DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant submits the prior art does not disclose the following limitations of the claimed invention:
identifying a device based on image data from the visible-light camera; repeatedly adjusting a position of the camera system to track relative movement of the device relative to the vehicle to maintain the device in a field of view of the infrared camera as the vehicle with the camera system moves with respect to the device; recording, based on one or more measurements from the LiDAR unit, at least one distance measurement from the camera system to the device, as stated in claims 1 and 13. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Re claim 1 and 13) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., automatically identifying of a device and automatically repeatedly adjusting a psoition) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim does not state that the identifying and repeated adjusting is preformed the system without the assistance of the user. The Myrick reference discloses identifying a device based on image data from the visible-light camera (see column 7, lines 3-33); repeatedly adjusting a position of the camera system to track relative movement of the device relative to the vehicle to maintain the device in a field of view of the infrared camera as the vehicle with the camera system moves with respect to the device (see column 4, lines 4-19 and column 6, lines 16-19: the processing system moves the camera according to the input of the operator to maintain the device in the field of view); recording, based on one or more measurements from the LiDAR unit, at least one distance measurement (altitude) from the camera system to the device (see column 6, lines 20-28; column 7, lines 3-33). The claim does not disclose when the device distance is measured, so the Myrick reference measured the distance to the device when it is directly under the aircraft read on the distance measurement. Therefore, the Myrick reference discloses all the limitations of of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 13-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myrick, US 5,166,789.
In regard to claim 2, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses a method comprising:
operating a camera system coupled to a vehicle (see column 4, lines 1-3 and column7, lines 28-40), the camera system comprising a visible-light camera (see figure 1, element 14), an infrared camera (see figure 1, element 16), and an light detection and ranging (LiDAR) unit (see figure 1, element 24; column 4, lines 20-41; column 6, lines 20-28);
identifying a device based on image data from the visible-light camera (see column 7, lines 3-33);
repeatedly adjusting a position of the camera system to track relative movement of the device relative to the vehicle to maintain the device in a field of view of the infrared camera as the vehicle with the camera system moves with respect to the device (see column 4, lines 4-19 and column 6, lines 16-19: the processing system moves the camera according to the input of the operator to maintain the device in the field of view);
recording image data generated by the infrared camera that indicates properties of the device (see column 5, lines 20-43 and column 6, line 45 to column 7, line 13: the image infrared data and position data is recorded in split screen display data); and
recording, based on one or more measurements from the LiDAR unit, at least one distance measurement (altitude) from the camera system to the device (see column 6, lines 20-28; column 7, lines 3-33).
In regard to claim 3, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining an identifier for the device (see figure 3); and wherein recording image data from the infrared camera comprises associating the recorded image data with the identifier for the device (see column 6, lines 29-44 and column 7, lines 3-13: the device or object of interest is identified and marked with an X).
In regard to claim 4, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the visible-light camera has a first field of view (see figure 2, element A); and wherein the infrared camera has a second field of view (see figure 2, element B) that is narrower than the first field of view of the visible-light camera (see figure 2 and column 6, lines 29-44).
In regard to claim 13, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses a system comprising:
one or more computers (see figure 1, element 30);
one or more computer-readable media (not shown) storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising (see figure 1, element 30: it is inherent the computer 30 of the Myrick reference discloses a computer-readable medium such a ROM and a RAM to store and execute the program the computer runs, in order to operate the device):
operating a camera system coupled to a vehicle (see column 4, lines 1-3 and column7, lines 28-40), the camera system comprising a visible-light camera (see figure 1, element 14), an infrared camera (see figure 1, element 16), and an light detection and ranging (LiDAR) unit (see figure 1, element 24; column 4, lines 20-41; column 6, lines 20-28);
identifying a device based on image data from the visible-light camera (see column 7, lines 3-33);
repeatedly adjusting a position of the camera system to track relative movement of the device relative to the vehicle to maintain the device in a field of view of the infrared camera as the vehicle with the camera system moves with respect to the device (see column 4, lines 4-19 and column 6, lines 16-19: the processing system moves the camera according to the input of the operator to maintain the device in the field of view);
recording image data generated by the infrared camera that indicates properties of the device (see column 5, lines 20-43 and column 6, line 45 to column 7, line 13: the image infrared data and position data is recorded in split screen display data); and
recording, based on one or more measurements from the LiDAR unit, at least one distance measurement (altitude) from the camera system to the device (see column 6, lines 20-28; column 7, lines 3-33).
In regard to claim 14, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising determining an identifier for the device (see figure 3); and wherein recording image data from the infrared camera comprises associating the recorded image data with the identifier for the device (see column 6, lines 29-44 and column 7, lines 3-13: the device or object of interest is identified and marked with an X).
In regard to claim 15, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the visible-light camera has a first field of view (see figure 2, element A); and wherein the infrared camera has a second field of view (see figure 2, element B) that is narrower than the first field of view of the visible-light camera (see figure 2 and column 6, lines 29-44).
In regard to claim 21, Myrick, US 5,166,789, discloses an imaging system and its operation as described above in regard to claim 13, the computer-readable media of claim 21 is also disclosed (see claim 13 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs