle and a first bracket, as taught by Pedrini (see the ear/bracket through which the pin 56 extends), configured to pivotably connect the first frame to the first carrier arm, and the second support member includes a second frame, as originally taught by Visch (6), configured to hold the second tire of the bicycle and a second bracket, as taught by Pedrini (see the ear/bracket through which the pin 56 extends), configured to pivotably connect the second frame to the second carrier arm.
Regarding claim 19, Visch as modified above would include the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 12, wherein at least a portion of the vehicle cargo bed floor (cargo bed floor still not being claimed in combination) includes a surface of a tailgate (tailgate not currently being claimed in combination), and one of the first support member and the second support member is configured to hold a respective one of the first tire and the second tire against the surface of the tailgate, and wherein the tailgate is in an open position. There is no structure in Visch as modified above that would physically prevent a user from setting the plates (14 - see [0016], [0017], and claim 7 of Visch) of the carrier on the bed floor of a vehicle and securing a bicycle therein with the wheels held against the bed floor and an open tailgate surface by the first and second supports (6).
Regarding claim 27, Visch as modified above would include the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein Visch discloses the first support member (right 6) includes a first (U-shaped) frame defining a first opening (within the U shape), the first opening sized to allow at least a portion of the first tire to fit through the first frame while the first frame holds the first tire against the vehicle cargo bed floor, and the second support member (left 6) includes a second (U-shaped) frame defining a second opening (within the U shape), the second opening sized to allow at least a portion of the second tire to fit through the second frame while the second frame holds the second tire against the vehicle cargo bed floor.
10. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visch et al. (EP 989029 A1) in view of Pedrini (US 6,761,297 B1) as applied above, further in view of McKnight et al. (US 2014/0346206 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Visch as modified above would include the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein the first carrier arm includes a lever and pawl that is operably connected to the lever, the pawl configured to engage a portion of the second carrier arm to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm.
Regarding claim 17, Visch as modified above so far fails to disclose the vehicle bicycle carrier assembly of claim 16, further comprising ratchet teeth of the second carrier arm, the pawl configured to engage one or more of the ratchet teeth to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm, wherein, when the pawl is engaged with one or more of the ratchet teeth, the second carrier arm is retractable relative to the first carrier arm and blocked from extending relative to the first carrier arm.
Visch discloses the use of locking screws (16) to control the telescoping of the arms but discloses no criticality to such telescoping control design. McKnight teaches another telescoping control design for a vehicle-mounted carrier where one arm (505) includes a lever (550) and pawl (560) that is operably connected to the lever, the pawl configured to engage a portion (515) of the second carrier arm (510) to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm; further comprising ratchet teeth (515) of the second carrier arm, the pawl configured to engage one or more of the ratchet teeth to couple the first carrier arm to the second carrier arm; , wherein, when the pawl is engaged with one or more of the ratchet teeth, the second carrier arm is retractable relative to the first carrier arm and blocked from extending relative to the first carrier arm (see [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the locking screw telescoping control design of Visch with a lever, pawl, and tooth telescoping control design like that of McKnight as a simple substitution of one known telescoping control design for another in order to achieve predictable results. In this modified Visch carrier, the first arm (10) would have a lever and pawl as claimed and the second arm (left 12) would have teeth as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 14, 21, and 23-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments filed 9/1/26 with respect to Visch and the functional language “configured to hold a first/second tire of a bicycle against a vehicle cargo bed floor” have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the claim language “configured to” requires the structure to be made to or designed to perform that function. Examiner disagrees. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As set forth in the rejections above, there is no structure in Visch that would physically prevent a user from setting the plates (14 - see [0016], [0017], and claim 7 of Visch) of the carrier on the bed floor of a vehicle and securing a bicycle therein with the wheels held against the bed floor and/or an open tailgate surface by the first and second supports (6). As such, Visch has all of the structure necessary to perform the intended use even if it was not designed with such use in mind.
13. Applicant’s arguments filed 9/1/26 with respect to Visch in view of Pedrini have been fully considered but are not persuasive because Applicant’s arguments hinge on the tailgate being part of the claimed invention and it is not currently being claimed in combination in the rejected claims.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 10/29/26